Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 56 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great night's sleep The bed was super comfortable with great pillows. Bath towels were thick and absorbent. Breakfast was sufficient and very fresh. We love coming to this HI Express. June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Excellent place to stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. My only complaint is the inn is not clearly visible from the main highway and there are no clear directions to finding the inn. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place, plan to visit again We enjoyed our stay and would return next year if not sooner. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay. If visiting Murphy, NC, this would be a great place to stay. Hotel looks brand new, everything very clean and orderly. Enjoyed the breakfasts, and the rocking chairs in front of the hotel. Nice quiet location, but close to everything we needed for a relaxing visit. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay We had a very comfortable stay. The beds were comfortable, and we loved the labeled pillows. (There were two firm and two soft on each bed.) The breakfast was good, and the buffet was kept stocked and fresh. We stayed in a suite, and it was very spacious. The only problem was that it was at the front of the hotel and above the front door. Early in the morning other guests were outside talking, and it was a little noisy. Everything else was good though. June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice accommodations This is a very nice facility. We arrived to a very clean lobby and easy check-in. We were offered coffee and cookies. We proceeded directly to our room. Very clean room and bath. Nice granite counter tops. Bed was very comfortable, and the AC worked great. The only problem we ran into was that the walls are not well insulated. We awoke to someone snoring in the room next to ours. Even when going into the bathroom with the door closed you could still here this person snoring. Breakfast was very good. Make sure to call the hotel directly to make reservations. We made ours via phone thru a national number. We were overcharged compared to other friends who stayed and made their reservations directly to this location. June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by reservations not correct everything about the HI in Murphy NC was great, except my reservations for two rooms was changed somehow to one room. Fortunately, there was an available room, so that worked out. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pool could be warmer & no hot tub Stayed five (5) nights last week at this property with my wife & two daughters. We were very impressed with this hotel. It's staff was attentive and friendly, although there were (in my opinion) way too many smoke breaks in front of the hotel leaving the front desk unoccupied - I observed this mostly in the evening hours. The suite we stayed in was clean and comfortable. I do wish that there was a TV in the living room area as well as in the bedroom. The hot breakfast was very good and the weekday attendant made sure that it was stocked at all times. We could however hear constant room noise when people were walking above us. The pool was a bit chilly and we were disappointed that the hot tub had been removed, but was still included in the description of the hotel amenities. Also, the bathroom could use an exhaust fan. Overall, a very pleasant stay. May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel As someone who travels very frequently, I appreciate a hotel that is run like this one. Thanks. May 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Pool is NOT heated, and the hot tub in the picture is gone I booked this hotel specifically because they bragged about their indoor heated pool on the front page, and we have two small boys who love to swim. Got there, and the pool IS indoors, but it is not heated and the hot tub shown in the picture has been removed. Good place to spend one night, but if you want to swim in a heated pool or sit in the hot tub, don't get your hopes up. May 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Murphy Room was not really ready for occupants. Not sure why we got it instead of another, except that it may have been full. There was not an ice bucket or cups in the room. The chair for the dest was missing. The refrigerator was missing. The recessed light over the one chair in the room did not work, but the pole lamp behind it did so it was ok. There was not a lamp on one of the bedside tables, but the other one has one. The staff helped me get an ice bucket and the other deficiencies were tolerable. Would have thought with the deficienies the cost of the room would have been lowered, but this was not the case. These deficiencies will hopefully be corrected before the room is used again. May 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reasonable comfort, reasonably priced I drive from Arlington VA to the mountains on the NC/TN/VA/KY borders in the spring and fall. Home base is Murphy NC for three main reasons: I love to drive the Cherohala Skyway, the Tail of the Dragon, and other local mountain roads, including the Cherokee and Nantahala National Forests. Murphy, a quaint little town, is the county seat of Cherokee County. The Holiday Inn Express in Murphy puts it right smack dab in the middle of where I want to be when I visit this region. On this visit it occurred to me that this property could use some new furniture, particularly the desk chairs and sofas. Responding to my feedback, the GM assured me that new chairs are on the way. I prefer suites, so I book early to ensure that I get one. Staff are generally friendly and attentive. The menu for the complimentary breakfast varies according to the day of the week, and is usually rewarding, with something for just about any taste for a quick, convenient meal. I have noticed that recognition for Priority Club Members varies from property to property. It is my experience that recognition is lacking here. There is no restaurant on the property, but there are many places to eat nearby and in downtown Murphy. I am particularly fond of Murphy's Chophouse and Shoe Booties Cafe. Looking forward to my next visit. March 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Okay..not the best service Feel for being a gold memeber rate was way high and should have been upgraded better. March 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Wonderful place to stay. Clean comfortable rooms, great staff, very good breakfast. Everyone in the town of Murphy was great. Cant wait to go back... January 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient, Clean & Comfortable We were spending a weekend at the John C Campbell Folk school nearby. We opted to stay here instead of the school campus as we had done previously. We were warmly greeted by Joan at the front desk. There was a glitch in the paperwork that she graciously corrected. Our rooms were neat and clean. Breakfast was sufficient and convenient and included in the price of our rooms. We didn't use any amenities so I can't speak to that. I would definitely return. November 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel, Great Location Took my family here for a short notice mini vacation, located very close to our venue. Great restaurants and shopping in the area. November 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service Had called ahead to request adjoining rooms and staff were friendly and accommodating. Hotel was full but clerk at front desk had our keys ready and met all of our needs in most professional manner while making us feel at home. Rooms were as described. Breakfast very good. Loved the hot cinnamon rolls. October 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not friendly The hot water went out in our room. We had to keep calling down stairs in order to get updates. You would think someone would have let us know something. Water was out from 6pm till lunch time the next day. I had to go to the office without taking a shower. Not one time was the lady in the kitchen nice. She never came out and she did not keep it stocked. You had to knock on the door if you needed anything. There was always someone in there chatting with her and she made you feel as if you were interrupting . The walls are so thin. The room above us walked so loud it would wake you up. October 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Comfortable bed, clean room, and the staff was friendly. Great place to relax and unwind. We will definitely stay here again when in the area. October 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just a couple of suggestions We so appreciated our stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Murphy, NC. The service was great. The breakfast was very good. The only two complaints we had was that there was a dog right at the front door and sometimes laying down just inside the doors...not in the lobby but between the glass doors at the very front and leading into the hotel. We love dogs and she was very sweet but she stunk to high heavens. A person in our group is highly allergic to dogs anyway, but this one sent her over the edge. She had to exit out the side door when we left and hold her shirt over her nose and mouth and she still had an allergic reaction after being exposed to the odor. We don't want anything bad to happen to the dog. She just doesn't need to be right at the front door. And we noticed her food was just scattered all over the concrete. Maybe put it in a bowl for her? The other issue, especially for those of us with respiratory problems is the employees smoking at the entrance and one morning when we exited the side door. We were loading up that morning to go home and had to pass by them a few times. I had to hold my breath each time. I am highly allergic to cigarette smoke and immediately start wheezing and coughing when I smell it and breathe it. I know I'm not the only one who must experience this so please have the employees, and guests too for that matter, smoke away from the doors going in and out. Thank you! October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Numerous stays Over the past 15 years, we have stayed at this hotel about once a year - sometimes twice a year. We have always found it to be an excellent choice, and we highly recommend it. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Great place to get away and relax, staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Great breakfast that is sufficient for its guest. I highly recommend this facility for those wanting to enjoy the seasons or for that quiet time away to relax. Thank you October 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Weekend Stay Stayed here for the weekend while making a little trip to Blue Ridge to ride the train. Our expectations were completely met. Friendly staff, very clean room and a good breakfast. Would surely stay here again. October 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Thanks guys for the up-grade and the great service......will be back soon! October 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place Very happy with the rooms, cleanliness and staff. The pool was the highlight of the kids,.we liked the queen beds and the breakfast buffet, more than enough and a good variety. Joan at the desk was very friendly and helpful with our reservations. September 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious room and helpful staff. The king suite with whirlpool room that we stayed in was spacious and clean. The room was wider than most hotels that we've been in. It made the room more relaxing and comfortable. The receptionist at the counter was super friendly and very helpful in suggesting several great places to eat. We enjoyed our night there and would go there again. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wondeful experience My wife and I stayed 7 nights touring the Smoky Mountains on our motorcycles. The hotel was very nice and clean and quiet but the staff was outstanding. Very pleasant, friendly, and helpful. We will certainly stay again when we are back in the area. September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Holiday Inn Express Anywhere The Holiday Inn Express in Murphy, NC is awesome! The best part of our visit there is working with Joan. She works the evening shift at the hotel and she is a gem. We have stayed at this location three separate times, and Joan has made each stay extra special. She works very hard to make sure everything is nice for us and for everyone we have traveled with. We cannot recommend this place highly enough, and we live Joan! September 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beware of the Dog We got to the hotel ~10pm after very long drive, Its very hard to find if you come from one side of the road at night as the address in the GPS will take you to a place where you cannot actually see the hotel. When we arrived, the nice reception worker gave us the key and we went to our room, there was a dog running outside the hotel property and jumping on all the people (In a friendly way) but it was scary before you know it that its a friendly jump. The bed at the sofa is very bad, you can feel all the springs. When we left the next day we asked to who the dog belongs, we were a bit surprised by the answer "Someone left it here and he is outside for the last few weeks". Its a hotel property and you would expect it to be monitored. September 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not my cup of tea After a long day on the road we stopped here to stay. It had been recommended by someone to us so we thought it would be ok. After we went out to dinner we came back and got ready to settle in for the night. We got a suite as my mother was with us so we would have plenty of beds. Lights out and making my moms bed, it was broken! I find it very hard to believe that they didn't know this was broken. It wasn't just a little broken it was replacement broken soooo we had to pack all of our things and move! This is not what I wanted to make my mother have to do at night in our pajamas. Never the less we had to move. Finally got unpacked and settled in again and all went fairly well. There was no adjustment of our bill and there was no manager that would come out and talk to me! The breakfast was terrible and not very many choices. Won't go back there and won't recommend to friends! August 21, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>