• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: MIDDLETOWN
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry, no pets allowed. Exceptions will be made for service related animals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Newport Mansions
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Newport Naval Base
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Save the Bay Exploration Center and Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Downtown Newport
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking on site available for all guests at no cost.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:117
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:58
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:117
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Middletown Hotel's Guests Close to Historic Newport, RI

Travelers seeking hotels on Aquidneck Island find that the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Middletown / Newport is the place to stay. Moments from historic downtown Newport, the many acclaimed Newport mansions and pristine Middletown beaches, this hotel's location makes it easy to explore all the area has to offer.

Boasting a legendary history, Newport, Rhode Island offers the hotel's guests countless sites of intrigue. Patrons
View More

Middletown Hotel's Guests Close to Historic Newport, RI

Travelers seeking hotels on Aquidneck Island find that the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Middletown / Newport is the place to stay. Moments from historic downtown Newport, the many acclaimed Newport mansions and pristine Middletown beaches, this hotel's location makes it easy to explore all the area has to offer.

Boasting a legendary history, Newport, Rhode Island offers the hotel's guests countless sites of intrigue. Patrons can stroll along the historic Cliff Walk, a scenic 3.5-mile pathway following Newport's shoreline in the historic district, or tour the opulent Gilded Age mansions of Bellevue Avenue, including Belcourt Castle and Chateau-sur-Mer. Downtown dining and attractions like The Newport Art Museum are other fun alternatives; and for a day outdoors, head to Newport Harbor, Atlantic Beach or Fort Adams State Park.

Professional and corporate destinations, including Naval Station Newport, Raytheon and KVH Industries, also call Newport, Rhode Island home. The hotel's guests can commute with ease or host meetings at the hotel in the 1,000-sq-ft event room.

While lodging here, guests enjoy every imaginable amenity from free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar to a heated, indoor pool and 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers. We're waiting to welcome you to historic Newport; book your room today!

View Less
Features
Lodging at this Middletown hotel ensures guests convenient access to top attractions and businesses in Newport, RI. The hotel's location paired with perks like an indoor pool ensures a terrific stay.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 127 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Many things not working Two rooms. One room bedside lamp had a defective switch and would not turn on, the clock radio display was srambled, and the closet door kept coming off the track. The other room the heater would not come on. In addition, no internet service available. One piece of equipment in the workout room inoperative. October 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Looks good from the outside From the outside the hotel looked good, set back from the road and with a drive up to the front from the road. The problems were inside, little details detracted from our visit, the toilet seat in the bathroom was loose, the coffee machine in the room was old and not clean, the hair dryer and bracket was covered in dust. The walls of the room were very thin, a family were in the room next door and we could hear everything they were saying, but the worst thing was the dripping a/c unit, the one above was dripping water down onto our unit, keeping us awake. This was reported the following morning but nothing was done about it, there seems to be a problem with the breakfast room, it is small and during our stay the choice of food was not up to the usual HIE standard. October 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by isolated location in the middle of no where. had to travel to find place to eat, but not "restaurant" style, only fast food outlets. coffee machine was not working, reported to front desk but no action taken. October 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by uncomfortable bed and thin walls The hotel is beautiful and in a good location. The staff was very accomodating and pleasant. I was there to visit relatives so did not spend much time at the hotel. The first night the person in the next room played music until 3:15 a.m. I am a very light sleeper. The breakfast area is very nice and a good choice of food but I have seen better. September 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noise The noise we heard from other visitors was much too loud. The wall between adjoining rooms (the headboard side) does very little to limit sound. We switched rooms after the first night when we could hear 2 women speaking/laughing for 2 hours starting at 5 AM. The next night was worse when wedding guests returned at 12:30 AM and were talking loudly, cursing and partying. We could hear them complaining about a call from the management to tone it down, and we were concerned about their anger level. Another couple staying down the hall mentioned the hall noise from that party. We could hear a woman speaking on the phone the next night, but fortunately she went to bed by 10:00. Please do some type of sound insulation and put wedding guests in their own section. Thank you for this opportunity for feedback. September 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by terrible house cleaning/breakfast Stayed at this location for a week the room was inadequately cleaned. the cleaning staff did not restock shampoo and lotion. The breakfast was on a first come first serve basis, they ran out of most items by 8:30. One day of stay they ran out of coffee. Next time I have work in this area, will avoid this hotel and drive the extra twenty minutes. September 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No bath fan - Really !?! Felt like a normal property until you look a little closer. Room floors were dirty and carpet felt nasty when walking in bare feet. There were no tissues in the room and the desk reply "our supplies haven't come in" - I cant believe they don't drive to the store like the rest of us when supplies run short. But the lack of a fan in the bathroom is the deal breaker. I will not stay here again. September 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Customer not satisfied I reserved a Friday and Saturday night stay for 9-13 & 9-14-13. We arrived at 5:45pm. I was told I could only check in for fri and not Saturday. I would need to pay for the Saturday night after I checked out from the Friday night stay. To a customer that is ridiculous. I give my credit card so what's up? My mother requested her room to br handicap accessible. She was told on Saturday morning that she could not have the handicap room for Saturday night. Ridiculing again. We had to wait over 25 minutes for the 2 people behind the desk to argue about why this happened. What? September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great - Quite - Clean Comfortable bed, good breakfast, quite room and great service. September 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 4th visit to Swansea This was our 4th visit to the Swansea area and enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Express for the 4th time. The facility is always clean and the breakfast selections a good value. I wish there were more shopping and eateries closer. September 13, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Lots of problems There were many problems during our stay: - the bath tub didn't drain well during a shower so you were left standing in ankle deep water by the end (room 112) - the toilet seat was very cheap and a poor fit for the toilet so that when you sat on it, it would slip to one side or the other and feel like it was going to break (although we are not particularly big people) - there were not enough tables to accommodate all the people eating breakfast and my son and I ended up making a footstool into a table for ourselves and sitting on the floor. We got up once to get more food and even our footstool was taken (as a table) by another party - we sorted it out, but that just shows how tough tables were to come by. - the breakfast room staff was trying their best to keep up maintaining the buffet and drinks but falling behind because the facility wasn't built for this many people - the walls are thin and one night noise from another room kept us all up for quite awhile - the hot tub was so hot that one night I couldn't get into it - and I love a hot hot tub. The other night, it was hot but bearable. The positives are that the rooms were clean, the pool area was clean and the staff at the front desk and in the breakfast room were helpful and friendly. It would be nice to have a bar to visit with other hotel guests from your party in the evening. The breakfast room was open and the pool was open late (and sometimes they'd allow it open extra late - thank you!) but a bar would be a plus. I would not stay at this hotel again. It is not a comfortable stay. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice spacious room, comfortable bed, good experience We stayed there just one night, but it was the most comfortable of our 9-day trip among the four hotels that we stayed in. The room is clean and spacious, the bed is very comfortable and nice sized. The staff is polite and helpful. The breakfast room is a little crowded but overall it is a very nice stay. September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice staff Excellent will be back next time Very nice rooms clean and staff very helpful and kind pool was Clean and very relaxing August 31, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Substandard experience The "look" of the hotel had me thinking it had a good mix of value and comfort. Check in was fine, room seemed nice. Discovered hair on the sheets, large red stain near one of the beds. Bathroom showed it's age but was decent. Woken up at 6:00am by an annoying sound coming from the a/c. Finally figured out the unit on the second floor was dripping onto our unit. Went outside, stopped the noise with a towel. Took two tries and 30 minutes to get it just right. Upon checkout, I inquired with the lady at the front desk who told me the problems mentioned weren't really their problem since the sound from the leaky a/c happened "outside the room". She actually said "If I gave discounts to everyone who complained, I would give discounts to everyone." I cancelled my planned second night stay, and reservations I had for two nights in late October. Also completed corporate survey--due to high volume 3+ weeks to get a reply. I will be Rhode Island many times over the next 4 years, but will find a better place to stay. August 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not up to par for HIE There was no fan in the bathroom, no tissues, while showering water did not drain. The coffee maker did not work properly. There was chips on the rug & an area on the rug was sticky. Lots of noise coming from the room above us after 10pm. We only stayed one night & housekeeping knocked on the door to clean the room at 9:30am. August 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by A Disappointment This particular facility does not live up to the reputation that Holiday Inn Express generally has. The staff were barely friendly--no greetings, no acknowledgement, etc., the room was dimly lit and had a strange odor. They were out of Kleenex...everywhere, although we were offered an extra role of toilet paper. The "business center" computer was horrible, the printer didn't work, and after I complained, it would print, but with large black streaks on either side of the page. The outdoor key entry system on the side door was broken, so unless the door was held open with a rock, the door was unusable from the outside. The only decent feature was the breakfast items #although I suspect those are more tightly controlled by corporate dictates#. We stayed for 7 nights. We will not stay again. August 29, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by DO NOT STAY ON FIRST FLOOR !!! Noisy neighbors argueing at 4 AM in room 108, then moved to a room near the ice machine (119), people are up at 4 AM getting ice and you cannot rest on first floor. Seems as if all the guest are fisherman up before dawn to go fish. Forget sleeping till 6 AM from all the NOISE. August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Great place to stay friendly staff and rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast choices were many and food was good. Holiday Inn does a good job! August 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Thin walls and no soap I stay at many HIE's when traveling and have never had the problems I had at this one. The first room we were in was an ajoining room and we could hear everything the man in the room was saying. Also, no soap in the room. We were moved to another room and we could still hear the TV and the conversations on both sides--and again NO SOAP in the room. The floor creeked every time we walked across the room. I would not stay at this Holiday Inn Express again. August 13, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty hotel, but had issues Although the hotel itself was lovely and the room was nice, we had some major issues. First of all, there's few food choices in the area. When we asked for a place to order pizza to be delivered from, we were given a menu but a phone call to the restaurant would not go through on either of our cell phones or the room phone. No offer was made by the staff to make the call for us, despite them being aware of the issue. In the morning, we were unable to shower because there was no hot water. When we called down to the front desk, they informed us that it was a common complaint, that the attendant really didn't know what to do about it but that the general manager was on his way in. No one checked on us. After we washed up in the sink, still in cold water, we complained to the front desk in person. The manager came upstairs and when there was hot water, proceeded to treat us like idiots. Their solution to problem was to take a measly $25 off the bill. I would NOT stay there again. August 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff - Extrememly Friendly and Helpful The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast was good. The room was large, but had a musty smell and the bathrrom tub did not completly drain, but also did not hold water. Also, the pull out sofa matress was horrible. Don't plan on using it! The pool was nice, but a little cold and small. The hot tub was great, just a little small. Overall, the staff's service outweighed the short comings in the room. This was probably the most helpfful hotel staff I have ever dealt with! August 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Paper thin walls On our recent three night stay, we had to deal with paper thin walls, a wet rug and no soap. We could hear the normal conversations and tv of the adjoining rooms and also people walking overhead. The rug was wet in front of the refrgerator and there was no soap. The desk clerk said they had "run out" and handed us a large bar of Zest. Location is the best feature of this hotel. August 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely helpful staff While my whole experience was very good I have to say the helpfulness of the staff was outstanding. From check in to housekeeping to helping set up their conference room for a party they couldn't have been more helpful. August 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The only decent hotel in town Swansea is a small town, and the Holiday Inn Express is the only decent hotel in town. The manager and staff were very friendly. August 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good value but thin walls My husband and I stayed there for three nights during the week. It was a good value for what we wanted - to be able to take a couple of days trips from one central location. We could get to the lower part of Cape Cod, Newport, Providence, even Boston, easily enough. The hotel isn't close to much but a good price if you don't need to be right next to a destination. Our smoke detector beeped every minute the first night we were there (the night clerk couldn't fix it) but we got a discount for that night and it was repaired the next day. The other guests were a fairly calm lot, people on business and older couples while we were there. The only real negative is that the walls are incredibly thin and we could hear neighbors on both sides having phone conversations and watching TV. We knew all about one neighbor's upcoming weekend and work schedule and he was talking in a normal tone. Fortunately, both sides seemed there for business and slept quietly so we could too. July 31, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by great staff, needs updating The staff is always great at swansea. I go every year for work. this time it smelled alittle musty, and carpets need to be replaced. business center is kinda of a joke. printer doesn't work and not much else there. July 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by ac and cot not so good had a cot could feel all the springs in the mattress also AC didnt work until we messed around with it July 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Country Hotel Hotel definitely off the beaten path. Food is within 5-6 miles if you know where to look. Alot of bars and Taverns nearby. There is a restaraunt/ bar named Kathy Pearl a couple miles from hotel that has a gr8 sirloin steak with fries for a little over $5; even at 11 at night.(carry out) Hotel not quite as well decorated or clean as most Holiday Inn Express's. I especially like the ones with the huge wood vanity under the bathroom sink for storage of towels and toiletries. (this one didn't have). Staff polite but not esp. friendly. None of the Holiday Inn Express's have the Belgian Waffle maker. The pancake maker is ok' but they r easier to make at home than the waffles. Would like to see waffle makers instead. I left my favorite pillows there and the staff was very kind to save them back until I could have them picked up and delivered to me. Overall.............not a bad experience. Bed comfortable and slept well. room quiet and cool. Location met our needs. July 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No Desks in room? First time I have ever been in a hotel where the room did not have a desk. This hotel is not very business friendly, and the business center is a joke. The beds were really hard, compared to another Holiday Inn Express I had spent the night before. Walls are paper-thin, I could hear the room next door's TV all night long. I think the city has some water pressure issue, so I didn't hold that against them but it would have been nice to have been warned in advance. July 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always as we Expect It may sound a little over done, but to go to the Holiday Inn Express is always a good experience. We get there and are always made to feel so welcome and everything is always quick and easy. Thank you!! Regards, Larry July 18, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Exterior View
Exterior View
Select to close.
Exterior View Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading