• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MANHATTAN
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are allowed. Maximum of 2 dogs, 50 pounds per room. Pets must be caged or taken for a walk daily for room cleaning. Rooms must be cleaned daily. Pet deposit amount 50.00 USD per stay.
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  50.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Empire State Building
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:135
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:93
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:42
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:135
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:19
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express 36th Street. Enjoy a Calm, Peaceful Haven in the Heart of NYC You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks. Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices Marsh and McLennan, Verizon, Google ABC, JP Morgan Chase and , McGraw Hill, all within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near
View More
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express 36th Street. Enjoy a Calm, Peaceful Haven in the Heart of NYC You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks. Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices Marsh and McLennan, Verizon, Google ABC, JP Morgan Chase and , McGraw Hill, all within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near The Empire State building and minutes away from Times Square. Our hotel's guests can stay productive in our 24-hour business center with copy, fax, printing and computer services, as well. There is so much to do whether you want to catch a Broadway play or , visit the Modern Museum of Art, browse the shops on Fifth Avenue or enjoy the sites at Chelsea Park, The Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street is located near the best of Manhattan and Times Square. Our hotel's guests can go skating at Rockefeller Center, stroll in Central Park or Bryant Park or take an evening cruise around New York City. You'll take delight in magnificent, skyscraper views, our impeccable customer service and terrific, complimentary amenities. Take advantage of our free, hot breakfast bar. Everyone's a star at our Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel. With a name you can trust and a price you can afford, we'll indulge you with a practical and convenient stay.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express 36th Street is uniquely located in the heart of the Fashion District between 5th and 6th Avenue. This Hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. We are minutes away from the Empire State Building, Times Square and and so much more.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 195 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel with difference in Midtown I recently stayed for 7 nights in this hotel and I was extremely happy. Indigo has refreshing touch and different in terms on overall value and feel in comparison to similar hotels in midtown NYC area. Value for money and welcome feeling. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay close to PENN Station I was very pleasently surprised with my stay at this hotel. I travel to NYC frequently and am always on the look out for the best lodging. Great location, beautiful lobby and super freindly staff. The guest rooms are large for the area, beautiful bathrooms, aveda products, complimentary wireless. My only disappointment on this stay was that the restuarant was under renovations. August 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not Your Usual Indigo for Business I g to Manhattan one week, usually 3 or 4 nights, a month for engineering business. The desk service and room service were normal good Indigo Service. However, that is where this Indigo stops being an Indigo and becomes just another tourist hotel in New York City. The hotel had several negatives for business travelers as follows: 1. The room was so small and tight, it felt like it was for a one night stand. 2. Business travelers need a decent size desk to do their work. The desk was pathetic and almost useless. I had to angle the TV to one side, remove the coffee machine to a night table next to the bed, and put the desk lamp on the floor to have enough room to get some work done. 3. The closet was too small and was made half useless by having the refrigerator crammed in it with snacks for sale on top of it. 4. The drawer space, for someone on a three night/four day business trip to Manhattan, was also pathetic. 5. And all of these shortcomings were for one person. I brought my wife for the first 2 nights and she couldn't wait to leave. She couldn't even unpack her bags because there simply wasn't enough drawer space. She used some close space because I didn't unpack casual evening clothes. There is no reason to use this hotel again over IHG's lesser brands or competitors. This is definitely not what I expected from the Indigo Brand. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience We stayed at the Hotel Indigo in Chelsea and had a wonderful experience! The room was spacious, stylish, and clean. All the employees were polite and very helpful. We will definitely stay here again. August 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Safe Broken safe caused my experience to be sub-par. I spent a lot of time waiting for the engineer to open and re-open my safe. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel and excellent staff We always stay at Hotel Indigos when we have the opportunity. We have always found them to be 3-4 star hotels with all the amenities. This one in NYC lived up to our expectations. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, low price Great hotel for the price, people at reception were very nice. Thanks! August 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall It is convenient location. Especially for people taking the megabus. August 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel -stay there Good hotel in a good location... near 2 subway stations/lines and the Chelsea neighborhood offers lots. Food nearby and reasonably priced (for NYC!). Hotel is in middle of flower district / shops so we were able to have fresh flowers in room at a good price. Rooms are adequate for 2 people with suitcases... bathroom is ok size and was clean, Shower too. Bathroom amenities were Aveda brand -- very nice. Hotel exceeded our expectations. August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel.... I had a minor issue with the HVAC and getting a temperature that was comfortable, but a minor problem. I also asked for Down Pillows, and maybe they were Down, but if they were, I would consider them very low on the quality scale. The restaurant was closed for remodeling, so I cannot comment on their food, service, etc. BUT...I would go back in a heartbeat! Great location, great ambiance! August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful location and sleep The location of this hotel is wonderful - walking distance to Penn Station and Times Square, yet far enough to be clear of the crowds and noise. Also close to several subway lines. The bed was fluffy and very comfortable and the room was quiet - I got a great nights sleep, something I don't often do in hotels. The only annoying thing was that our key cards deactivated twice, but were promptly reactivated by the front desk staff. When I left, I didn't completely pull my cell phone charger plug from the wall. I called two days later and was transferred to housekeeping. The lady I spoke to found the plug, called me back and sent it Fed Ex that day. I was impressed. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Hotel in middel of manhattan. It is a good hotel, the lobby and the corredors are small but enought, to use the lift you have to use your room card, this is safety for the guests. The room is nice, it hasnt the common carpet, it use wooden floors that it is great, all the other hotels that Ive been has the carpet. Confortable bed and various pillows. The furniture is so good, modern but simple at the same time. TV with a lot of channels and complementary wifi. I have miss the complementary breakfast. July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel but unconfortable sleep i asked for an upgrade to a bigger room as last time I idea a Mickey mouse one. because of my platinum memebership staff were promptly giving me one of the big ones that was clean, fresh and big enough. only huge problems are: 1 matresses totally too soft, warm July 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Good service but terrible night sleep The staff were very good but unfortunately our sleep was not very good - a rattling air conditioner we had to turn off at 2:15am, so the room got hot and we could not go back to sleep. No solid curtain to block out the daylight - only a sheer curtain for the windows. In addition, we were on the 3rd floor and heard all the street noise outside as if it were in our room - this hotel does not have double pane windows to drown out the noise. The pillows are very cheap and not solid and firm, so it's hard to get comfortable on them. Overall, just not a very good night. We stay at many hotels and travel quite a bit and usually have good experiences at most places, but unfortunately this place was not one of them. We would not recommend this place to anyone. July 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 BEDS are horrible; no outlets to charge up beds are really pretty elementary - noticably not comfortable. very thin mattress. desk are has no easy way to plug in and charge up devices. no notification of restaurant being closed July 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for money Hotel Indigo Ney York City Chelsea is a good value for money. Compare to other hotels around the area rooms are much bigger and staff are really friendly. I feel always welcome as a returning guest. The only down side is the roof top bar/restaurant was closed for a long period now. July 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Construction! Construction directly below my room ruined this stay. Front desk staff at checkout were not friendly or helpful. Took almost an hour to get my car from valet. Room is ok, but if there is going to be construction that close at least that whole floor needs to be shut down July 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and great staff. Everything was great. Great location and great staff. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value at good location We stayed 2 nights for a staycation. The front desk staff were friendly. The room was pretty big by NYC standards especially at the price. It was clean, new and well furnished. The room was at the back so it was a bit dark, but that’s to be expected. The bed was a bit soft and we both had slightly sore backs. Also the pillows, though there were quite a few of them, were super soft and small. That said this was a fine hotel at a good price. July 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Garden District hotel! The Hotel Indigo is in a very great location. Close to subways and major NYC attractions. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Any issues we had with the rooms we booked were handled professionally, quickly, and to our complete satisfaction. Would stay there again. July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Hotel for the money I have stayed in NYC many times for both business and pleasure. Overall, this was the best hotel for the money. Going forward, it will be my first choice in accommodations. July 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great surprise in Chelsea Needed a nice hotel in the Chelsea area for a short business trip. Didn't know about this hotel but it appeared in the list of possible options. Glad I chose it as the room was a decent size (for NYC), the setup was good, and everything was modern, clean, and comfortable. Everything was just easy. No problems at all. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by They do a great job here. The area isn't great but the hotel is and the staff is really wonderful. Last time I was there I left my bag in the lobby and they grabbed it and held it for me till I returned. Always very personable and you never need to call more than once for anything July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming Staff and convenient location Very easy to find and helpful staff. Great location,placed within easy walking distance of different metro lines and Penn St. July 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location, location, and location Good location near Chelsea. Everything is OK or a little above average. Good experience. One comment on the grout of the tile in the shower. You can do a better job in terms of cleanness. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best hotel experience of my life!!! My boyfriend and I drove from northern Indiana to NYC for vacation. After driving for nearly 13 hours, we arrived a few hours before our scheduled check in time. Olivia and Jay were at the desk when we arrived and were happy to check availability for us and voila we were able to check in early at no additional cost. When we informed them that we were planning to get married during our stay they were both genuinely happy for us and provided accurate directions for us to get where we needed to go. Our room was plenty large enough even with a king size bed for both of us to move about freely. The room was clean, stylish, and comfortable. The bathroom was a delight from the Aveda products to the top end fixtures. The hotel was PERFECTLY situated for easy access to the subway and buses. Overall the hotel itself was a pleasure but the Outstanding service puts it on par with any 5th Avenue suite! Thank you Jay and Olivia for making this vacation our best ever!!! July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, quiet A king size, very comfortable bed with crisp clean linens, a mostly quiet room although the AC unit rattled a bit. The room is medium in size and had enough spacing not to make it feel cramped. Simple yet artful decor, a window that actually opened so that we could listen to the thunderstorm passing over the city. Positioned in the flower district and a short walk from Penn Station, which was very convenient. Close to the wholesale jewelery district which my lady friend "appreciated" and a very courteous staff that always greeted us leaving and returning from city adventures. You might think because it it is the middle of a wholesale flower district that it might not be safe but I was pleasantly suprised to find that it felt just the opposite. Very good experience overall. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay in the Big Apple The Indigo was fresh, clean and the staff were great. The value was good and we will return next time we are in the city. July 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel and reasonably priced for the area. My review is brief. I had a king size bed and while it was nice and comfortable, it had a loud noise on one side of the bed. Every time I turned while in bed, it woke me up with the loud noise. Bathroom also had loud noise. I'm not a light sleeper so I know the noises had to really be loud. Other problem, my room key stopped working and when I reported it, I was asked to take elevator down to the front desk rather than the front desk bring me a new room key. When new room key was issued, it still didn't work on the elevator. Big inconvenience. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great 2 night stay! From Olivia at the front desk at check-in through ALL other staff, they made for a great short stay! Great location and rooms. As a frequent traveler to NYC, will definitely be back! July 6, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square
Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square
Select to close.
Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square Enjoy a relaxing stay in the Fashion District. Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Check Availability
Loading