• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: WILMINGTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals allowed. No Pets.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:120
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free parking for guests only.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of suites:24
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:66
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:54
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:96
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
The Holiday Inn Express® hotel near Wilmington, DE is located directly off I-95 and State Highway 273 in Newark, DE. Our hotel is close to area attractions and businesses for both corporate and leisure travelers, and it has ideal amenities and perks.

Business travelers who stay with us appreciate our hotel's amenities, including the Business Center, which has copy, fax and print services, as well as our 900 sq ft of flexible meeting space, free high-speed Internet access throughout the
View More

The Holiday Inn Express® hotel near Wilmington, DE is located directly off I-95 and State Highway 273 in Newark, DE. Our hotel is close to area attractions and businesses for both corporate and leisure travelers, and it has ideal amenities and perks.

Business travelers who stay with us appreciate our hotel's amenities, including the Business Center, which has copy, fax and print services, as well as our 900 sq ft of flexible meeting space, free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel and refrigerators and microwaves in each room. Our 100% NON SMOKING hotel has everything a corporate traveler wants in a hotel. Wilmington, DE is just three miles away, and area businesses like Astra Zeneca, DuPont, Bank of America, Christiana Hospital, the Armed Forces Reserve Station in Newark and the University of Delaware are just minutes away.

Leisure travelers looking for a place to stay near Wilmington, DE love our hotel's prime location that is close to everything. From shopping at Christiana Mall to placing a bet at Delaware Park Casino & Racetrack , our hotel's guests are always having fun!

Situated in the Wilmington - Newark area, our Delaware hotel's location is superb, and our services and amenities let you know you've made a smart choice. We offer a free breakfast buffet, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, a Fitness Center and Suite Shoppe.

All guests are required to have a valid credit card at check-in, cash payments accepted at check-out.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express® Newark - Wilmington, DE hotel's amenities are the best around. You can swim year-round in the indoor pool and stay connected with the free high-speed Internet access.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 203 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer service I arrived late at night the the front desk clerk made sure my check in process went extremely easy. June 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor handling of reservations and billing They changed reservations for a group at the last minute and then offered different discounts to members of same group. They also inappropriately charged my credit card and couldn't do simple math on the bill. May 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Really Bad Experience-Property Not Worthy Of Crowne Plaza Designation This was a very bad experience all around. This was a family visit and we were in need of the reserved two double beds. Was informed they could not honor the room type and they automatically switched us to a king due to over sell situation. No roll-aways available. Paper thin walls. Could hear practically every movement of neighbor (did not even have connecting room door). Management promised follow up, but that follow up never happened. A portion of the rate was offered to be taken off bill. Bill arrived and that did not even happen. Executive lounge closed - No hours posted. All in all, I wish we would have pushed to be relocated at another hotel (other families were) as room type was not honored and the stay just became more and more miserable after check in. This is a really old hotel and the neighborhood is not a good one. Hotel should be re-branded as a Holiday Inn Express given the location and remodeled in general. May 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business trip Other than a noisy AC unit the hotel was very nice, location great for my purpose and good place to stay. May 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not good I arrived at 3:00 to check into my room. I was with a wedding party. They told me my room was not ready, and our transfer bus to the wedding was arriving at 4:15. After waiting for an hour for my room, I finally went to a relatives room to get ready. Unfortunately I missed the bus and the ceromoney...! The front desk was rude and not remorseful at all.... When I arrived back at the hotel after 11, my room was finally ready. But my family members and I where on all different floors. When I made the reservations two months ago I was assured that we would all be on the same floor, so not to disrupt other hotel goers... Very disappointed with the entire experience. Furthermore I was not offered a discount or anything for my room not being ready and me missing the actual ceromoney that I traveled from NYC to attend....! May 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, Reasonably Fast Internet A nice comfortable room with a comfortable bed. Surprisingly, the Internet was NOT super slow. This was great because I always deduct stars from hotels with poor Internet service. The signal quality on the TV wasn't great. May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Accommodating The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The Front Desk Staff was most accommodating. I had a friend come in late and not only was she allowed to stay in our room that first night a room was made available for her the next day! Thanks .... it was the most comfortable conference for me to date. May 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel was nice, service was hit/miss I overall enjoyed my stay with the Hotel, it was only for one night. My only complaint would be the service in the restaurant. It was a long wait for the food and the waiter seemed overwhelmed. There were a lot of staff walking around the restaurant but not doing anything. We ordered a salad and sliders and it took an hour and 1/2. We were there for a conference, maybe the Hotel was not equipped to handle such a big event. May 20, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible experience I rarely write reviews about places, but I had a particularly bad experience here. I was part of a wedding party staying at this hotel. Another bridesmaid and I had requested that our rooms be next to each other and we were told on 2 separate occasions that this would not be a problem. However, on check in, not only were we not put next to each other, we were put several floors apart away from the rest of the wedding group. The person at the front desk told us there was nothing they could do to change this and got short with us when we tried to have the situation fixed. Additionally, the hotel was extremely loud and it was impossible to get any sleep on a Saturday night. At checkout I very politely and calmly expressed my disappointment to the girl at the front desk. She did nothing to try to resolve the situation and just said the manager would get back to me and of course no one ever got back to me. May 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location to visit family for the most part the hotel was great. we did encounter our first night we were there a bus load of kids running up and down the exit stairwell which was right next to our room. then there was a fire alarm which was false. the very last day no one cleaned our room or left coffee and of course we left early the next morning and the coffee was not ready in the breakfast area. other than that it was good. May 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable Generally quiet , clean and comfortable. Very convenient location. My only complaint was that the staff were less than attentive. They were more interested in personal discussions than serving customers in the restaurant. I had to stand up and wave on to occasions got get someone's attention. May 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor This hotel needs to invest in new bottom sheets and mattress covers. No matter how you make the bed up they ALWAYS slip off. Housekeeping and management are aware of this problem. I dislike sleeping on a bare mattress.It is unacceptable and very unsanitary. I would not recommend this hotel or stay here again. Poor quality for the amount of money paid each night. May 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Banquet/breakfast/convention staff Excellent banquet and convention staff. Checking in and out not so good. Very difficult just entering the hotel grounds if not familiar with the area May 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience The staff always had a smile and were always there for our every need. May 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice suprise I was pleased with the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. The Hotel was very clean and my room was clean, well stocked and comfortable. I normally do not sleep through the night on most hotel beds but found these to be very comfortable and I slept all night. The breakfast and dinner service were more than I expected and a good value. May 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by vietnam service reunion Convenient to Philly area. the parking is outdoor close and free, The staff is cordial and friendly. .Elevator was noisy. the room was spacious clean and comfortable. the food was fine, pricey, the coffee great. Checkout easy. May 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The staff made this hotel the place to stay. Its not whats in a hotel its the people who make the hotel work. If all of the Crown Plaza hotel are run like this one then it would be a pleasure to stay at Crown Plaza hotels. May 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by correct Note: above I initially did not rate breakfast. It should be a 9. I could not figure out how to change it. Later questions on breakfast I answered correctly. Comments - It's hard to describe but the "feel" of the hotel was not as good as other Crowne Plazas we have stayed at. There is nothing specific I can point too, perhaps that it seemed old. Although I have to say you seem to have tried to improve it. Suggestion- we were coming from the south. As we turned on to the highway your entrance was not clear. You need a sign there, especially since the property. next door does have a sign. We went passed your entrance and almost wound up on the highway. May 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service Really enjoyed my stay at your hotel. Service at the registration was great and hats off to "Ruby" for her friendly greeting and that special (smile) that she always had. Also, would like to compliment "Wayne" at the bar. Great service and attentiveness. Only suggestion I see for improvement would be expediting the service for food at the bar. I waited over 30 minutes for a sandwich. I could understand if the bar and dining room were full but they were not. Only 4 people in the dining room and 2 people at the bar. Talk to your cook! Thanks May 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Pleasant Stay My outfit from Vietnam held their 5th reunion in this hotel. The property was cleaned and seemed well maintained. The staff had a great attitude and were very helpful. For our needs, it was a very good choice of hotels!! May 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place for Reunions, travel stops. As usual, Crowne Plaza is above all others. Staff was pleasant and made you feel comfortable. Security of the rooms, area was high. Our only problem was the room next to an elevator. A little extra noise until midnight. May 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great servce The people were great and we will be coming back in a couple of months April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and comfortable I had the please of staying at this hotel on my business trip. The hotel is quiet and has a nice quiet feel to it. Staff was super friendly and helped me with any questions or issues I had. I would definitely come back to this one when I'm in the area. April 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Much too noise in room and in the halls! I have given you my very poor experience with extremely noisy parties all night. The sleep experience was not at all what I would expect at a Crown Plaza. I have been a priority member for at least 35 years. I have had very good experience with your other hotels and so was very disappointed with my time there! April 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Quality of Service Wake-up calls were excellent. House keeping services were extremely poor -- none for 3 days. Required to request coffee replacements, clean towels, trash removal. Room temperature consistency difficult to maintain. Thin and poorly insulated walls made sleeping difficult when adjacent rooms were occupied. Check-in/check-out staff very pleasant. April 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by restaurant poor food and service would not come back you are not prepared to handle the needs of the Regional Bridge tournament. April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by just an enjoyable stay the staff was the best! they did whatever in there power to take care of any need. April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Stay The hotel was lovely. The staff was incredibly accommodating and friendly. The new menu in the restaurant is outstanding. April 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel. Very uncomfortable bed. The room was tasteful and clean. Unfortunately the mattress was very soft and lumpy. I usually love hotel beds, this one was awful. Our room was near the elevator and it was very noisy as well. Other then that, it was a pleasant stay. April 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed I can't completely fault the hotel for this, but our stay started off great (very nice front desk staff) and soured in the middle of the night. We were on the Executive Club floor - nice floor, nice lounge, rooms are comfortable and we expect the club floor to be quiet and give us a nice, relaxing night. Unfortunately, we didn't get that. We have stayed at this hotel before, with only minor incidents if that. Unfortunately, this time, we were woken up around 2am by crazy loud people in the hallway. We called the front desk and they said that a party had just returned and that hopefully they would be going to their rooms. That never happened - it was so loud all night and neither of us slept. The next morning, the club lounge looked pretty bad. We respect hotels booking parties like this, but we expect more for the club floor. Hopefully something can be done for the future. April 2, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior - Enjoy our Beautiful Hotel and Landscaping.
Hotel Exterior - Enjoy our Beautiful Hotel and Landscaping.
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior - Enjoy our Beautiful Hotel and Landscaping. Front Desk - Our Well Trained Staff Welcomes You. Hotel Exterior - The Best Destination in the Area!! Hotel Exterior - Enjoy a Peaceful Evening With Us!! Reception - Stay Warm By Our Fire.
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading