• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
(e.g. Aug-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: MIDDLETOWN
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry, no pets allowed. Exceptions will be made for service related animals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Newport Mansions
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Newport Naval Base
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Save the Bay Exploration Center and Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Newport/Middletown Beaches
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking on site available for all guests at no cost.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:117
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:58
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:117
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Middletown Hotel's Guests Close to Historic Newport, RI

Travelers seeking hotels on Aquidneck Island find that the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Middletown / Newport is the place to stay. Moments from historic downtown Newport, the many acclaimed Newport mansions and pristine Middletown beaches, this hotel's location makes it easy to explore all the area has to offer.

Boasting a legendary history, Newport, Rhode Island offers the hotel's guests countless sites of intrigue. Patrons
View More

Middletown Hotel's Guests Close to Historic Newport, RI

Travelers seeking hotels on Aquidneck Island find that the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Middletown / Newport is the place to stay. Moments from historic downtown Newport, the many acclaimed Newport mansions and pristine Middletown beaches, this hotel's location makes it easy to explore all the area has to offer.

Boasting a legendary history, Newport, Rhode Island offers the hotel's guests countless sites of intrigue. Patrons can stroll along the historic Cliff Walk, a scenic 3.5-mile pathway following Newport's shoreline in the historic district, or tour the opulent Gilded Age mansions of Bellevue Avenue, including Belcourt Castle and Chateau-sur-Mer. Downtown dining and attractions like The Newport Art Museum are other fun alternatives; and for a day outdoors, head to Newport Harbor, Atlantic Beach or Fort Adams State Park.

Professional and corporate destinations, including Naval Station Newport, Raytheon and KVH Industries, also call Newport, Rhode Island home. The hotel's guests can commute with ease or host meetings at the hotel in the 1,000-sq-ft event room.

While lodging here, guests enjoy every imaginable amenity from free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar to a heated, indoor pool and 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers. We're waiting to welcome you to historic Newport; book your room today!

View Less
Features
Lodging at this Middletown hotel ensures guests convenient access to top attractions and businesses in Newport, RI. The hotel's location paired with perks like an indoor pool ensures a terrific stay.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 100 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overpriced/Misleading Website Website was very misleading with its pictures showing beaches and harbor area of Newport. The hotel is close to 30minutes away, not the 10 minutes mentioned on the website. The hotel isn't near any other restaurants or activities to do.Very overpriced considering its location. We had a poolside room that had huge stains on the carpet. Recommended on checkout that they close the room for a rug shampoo - not what I expected from a Holiday Inn especially at this price. September 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Keys Our room key was not working and waisted a lot of time trying to coordinate with the front desk to fix the cards each time. We also had to call the front desk for our neighbor across the way. It's an inconvienence when you are tired and just want to get back in the room from dropping our daughter off to college and setting up her room all day. Other than that - our stay was good. September 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Front Desk Staff The front desk staff were most helpful from getting us an ADA room to providing mapquest directions. My only problem with this Holiday Inn was that we asked for a room close to the elevator which we were given, but the elevator was at the far end of the hotel and the purpose of the room close to the elevator was to cut down on walking. August 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bathroom was small, food was cold I'm not sure if this hotel was renovated or not but I was surprised to see the size of the bathroom in the room. I've stayed at a lot of Holiday Inn Express but I've never seen a bathroom this small. So small that if you try to close the bathroom door you have to get almost behind the toilet to do so. Also, order room service for breakfast and I'm not sure where it came from but the food was cold, it took a long time to be delivered and it was delivered without silverware. August 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Food and restaurant service was lousy The breakfast in the restaurant was lousy. Hard to believe that a restaurant has trouble with eggs. I got eggs over and my husband scrambled and they both looked like they were cooked in old burnt butter. Then it took forever to get our check Hotel rooms need renovating Front desk girl was terrific. August 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Stay! You have an EXCELLENT employee (Kerrie). I spoke with her on the phone and was told that all our 4 rooms were together. (214-216-218 & 220) This worked out great as my 2 sons and 4 of my young grandchildren could open the door between rooms. She has Stellar Customer Service skills! August 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff but Hotel Needs Updating The staff was great - friendly and professional. The hotel is clearly older. The room had no refrigerator. The carpet had not been cleaned in a long time. We wanted to be near the RI shore so this location was good. We enjoyed the pool. I wrote a separate review of the restaurant. Overall: Adequate hotel. August 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Average at best Room had an immediate damp odor. It wasn't offensive but it wasn't pleasant. Once TV was turned off I could hear other guests in their rooms. Wasn't sure if they were neighbors or on another floor. But, they didn't sound to be yelling. Bed firm for me and hard for my wife. An average at best night's sleep was had. Given the rate for the room I would not make this my go-to Holiday Inn location in the future. August 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Why have an elevator in the back of the hotel? We had a two night stay on our way from Boston to New York. One full day of relaxation at the pool. it worked nicely - as we had the pool all by ourselves. Breakfast is average and you need to calculate time for your order to be ready. However the restaurant at night served very good food and the service was fine. The room was okay, however the internet as in most hotels are of less quality. On and of.... all the time. The reception could be more mature and more service minded. And then back to my title.... Why in the........ have an elevator in farest end of the hotel and not by the reception!! August 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Yuco Hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. However, I was disappointed that my room did not have a refrigerator and microwave. August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great vacation stay for the 3 of us Room was clean, staff was attentive and friendly. Only one minor detail......the bed was a bit soft for me though my wife and daughter were quite happy. August 7, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very poor services Really poor experience in this hotel compare to other Holyday inn: - full bed size instead of queen in the room description - no wifi in the room - very small bathroom, with no shower pressure, no shampoo - breakfast not included This room was way too expensive for the service provided August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This was a perfect hotel for our girls' getaway. We were close to Watch Hill and Newport but didn't pay the expensive prices. July 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great and Friendly service I was so happy with my room, the girl at the front desk was sooo nice and got me in my room asap. I will be back again next year and for a longer stay this time. Very clean and room had great AC. Loved this place, will tell all my friends! July 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed We stayed three nights of our 7 day vacation. This was the only motel we used in RI. The other states were NJ and MA. Compared to the other facilities, the room cost twice as much and had less amenities. We did not get a free buffet breakfast nor was a microwave or refridgerator available. Otherwise the rooms/accommodations were equivalent. July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by July 4th The hotel was very clean and the pool was beautiful--larger than expected with plenty of towels, chairs and tables. HOWEVER the restaurant/bar was closed on a Holiday evening....and that was a big inconvenience considering the hotel was fully booked! July 10, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Ammenities and Staff Exercise equipment is terrible, no weights, only treadmill, no hot tub, no microwaves, no fridges , outdoor pool only. But the worst part was the every early morning staff. The other staff were marginal. I heard, I don't have more toner, I don't know where more paper is, I don't know what to do (internet not working), Breakfast is no longer provided, it used to be but not now. The room was clean and comfortable other than ammenities. OK for a night not for a few nights. I am an FSE with Schneider June 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Reservation Issues I had multiple problems when I checked into your hotel on May 31st for a weekend stay under confirmation #66112247. Apparently there were problems with my Rewards Night stay (one night) and multiple charges were placed on my credit card. The manager that evening took the action to resolve the issue with your reservation service but when I returned I found additional charges applied to my credit card and multiple transactions on my Rewards account. Needless to say, my original rewards night stay wasn't honored by Holiday Inn, as originally booked and confirmed and I've been charged to both nights at this hotel. I've written to Holiday Inn Rewards to express my frustration with the entire process. Sincerely, D.Moniz June 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel was fine----Very poor restuarant experience Breakfasted in hotel.Ordered coffee-received 1/2 cup. Had to ask waiter to please fill my cup. Then had to ask for milk or cream. Then had to ask for a spoon. Ordered scrambled eggs and toast. Eggs came ina small saucer sized dish. Then had to ask the waiter for butter. June 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent price, clean, rooms fine Nothing exceptional about this property, but okay in all categories. Clean. Front desk staff is typical -bored high school age semi-friendly. Only problem is the new concept in pillows. Have seen other chains move to this "throw pillow" concept. Would like to see some of the senior management of the hotel group try and get some sleep on those little puppies. June 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn ??? Being a Platinum Priority Club member for many years I have spent many nights in Holiday Inns all over the world, and I learned that the quality and comfort can differ widely. Unfortunately, this HI was not really on the top level my my scale. Check in was anything then friendly (maybe this was a college guy who only worked here during spring break). The room itself was big, but it looked like the room from a motel, there was no nice decoration, everything looked like being 20 years old, and there were thick electrical wires placed just on top of the walls and the ceiling. The internet did not work the first day, at check out we asked and were told that it works now, but with a different password ... Also, there is not much around this hotel, if you want to do something, you have to drive to Newport (including crossing a toll bridge), but that's worth the money. May 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service All the staff at this Holiday Inn go out of their way to make you welcome and comfortable. May 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Great place in terms of convenience, cleanliness and friendliness of staff. Great price! Will be back! April 18, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by never to return Arrived late and hungry....was given 4 menus from area reataurants..they were either closed or no longer delivered. Nothing in walking distance. Vending machines were virtually empty. The spread that was put out for breakfast was a joke. To make matters even worse I couldn"t even get a comb from the front desk...they were all out March 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by What a dump This place is a dump by Holiday Inn standards. Paint and carpeting can only go so far..... March 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and room. We enjoyed staying at your hotel. even though the weather was bad due to snow, we were able to completely unwind and relax at your property in South Kingstown, RI. February 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It is outdated The restaurant staff is friendly and the food is good. The hotel itself is old, I knew it would be as I got to the front door and they weren't automatic. My room on the 2nd floor required either a walk up stairs or going ot the elevator, walking the whole distance of the property to the back and then walking the distance back to my room. While the restaurant was a pleasant experience I expected a full serve breakfast to my disappointment there was a small complimentary spread put out in the morning which would not meet Holiday Inn Express standards. January 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent place to stay love this hotel quaint friendly safe. Great place to stay. Excellent mattress on beds too. Seems like room temp is always perfect without running heat or air machine January 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and staff Clean, comfy bed, great staff. We are launching a small business in Rhode Island and it is our home away from home! Doug - the manager - is especially helpful and professional. January 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by In house restaurant - Food The hotel was comfortable and the service great. The restaurant in the hotel was poor. Food was expensive and the restaurant was understaffed. November 3, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Exterior View
Exterior View
Select to close.
Exterior View Lobby
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-03-2014)
Check Availability
Loading