• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: Pittsburgh
  • Distance From Hotel: 7.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Dave & Buster's
Distance From Hotel:0.02MI
Attraction:
Sand Castle Water Park
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Kennywood Park
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Pittsburgh Children Museum
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:70
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:70
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:33
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:37
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:70
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
The Holiday Inn Express welcomes you to Pittsburgh’s vibrant Waterfront Mall where our location serves up a plenitude of shopping, dining, entertainment and recreation. We are on the Great Allegheny Passage Bike Trail. Whether business or leisure brings you to the area, we are ready to make your stay away from home comfortable and pleasant. Attentive staff, clean quality rooms, and thoughtful amenities provide our guests with a relaxed, enjoyable experience. Convenient to downtown Pittsburgh,
View More
The Holiday Inn Express welcomes you to Pittsburgh’s vibrant Waterfront Mall where our location serves up a plenitude of shopping, dining, entertainment and recreation. We are on the Great Allegheny Passage Bike Trail. Whether business or leisure brings you to the area, we are ready to make your stay away from home comfortable and pleasant. Attentive staff, clean quality rooms, and thoughtful amenities provide our guests with a relaxed, enjoyable experience. Convenient to downtown Pittsburgh, guests can engage in sporting and cultural events at venues like the Steelers Heinz Field, PNC Park, home of the Pirates and the Penguins own CONSOL Energy Center. For the best game in town try your luck at Rivers Casino. The University of Pittsburgh is a short five miles from our door as well as the Central Business District, The David Lawrence Convention Center is eight miles away. Museums and cultural events abound. Enjoy the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra at the dignified Heinz Hall and world class performances at the Benedum Center & Byham Theater. In our backyard is Sandcastle Water Park with its waterslides and wave pool, and Kennywood Amusement Park teeming with historic roller coasters such as The Thunderbolt, The Racer and The Jack Rabbit, offering the best of summer family fun. Throughout all seasons, we take pride in serving our guests and anticipating their needs, The Holiday Inn Express Waterfront -Your smart choice.
View Less
Features
The brand new Holiday Inn Express Waterfront provides impeccable service to each of our guests. We provide amenities such as hot complimentary breakfast, 24-hour Fitness Center, free Wi-Fi, 32 inch HDTVs, Business Center, and large meeting space.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 204 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a great experience we were there for a concert at the AE Stage. We enjoyed our stay, and the staff was very helpful when it came to my 14 year old daughter, when she has questions how to get around to places. August 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location for Duquesne and Southside Very nice accommodation; what more can be said! Breakfast is great selection. Walk to south side. Under a mile to Duquesne August 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hip Hotel on the river Wow I was pleasently supprised by the hotel, location, and spacious room. The hotel is very hip and more like a court yard hotel than a Holiday Inn. The breakfast was better than the other holiday inn expresses I have stayed at. I would recomend this for sure. Best part was our view of the 10th street bridge and the city. Get the corner room all the way to the end of the hall. August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by amazing stay 5 stars all the way, free breakfast was great, cinnamon rolls were awesome i miss them already, room were clean and well prepared,every staff member i talked to were both helpful and friendly, secure parking,the shuttle system was great, i was surprised at the short wait times, great for going to and from the pirate games. the 2 drivers were both friendly and knowledgeable. we had both Mr. Chips and mr .chips junior . i didn't get the younger ones name but he was great. i would highly recommend this holiday inn express and hope to return in the future, Pittsburgh is a great place to visit. i have never written a hotel review before but this place was worthy of it. thank you. August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great shower Came here to take our first child to college, Very clean, comfortable, will come here again. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleased Duquesne Mom Excellent hotel, close to the city, free shuttle, awesome staff!!! August 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk needs training! This was my 2nd stay at this location. I like the proximity to Southside and Duquesne University, and the rooms have been clean and comfortable. One facilities fault I would note is the soda (pop) machines in the hotel could stand to be upgraded. They accept only coins, and not $1 bills, which is quite outdated and inconvenient, as the selections cost $1.75 each. Contrary to my 1st stay, I was struck by the lack of professionalism by the front desk staff. I was the only person at the front desk when arriving to check in, but it was at least a minute before the desk personnel lifted her head up from the computer to greet me. In general, her mannerisms were a bit unprofessional, and not what I generally experience at a hotel, no matter what the "luxury" level. On my 2nd day, I again was the only one at the front desk when I wanted to mention an issue with the window shade in my room. Again, the staff took a while to acknowledge me, and then proceeded to snack on some pretzels while taking down the information about my issue, talking to me while chewing. The most professional service I received was at check-out, and I would like to reference the staff member by name, but she was not wearing a name tag. August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, good breakfast, nice bathroom I have never been disappointed with a Holiday Inn Express yet! Staff pleasant and helpful. I would like to acknowledge the housekeeping staff who do a great job and always friendly. Also the young man on second shift driving the shuttle deserves a customer star as well for his patience in driving a bunch of very unfriendly demanding customers and he remained calm and polite. The shuttle was nice especially in that trafficky area. If I were to make one suggestion, we stayed in the suite and it would have been nice to have a small table and chairs to eat at. August 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Shuttle Service Excellent This is a nice property in a good location with VERY spacious rooms that are comfortable. The breakfast was better than I expected, with eggs, meats, and various pastries. What I really appreciated, though, was the free shuttle service "on demand": just go to the lobby and the service staff would let you know to the minute how long the wait would be, never more than 10 minutes. And when I called to be picked up, they did so also within 10 minutes, as I was sightseeing all day. It was like having a personal driver. Mr. Chip gave great advice on sightseeing for the two inclines. They also drove me and picked me up from the Andy Warhol museum, saving me beaucoup dollars in taxi fare. Thumbs up. August 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was outstanding very pleasant and helpful Rooms could use a little TLC but overall were expectable, hotel was at a great location and the shuttle service was outstanding in getting to most of the sights to see, great over all experience August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value No complaints.. Great accommodations, value and food.. what more do you need August 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great service but room and hallway smelled. Staff was very friendly, but the room smelled and the hallway smelled like urine. Staff promptly sprayed room with a deoderizer and fixed a broken shade but smell still lingered and hallway smelled bad. The toilet was dirty but otherwise their room was very clean. Also there was no fan in the bathroom. The room was very spacious and the breakfast had a lot of healthy selections. August 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by General No room service next day. Asked for and received clean towels. Not convenient to drive in or out of hotel parking lot. Shuttle service spotty...had to wait over an hour for trip to ball park. Staff friendly, breakfast very good. Overall okay ...not great value. Stairs not clearly marked or convenient to reach lobby. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very busy hotel but the staff did great We visited this hotel to go to a Steelers football game. The hotel was sold out. There was extra staff to handle check in. They offered free shuttle service to a free train which dropped us of at the stadium. The room was clean and nice. The breakfast was extremely busy so there were three staff members working trying to keep us with the traffic. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay in South Pittsburgh The hotel is in an excellent location to all major activities in South Pittsburgh area August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean rooms and great service The pool is very nice as is the fitness center. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The only problem was the staff kept setting the AC on 60, this made the room too cold as it was 75 outside. Breakfast was very good, with a nice selection to choose from. August 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by front desk attendants and Business center While checking in, no one was attending the front desk for several minutes. I finally got someone's attention in the back room after waiting for about 5 minutes. Also the printer was not working in the Business Center. I was trying to print out tickets to a Pirates MLB game and it took about 30 to 40 minutes to get them printed at the front desk printer. If I would have known it would take this long, I would have paid the $3.00 will call charge. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Quality Great location, new renovations are beautiful. Hotel is nice and clean, shuttle service is useful. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff at a very good hotel During the week the people were very friendly, helpful and willing to go out of their way to be of assistance. The hotel is very clean and comfortable with a modern decor. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ball trip Great staff easy to get to downtown with shuttle and trolley service. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bed The Pillows and Bed were extremely comfortable. I would stay at this hotel again. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable and friendly Love this hotel. Rooms are clean, beds are comfy and the staff is always friendly. Hotel is nice and quiet at night, so getting a good nights sleep is no problem. I always stay at this hotel when I am in Pittsburgh. August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service and Convenience! The service was excellent! All of the staff, from the front desk, the shuttle drivers, the breakfast servers and housekeeping were all very friendly and helpful. We didn't realize how convenient the shuttle service was going to be until we saw how difficult it was to drive around town. We used the shuttle everywhere we went for three days! We usually waited anywhere from 2 - 20 minutes for the shuttle to pick us up. The breakfast bar was by far the best I have ever seen at a hotel! The variety, quality and quantity of food was wonderful! The rooms were newly renovated and very modern and very clean. We will DEFINITELY stay here again when we visit town. August 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Shuttle Not What We Expected The shuttle service to PNC did not work out well for us. We, and about 4 other families, waited in the lobby for more than 1/2 hour. We had to be dropped at the subway and the pick-up was confusing because we were not sure where to wait. August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk staff Front desk staff called my room to make sure everything was ok. I have never had anyone do that before. How nice! August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by South Side This hotel was either new or heavily remolded recently. Everything was in good condition. Location was great with easy access to station square, the inclines and Carson street. If you don't feel like walking you can take the free shuttle to local attractions. I saw a lot of people using it to get to the baseball stadium for the Pirates game. Parking was cheap for the area compared to other hotels we looked at. The pool was clean and while I did not use the weight room, it was spacious and contained several pieces of equipment including dumbbells over 25 lbs. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great southside hotel! The hotel is very clean and updated! All of the hotel staff was friendly and helpful, and the shuttle service is a great plus! The breakfast was very good too! We stay here just about every time we travel to Pittsburgh and highly recommend it! August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great sleep Customer care made our weekend get away a real success August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Great location. Friendly staff. Great rooms.Overall good experience . Great value. August 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok Hotel This hotel is in a fairly rough neighborhood, but I encountered no problems, just wasn't completely comfortable. About 1.7 miles from PNC park, easy walk there and less than 10 in a cab (visit was to go to a Pirates game). Not a great hotel, but more than adequate. August 12, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Waterfront Mall Exterior Feature
Holiday Inn Express Waterfront Mall Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Waterfront Mall Exterior Feature Holiday Inn Express Waterfront Mall Holiday Inn Express Waterfront Mall Reception Holiday Inn Express Waterfront Mall Entrance Holiday Inn Express Waterfront Mall Exterior Feature Holiday Inn Express Waterfront Mall Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading