• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MANHATTAN
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:13
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are allowed. Maximum of 2 dogs, 50 pounds per room. Pets must be caged or taken for a walk daily for room cleaning. Rooms must be cleaned daily. Pet deposit amount 50.00 USD per stay.
Pet deposit amount  50.00    per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Empire State Building
Distance From Hotel:0.3

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:135
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:93
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:42
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:135
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:13
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:19
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express 36th Street. Enjoy a Calm, Peaceful Haven in the Heart of NYC You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks.

Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices Marsh and McLennan, Verizon, Google ABC, JP Morgan Chase and , McGraw Hill, all within walking distance of our location in
View More

Welcome to Holiday Inn Express 36th Street. Enjoy a Calm, Peaceful Haven in the Heart of NYC You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks.

Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices Marsh and McLennan, Verizon, Google ABC, JP Morgan Chase and , McGraw Hill, all within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near The Empire State building and minutes away from Times Square. Our hotel's guests can stay productive in our 24-hour business center with copy, fax, printing and computer services, as well.

There is so much to do whether you want to catch a Broadway play or , visit the Modern Museum of Art, browse the shops on Fifth Avenue or enjoy the sites at Chelsea Park, The Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel on 36th Street is located near the best of Manhattan and Times Square. Our hotel's guests can go skating at Rockefeller Center, stroll in Central Park or Bryant Park or take an evening cruise around New York City.

You'll take delight in magnificent, skyscraper views, our impeccable customer service and terrific, complimentary amenities. Take advantage of our free, hot breakfast bar. Everyone's a star at our Holiday Inn Express® NYC hotel. With a name you can trust and a price you can afford, we'll indulge you with a practical and convenient stay.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express 36th Street is uniquely located in the heart of the Fashion District between 5th and 6th Avenue. This Hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. We are minutes away from the Empire State Building, Times Square and and so much more.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 270 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed but small room Excellent comfortable bed, great location, slow wifi and small room anyway a good stay and I'll recommend this hotel. November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT Hotel! I was so impressed with this Holiday Inn.. I needed a hotel in NYC and this was close to my office in the City. I am so happy with the cleanliness of this place, and the staff was so helpful (they gave me a shoe repair close to the hotel- and THAT place was amazing as well). INCREDIBLE. From a Minnesota traveler on business -- I almost hate to rave this much as I do not want to share the 'secret' of this place! November 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Front Desk, Room and Quiet Everything thing was above expectations and the front desk was particularly helpful and friendly. Areas to improve: The casual chair wasn't necessary and was more an obstacle than welcomed. Not a big deal, but I'd prefer to walk around w/ out it. Restaurant service is extremely poor. With few people in reasturant, we weren't checked on, orders were incomplete, milk and cereal showed up 15 min. apart. Just took too long. Refills of coffee, etc. verrrrry slow. November 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, Quick and Reasonable Great Hotel for a quick weekend in NYC. 1 Block from Penn Station and a slew of subway lines. Impressively clean and priced right. We'll be back. November 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good NYC hotel I stay in hotels every week and this HI with its newness is on/above par with any of the value hotels in NYC. Hotel staff is great. Location is very good as well. Staff very friendly & efficient. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Hotel Fantastic little hotel!! Clean, comfy and spacious rooms with an incredible view of the ESB! Staff were friendly and accommodating! Amazing view from the rooftop bar! Location is really convenient between 5-6th Avenue. Near all my favorite things: flower district, koreatown, wholesale shopping on 6th ave... Can't think of one bad thing to say about it. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Bed was comfortable, nice to have microwave and mini-fridge. I was only on the 3rd floor and other reviewers have commented about the noise from the street, but I travel with a noise machine and never heard any outside noises. Not much room to maneuver, but I understand that is typical for motels in Manhattan. Desk service very helpful. Great location.... only one block from subway station. Can't comment on restaurant or bar as I did not visit either one. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Clean Hotel I would recomend this hotel to my friends and family. It was clean, comfortable and had very friendly staff. Wilma, Bryan, Durrell were all fabulous. Especially Wilma who helped us around the subway system. Our view of the Empire State Building was incredible. The room was bigger than what I was expecting after reading so many other reviews for hotels, thought we were going to walk into a cracker box. Our room was perfect for the two of us once we unpacked. The bed was comfortable but soft. A bit too soft for us but nice just the same. Shower was roomy, sink area bit tight but we made it work. Great location to pretty much everything. We had the best time in NY and it started with checking into a great hotel!! October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and great Location The Hotel staff were very attentative and friendly. The room was very very clean, stylish, welcoming and great views of Empire State building which lite up at night and different colors each night. Location was great, I was next street from Empire state building, next to Broadway and 5th ave, not too close to Time Square which was good as I did not have the noise from the streets there. There was lack of movies to watch and it needs a bar fridge to place any drinks and snacks if one feels like snacking during the night. overall great hotel and location October 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Impeccable Service, and Comfy Room! I stayed at this hotel just for one night but it really was a fantastic hotel! It is walking distance to a lot of shopping, restaurants, and tourist spots! The room was super clean, the bathroom was chic and modern, and the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating! When I asked the lady at the front desk if I could have more shampoo and conditioner (me and my sister have long hair and one bottle would not be enough for both of us) she gave us four bottles of each! The staff also gladly held our bags after checkout so we could do some more sightseeing around the city. It was also great having a refrigerator and microwave in the room. It seems like so many hotels don't offer those anymore! AND, last but not least, the beds were extremely comfortable and the windows were well insulated. You could barely hear any outside noise at all! All in all this is a great hotel and I recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Midtown! October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good overall Stayed at this property for two nights while in midtown on business. The rooms are good sized and clean with minimal (if any)wear, and they give you the standard water and chocolate upon check in. The location isn't especially central to food, entertainment, etc., but there are good restaurants a few blocks north in Koreatown, and good coffee and restaurants a few blocks south. I wasn't thrilled with one of the front desk staff who told me to go outside and hail a cab when I informed him that I needed a car to the airport, but another employee (very nice female whose name I unfortunately can't remember) called a car service for me. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a good place to stay excellent location . clean. comfortable you have everything that as a guest you need: microwave a fridge coffe machine good internet access October 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to everything Picked hotel for its close proximity to many sites.We were able to get a North facing room with an excellent view of the Empire State Building! October 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience, except... This hotel had terrific location for me, only 1/2 block from the building where I had meetings all week. The staff was outstanding. They helped me on several occasions during my stay in ways that were out of the norm. Helping me to get color copies printed, helping me track down the computer charging chord I left at home. The food was good and the rooftop bar was fantastic, and allowed me to enjoy the nice fall weather New York was experiencing while I was there. The only negative was the internet service. I was there for 11 nights, and the internet was a problem for about 1/2 the time. Three times I had to call technical support -- and the response wasn't that quick. I was there on business, and internet connection is critical to me. To truly make this hotel outstanding -- upgrade the internet service. September 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Internet Location, room and staff were excellent. Unfortunately the wifi left much to be desired. It was mostly slow at times unresponsive. The speed had a direct impact on my ability to get work done which was the primary purpose of the visit. Until the speed of the internet increases where it is usable will not be able to stay at this hotel again. Too bad since I really liked the hotel and it's location September 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the best in IHG Group I expected much when Reading all the comments, but was disappointed from that Hotel, too expensive, no Flair, each Day different prices, cheapest Price in Internet at arrival Date, but could not change the preordered rate. No Upgrade available, September 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel near all of the activities of NYC! I just generally like this hotel due to its modern feel. It is a newer hotel in NYC near Times Square, Empire State Building, MSG and numerous other spots. Since it was my first time in NYC I did a lot of exploring and could not comment on the hotel or food since I wanted to live like a New Yorker while there. King Size Bed was very comfortable along with LCD TV, Microwave and Mini-Fridge. Cost was a little steep but was due maybe to myself booking late and rooms was going fast the weekend I was there. I would recommend if anybody like newer hotels. September 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location The location was great. Elevators were fast. Showers were big. The Room was small. No shelving in bathroom to put toiletries. No place to put luggage. BUT, my biggest complaint was that it is advertised that parking is $30 a day and when we arrived we were told by parking gargage it would be $40 a day since we had a SUV. When we said something to hotel personnel they had NO IDEA about that!! We were not recognized as IHG rewards members. September 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Splendid The best though the male receptionists are rude. If I have the opportunity to travel ten times in a year to New York, I will definitely stay in this hotel. September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT CHOICE Excellent location for shopping . Not as busy as Times Square. Staff very accommodating to priority members. Loved my stay. Would definitely return. September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Property Brand new look and feel; well equipped room, very comfortable bed. Very good value in NYC. Very convenient location. September 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good location Very good location, Empire State Building and 5th Avenue is just 5 minutes and Times square is 15 minutes walking. Fantastic view from the Roof Bar to the ESB. The room servise is great we spent a super week in New York City. September 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Platinum Members Service - Disappointing As a person that travels all over the world and enjoy the experience of the Priority Club Platinum, this hotel falls short. 1. Even after requesting for early arrival- 9:00AM (coming from Italy), I wasn't able to get into the room till 2:00 2. There is no concierge services 3. Room was really small ( smaller than Asian and European) rooms 4. Gym: Three days in a row without any water and at times not cleaned. September 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and comfortable room Finding a hotel on Manhattan and working for a cost-conscious company is always fraught. Labour Day helped as the room rate was significantly cheaper and mitigated the second and much more expensive night. The room was average Manhattan size - small - but modernly furnished. It is a small hotel with not that many rooms so feels more like one of the boutique ones.. Great location as not far from Penn station or Macys. September 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable beds ! Good value for NYC, location, Roof top bar very nice. Nice and quiet. One downside the rooms very small Would recommend. September 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room but reservation system needs help Clean, comfortable room. Good sized shower, but the bottles of shampoo and conditioner are so small you can only wash one head of hair before it's gone. I booked the room by phone by calling Holiday Inn's direct reservation number, was quoted an autoclub rate and told to show my membership card at check in. However, the email I received had a rate $20 higher... I figured it would be taken off when I proved I had the membership card. When I checked in the person at the front desk said, No Way, you have to do it at the time you make the reservation. I can understand this policy if you are paying in advance through a reseller, but when you book directly with the hotel, they should be able to adjust the rates. The front desk person was not friendly even though she was not busy. All other staff we encountered in halls, on the elevator, on the roof deck were pleasant. I have also been an IHG member for over 3 years, but can't get the system to recognize me, or the site is down....so not earning points toward rewards, oh well. The roof deck bar was nice, though the views are nothing spectacular. September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We had 2 very relaxing nights in this hotel. Great staff, very clean, comfortable layout, no noise from the street, windows can be open (very important feature for us), and absolutely unbeatable location ( close to all that matters for us). The only thing would be nice to improve is to add the luggage rack and a small refrigerator to the room. Thank you, we'll be back. September 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average They do not offer luggage racks and we had to lay our luggage on the floor and constantly bend down to get things. Room was small. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, excellent location This hotel is in the best location for all the tourist spots. The room was clean, well maintained and the view of the Empire State Building really made the stay special. The fridge and coffee machine in the room were also very useful touches. Food in the restaurant was delicious and good value. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone else making a trip to New York. August 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable Room Our only complaint: no ice machine except on the lobby level. Otherwise, a great place, nice clean attractive room, and very helpful and friendly staff. Restaurant had limited hours and we weren't able to eat there. August 29, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>
Enjoy a relaxing stay in the Fashion District.
Enjoy a relaxing stay in the Fashion District.
Select to close.
Enjoy a relaxing stay in the Fashion District. Weclome to the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square Front Desk
Select to close.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Availability
Loading