• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
St James Park Football Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:432
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is available at the Grainger Town Council owned Car Park and is free from 5pm until 8am. Car Parking charges apply after 8am and must be paid in advance of parking. Please ensure you are not in a Permit Holders Bay and are in a clear bay.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Public Areas

Premium Internet Service

Premium Internet service has twice the bandwidth of the standard Internet service and is usually recommended if you plan on streaming movies or you do a lot of online gaming.
Wireless Internet available
Premium Internet Fee£ 5.00 5.0  GBP

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:57
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel.

Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters.

Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas
View More

See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel.

Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters.

Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas Cathedral. If you’d like to experience the thrill of top-flight football, visit the home ground of Newcastle United, St. James' Park. Whatever your interest, Newcastle is an outstanding city to explore.

Unwind over drinks in our 24-hour lounge bar, complete with a pool table, large screen TVs and free Wi-Fi access to help make your budget city break even better. Families too can save money in our Newcastle hotel as under 18’s stay for free when sharing a parent’s room.

Start your active day off with a buffet breakfast featuring a tasty range of hot and continental items.

Getting to and from our hotel is a breeze too. Newcastle Central Station and the Metro are only five minutes away and when you have a car, our hotel can be easily reached from the A1. Secure parking is available at the Grainger multi-story complex, pay and display car park adjacent to our hotel.

View Less
Features
Highlights of our hotel include a city centre location, rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi throughout and free car parking adjacent to the hotel from 5pm until 8am. Akbar’s Indian restaurant is across the courtyard!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 573 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 All round good hotel We were part of a group of 6 and had a superb time. The ambiance was really good and the staff were excellent which complemented the really nice hotel. Food both at breakfast and evening dinner was excellent. We will return next year!! December 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Visit to Hotel Indigo in Newcastle Excellent service and comfort in this hotel. Friday evening was a hive of activity which reflects its popularity. Breakfast was well organised and choice extensive. Any extra requests were dealt with quickly and efficiently. Dining room very comfortable and leisure area beside it very efficiently managed. Would reccommend hotel for its location and very close access to shopping and restaurant areas. Overall we had a very positive experience here and would advise anyone coming to Newcastle to stay here. December 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly stay The staff at this hotel is what makes it stand out. From check in, to mealtime,to bar staff to check out ,everyone was so warm and friendly. Even just watching staff interaction with others showed that this friendliness was not false. Our meal in MPW was outstanding and the waiter was a really genuine and well trained guy. We were to,d by one member of staff that it's a really quality place to work and it shows through the staffs ethos. The only thing I personally would change is to have a selection of pillow types in bedroom but this is a personal thing as I have a bad neck and shoulders and found the pillows a little too hard so didn't sleep too well. The room itself was immaculate and well presented, we did get one overlooking the car park but that wasn't a problem as we only used the room for freshening up and resting. I did leave my iPad cable which is annoying of me but can purchase another one. December 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Xmas shopping Second time at the indigo, booked in to the restaurant which felt was disappointing for what i thought was going to be a lot better quality of food. Will definitely stay again at the hotel but will eat at another restaurant on my next visit December 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay feeling like home Use to stay here fortnightly and really enjoying this. Nice hotel modern design good of restaurant. Perfect stay. December 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent welcome and Stay Fantastic team who made me feel very welcome. The Marco Pierre White restaurant both in terms of the food and service was great! Well worth a visit! December 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay Very well and refreshingly different design in the heart of Newcastle. Just slightly off a busy road, so traffic is not disturbing. Good, comfortable big bed. Fridge with light refreshments for free! Walk-in shower with rain-shower. Wi-Fi for free. Car park right behind hotel. Didn't use breakfast room or restaurant / bar, so no rating on that. Overall very enjoyable short stay (business) and would certainly come again. December 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Warm and friendly staff This was my first stay at an Indigo hotel and it was a very pleasant surprise. The staff were uniformly delightful and professional. I arrived late but had a very good room service meal. There is a striking generosity in not charging for the contents of the fridge (which is a nice touch compared with hotels that charge for everything that's not nailed down). The breakfast was excellent and the rate was reasonable. All in all, a very positive experience. December 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great city centre hotel Central, easy to find, clean and refreshing decor. Despite arriving after a big local football game when the bar and restaurant were heaving, we were walmly welcomed and had a great stay. Shame there was no bath in our room - I am sure some rooms do, but it is always good to be able to indulge in a bath when your away for a weekend. And like many a city centre hotels your view is the building opposite! But all in all a great place to explore the city and surrounds. - the Barbour factory outlet is well worth a visit. November 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Refreshed and relaxed The attention to detail and the many finishing touches give the feeling that you will be spoilt in a sumptuous environment - and we were. Lovely staff - always smiling and helpful. A couple of examples: The kettle wouldn't work (unfortunate, but it can happen); instead of just bringing up a replacement kettle, I was brought a full tray topped up with all the variety of teas and coffees, complete with fresh milk. Another time, as we waited for a table to clear for breakfast (it seems that guests all arriving together at the last minute is a popular pastime on a Sunday) we were served with a couple of nice cappuccinos by a smiling busy waitress. Small, but nice, touches. November 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved every second of stay Stayed for 2 nights could not fault anything. Check in was excellent the receptionist was lovely and chatty room was great my husband thought the breakfast was fantastic and to top it off Newcastle won the football we will be back November 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Central City Location Modern, clean, professional, good food and service. A great city center hotel. November 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel We had a fab stay and would return again. They only negative comment i would have was our towels were not changed while we stayed for 2 nights. I would like to mention a staff member i think her name was trina. She was in the restaurant while we had breakfast and dinner . I work with the public and this girl stood out she could not do enough for us and made us feel very welcome. November 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend visit to Newcastle. Stayed at the Hotel Indigo whilst visiting family in Newcastle. Perfect location if arriving by Metro from the Airport. Check-in was a breeze and we got a room on the 4th floor after requesting a high floor. Unfortunately the view was restricted due to the bedroom window being above eye level! Staff at the hotel were excellent and a credit to the company. Rooms were adequate with a room safe, complimentary mini bar with soft drinks, crisps and chocolate bar plus the usual tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was a good choice of hot items and/or continental breakfast. The cooked items were warm and replenished as required. At the bar there was a selection of cocktails, wine and other drinks which were not the cheapest but hey, you expect to pay hotel prices. However, a discretionary 10% was added to all bills for service but this wasn't obvious at the time. Some people may still prefer to leave a tip for the staff at the end of the evening. All in all, an enjoyable stay and could be tempted to stay there again (but in a different room next time!). November 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The perfect start to the day - every day! Every morning was special during this stay and a perfect start to the day at breakfast time. The hotel really has turned up a notch at its breakfast service - from the warm welcome at the restaurant , through to the continuous friendly service during breakfast provided by all of the restaurant staff, ending in a friendly goodbye. It really sets me up for a great day ahead! Of particular note during this stay at breakfast was the consummate professional Richard and the lovely Gemma who always had a smile and took the time to say hello. The reception staff were fantastic and I'd like to to thank Rachel (again) and Esther for the lovely surprise in my room!!! Thank you so much. I was left speechless! The week went by quickly and the Hotel Indigo Newcastle served as my home away from home successfully again. As much as I like returning home after a hard working week, I also look forward to my next stay at the Hotel Indigo Newcastle. That's how much the hotel cures my home-sickness during the week! All of the staff at the the Indigo are a credit to the hotel and to the hospitality industry. Thank you for making my time away from home enjoyable. November 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by outstanding weekend stay Without doubt the best stay in a City Hotel this year. Nothing disappointed us at all. Well done to the Group, this is a great place to stay. November 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Opera in Newcastle Excellent room Excellent choice and quality of breakfast Helpful and friendly staff November 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very pleasant visit and experience Natural friendliness with luckily no-one suggesting we "enjoy" which is so often said by leisure staff and one is often not sure what one is meant to enjoy! It needs to be remembered that if it is said one needs to be asked to enjoy something i.e. your meal, the weather etc. etc. !!! The staff were excellent when greeting you and one felt that it was their natural personality that came across. Of course they need to be trained, but your staff convey that they have enjoyed their training but take pride in offering guests "added value" in everything they do. We found Newcastle as a whole a very friendly place and we were reassured to see how well a city in the North of England is doing and that they are achieving a lot running such a large university. We look forward to being Indigo customers again. November 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Nice welcome and great staff bar snacks have been the same for the past 18 months but the service is great. I would avoid the restaurant as the food is very average. Rooms are great and the parking is great especially when arriving late. November 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect stay on Business trip Deisgn, atmosphere, simplicity of the welcoming makes me feel like home November 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not amazing - only ok reception staff really helpful and friendly restaurant staff snooty and pompos - yes its marco pierre white!!! fish and chips the best ever!!! rooms basic designer look and feel nothing special walls and doors really thin can hear everything going on outside in hallway - did not sleep well breakfast quick - cheap orange juice omelette burnt in places - its marco pierre white!!! so not amazing - only ok for a one night stay near the station - its an average business hotel trying to be design hotel November 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality stay I stayed here as a base for a meeting. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The decor and finer details in the room were exceptional. I had a great shower and the towels were whiter than white and beautifully fluffy; a dressing gown was also provided. Breakfast was very good; and the service was very timely with attentive staff. Check in and out was friendly; timely and efficient. An all round great stay and recommended. November 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Continues to impress Another week of outstanding hospitality experienced at the Hotel Indigo Newcastle. Of particular note this time was the breakfast service. Richard, in particular, deserves a worthy mention as he went out of his way to ensure a great breakfast service. I would also like to extend my thanks to the entire morning restaurant staff for their courtesy and friendliness at breakfast time, not forgetting the kitchen staff for producing such delicious food! I experienced no issues with the room during this stay and the reception staff were professonal and friendly. The Hotel Indigo Newcastle experience all adds up to a geeat start to the day for me. November 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by usually good hotel, no telephone service and poor quality room service food This is usually a good hotel with good room service food but on this occasion telephones were inoperable both when I arrived (5pm) and the next morning (8am) to either book room service or request a late checkout and so I had to visit Reception/Restaurant personally. Room service food very dry (Corn Beef pie) and appeared to have been recooked and very unappetising. November 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by enjoyable holiday break This was a different hotel that we usually stay in on our yearly visit to Newcastle.It was the best hotel we have stayed in and will return to this hotel on our next visit November 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average Stay Goof location, however limited car parking we were lucky. Trendy setting. Cleanness of room OK, however lacks attention to detail. No light bulbs in 2 lamps and no cork screw for bar. Patio door hard to open. Overall nice setting and probably stay again, however expensive for what it is. Would look at other hotels. Evening meal good, however relying on a certain Chef for reputation, breakfast very average. November 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An oasis of peasce and tranquility The hotel may have been fantastic but the thing that made the stay was the staff. In particular Laura and Sam. They were welcoming, polite and curtious. They made a mundane hotel stay into a relaxing experience. We will return. November 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you. Lovely Hotel Staff/Service Excellent We booked a room at the Hotel Indigo Newcastle as we were going to the Arena to see Lee Evans.On arriving parked the car in Hotel secure parking. We were greeted by friendly staff on reception.First impression was I like it and I had made the right choice .my wife was impressed to.From the staff ,Decor ,atmosphere of the bar area was so pleasant.The room was immaculate and Decor and facilities a nice touch.When returning from our night out,it was a bit lively outside the hotel which is understanding,but once in our room you couldn't here anything .the bed was lovely and comfortable and we had a good night sleep.The Staff working in the morning in the restaurant were friendly and helpful,nothing was a problem,the breakfast was lovely We would like to say a big Thank you to all the staff for making us feel welcome and our stay a very pleasant one.Well done to you all. November 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Indigo hotel - NCL A great clean, modern and refreshing hotel to stay in. The staff are great and attentive to your needs and make you feel welcome. The breakfasts are ok, not great, but i feel that for the premium price for the Indigo that it should be included in the price. The complimentary bar in the room is a nice feature and allows you to relax that bit more when you are in the room. November 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Okay stay - not as special as website makes out Damaged window shades on the outside, and a very cramped parking area greet you on arrival, the inside is nice and modern, check-in was painless however they pre-load your credit card with more than your room rate to cover expenses you may run up during the stay, then reduce the amount on checking out - not sure if this is normal indigo practice. We asked for a table for dinner and was told we would be called in our room - we didn't get a call and ate elsewhere. Mattress was worn with a significant dip in the middle, pillows were hard and the room rug was stained from previous guests. Breakfast was great if taken as part of the room breakfast package, but not worth the money they want to charge if you bought separately. November 11, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle city centre Reception at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading