• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-21-2014)
(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MIDTOWN MANHATTAN
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a 75.00 USD non refundable fee per stay. Pets only allowed on certain floors.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Macy's Herald Square
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Madison Square Garden
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Broadway Theatre District/Times Square
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
5th Avenue Shopping
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:25
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel negotiated discount rate with Little Man Parking located at 221 West 29th between 7th and 8th Avenue. Negotiated rate is $30.00 for 25 hours for car, extra $10.00 per night for SUV/Mini Van/Oversized Vehical. No valet parking available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:228
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:146
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:82
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:228
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:13
  • FEMA Property Number:NY5171

Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel

The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms.

Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access,
View More

Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel

The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms.

Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access, copy and print services and a meeting room. In addition, our hotel is located just one mile from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, and we are a short walk from Penn Plaza, which hosts many of the area's businesses.

Leisure travelers are also sure to enjoy our prime location and great deals, as our hotel in NYC is close to the greatest attractions the city has to offer. We're just two blocks from Madison Square Garden, a half-mile from the Empire State Building and a mile from Rockefeller Center. In addition, Chinatown, Central Park, Times Square, Penn Station, the Theatre District, the Fashion Institute of Technology and shopping along 5th Ave are nearby.

During your stay with us in NYC, our hotel's amenities will impress you, as we feature everything from free high-speed Internet access to a Fitness Center and a delicious, hot breakfast, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book now, and enjoy the great deals at our hotel in NYC today!

View Less
Features
After enjoying the complimentary hot breakfast, plan your itinerary with the free high-speed Internet access. Then, tour the city and see the sights and sounds of New York City, all without venturing more than a few miles from our hotel.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 315 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday in New York I can recommend your hotel to all who come to New York it was a lovely holiday made better by staying at the holiday inn the staff are so friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them . Clean rooms and good food enjoyed our stay thank you November 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy if room faces the street Great location if visiting the south part of the city. Parking not bad given how bad parking in NYC can be November 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good clean place in good location pleasant, helpful front desk clean, comfortable room November 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast service Excellent welcome to to all family members by the Breakfast manager who knows us from previous visits and knows our preferences and monitored and quided other waiters so we were able to have a good experience November 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best way to do business I found the Holiday Inn _Chelsea to be centrally located to my business, comfortable, and like a mini retreat! The staff was always pleasant, helpful, and courteous. The restaurant has just enough ambiance for me to feel away from home, and they had some of the best butternut squash soup I have ever tasted!! November 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, ideal location. Very nice hotel, ideally located for visiting the sights of New York. All members of staff were extremely friendly and very helpful and made our visit very enjoyable. Would definitely return to this hotel and would highly recommend to others. November 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Incredibly comfortable beds - phenomenal service LOVED staying here - the hotel was very clean and everything was up to date. But what made our stay truly excellent was the phenomenal service from the staff. Pilar, their concierge was so friendly and helpful and truly made the difference for all of us girls who were trying to navigate around New York. And one of their restaurant waiters (excellent food), Shaleen (SP?), was top-notch. Every day, we looked forward to seeing them and getting ideas as to where to go next. The only downside was that the rooms were small - and with two to a room, there was a lot of negotiating to be able to move around the room. The beds were soooo comfortable - and it helped to offset the tiny space. The location was very good - near to the subway - which made it very easy to get around the city. October 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service good people Short stay but the service we received was great. Would stay at other Holiday inns based on this visit October 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Breakfast Staff Although the restaurant is nothing to look at, the service provided by Samir (?) was exceptional. He made all the difference and became a real part of our vacation. We all got big hugs at the end of the stay. He was personable and very genuine. Other members of the staff were equally friendly and added to our stay. The location is perfect, nice outdoor seating. It would be great if the lobby was more open to the bar and restaurant. October 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Great location for getting around Manhattan. Easy access to Penn Station and the number 1 red line subway on 28th and 7th. Staff was great and helpful. Typical small rooms for New York City but who stays in their room? October 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay. Convenient location, friendly staff, good rooms. Recommend to anyone staying in New York. Will stay there again when I am in town. October 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Hotel was nice, great location, staff was friendly. Can be expensive at times for the size of room. October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by cLOSE TO TRANSPORTATION NOT MUCH TO WATCH ON tv AND NO MOVIES TO BUY...FOOD AT RESTAURANT and service was bad, she was very forgetful... October 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Stay I had a very pleasant stay; the bed and pillows were so comfy. The staff was very warm and welcoming, and were very helpful. October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and nice staff great service and fast, and greta location, and easy to get around October 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and staff. Great location, brand new clean rooms. Excellent staff. I just wish they would build these new rooms with a bit more space. Other than that had a great time. The free beer for IHG members was a good way to get me into the pub. Cheers! October 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just OK. Staff wonderful Small rooms, all staff personal were wonderful. Too expensive. October 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Birthday Stay I stay in New York City an average of 30 to 40 days a year for business, and rarely get to stay for leisure. This trip was pure leisure. We love Chelsea and normally stay at a different Hotel in the area. We decided to stay at the Holiday Inn this visit. We have stayed at his location before but were concerned at how small the rooms were. Even though the rooms are small, we LOVE the location and the Staff is absolutely GREAT. James welcomed us at check in and made us feel welcome! We had friends that were with us on this vacation and they experienced the same welcome. As a Platinum member, who stays in Hotels nearly 200 days per year, I truly appreciate the loyalty program perks and acknowledgment of status. I will definitely be staying here again in the future. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in good location The staff and rooms here are great. Very reasonable price for middle of NYC. October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spur of the moment trip to NYC...and well worth it After a rough week at work, what a better way to unwind than head to NYC for an extended weekend! For the better part of the past 10 years, I have called the Holiday Inn-6th Ave-Chelsea my home away from home. And even though booking this trip was extremely last minute for me, the staff at the hotel was exceptional in accommodating my requests and as usual, made my stay worth it in every way possible. Once the reservation was made, I had the pleasure of working with Mabel (congrats on the new job!!) who assisted with noting my requests and making sure they were updated in the system. I do love the higher floors facing uptown...killer view of the Empire State Bldg :-) Being only a couple of days out, I worked with both Milta and Alex. I would like to thank them for their wonderful assistance and exceptional customer service, from a grateful traveler, who admittedly likes to call to make sure things are on target (maybe more than once). As my arrival date was right around the corner, Mabel, Alex and Milta assured me that everything was a 'go' and they would see me soon. Upon arrival, I was able to meet and greet both Milta and Alex and we were able to exchange 'hellos' while checking in. Although the room wasn't ready when I got there #it's NYC, no biggie#, I was able to get some work done in the new and improved lobby #what a nice open area, kudos to the redesign for sure!# and stopped off at the Prime Café to grab a bite. If you've read my prior reviews, this is by far one of my go to's when I'm staying at the hotel. You can seriously just eat Prime Café your entire stay, and I can say that I may have done this once, or twice. Said hello to Vinny, we chatted, caught up and had a great lunch while waiting for my room. I asked about the staff and how things were going. Everyone is still around, and that is an awesome thing. From Al to Uncle John and Vinny welcoming guests, to Larry and Ron tending bar, Prime is a prime spot. Not to mention the live music outside on the front porch area...great touch! In addition to the great staff mentioned above, I would like to recognize Josue, David and Yanitza for their assistance in fulfilling extra pillow and towel requests, as well as recognizing me by name and always providing a 'hello', 'how are you?', etc. when passing through the lobby. The entire front office staff is personable and considerate and that goes a long way toward satisfying their customers/guests. And I cannot say enough about the concierge staff #Pilar and Carter#. Fantastic recommendations on how to get around town, great knowledge on the who, what when, where and how. Although I've been to the city many times before, having a knowledge source right there to help remind you of where you are going and making wonderful suggestions always helps. To everyone that I've mentioned above , Mabel, Milta, Alex, Josue, David, Yanitza, the Prime Café gang #Al, John, Vinny, Larry & Ron# and the concierge twosome of Pilar and Carter, this was another great stay at the Holiday Inn-6th Ave-Chelsea and I thank you again for making it so. I always look forward to returning to NYC and staying at this hotel. Till we see each other again, Cheers! Eric O. October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view!!! The hotel was close to the FlatIron district and many attractions. Recommend taking in the HighLine which is also a few blocks away and enjoy the views. Overall great experience, the only drawback is the rooms are very small. There were 4 of us and things were tight. The bathroom is very modern and clean but not much bigger than an airport bathroom. If you can handle that, you have a great hotel for the price! October 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I spent 6 weeks at this Hotel I spent 6 weeks at this hotel. It has a great patio for drinks, food and occasional music. The staff was very friendly. The rooms are small, but so are most NYC rooms. It was very close to the subways. I also had a great view of the Empire State Building. October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! We enjoyed our stay at the Chelsea location. The hotel is located conveniently a few blocks form Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The front desk staff were pleasant, professional and accommodating. The rooms are small, so I would not recommend sleeping more than 2 adults to a room. The bathrooms are also small, but the shower was a great size. My only complaint about the room was that the water temperature went from cold to scalding hot - it was very difficult to get warm water. We never ate at the restaurant downstairs, but we had drinks at the bar. The bar staff were clueless and had to refer to the drink menu to make the drinks we ordered. We would stay again. FYI IHG Club Members - There are stipulations to the free drink coupon you receive when checking in. Be sure to ask questions. October 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pillar the Concierge... is incredible My wife and I spent four days in Manhattan while I worked from 7am until 6pm Pillar took my wife under her wing not unlike any good concierge... but Pillar went far beyond her required job description. Unlike any other concierge we have ever met Pillar took a personal interest in our stay remembering our names; greeting us cheerfully by name after our first meeting; remembering what we were doing each day; but most importantly ensuring that my wife (nervous about her being alone all day in New York) was comfortable and she encouraged her to explore the city giving her pointers and ideas of what to do... but then following up with her when she returned. When she saw my wife sitting outside the hotel she came out and sat down with her for a short while to ensure that she was happy and experiencing NYC. Thank you Pillar... And Holiday Inn...this girl is a keeper, I hope you are treating her well. She is the reason I will give Holiday Inn another chance. With regards to your dinning room... breakfast was substandard... but dinner was a shocker! the food was excellent and prepared to perfection. I couldn't believe I was eating at Holiday Inn! October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Staff The staff was outstanding ! Especially Milta, the Receptionist who would always make herself available to help us in any questions/difficulties we would have. The hotel is very lucky to have her as an employee. She made all the difference to us. October 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and lousy service Had to call front desk at midnight to ask for bath supplies. Next day no coffee or coffee cups in room. Lobby is a disorganized zoo at check in/check out. October 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and Location! I stayed here last month, and enjoyed every minute of it. From the new rooms to the helpful staff, I highly recommend this place! October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and comfort of the room and bed I just want to say I did not give them upon entry my Gold number as i forgot and although I did when I checked out they acknowledged my status and that is why I did not get bonus points or an amenity bag. As it was not the staffs fault and all of them were so e\helpful and friendly and polite. My work makes my reservation number for me and I did not give them in advance my gold number. October 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Location, Location, Location! A great place to stay for your time in NYC. Awesome location, very comfy bedrooms and very nice staff. Surely a great experience to repeat! October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great comfort room My stay was great. The hotel was close to different important sights in NYC and the subway, 2 block distance. My room had great lighting and the bed and pillows were comfortable. Unfortunately, my room was at the back so my room faced the back of other buildings. The staff gave great customer service and helped me y giving me directions to certain locations. October 8, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden!
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden!
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden! Early Evening at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden Early Evening at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden!
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading