• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MIDTOWN MANHATTAN
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a 75.00 USD non refundable fee per stay. Pets only allowed on certain floors.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Central Park
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Battle Ship Intrepid
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Meat Packing District
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Madison Square Garden
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:25
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel negotiated discount rate with Little Man Parking located at 221 West 29th between 7th and 8th Avenue. Negotiated rate is $30.00 for 25 hours for car, extra $10.00 per night for SUV/Mini Van/Oversized Vehical. No valet parking available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:228
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:146
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:82
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:228
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:13
  • FEMA Property Number:NY5171

Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel

The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms.

Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access,
View More

Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel

The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms.

Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access, copy and print services and a meeting room. In addition, our hotel is located just one mile from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, and we are a short walk from Penn Plaza, which hosts many of the area's businesses.

Leisure travelers are also sure to enjoy our prime location and great deals, as our hotel in NYC is close to the greatest attractions the city has to offer. We're just two blocks from Madison Square Garden, a half-mile from the Empire State Building and a mile from Rockefeller Center. In addition, Chinatown, Central Park, Times Square, Penn Station, the Theatre District, the Fashion Institute of Technology and shopping along 5th Ave are nearby.

During your stay with us in NYC, our hotel's amenities will impress you, as we feature everything from free high-speed Internet access to a Fitness Center and a delicious, hot breakfast, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book now, and enjoy the great deals at our hotel in NYC today!

View Less
Features
After enjoying the complimentary hot breakfast, plan your itinerary with the free high-speed Internet access. Then, tour the city and see the sights and sounds of New York City, all without venturing more than a few miles from our hotel.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 270 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I would stay again. The room was nicely designed and of high quality. Actually I did not realize Holiday Inns had interior designs of this caliber ... I always thought of Holiday Inn as more of a clean economy hotel, but the room was actually upscale in terms of quality. The bathroom was very nice. The downside is that the room is small (but manageable for two people), the closet is VERY small, actually it is not a closet but a wardrobe cabinet. The only thing missing was a refrigerator and microwave ... I asked for one ... but they had none ... probably because it was New Years weekend. But my stay overall was comfortable and convenient and so I would stay at this hotel again. January 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service clean room, nice staff, nice area and good price. I stayed there for 3 days, really enjoyed it. January 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good but.... Good, small hotel, ideal for vacation trips to Manhattan. Parking in this area very expensive (between 45 - 55$ a night). Don't go there by car. As a Platinum member I am sued to be able to stay longer or shorter in a hotel depending on my changing business schedule. In this hotel I was charged upfront for the entire stay and when I wanted to leave a day earlier staff did not refund one night. This is the first time in many years being a Priority Club Platinum member. Simple: will not come back to this hotel. January 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Made a NYC trip so easy! This was the first trip for my 21 y.o. daughter and I to New York City. We were a bit nervous, but after getting off the train we were able to walk several blocks and be at the hotel without using a cab. The staff were paient and helpful from the time we got in the door. Hotel was very clean and modern. As you might expect in NYC, the room was not large but it had everything we needed and it was QUIET at all times, even through the night. Bed (king) and pillows were SWEEEET. I had to tinker with the heat setting a bit but soon got it comfortable in the room. We got help many times from the front desk staff on how to get to certain tourist spots from the hotel, and ALWAYS they were informative and kind. We walked from the hotel to the Empire State Bldg, and to lots of shopping. Not a LOT of restaurants in the area of the hotel. We only ate once (breakfast) in the hotel restaurnat, and it was fine. We took a cab to Central Park, took a carriage ride there, then walked to nearby Radio City Music Hall to see the Rockettes Christmas Spectacular (great!), and then took our time walking all the way back to the hotel, window shopping along the way back. Last day we walked back to Penn Central and off to home! I would definitely stay there again. You can't beat the value. The price was the best!!! January 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! The staff we very friendly and helpful when I had questions. I was also surprised at how reasonable the rate was for it's location. The location is great and I would definitely stay here again. January 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Visited with family for the New Year.The hotel was in a fantastic location . Close to lots of places to eat and all the sights of NYC The room accommodated all four of us and the fridge , coffee maker & microwave were great additions to our room..Staff very friendly & helpful. Would visit again. January 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Platinum members are treated as valuable customers I have stayed at this property 8-9 times and 75% of the time the staff has updg me to one of Their to suites. It's a great perk and helps add a Nice touch to a long day or night of biz. Great job January 8, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Must Have CC after advance DEP was taken when I KNOW I WAS NOT GOING TO USE anything in HOTEL This Hotel I would NOT Stay at EVER AGAIN, After a ADVANCE DEPOSIT was Taken, I went To CK IN they Told me that I NEED to Have a CC for a DEPOSIT of 100.00 in Order to CHECK IN for any INCENDTAILs, I EXPLAINED that i was NOT GOIN TO USE anything, PHONE or Meals, They Said this was Nessary TO CK in This HOTEl, I Spoke to the Manager I had to Leave my Drivers LIC With Him at the FROM OFFICE and he would NOT PHOTO COPY Me my LIC inCase THEY had LOST IT EVEN THOE I had TO FLY OUT the NEXT Day, IF they Lost IT I would be Up a CREEK, and NO COULD I GO OUT IN NYC for a DRINK , I had NO ID SINCE THey HOTEL DEMANDED That I Leave IT WITH Them IN ORDER TO CK IN , Just in CASE there WAS any Damage That I had CASED IN THE HOTEL ROOM ?? I NEVER HEARD OF This in all my YEARZ TRAVELING, I had XCLED another HOTEL RSVP BUT The REFUND WAS NOT Yet on MY CARD and Left Me UNABLE to USE MY CARD, Just Had Cash ON HAND, I would NOT RECOMEND THIS HOTEL January 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel in a Great Central Location Very nice Hotel just two very short blocks from Herald Square Macy's. Very convenient to all major Subway lines from between 32nd st. and 34th st. and broadway enterances to B,D,F,M N,R,Q 1,2,3 and the 4,5,6 a couple of blocks east. Penn Station is about one long block west and Path trains are at the same station as the B,D,F,M,N,R,Q lines. Times Square is just one Subway stop north or 10 short blocks to walk up broadway and Rockefeller center is just 2 stops north, Central Park and 5th Av. shopping is 3 stops north. Everything is within 15-20 minutes by Subway at the most unless your going into the bourough's then its about 20-30 minutes. This Hotel couldn't be in a better spot and its in a pretty nice area...very busy area with tourists all day and all night...feels very safe! The only negative I have about the Hotel is the day of check-in charges and holds. They hold the total first nights cost before you ever check in..which has never happened to me at a Holiday Inn then when you check in they hold the entire cost of the room plus taxes for the entire stay plus $100 per night for incidentals which I think is completely insane...this also has never happened to me at a Holiday Inn...most that I have stayed at...at least in Orlando, Chicago or LA only hold 20% of the total room for the incidentals so this really took out of my available spending money because with this they held more than double the room cost against my credit card. Something they really need to fix, but besides that it wonderful and if you get a NORTH facing room that's at least 7 floors high you will have a perfect view of the Empire State building which is two 2 streets up! January 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good ambiance, comfortable bed & good service Location is very good, near @ Empire State Bldg & beside Korean St. Accessible to restaurants & fast foods. Very close to Penn Station & not very far from Time Square. Front desk were friendly & gave us 2 bottle of mineral water for free which is surprising to us especially in New York!=) We enjoyed our stay during New Year & very comfortable bed except for their shower, you'll have to wait couple minutes in order to get hot water. But overall we enjoyed our stay & very affordable place to stay in New York! January 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Place to Rest in an Excellent Location Excellent location for a 3-star hotel, which basically is everything you want in New York City. You are in the middle of one of the greatest cities in the world, with easy access to the MTA subway, as well walking distance to the train system to NJ (via Penn Station). The cross street is quiet, so you'll get sleep without being interrupted by fire trucks or police cruisers trying to get across town. Plenty of deli's available just one street over, Korea town is also close. You're about 20 minutes walk away from Times Square and you might accidentally stumble on Empire State. Seriously, what a great spot! Inside is quiet and the rooms are large (for NYC). Updated contemporary furnishings, proper bath tub instead of a shower stall, and reasonable wifi coverage completes the ensemble. Free business center + printing means you can easily plan your day before leaving the building. The main downside is that there's only two elevators for a fair number of stories (I think it was 15+), so you might have a pretty long wait. Also the elevator and hallways are a little ancient in decor, but the lobby and rooms are recently renovated. All in all, location is top notch and you'll be comfortable at night. Top notch 3 star. January 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean, first class service loved the room and personnel but the free pizza was the worst I have ever tasted. Microwave would have been better! January 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful front desk staff Great location - loved the view of The Empire State Building at night from our room. Very comfortable beds and well designed bath. Mini fridge and microwave included. The only thing that would have made our stay more comfortable (since we arrived after 10 pm, would have been to have bottled water in the room. Will definitely stay here again. January 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to relax and enjoy NYC The staff were wonderful, very friendly and caring. Location is nice too, near some great halal food carts the famous Macy's and the Empire state building. Rooms were very cozy, quiet and the bed/sheets/pillow were very comfortable. Will stay here again for sure. Rooms are small, but is this is expected for NYC. Didn't use the restaurant so I am unable to comment, but the prices seemed more reasonable than some of the other places. January 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Everyone we encountered from the front desk staff, housekeeping, and restaurant staff was very friendly and helpful. Felt very safe and secure staying here. January 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious for the city Slightly disappointed, our first Christmas away from home. No hotel holiday courtesies. We stayed 5 nights, our toilet broke, only 1 working elevator. Overall it was merely average. January 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room and service was excellant My family and I had a wonderful stay during the Christmas holiday. Service was great staff was friendly, food was good. I would without hesitation stay again and would recommend this hotel to anyone. January 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My favorite hotel across all brands Amazing front desk staff. They make every effort for a pleasant stay. You can't beat the location. January 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and Clean Room I would recommend this hotel to all my friends. Great location with easy access to the subway. Nice view of Empire State Building and within walking distance of several attractions. January 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel Newish hotel with small but comfortable room and stylish bathroom. Friendly staff, especial the breakfast staff. Would stay again. January 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay We found the hotel by chance and am so glad we did, from our arrival we were welcomed and looked after. All the staff were helpful and friendly, the location is great and we found it easy to get around. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in New York in the future and we will stay again when we next visit the States. December 29, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Accommodation and Locaction I travelled to New York on the QM2 and this was my first stay in the city. I spent ages reviewing hotels and locations! Eventually picked the Holiday Inn because it had very good reviews, close to Empire State Building and had free Wifi! I was not disappointed - the accommodation was first class - very clean and plush room. I managed to explore NY and all the main attracations were an easy walk: Empire State Building; Rockerfella Ct.; Central Park; Shops including Bloomingdales and Macys; Grand Central Terminal; Times Sq and finally the aircraft carrier Intrepid! Pizza was given free everyday which was an unexpected freebe - too large to eat on my own! The hotel booked me a car for my trip to JFK airport - to my surprise had a white stretched limo pick me up - wow what a treat and it only cost $70 + $10 for a tip! In summary would definitly stay in this Hotel again. December 28, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. highly recommend staying here. rooms are a bit small, but you don't visit NYC to stay in room. Had problem with check-in being cancelled, (why, unknown not cancelled by me), but was quickly corrected. Last couple of nights problems with one elevator being out of service. (to me a minor inconvenience, room on 4th floor) But overall and outstanding stay during the Christmas Holiday. Thanks staff at 30-32 W.31th St----AWESOME JOB!!!!!!!! December 27, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Nice, new, modern hotel. Excellention location. Hotel is 2 min walk to the Penn Herald Station subway, and a 15 min walk to Times Square. Beds were very comfortable :) December 23, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Confortable bed and quite area but yet close to everything Great hotel, good accommodations and close to everything December 16, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay here again. 3 day weekend to shop and see the Christmas sites with my teenage daughter. Location very convenient, easy walk to Times Square, 2 blocks from Penn Station and subway. Very comfortable beds and bedding. Room size normal for NYC hotels. Used 2 nights on points...third night (a Sunday) was a very reasonable rate for the city. Front desk was helpful and polite. Would stay there again and recommend. December 14, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Remember your shower shoes Although the room appeared newly renovated, the shower stall was slimy and the carpet was tacky, (sticky). I showered in the morning, before leaving the hotel, and by nightfall my feet were itchy and burning. I had to purchase a cream to cure foot fungus. In addition, I couldn't get to sleep. Either the water pipes or the air conditioning vents, (or both), sounded like marbles being rolled across the floors and walls. There was also a constant hissing sound. Around 2am it sounded like everybody on my floor slammed their doors at the same time. By 4am I finally dozed off only to be awoken by light streaming in from around the window blinds at the crack of dawn. I gave up trying to get any sleep and jumped in the shower, (which, of course, in hindsight was a big mistake without my shower shoes). December 10, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Night in Manhattan I booked a room specifically requesting two queen size beds and was given a room with one king. They brought a cot into the room for the additional two people. The cot would only be comfortable for one person and it takes up a good deal of space in the room! Thank God my fourth person cancelled so the cot was sufficient. There was no hot water in the shower, there was no in room mini fridge and if you wanted ice you had to hop on an elevator and go to the basement for the ice machine. Speaking of elevators...one was down for repair leaving only one very slow elevator for the entire hotel. Additionally, there were shear curtains on the windows and stationary drapes which were just decorative..so in the morning the sun shone in bright and early. The paper products (toilet paper, kleenex etc) were also at a minimum. The kleenex had about five sheets in it and then was empty with no replacement kleenex available in the room. One with think that the housekeeping staff would check these things out before guests check in. December 9, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice, clean room and perfect location! We were very surprised by the relatively modern decoration of the room and bath - it could easily match other much more expensive hotels. The location was perfect, allowing us to explore Manhattan on foot without any issues - we could barely think of any better location. Service was straightforward and very quick with everything, though a notch friendlier would have been great (like consistent greetings when coming into the lobby) - but that's really almost a non-issue - still very friendly during check-in and check-out. Internet Connection was free and reasonably fast. December 5, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Midtown For someone who is not a city person the hotel was comfy and easy to find. Rooms small compared to other holiday inns I have been too but considering space is a luxury in the city. Hotel rooms beautiful and clean. Would stay there again! November 27, 2012
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden!
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden!
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden! Early Evening at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden Early Evening at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden!
Select to close.
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Availability
Loading