• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MIDTOWN MANHATTAN
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a 75.00 USD non refundable fee per stay. Pets only allowed on certain floors.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Central Park
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Battle Ship Intrepid
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Meat Packing District
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Madison Square Garden
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:25
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel negotiated discount rate with Little Man Parking located at 221 West 29th between 7th and 8th Avenue. Negotiated rate is $30.00 for 25 hours for car, extra $10.00 per night for SUV/Mini Van/Oversized Vehical. No valet parking available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:228
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:146
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:82
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:228
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:13
  • FEMA Property Number:NY5171

Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel

The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms.

Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access,
View More

Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel

The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms.

Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access, copy and print services and a meeting room. In addition, our hotel is located just one mile from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, and we are a short walk from Penn Plaza, which hosts many of the area's businesses.

Leisure travelers are also sure to enjoy our prime location and great deals, as our hotel in NYC is close to the greatest attractions the city has to offer. We're just two blocks from Madison Square Garden, a half-mile from the Empire State Building and a mile from Rockefeller Center. In addition, Chinatown, Central Park, Times Square, Penn Station, the Theatre District, the Fashion Institute of Technology and shopping along 5th Ave are nearby.

During your stay with us in NYC, our hotel's amenities will impress you, as we feature everything from free high-speed Internet access to a Fitness Center and a delicious, hot breakfast, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book now, and enjoy the great deals at our hotel in NYC today!

View Less
Features
After enjoying the complimentary hot breakfast, plan your itinerary with the free high-speed Internet access. Then, tour the city and see the sights and sounds of New York City, all without venturing more than a few miles from our hotel.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 282 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable but terrible service Asked to replace lightbulbs in bathroom but they didn't so I couldn't see in there. Asked for laundry service but they didn't take the laundry which left me without a clean shirt for the following day. They say they have shaving cream if you forget yours but they were out. They're restaurant is under renovation and the roof bar closes early. There is no minibar in the rooms for refreshments. Front desk staff always sound miserable. Only stay here if you can get a fantastic price and have no expectations for hotel services. Rooms themselves are clean, comfortable and modern. July 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A room with a VIEW The room was large and beautiful! The view from both windows of the Empire State Building were amazing! The bed was very comfortable! The sitting area was very nice and cozy too! The room service for breakfast was so good - fast service and food was very good! The internet and vast tv channels allowed for relaxing time. July 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by rather close to times square Roomcleaning should be improved. 4 out of 7 days we had no towels, coffeemashine was not cleaned and cups and coffe not replaced. Waiter (male) in restaurant was directly inpolite. July 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Did not provide proper service to Platinum member I am not satisfied . They must consider to provide better service for the Guests . Must follow the guidelines of IHG membership benefits to be provided also July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and clean room The room was very clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Hair dryer did not work and staff quickly replaced. Had some trouble with air conditioner but not major problem. July 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, Comfortable This hotel was a very good value for the cost. Room was comfortable, staff was very friendly. This is a 8-room/floor hotel right at Herald Square. Overall more quiet than many NYC hotels. July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Modern room with frig and microwave The things I like are frig, microwave, not too noisy room AC/heat, and shower stall has light and full-time vent eliminating foggy mirror in bathroom. The things I wish the room has more is counter top space as the sink is a big round thing on a table. Have a tough time finding a place to put towel and personal toiletries. July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Late night in the city Great location and very clean. I will differently stay again July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and quiet bedroom We stayed at the Holiday Inn in NYC Midtown 31st Street from June 10 through June 18. It was four of us in a one bedroom, although the bedroom was somewhat smaller than what we are used to, it didn't matter very much to us because we were only in the hotel room to shower and sleep. We had a magnificient view of the Empire State Building from our beds and almost every couple nights the colors would change from white to blue, white and red and to purple (not sure what the purple signified). The bedroom itself was very quiet for the most part, except for the sound of the ambulance...but that is an extremely loud (more so than any other state I have visited) siren. Staff was courteous and helpful, we frequently had to request extra towels because there was no place to hang the towels to dry after showering. The bathroom did not have a tub. I don't normally use the tub when travelling, but we did so much walking in NYC that this one time, I would have welcomed the opportunity to soak in a tub. Lighting in the bathroom was bright enough for applying makeup. All together, we enjoyed this hotel and would highly recommend it to others thinking of visiting NYC. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Super Experience in NY The hotel is perfectly situated in NY. The staff were great and friendly. All questions and requests immediately addressed and felt very comfortable from the moment I first entered the hotel. The rates were very competitive. A home away. June 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room but no TV I had a great room but no television service for my stay. I would like to be reimbursed. Thank you. June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location but.... Great location in manhattan. I would suggest that the staff become more familiar with how someone in a wheelchair can get around town. The bus is great but the subway was awful. The bed in the room was really too high for someone transferring from a wheelchair. The installed bath bench was too low to be a truly accessible bathroom. The view from the bar is amazing!!! June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We were able to visit our son because the location of this hotel was within 5 blocks of his apartment and centrally located to many attractions. June 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Better Hotels in the Area can be found I checked in late. No one else was at the front desk, but it still took a long time to check in. Not acknowledge as a IHG Platinum. Room had only one towel and one washcloth. Lights bulbs burnt out in both the room and bathroom. Over all bathroom cleanliness was poor. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Felt like a Brand new Hotel My first thought when I walked into my room was gee everything looks brand new. As I told the staff member at checkout, this is the nicest Holiday Inn I have ever stayed at. The nicest touch, the hair dryer had a built in night light so I did not have to stumble into the bath room in the dark. June 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent property in NYC Friendly front desk staff, breakfast as expected, plenty of outlets in the room June 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet room; luxurious bed; ideal location Although the room was super tiny (I've stayed in bigger rooms in Hong Kong, which is known for its tight quarters), it was one of the most comfortable, restful hotels I've ever stayed at. The soundproof windows, blackout screens and super luxurious beds made for excellent sleep. We were still on West Coast time and slept until 9 or 10 each morning and never heard a sound. Housekeeping did a great job, too. A magnifying makeup mirror and brighter bathroom lighting would have been nice, but I can sacrifice that for the quality of sleep I got. And it's an ideal location, conveniently near the Penn Station and 34th St./Herald Square subway stops, so you can easily get almost anywhere. I also loved the beautiful rooftop bar with great views, but the bartender ignored me and even served someone who walked up to the bar after I did. I'd like to see a better wine selection and more attentive service, but still, I'll definitely choose this Holiday Inn on my next visit to NYC. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New and Modern I stayed at the hotel for 12 nights on April 2014. The hotel lobby is very small but the rooms are very modern, which I liked very much. The location is excellent, you can walk day and night to Broadway, Macy"s, Time Square, Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, etc. The room was very clean and comfortable. To be able to choose pillows is very convenient and having a mini fridge and microwave is the best. The service at the front desk from Jeannie and Jon was very, very good. They were friendly, polite, courteous and helpful all the time. I had a situation with the hair dryer and the air conditioned and both times they came to fix it in less than 5 minutes. The roof terrace has a bar, comfortable sitting and a spectacular view of the Empire State Building to share with friends and family. I would recommend it very much. May 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Worst room service on the planet I'm an IHG Platinum member and travel globally nearly 100%. This takes me to locations all over the world. I have never experienced such poor room service, especially in a hotel in the US. I attempted no less than 10 times to explain to the gentleman that took orders via phone what an omelette was. He asked over and over "do you want scrambled or fried eggs". After the 5th time I thought it was a joke. How is it possible someone answers the phone at a restaurant and doesn't know what an omelette is? Sadly, it was not a joke. He really didn't. So I gave up and orders scrambled eggs. He said "ok, 10 to 15 mins". I questioned him because that seemed so fast, but he stuck to his statement of "10 to 15 mins". I knew I was in trouble so I repeated my room number 3 times to make sure. 60 mins later, still no food. So I call back and same gentleman tells me they delivered to wrong room and will resend back to me. When it did show up, the eggs were cold, toast was soggy, etc. I've ordered room service in IHG brand hotels all over the world and never had any experience like this. So, take my advice. Leave the hotel and walk 1 block in either direction and eat somewhere else. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, friendly and close to Theater/Times Sq We stayed over a Saturday night. The room was comfortable and clean, the staff very prompt and helpful when we needed some of the extras. The King bedroom was a bit smaller than I would have expected, but this is NYC. The view of the Empire State Building was great! Times Square and the Theater District were an easy walk. May 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location The hotel is in avery good location close the subway station, near the majot atraction in town, specially one block away from the empire state building and 5th ave. May 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room I enjoyed my stay here, but it is a streamlined hotel, as far as services and amenities go. The staff were pleasant and helpful, but never acknowledged my IHG status, or offered me any extra information or advice. The room was comfortable, a bit small, but clean and efficient. May 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel We had a very comfortable stay here. Location very convenient to Penn Station and many attractions. Would stay again. May 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Space in Midtown Manhattan After a frustrating search for a convenient and reasonable place to stay in Manhattan for ourselves and our two adult children and their significant others, we decided to try the Holiday Inn on 31st Street based on positive reviews online. We booked three rooms and were not disappointed. The hotel is conveniently located within easy walking distance of midtown and even the theater district, and just two blocks from the subway at Penn Station. The neighborhood is busy but fun, with plenty of excellent restaurants and stores nearby. The hotel itself has a small but attractive, clean, modern-looking lobby, and a restaurant where we had a fine breakfast one morning. Room service is available. The rooms are sparkling clean and spacious for a New York City hotel. Even the bathroom is roomy. The bed was very comfortable, and the hot water and water pressure in the shower were excellent. The rooms were also generally quiet--just some occasional, typical ambient hotel sounds from the hallways, and everyone slept well. The in-room microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator in two of our three rooms came in very handy, as did the in-room safe. All staff--front desk and housekeeping--were friendly and helpful. We requested and got rooms close to one another and on higher floors. We were also able to delay check-out for all three rooms, and the hotel stored some of our bags while we were out for the day. Our only criticism is that the wifi, while free, was extremely slow. We therefore mainly used our phones on LTE. We mentioned this on check-out, and hope the hotel will look into boosting the wifi signal/capacity. Also, we'd suggest that the hotel routinely provide more towels in the bathrooms--although we were easily able to get additional towels when we requested them. Overall, a great experience and a great value in New York City. We will be back! P.S. The view from the rooftop lounge is amazing! April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really great value! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great location. Perfectly fine, comfortable room. Bathrooms have been beautifully re-done and are larger than many hotels in NYC. The lobby is small but who cares. Staff was very responsive to needs and questions. I would definitely stay there again. April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lisa and Team in restaurant Great job helping me on short notice get set up and execute a sales meeting. Service was great, all conditions were terrific. Thanks again, Tom April 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Holiday Inn! The Holiday Inn is a great alternative to the large hotels in Times Square as it's has a better value and still provides great service and first class accommodations (this Holiday Inn is a lot nicer than the Crowne Plaza Times Square). Although the rooms are a bit small, they are tastefully decorated and the bathroom felt like a spa. I'd definitely stay here again the next time I'm in the city. April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Weekend I have just returned from a quick trip to the city for a wedding. I booked directly through the hotel over the phone and from that point to my check out the experience was fantastic. I reserved a standard room and upon my arrival I was told that I had been upgraded to a suite. When I got to my room and drew the curtain I discovered a picture perfect view of the Empire State Building. The staff was exceptional, particularly in helping me navigate the subway, giving me directions to everywhere I needed to go. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and look forward to visiting them again. April 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenience Visited New York to attend niece's wedding, stayed at the hotel for two nights. Location was excellent, room is on the smaller side but adequate. Staff were courteous and friendly. Breakfast at the restaurant was great. Will definitely recommend this hotel. April 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Problem resolved quickly Person in next room started a party at 11pm. I called front desk and within a few minutes the noise stopped and the party people left. I was then able to sleep and wake refreshed. April 8, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden!
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden!
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden! Early Evening at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden Early Evening at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden!
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Select to learn more about this hotel's reviews.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading