• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MIDTOWN MANHATTAN
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a 75.00 USD non refundable fee per stay. Pets only allowed on certain floors.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Macy's Herald Square
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Madison Square Garden
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Broadway Theatre District/Times Square
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
5th Avenue Shopping
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:25
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel negotiated discount rate with Little Man Parking located at 221 West 29th between 7th and 8th Avenue. Negotiated rate is $30.00 for 25 hours for car, extra $10.00 per night for SUV/Mini Van/Oversized Vehical. No valet parking available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:228
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:146
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:82
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:228
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:13
  • FEMA Property Number:NY5171

Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel

The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms.

Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access,
View More

Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel

The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms.

Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access, copy and print services and a meeting room. In addition, our hotel is located just one mile from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, and we are a short walk from Penn Plaza, which hosts many of the area's businesses.

Leisure travelers are also sure to enjoy our prime location and great deals, as our hotel in NYC is close to the greatest attractions the city has to offer. We're just two blocks from Madison Square Garden, a half-mile from the Empire State Building and a mile from Rockefeller Center. In addition, Chinatown, Central Park, Times Square, Penn Station, the Theatre District, the Fashion Institute of Technology and shopping along 5th Ave are nearby.

During your stay with us in NYC, our hotel's amenities will impress you, as we feature everything from free high-speed Internet access to a Fitness Center and a delicious, hot breakfast, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book now, and enjoy the great deals at our hotel in NYC today!

View Less
Features
After enjoying the complimentary hot breakfast, plan your itinerary with the free high-speed Internet access. Then, tour the city and see the sights and sounds of New York City, all without venturing more than a few miles from our hotel.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 521 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, great location This hotel is ideally located and the prices, although high, are good for Manhattan. Our first bed was very hard and the AC unit was very loud, but the staff moved us and our second room was great. The staff was very helpful and good to work with. The WiFi and the free breakfasts are a great bonus and we made good use of both of them. We did have some problems with the smoke detector - it was "fixed" twice but still went off later, once at 2:45am. We've stayed there before and would stay again. October 22, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! The staff was very helpful with our needs (extra linens, taxis, directions etc) The breakfast was delicious and everything was clean and tidy! October 22, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by no shower curtain There was no shower curtain in the bathroom. Unfortunately, I did not discover this until I tried to take shower in the morning. I was in a hurry, so I didn't have time to request a shower curtain or another room. It seems to me that the hotel should check something as basic as this. October 21, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The very best! Congratulations to all staff for making my wife and I so welcome and comfortable. October 20, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Will come back Enjoyed our stay and will return. The staff were great and our room was clean.....thank you. October 18, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No parece un Holiday Inn No nos ha gustado. Habitaciones muy pequeñas y antiguas, ascensores con problemas, varios dias tuvimos que bajar por las escaleras desde el piso 18. Algunos huespedes con las valijas desde el piso 23. El espacio para el desayuno no es acorde a la cantidad de huespedes. El Lobby del hotel esta lleno de cajas de envios para los pasajeros ya ue no hay espacio físico para guardarlas. Desentona con otros Holiday Inn que hemos visitado. La atencion y predisposición del personal es excelente, pero se los ve angustiados por no poder solucionar los reclamos de los pasajeros. October 18, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by connie good bed, linens. Great sightseeing and theater location. Around the corner from Port Authority. Safe and secure. Halls upstairs are quite narrow, but room size is average for NYC. Clean. Nice to have a refrig for cold drinks. Good value for the price. October 17, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room Too Small I stayed in two queen bedroom with my wife and two toddlers. The room was very small and even though we did not stay much in the room it was crowded with all the furniture and our luggage and we didn't even have much luggage with us. Staff was OK but not super friendly. Price we paid did not reflects the quality provided. October 17, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Elevator and refrigerator/microwave Only two elevators. So, when the hotel is full, it's too slow. And one of them broke in a period. Conclusion, we had to down the stairs and to up, we had a long wait. We usually bought food to eat in the room, if we had a microwave to heat the food, it'll be great. And a refrigerator for cokes, mineral water and fruits. October 16, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful hotel in perfect location I spent 4 nights at this hotel in October of 2012. The hotel was very friendly to deal with the the front desk staff went above and beyond what they had to do to make sure I was happy. The room was the ideal size with a great via. The temperature controls worked great as I have had issues at other hotels with the thermostats. Overall the hotel was a great location and the property was great. I will be returning to this property in the future. October 16, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, would stay again, just small water issue. The people could not have been nicer. the room size was just fine for New York. Clean and good location. The shower pressure was not that good and the hot water should be hotter, but that was the only downside. October 15, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Efficient Front Desk Staff Front office staff were friendly and efficient. Was able to drop luggage at the front desk for storage. However, at the price of this room, I expect excellent all-round service. Room was not vacuumed over the two days. All trash cans were not emptied. Cleaning supplies were left on the bathroom counter. Think I will try another place on the next trip. Did not utilize the breakfast service. October 14, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by New York First we had to wait long time for the elevator, only one was in order, just to find out that the room we got was not ready. Back to waiting for the elevator to get down to the lobby. Although requesting a new room wasn't too bad, we had a long wait again for the elevator. It was a nightmare awaiting to get up or down. Not a nice experience. October 9, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and nice staff Overall, the staff with Holiday Inn Express was really nice and helpful October 9, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Experience When we got there to check in, neither of our 2 rooms were ready. About 15 minutes later, one was ready but it took another hour before the 2nd was ready. Then, the following morning, one of the 2 elevators was broken. People were waiting upwards of 30 minutes to get from their room to the lobby. People were also walking 40 flights of steps in order to leave the hotel. They didn't offer us anything after both of those experiences so I will never ever stay here again.0 October 9, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Small room and noisy air conditioner A small room and a noisy air conditioner makes a good night sleep difficult. Check in was hassle free; without sounding like a misogynist , service from the male staff was excellent generally but cant say the same for the female staff . Location was not in Times Square as advertised. October 8, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by TINY ROOMS From the beginning of my stay I regretted choosing this hotel. The lobby is TINY and the staff is extremely slow to check people in. It took me over half an hour just to check in and get my room key! The rooms are very outdated and TINY. Our room door was broken, the bathroom door wouldn't close properly, and the staff was unwilling and unresponsive! October 7, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good value and location, very quiet room..teeny and crowded lobby Good value for Manhattan and a great location near Times Square. I was lucky and got a second floor room because using those elevators would have been difficult. Floors are small with maybe 6 rooms per hall so that means less noise, walking and doors closing outside of the room. So the rooms were very quiet and I slept well. The lobby is tiny, noisy and crowded. I did not partake of the comp. breakfast--again, too noisy and crowded. At first there was no hot water but ten minutes after I called a very courteous engineer came to fix the situation. There were no cups or glasses in the room. I called....but none ever came. There were two computers in the lobby and I rarely had to wait to use them. On Sunday morning the weekly Flea Market is held across the street. I use hotels in NYC for value and location and don't really care about much else expect getting a good night's sleep for the eight hours when I really need a hotel. With that in mind, this was fine, but had I needed to use the elevators for a higher floor, it might have been a different situation. The lobby and wait for elevators is really crazy...There was no view to speak of--but who cares? You want views and lobbies--pay $500 per night or more. It's NYC--enjoy it. I was recognized as a Priority Club member only by the desk person mentioning it (?) and got nothing..not even bottled water! October 6, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay in New York City We enjoyed staying at "Holiday Inn Express" Great location October 5, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs upgrading The main problem with this hotel is that 26 or more floors are sered by only two elevators which results in overloading in the morning rush hour. I was squeezed into the elevator one morning. There was no room yet at every floor guests forced their way in as the had waited 2o minutes already. The overloading resulted in the elevator getting stuck between floors for ten minutes while passengers were jammed in like sardines. A couple of other issues. I had a maid trying to get me out of my room an hour before checkout. I felt like I needed to apologise for still being there! I also had to push away a housekeeping cart that was always parked outside my door. October 4, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location & Value Newer property in the ever expanding area that is now referred to as "Times Square". Almost at 9th Ave. it's a bit of a walk to the Hot Tix booth, Theaters, Rock Center and Bryant Park if not in walking shape or used to driving everywhere. Would stay again. October 4, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfy This hotel is convenient if you want to explore Manhattan and be in the middle of Time Square.. We got the 3 day Hop on Hop off City tour ride in combination with the 3 day New York pass and we did not need to take the subway because the bus covers the whole area. The room is comfy and gets cleaned everyday. New towels are provided everywhere. The breakfast menu is good and there are good selections. September 30, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location This hotel is okay if you are only planning to use it only to sleep and to save a bit of money. The rooms are very small as is the bathroom space. We did not get our towels replaced every day and when we did, there were some that had black marks on them and we did not get two face towels all the time in the room. The elevator was okay and not as bad as some reviews had indicated. We only had to wait a few times, even during breakfast hours. Breakfast selection was sufficient but having the same thing every day got a bit monotonous with no different choices. If you are trying to save money, this hotel is satisfactory but if you're looking for more comfort and space, then this will not be suitable. The location is handy and we could basically walk or take the subway (bus) to shows and attractions. Also good restaurants around the area. September 30, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location in midtown This was a perfect place for getting anywhere in the city. A walk from to Times Square, ease of local transportation and many close Convenience stores and pub just out the door. I highly recommend the stay to value ratio. September 29, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff We were impressed with the hard working staff. Everyone was friendly and made us feel welcome and willing to help us with any questions. Felt very at home and would definitely go back. September 26, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and clean bathroom My experience was excellent, as usual with Holiday Inns. Your staff in the reception area, concierge and breakfast room were very efficient, polite and helpful at all times. September 25, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly Surprised I was very pleasantly surprised with my stay at the Holiday Inn Express near Times Square. The value and location were good, and the staff were very nice and helpful. My room was clean and in great shape and the breakfast was awesome. I will continue to stay here as often as I travel to NYC. September 19, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Was I in the lift or my room, hard to tell. Holiday Inn Express New York, I came to stay at this bijou Hotel right in the heart and the thick of it near Time Square. This was a different entrance to any hotel id ever stayed at, there were huge laundry bins and garbage bins that from my limo I couldn't even see the building and the driver had to move a further 25 meters away just to get me out. From the very beginning my stay was Mediocre,  Jamie was pleasant enough at the front desk, but no recognition of being a Platinum priority elite member, I had sent an email to inform the Hotel That I would be arriving late in the evening and the front office manager responded with a delightful warm message that all was organised and that they would be expecting us and keeping me a nice room on an upper level. That friendly attitude carried across to the helpful, Jamie on the front desk, who was brilliant, but i didn't feel that my bookings were special, maybe as my first four nights were reward nights.  This Hotel is well located just a few minutes walk to Times Square, and whilst the breakfast is included and great, there’s something for everyone, I had no interaction with any staff as they were continuously rushing about, But the breakfast room does supply all that you would need to start your day in a very clean and nice space, with Bacon, eggs, sausages, pancakes and selection of hot and cold drinks, great unique cinnamon scrolls, as well nice and warm and fresh, all very nicely presented. there's busy periods but you can take food back to your room on a tray, there is only two lifts for 36 floors, 210 rooms so I needed to time my travel up and down well, especially as one lift was broken for two days.   The room is small just enough room to walk around the small double beds, but has  nearly everything you could want except a fridge, foolishly I didn't ask reception as they would have kept my insulin in their fridge, but just a little fridge in an already crowded room would have been welcome. I usually am very complimentary  about the beds in Holiday inns but these beds where just too hard for my liking. They do have the lovely pillow selection, so you will have a pillow to your taste. And free Wi-Fi, which worked well and continuously for three iPhones and iPads.  From about level 25 up the rooms have a great view of the city and we could see clearly downtown past the Empire State building to the Hudson river. The Bathroom is good with amenities and a good hot shower, though the water saver shower head was frustrating so I just had to shower allot longer to wash, the well airconditioned room made a retreat from the frenetic hustle and bustle of New York, What I find and I often talk about is the Vibe of a place, I didn't get it here no one talked to us in the breakfast room from the staff, and the front desk staff generally where efficient but not overly chatty or interested.  it is staff that have good leadership and make you want to turn up for work, so you have a passion for what you’re doing, that makes a great place, I didn't meet a manager nor was I welcomed by a note or card, which I usually get as a long term Platinum Priority elite member. My first four days were reward nights, I shouldn't have felt a difference, but there was no news paper at my door each morning until the paid days started, and I felt I would have had a higher level room if I'd have come in as paying, but I will never know, what I do know I didn't feel the recognition of my club level.    If staying in New York I can recommend this hotel if a couple or single then you are almost guaranteed to have a good time. I personally wouldn't stay again just because for me the rooms are far too small, but for most people this wouldn't be a problem, especially if there's just one or two people as Ive said.   The Holiday Inn chain is celebrating their 60th Anniversary, and it has been a real pleasure for me to be part of that from my very first Holiday Inn stay in 1979. Thank you for being such an important part to my travel memories, of which this wonderful Hotel will be added. September 18, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good deal in midtown Manhattan. Attentive and professional staff. Remodeled hotel. The room and the bathroom were very clean. Small hotel, small areas, but not uncomfortable. Knockout breakfast included, one of the best I've had in this category. And LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. Walk to Times Square, to the theaters, to Fifth Avenue, restaurants, bars. We had a great New York experience staying in this hotel and very affordable. September 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and excellent staff The staff was very professional and pleasant to deal with. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The location to Time Square was very convenient being only a couple of blocks away. I certainly would book this hotel again. September 16, 2012
<<prev 15 16 17 18 19 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden!
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden!
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden! Early Evening at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden Early Evening at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden!
Select to close.
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn Express ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading