• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
(e.g. Oct-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
St James Park Football Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:432
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is available at the Grainger Town Council owned Car Park and is free from 5pm until 8am. Car Parking charges apply after 8am and must be paid in advance of parking. Please ensure you are not in a Permit Holders Bay and are in a clear bay.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Public Areas

Premium Internet Service

Premium Internet service has twice the bandwidth of the standard Internet service and is usually recommended if you plan on streaming movies or you do a lot of online gaming.
Wireless Internet available
Premium Internet Fee£ 5.00 5.0  GBP

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:57
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel.

Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters.

Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas
View More

See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel.

Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters.

Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas Cathedral. If you’d like to experience the thrill of top-flight football, visit the home ground of Newcastle United, St. James' Park. Whatever your interest, Newcastle is an outstanding city to explore.

Unwind over drinks in our 24-hour lounge bar, complete with a pool table, large screen TVs and free Wi-Fi access to help make your budget city break even better. Families too can save money in our Newcastle hotel as under 18’s stay for free when sharing a parent’s room.

Start your active day off with a buffet breakfast featuring a tasty range of hot and continental items.

Getting to and from our hotel is a breeze too. Newcastle Central Station and the Metro are only five minutes away and when you have a car, our hotel can be easily reached from the A1. Secure parking is available at the Grainger multi-story complex, pay and display car park adjacent to our hotel.

View Less
Features
Highlights of our hotel include a city centre location, rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi throughout and free car parking adjacent to the hotel from 5pm until 8am. Akbar’s Indian restaurant is across the courtyard!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 488 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Smart modern hotel, very friendly and attentive staff. Room was great. Well situated in centre of Newcastle. Food good if slightly restricted choice. Not cheap but reasonably good value for money. August 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room. Service could be improved. On arrival staff struggled to find my booking. Had to get my IPad out to show them that I had written confirmation. Room was very nice. Comfortable bed. Big shower. Good toiletries. The bar was full on Friday and we were therefore unable to have drink before dinner. Food in restaurant was good for dinner. After dinner struggled again to get seat for drink. Waited considerable period of time to get served and then to receive drinks. Charged service charge for poor service. I don't drink and thought £6 was expensive for non alcoholic cocktail. Went to Jamies Italian and paid half that for similar and nicer cocktail on next night. Breakfast on Sunday was poorer quality and service was not so good either. No pancakes or porridge available only limited selection from near empty buffet. We paid more for our room on Saturday than Friday by nearly £40 and felt that we had a slightly raw deal as a result. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Stay a Pleasure Excellent central location, friendly welcome and good value for money, will definitely retrun August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel! Great service, restaurant and spacious room. I stayed at the hotel for 7 days. The entire staff went over and above the call of duty from bringing my bad to my room between stays to locating a bag I left on the train! Can't wait to return soon! August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Hotel Would defo recommend hotel to anyone visiting Newcastle area and looking for nice hotel and convenient location to city centre August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Makes you think Everything about this hotel was faultless right up to the point we turned up for breakfast and I thought we were walking into a differebt world. Unattentive serving staff who clearly didn't want to be there. The food was way over priced even though we were all inclusive we were given a price list.. £17.95 for a breakfast. When it turned up I couldn't believe what I was seeing. it was dreadful. At no point did I see any staff smile. I left there feeling disapointed as the standard overall in the hotel is first class and the reception staff couldn't be more helpul... may have been a bad day but not good enough... August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great welcome We were warmly welcomed by the reception staff, who were great fun. They advised us about special deals for food locally and offered to make a booking for us. Comfortable and pleasant room with a great shower in the bathroom. We enjoyed our stay even though it was only for one night. August 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Modern with great customer service Hotel has a great feel with spot on customer service. Parking was a little tight for the Aston, but good to have on site parking! The only thing that let it down was that if you looked closer, the building/ rooms are starting to look worn around the edges. August 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Friendly approachable staff, who are always keen to help. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic hotel with staff to match My wife and I had a really enjoyable 2 night stay in Hotel Indigo. From arrival to departure our Hotel Indigo experience was top class. This is a really good hotel convenient for the railway station and the shopping area. The rooms are clean and comfortable and there is an excellent m p white grillroom. The hotel and restaurant staff are all very friendly and give outstanding service. Our first vist to Hotel Indigo and indeed the wonderful city of Newcastle and we will return to both. Thanks for a great weekend and despite the cities reputation as a party place the hotel was quiet and we had no problems sleeping. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast The reason for not booking breakfast on this occasion is because when we stayed previously, although the food in the restaurant in the evening was excellent, the breakfast was not, neither of us enjoyed it and found it better to get breakfast elswhere August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent My wife and i stayed at Hotel Indigo on Saturday 9th August 2014. This was a wedding gift as we were recently married. From parking the car in the hotel car park and checking in at reception to leaving the following day there is only one word to describe the whole experience EXCELLENT. This applies to staff, the hotel decor and room and the whole experience. Thank you Hotel Indigo for a wonderful weekend. we would not hesitate in recommending this Hotel to anyone and in fact have already done so. See you again soon hopefully ;-) August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable hotel good value Nice comfortable rooms. Friendly staff Free wifi Close to bars and station Breakfast was included but otherwise it was £16.95 a bit too much for what you got. Would come back again Steve August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A friendly hotel with excellent food Staff very helpful, booking taxis etc. Food freshly cooked and delicious! August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing dinner at Marco Pierre White restaurant Although the ambiance, lighting and décor of the restaurant was excellent. The overall experience was greatly diminished by the total lack of a dress code for dinner. Diners were permitted to wear jeans,t-shirts and trainers which spoilt an otherwise enjoyable evening. To make matters worse, a customer on the next table spent the whole time tapping away on his laptop,without even stopping to eat! When visiting an up-market establishment like Marco Pierre White's and paying more than average for a special occasion (it was my partner's 50th birthday celebration) , it is reasonable to expect higher standards than we experienced. Because of this, we dined at restaurants outside the hotel for the rest of our stay. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LOVELY HOTEL IN A GREAT LOCATION SUPERB ROOM (222), FRIENDLY HELPFUL STAFF, SITUATED JUST 5 MINUTES WALK FROM THE METRO AND CENTRAL STATIONS AND ABOUT 10 MINUTES FROM LOADS OF CITY CENTER SHOPPING AND DINING. WHAT MORE COULD YOU ASK FOR? August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My stay at the Indigo Newcastle This is simply the most comfortable stay i have had in a hotel and ive stay in hotels all over the world, lovaly staff from when you book in to when you depart , very clean , food really nice ,, just a grat place to stay in Newcastle and central for everything August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An oasis in a lively city, just steps from the train station We had rooms with balconies on the 4th (top) floor and loved the relaxed atmosphere for sharing wine and snacks overlooking the city. The rooms in this top category came with wine and beer, as well as snacks, in the room fridge. The rooms are fresh and spacious, with ultramodern bathrooms. We stayed a total of 5 nights. The front desk staff went out of their way to help us cope with the fact that our luggage did not arrive with us, providing a sewing kit, and helping us get a load of laundry done overnight so we had clean clothes in the morning. We appreciated the 3-minute walking distance to the train station and central metro station, for arrival, day trips, and departure. August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleasant stay overall. Hotel very modern and staff excellent. Right in the center of town and all of the Nightlife, if this is what you are looking for. Handily tucked away though, so off the noisy main streets. Beware of "Champagne Happy Hour" on a Friday ! Not a fault, and could be a boon, but they were running a Champers promotion from around 5-7pm, I think it was £20 a bottle. Hotel bar and reception area was rammed and very noisy ! I stay at IHG on both business and leisure regularly and this hotel is a pleasure to stay at, if a little on the expensive side if you don't get an Advance Savers Deal. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant hotel and staff This is a lovely hotel and the staff are second to none. The food in the restaurant is brilliant and definately worth a visit. The breakfast is lovely and everything is cooked fresh. I highly recommend this hotel - you will not be disappointed. It also has the advantage of a private car park. August 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Its OK Both girls on reception were great., the best check in we've ever had at any hotel. Charming and helpful, worth staying there just for them !! They shone !! A modern, boutique style hotel, but I've stayed in better. Simple things not right, lightbulbs not working in bathroom , wardrobe door falling off, needed a bit of DIY. Car parking a problem due to inconsiderate parking by other guests, 2 glasses of wine costing £20. Bedrooms a bit small, "king size" suggests a king size bed, when its not. There's nothing wrong with this place, its in a great location, the breakfasts are excellent and the hotel is spotless. It just falls that bit short of being memorable, its not that special. If I was staying in Newcastle again, I'd probably try somewhere else, I wouldn't make this my number one choice. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic room and fantastic staff I had a wonderful stay and it was a pity that I was not staying longer, the room was amazin and I had a comfortable stay. I always say that I will come back and this time I will. It was very central and found when going out and about was able to get to most place quickly and easily. The staff were very friendly which made my stay more enjoyable. WELDONE 5 STARS August 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Service Overall it was a good experience, the location is excellent, service was out of this world - we were greated with a surprise anniversary cake, we also had a free mini bar with some goodies in it. well worth paying for the breakfast, room design was excellent too. There were just a few small things that stopped me from thinking of the stay as excellent, the bathroom blind was broken and as we were staying in a corner panoramic room the morning light woke us up as we could not use the blind to block the light coming into the bathroom and ultimately into the bedroom, I think the experience in winter would be better then on a hot summer's day. They have aircon but it works at snails pace and we ended up having to go out in the afternoon to remove ourselves from the unbearable heat rather than enjoy the room. Even after the aircon being on all noght the room did not cool down, for me that was the only point which would stop me from staying there again in the summer but I would definately return in any other season. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellent stay Brilliant hotel clean smart modern great bar area dining area also food excellent room was big with air con nice bed bathroom tv and complimentary mini bar would recommend one slight downside was noise from bar next to hotel otherwise great. July 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Always a Good Week I travel and stay in Newcastle every week on Business. I've decided on Indigo being my preferred choice, and this to be the hotel I stay in every week. It's fully booked more often then not, but when I'm able to make a booking. I'm more than satisfied. To hit the bad points first, which there was very view of, it took 15 minutes to get through to room service, to then be rushed on the phone. I then gathered they were busy, but I still felt like they didn't want to be on the phone. the food was a little pricy for what you get, but it was still good quality. Other than those small opinions. I love every week here, the staff on check-in always make sure you're happy with everything before you go into your room . Greet you every time you walk into reception. I don't know names as of yet. But the young brunette (recently died her hair darker brown), I always feel I get on with her. Laugh and a joke, but very professional with any matters I have. Also the same with young lad as well (one with a stubble on him) I've recommended it to family, they've all come up and tried the hotel. Recommended it to colleagues as well, all because the hotel deserves it. Ramble over July 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Newcastle Indigo Extremely helpful and friendly staff Comfortable room Would stay again if passing through Newcastle Relaxing and stylish bar July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming staff My friend and I were visiting Newcastle to join in my nieces birthday celebrations. From stepping into the reception we felt very welcome and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. A special mention must go to Colleen who served our cocktails and gave us information on where to go in the evening; thank you Colleen. We will recommend The Hotel Indigo to friends and family and we're already looking forward to our next visit. Thank you from Trish and Elaine July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simply superb! As frequent travellers in the UK and Europe, we have become quite discerning with our choice of accommodation and usually have a gripe or two to moan about. Hotel Indigo in Newcastle is head and shoulders above any hotel we have stayed in for years! The room was first class and very contemporary, which suits us. The Marco Pierre White restaurant produces high quality dishes and complements the hotel perfectly. Service throughout the hotel was efficient and courteous - Jenny & Danielle, the lovely Geordie lasses on reception, deserve special recognition for their charm and friendly, efficient manner. We can't wait to return :-) The girls even sent us a postcard to thank us for choosing Indigo! July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great extras! Having stayed with different hotel chains in the local area for business travel I loved the little touches provided by indigo the complimentary mini bar the lovely smelling toiletries and free wifi! Lovely spacious rooms very clean and such a central hotel! Will stay again! July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel Amazing hotel... Staff were very friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived... Room was spotless, very stylish and roomy. Plenty of wardrobe space.. Bathroom extremely clean and shower was fantastic,. Breakfast in bed was delicious and late check out was no trouble at all... I would recommend this hotel to anyone.. I will definitely be staying again :-) July 23, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle city centre Reception at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-03-2014)
Check Availability
Loading