• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MANHATTAN
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are allowed. Maximum of 2 dogs, 50 pounds per room. Pets must be caged or taken for a walk daily for room cleaning. Rooms must be cleaned daily. Pet deposit amount 50.00 USD per stay.
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  50.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Empire State Building
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:135
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:93
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:42
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:135
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:19
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express 36th Street. Enjoy a Calm, Peaceful Haven in the Heart of NYC You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks.

Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices Marsh and McLennan, Verizon, Google ABC, JP Morgan Chase and , McGraw Hill, all within walking distance of our location in
View More

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express 36th Street. Enjoy a Calm, Peaceful Haven in the Heart of NYC You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks.

Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices Marsh and McLennan, Verizon, Google ABC, JP Morgan Chase and , McGraw Hill, all within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near The Empire State building and minutes away from Times Square. Our hotel's guests can stay productive in our 24-hour business center with copy, fax, printing and computer services, as well.

There is so much to do whether you want to catch a Broadway play or , visit the Modern Museum of Art, browse the shops on Fifth Avenue or enjoy the sites at Chelsea Park, The Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street is located near the best of Manhattan and Times Square. Our hotel's guests can go skating at Rockefeller Center, stroll in Central Park or Bryant Park or take an evening cruise around New York City.

You'll take delight in magnificent, skyscraper views, our impeccable customer service and terrific, complimentary amenities. Take advantage of our free, hot breakfast bar. Everyone's a star at our Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel. With a name you can trust and a price you can afford, we'll indulge you with a practical and convenient stay.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express 36th Street is uniquely located in the heart of the Fashion District between 5th and 6th Avenue. This Hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. We are minutes away from the Empire State Building, Times Square and and so much more.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 235 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The entire staff made our 5-day stay a great experience. They were helpful and attentive to our needs. June 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by tight bathroom-towels are old looking the location was great for the purpose of our stay-close to 28th st where fencing gym is located June 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by poor elevators Had to wait for a long time as elevators are slow and are also used by staff June 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by good location, tiny room the location of this property is convenient: close to Penn Station and a short walk to the 1 and F subway station and the PATH. There are only 2 elevators (for 25 floors and there are 10 rooms per floor). The room is tiny with the door not even opening all the way. Noise from the hallway is bad. AC and heat is from a unit under the window and makes a lot of noise. The pillows are square and small and the bed is short. There is a Coffee maker is under the nightstand (no room to put it somewhere else), towels are a bit worn but the walk in shower is clean and there is sufficient water pressure. The sink is ridiculously small. Small lobby with uncomfortable furniture. Staff is friendly. Common areas are dated, scratched and worn. June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value, great location Really enjoyed staying at this Holiday Inn Express. The room was clean and comfortable. However, the bathroom was very small. The rest of the stay was excellent. June 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overpriced for the value You build a 25 story hotel, with 2 elevators only. In the morning, your staff tie up the elevators by pre-positioning cleaning carts on floors. Long waits for elevators. Yes, I know...no service elevator. I had breakfast in your hotel the last day, pancakes 8.95, bacon was 2.95...and coffee was 4.95. The coffee was $2 more than Starbucks or Dunkin donuts. I know NYC Prices...but I have been all over the world in your hotels, it was overpriced. When I come to NYC in the future I will stay in the hotel and recommend to my colleagues not to stay there either. thank you June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value for NYC This hotel was met all my needs at good value for NYC. Great location. Comfortable and clean rooms. The beds were comfortable. No frills, but NYC itself was enough frills. June 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room I came to stay at the hotel overnight due to the fact that my husband passed away and we were having his services in Manhattan and I live in Long Island so it was easier and I arrived feeling that my parking accomodations were not going to be a problem and I immediately had a problem-the lot I was instructed to go told me they were full - I went back to front desk they sent me to another lot - they also in turn told me they were full - I went back to the front desk and then they sent me to another lot - 2 blocks away and finally they accomodated me - the front desk from the first shut out I received at the lot should have called the next garage before sending me there to make sure it was going to be ok for me to park instead of them having me run around at a time like that in my life that I was very tired June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Manhattan 6th Ave - Chelsea is a peaceful oasis but close to the action We enjoyed another great lodging experience and recommend this facility for location, service and overall value. Many of the rooms are NYC cozy (i.e. small and cramped) but clean and comfortable. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and staff hospitality The HI Chelsea is in a great location, close to many restaurants, shops, and Macy's, as well as to all transportation. The staff is excellent. They allowed me to take my room early, as one was available, and to check out late. As I was sick with a bad cold, this extra time was very valuable to me and I appreciated their care. I would suggest some improvements: (1) A small refrigerator in the room; (2) A water kettle to make tea; and (3) An upgrade to the bathroom amenities. Also: I ordered room service for breakfast. Although it arrived very quickly, it was cold and very expensive. Overall, however, HI in Chelsea is a great hotel where we have stayed many times and to which we will return! June 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service We stayed at the HI in Chelsea because of convenience and price and were pleasantly surprised how great the staff was and how convenient it was to the trains to go in/out of Midtown. June 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrid Experience The Fitness Center was dirty. Our rooms we asked to be able to check in early due to the wedding. We couldn't. Our parents room which we booked together, was on a different floor. The lock to our door was broken and took 10-12 tries to get it to work. Because of renovation the hotel looked and smelled a mess. There was NO "free" breakfast. The Hotel is insanely over priced. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location. Renovation Unerway I like the location of this property. A few blocks south of Penn Station and lots of rail connectivity. Tons of restaurants and bars nearby. The two elevators do a good job of moving you to your destination quickly! AC is completely adequate. I was there when the lobby was getting a facelift and I suspect it will look great when done. Friendly staff, as usual. June 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by First Trip to New York Firstly we would like to say how friendly, helpful and welcoming the staff were at the Holiday Inn. Unfortunately there was renovation work going on in the hotel when we stayed there which meant we could not use the restaurant facilities. We are a family of four and found the room extremely small although very clean (apart from the smell of cigarette smoke). We slept ok but this was more due to the fact that we were exhausted. We would recommend this hotel as we feel that once the renovation works are complete this will be a very nice hotel. June 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by If you need to be in the Chelsea area If you need to be in the Chelsea area, great location. However, if the area is not a must, I would look at other IHG locations in the city. June 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and clean room Staff was excellent and very friendly. Room was very clean. I was here for business, and this room served my purpose. The channel selection for TV easily surpassed most hotels I have been in recently. June 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience First visit to New York. Chose this venue on the basis of its mid-town location. Straightforward to use the subway at 28th Street and 23rd Street to travel to uptown or downtown venues. My IHG reward club status was recognised upon arrival. As per the booking request, a room on a high floor meant a good view of Manhatten. Front of house staff were fantastic and sorted out my complex travel schedule. Check in and out was efficient and wthout hassle. Prehaps a little unfair to single out individuals, however Carlos and Mabel were particularly helpful during my stay. Couple of points to bear in mind: 1) my room did not have an in-room safe for deposit of valuables etc. Not sure if this is the case for all rooms - if this point is important it would be worth checking before booking. 2) The resturant, bar and lobby were being redecorated during my stay so cannot comment on the catering and beverages that would normally be available. Overall impression though is of a strong staff team, focussed upon looking after the customer and delivering the best possible service in the circumstances. June 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No soap in bathroom I was surprised when I found no soap in the bathroom. Just shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. June 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in a good location We stayed here for 5 nights in May. We were lucky to be given a room with a view of the Empire State Building. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is in good location, only a 5 min walk to the subway.All of the staff were polite and helpful. Thank you! June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good location and good management THIS HOTEL HAS A GOOD LOCATION. CUSTOMER RELATION IS GREAT. Manager is very professional. June 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Sloppy and chaotic renovation Stayed last weekend during renovation of the lobby and restaurant areas. Dealing with no food or beverage options was a minor inconvenience. Dealing with the lobby construction and access to only 1 elevator was a major inconvenience. More times than not the lobby was cramped and excessively loud while things were being drilled or torn down. Two out of our three mornings at the hotel there was also NO HOT WATER at all. Most times we waited more than 20 minutes for an elevator. Completely unacceptable treatment of a renovation. They should have planned better for this. It tarnishes my entire reputation of the brand. May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable stay! We had a very pleasant stay in New York. The hotel is clean and in a good location. It would have been great if we had known before that there are construction works in the hotel. The only thing that was a bit annoying was that just one elevator worked during the last days of our stay. And one elevator for 25 levels was to less. Anyway, we enjoyed our stay in the hotel very much! May 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience The room was small, but very clean. The staff was exceptional, the view was sensational and they offer an unbeatable offer on parking. May 23, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by don't stay at this hotel!!! Tiny rooms ,slow elevators My room was not cleaned till I called at 5 pm to complain way overpriced May 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, good location We recently stayed at this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful at all times. Anyone I interacted with was interested in being helpful. The rooms are neat and clean and comfortable. I enjoyed being able to enjoy a reasonably priced meal or cocktail in the outside area in the front of the hotel. I would recommend this hotel and stay here again. May 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 PROBLEMS My stay at the Holiday Inn Express was a disaster from beginning to end. I made my reservations online a month early. I also called and asked if I could have a room not facing 26th street that I wanted a view. No problem I was told. My fault for not getting the person’s name. Arrive at the hotel at 2 pm. Told I cannot check into till 3 pm. Checking in I explained that I have VISA gift cards, Told they can only accept one card because of their computer. I end up giving Debit card. OK can deal with an hour wait. Finally get in room – room is facing 26th Street. Go to desk asked for different room. Told that there is no other room in whole hotel available. Room has only shower. I have medication that I need to soak in tub to relieve pain. Good customer service would be to ask person which they prefer. Person at desk more interested in good looking girl checking in. OK live with the extra pain during trip. Vending machines only on certain floors. Go to one – diet sold out == next one not plugged in, etc. Finally went to bar and purchased. Checking out I again asked about Visa gift card. Told no because system tends to double bill sometimes. One card. Because of computer system j not only could not spend as much in NY there are bills I will not be able to pay. I would think that an organization as large as Holiday Inn would want a computer system that accepts every form of payment – one card - two cards – cards and money, etc. I will not speak about some of the other problems but as expensive as this hotel is they have much to work on for customer service. May 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in NYC Fantastic stay, room was great, staff was great, and price was right! May 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A little pricey but comfortable We enjoyed our 22nd floor room of the Empire State building and loved to observe it at night with the lights on! The rooms are small but are comparable to NYC hotels in general. The room was very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. I had read other reviews before checking in and was pleasantly surprised that the staff lived up to their reputation of being helpful, cheerful and available! We did not have to wait long at all for the elevators through out our 4 day stay. (others had complained about the wait in previous reviews). Location was a couple of blocks next to the red line and near lots of places to eat. We didnt have to go far at all to find good food with fast service. The consierge was so great with my 5 year old son and she had great suggestions on how to beat the crowds and where to go. She remembered us each day and was sure to ask how our adventure was going! Thank you for the great service. April 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by had a good time Very good hotel, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, everything was looking good, the free business center is a plus if you need to print tickets and reservations for attractions. April 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by small & pricey The room was so small I had to go down to the lobby to change my mind. Tiny bed pillows! Bathroom door barely cleared the toilet. April 2, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square
Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square
Select to close.
Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square Enjoy a relaxing stay in the Fashion District. Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading