• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.72MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. English
  3. French
  4. Polish
  5. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed in the hotel. No pets to be left unattended in bedrooms, pets allowed in public areas out of food serving hours. Please advise the hotel upon booking if a pet will be staying.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Newcastle United Football Stadium.
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Gateshead Quays. Baltic Contemporary Art Centre.
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Metro Centre
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Historic Quayside, Newcastle City Centre.
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:85
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free uncovered parking available. Space also available for coach parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:134
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:92
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:37
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:134
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Enjoy easy access from the nearby A1 motorway at the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre hotel.

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre is 10 minutes' walk from the MetroCentre station with regular trains and buses into Newcastle city centre, 3.5 miles away. We're a 7-mile drive from Newcastle Airport and have ample complimentary parking. Surf the web with our free wireless Internet in the lounge area and Great Room.

Invite 30 people to
View More

Enjoy easy access from the nearby A1 motorway at the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre hotel.

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre is 10 minutes' walk from the MetroCentre station with regular trains and buses into Newcastle city centre, 3.5 miles away. We're a 7-mile drive from Newcastle Airport and have ample complimentary parking. Surf the web with our free wireless Internet in the lounge area and Great Room.

Invite 30 people to seminars in one of our 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Newcastle-Metro Centre is located within 2 miles of The Watermark business park and Newburn Riverside Park. Companies such as BAE Systems and Tyne Tees Television are just a short drive away.

A Breakfastis included and is available each morning in our welcoming Great Room. Under-18s stay for free on the extra sofabed in our Family rooms when sharing with parents.

View Less
Announcements
For your entertainment and comfort, we offer Sky Sports for guests to enjoy their favourite sporting events! We also have a Lounge/Bar & Great Room area where guests can enjoy a meeting, coffee, or
View More
Announcements
For your entertainment and comfort, we offer Sky Sports for guests to enjoy their favourite sporting events! We also have a Lounge/Bar & Great Room area where guests can enjoy a meeting, coffee, or evening meal.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 226 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great - had it not been for the room temperature Overall, the hotel was nice, comfortable and met the needs for our family. The room, however, was incredibly hot and there was no effective way to cool it down. A big black mark on what would have otherwise have been a very nice stay. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good service the rooms heating was on when we went into the room and it could not switch of phoned reception and we moved to a refurbished room that work was ongoing but I must say the room was great and staff where very help full July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Service as always Great stay as always at this particular Holiday Inn Staff are always excellent here and always go the extra mile for their customers. The only thing I would improve is the facilities in the disabled rooms. My wife is now unable to get into a bath and I feel that all disabled rooms should have either walk in showers or full wet rooms fitted with seats. Holiday Inn Express disabled rooms have these facilities July 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service & nice facilities We needed a hotel neAr Newcastle at very short notice - we booked this one firstly because of the excellent price and secondly because we have been pleased with Holiday Inns in the past. It was easy to find & staff on reception were very welcoming. Our room was a good sized although next time we will probably book a kingsize bed. Breakfast was well worth it. We would definitely go back if we go to Newcastle again. July 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bad bar Day 1 - Asked for (advertisd) non alholic beer to be told non available Day 2 - No none alcolholic beer and asked for fresh orange. SOLD OUT. But 20 mins later FO arrived?? and not asked if alternate drink was required. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal for me Great location when travelling on the A1 and staying out of the possibly noisey centre - saves travelling through the city & allows more to relax. A lovely genuine welcome followed by chatty but knowledgeable serving team was just what i was after. Room was spotless clean which counts more to me that being outdated. Hopefully have a new room on our journey in August. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by make Sure you know what you want I have stayed in many Holiday hotels, this was the first one where I wasn't asked if I wanted to charge bar servies to my room. Getting acces to the swimming pool was stress full, asked or receiption fortowel, but was not told that you need another key to gain access. Also the changing area is a little poor, but the holiday is in the process of being refurbiished so this should be sorted outthen. The breakfast is one of the best I have had in any IHG hotel. July 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok - if you like sleeping in a sauna Having stayed in many Holiday Inns around the country this WAS amongst our mostly highly rated until our recent stay!! Our room was so hot it was unbearable at times. There was an air-conditioning unit in the room which was not working and a small table fan. We mentioned to the receptionist about the air-conditioning and was very abruptly informed the air-con in all the rooms were out of action "which is why we do not advertise air-con on the website" She offered us a fan but the one we had was only circulating the warm air and felt another would not have made any difference. It made for 3 very uncomfortable nights. Also each day after returning to our room after it had been serviced we found the keys did not work, again we told we this was probably because they had been kept next to phones in our pockets etc even though we kept the keys in the same place all the time and they worked when we returned to our room later in the evening. After dining elsewhere on the first 2 evenings we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant on the last evening only to find they were offering a "meal deal" for 2 people which turned out to be cheaper than the local pub. We cannot understand why this offer was not advertised anywhere where as at the entrance to the restaurant a breakfast menu was displayed but no evening menu and when we mentioned this to the waiter he assumed this was because the offer was ending shortly, but the fact it was still on should have been advertised and we would definitely have dined there at least 1 more evening. I think the front of house staff need lessons from the housekeeping staff as one young lad called Andrew helped us with our suitcase up and down the stairs without being asked. He was very polite and nothing too much trouble and felt he deserved a mention. Infact all the housekeeping staff were attentive, polite and courteous. We also feel the fact there is no lift should be mentioned on the website giving the customer the choice of a ground floor room for those unable to manage stairs with luggage July 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tired shabby motel style building with noisy rooms A tired and dated motel building with some modernisation to lobby area. Room quality is poor - the replacement windows wouldn't close properly! Disappointing! July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by smartie We enjoyed our stay and have already booked to return with our grandchildren in August to visit local attractions. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location A well situated hotel with ample parking and convenient location for the area. Helpful and attentive staff. Good range of facilities available. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noise problem handled well. A great location for exploring Northumberland. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food in restaurant was OK and good value. We had a noise problem on our first night but the staff sorted it and the remaining 2 nights were noise free. Facilities are good - lots of asily accessible parking, nice pool, etc July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good communial areas and great food Only stayed for one night, however will certainly use again. So pleasant to have good communial areas and pleasant staff. The food was excellent and plenty of choice. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Customer Service, very close to the airport! Stayed here for one night, following a spa session purchased from Groupon. The hotel is quite contemporary and the lounge area is very nice. The lunch time menu was good and the food tasty. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms were not quite as clean as they could have been (in the corners and on the skirting boards etc) but overall not bad. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellrnt location We arried on 30th June for 3 days, we were greeted and treated very well, although hotel is currently being refurbished we were not disturbed by any noise or dust, Very easy to get to A19/A1 or further journeys, quite close to Airport and ideal hotel to stay prior going on vacation. July 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by stop over hotel Fine hotel to stay overnight to break up a journey or to use as a base if car and travelling. Avoid if you do not have a car as it is £15 to town by taxi each way and there is nothing, absolutely nothing, in the area. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service We enjoyed our stay it was only for a couple of days room only but had a very stress free experience. There was some building work being done to the site but this did not influence our stay. Would recommend this hotel to any one. July 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfactory for purpose Hotel is currently in a refurb programme so hopefully the hotel will rectify the water pressure issues. Don't try having a bath in a hurry as it won't happen, takes ages to fill and if using the shower - again no pressure. July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lone female traveller Good comfortable hotel, staff were very welcoming and friendly. I used the bar and ordered a pizza to take to my room as I had work to do. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and great event We attended the annual Burns Supper with a group of friends and we all had a great time. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and the new bar & lounge was perfect for some mid afternnon drinks. The Ballroom looked good and the food was even better than last year. We will be back! June 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed review First impressions on entrance, very nice decoration and bar area. Room was a good size and clean, however the noise coming from the guys in the rooms next door and up and down the corridor made it almost impossible to sleep. Leisure facilities were ok but the gentleman shaving in the sauna put us off using these facilities, particularly when he left his razor lying around. Food and service in the bar was good, staff friendly and food lovely, same for the breakfast in the morning. Disappointed that when checking out the reception staff didnt seem interested in whether or not we had enjoyed our stay, didnt bother to ask. June 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Booked last minute stay, was close to motorways so convenient for my purpose, one night stay was relaxing and comfortable. June 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service If you want to get a good night's sleep then don't make my mistake and stay at this Holiday Inn. If you want to experience rudeness by the restaurant staff then this is the hotel for you. June 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poor hotel and a lack of service the food in the hotel restaurant is by far the worst I have been served with little improvement at the start of the day breakfast. once you have stayed there check your bank account to check the amount of times you have paid for your stay It can be many !! they havent got a clue! June 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Service & Very Little Recognition of Platinum Rewards Member I have stayed several times at this hotel, usually on price, as it's cheaper being situated a little outside of Newcastle. I paid a not-so-cheap 3 figure Room Only rate this time for 3 of us in a twin double bedded room. The check in was slow and farcical. I had to wait 10 minutes whilst the 2 receptionists "sorted out" a family of 4 adults who had booked 2 rooms, but only 1 was available. The called a "Manager" who found a room for them and they sent them off to it. 30 seconds later, " you better go stop them, there's someone already occupying that room" was the statement from one of the receptionists. Thankfully, our room was available. As a Platinum Rewards Member, I was offered and accepted Bonus Points in Lieu of a free drink and headed off to our room. This was the only acknowledgement of my Member "status" by the Hotel. ( usually they offer me a room upgrade, extended checkout, free newspaper and believe it or not, Priority Express Check In". Also, Elite members do not have to pre-authorise a credit card, as it is booked and held on file on my account. We tried to order Room Service, but the phone didn't work in the room, so this was done by mobile phone and the Hotels outside line. When the food arrived we were told we couldn't charge it to the room but had to pay cash, as we hadn't pre-authorised a credit card upon check in. ( I wasn't even asked, so assumed they didn't require it) We reported this to Reception went we went down there and they apologised and said that it "wasn't their fault, being a Franchise, the office would know about the Membership Rules, but they'd authorise the room charge facility. Their Dinner had just arrived on 2 plates, so I should have known better. 15 mins later, I still had to pay cash at the bar, and when I returned from a Concert in Newcastle after Midnight, the bar was closed to Residents and no Night Porter Service in evidence or offered when I asked for drinks. Whats a Shambles of a Hotel this place has become. I will be copying this Review and submitting it to IHG as a complaint. Regular, Loyal IGH Hotel Users Beware of this hotel !!!! UPDATE: ( this review was returned to me un-posted, due to me mentioning the price in the original review. IHG have offered 10,000 points compensation with a promise that the hotel will email me "within 48 hours" to address my concerns. Guess what, 10.6.14 and still no contact from the hotel 5 days later ! ) June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, easy to access friendly hotel This is an excellent hotel, it is easy to access from the A1M, car parking is good. Even though the hotel is currently being refurbished none of the work was obtrusive in any way. All the staff were friendly June 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Starting to look very Good! This was the second time I had stayed in this hotel and the communial areas had changed a great deal. The hotel is undergoing modernisation and it is starting to look really good. We were put in one of the older rooms unfortunately, but the staff told me that the modernised rooms are excellent. I guess it will take time to do all the rooms. It was a shame we didn't have one of the new modern rooms as the hotel wasn't that busy. The staff were outstanding in the Restaurant and bar areas. Very friendly and nothing was too much. As we were staying for 4 nights, I think we must have encountered two different chefs as one of the nights the food was not up to standard and it showed. I had the worst Chicken Caesar salad I had ever tasted. The other three nights, the food was really good. My only complaint was the portion size. The servings were massive. So much food wasted. I would have gone for quality over quantity! The pool, sauna and steam room were nice, maybe a little dated. But it didn't spoil the enjoyment! Overall a really enjoyable stay and lots to see and do in the local area!! June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Large room and excellent staff. Delighted with the large room with two double beds so much more accommodating than a put-u-up or sofabed. Staff were helpful and informed. Public transport, using the bus, into the city centre was effortless though the return service ceases rather early. Taxi from the city centre to the hotel was £16, exactly as described by the hotel staff, quite reasonable, if dividied between 3 or 4 guests. Breakfast was very good with a variety of cereals and fresh fruit together with the usual "full English," hot fare. I would have preferred some table service perhaps for the hot beverages rather than a total diy arrangement. June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable visit We enjoyed our visit. The pool was a great hit with our granddaughter as was the chocolate fudge cake. We were very warm the first night but the thick duvet was replaced with a thinner one when requested. June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service but poor sleep Good location to stop over when going to Hull and leaving late from Edinburgh. Petrol station near by. Room too warm and climate control too noisy so I had not the best night sleep. Opening the window could have been a better option. I can compliment the staff and the breakfast was good. June 3, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Select to close.
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre Entrance Hotel Exterior Lobby Lounge Front Desk Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading