• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
St James Park Football Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:432
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is available at the Grainger Town Council owned Car Park and is free from 5pm until 8am. Car Parking charges apply after 8am and must be paid in advance of parking. Please ensure you are not in a Permit Holders Bay and are in a clear bay.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Public Areas

Premium Internet Service

Premium Internet service has twice the bandwidth of the standard Internet service and is usually recommended if you plan on streaming movies or you do a lot of online gaming.
Wireless Internet available
Premium Internet Fee£ 5.00 5.0  GBP

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:57
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel.

Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters.

Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas
View More

See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel.

Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters.

Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas Cathedral. If you’d like to experience the thrill of top-flight football, visit the home ground of Newcastle United, St. James' Park. Whatever your interest, Newcastle is an outstanding city to explore.

Unwind over drinks in our 24-hour lounge bar, complete with a pool table, large screen TVs and free Wi-Fi access to help make your budget city break even better. Families too can save money in our Newcastle hotel as under 18’s stay for free when sharing a parent’s room.

Start your active day off with a buffet breakfast featuring a tasty range of hot and continental items.

Getting to and from our hotel is a breeze too. Newcastle Central Station and the Metro are only five minutes away and when you have a car, our hotel can be easily reached from the A1. Secure parking is available at the Grainger multi-story complex, pay and display car park adjacent to our hotel.

View Less
Features
Highlights of our hotel include a city centre location, rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi throughout and free car parking adjacent to the hotel from 5pm until 8am. Akbar’s Indian restaurant is across the courtyard!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 287 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GOOD SERVICE AND COFORTABLE ROOMS. WE STAYED OVERNIGHT PRIOR TO GOING ON HOLIDAY,CHECK IN WAS EASY,THE ROM WAS MODERN CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE,WE HAD A MEAL IN THE BAR WHICH WAS GOOD BUT THE BEST THING WAS THE FRIENDLYNESS OF THE STAFF AND THE HELPFULNESS WAS SECOND TO NONE. October 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 14th October 2014 Heating needs sorting out. in bedrooms and conference rooms. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay This was our first visit to this hotel, and it was a very good experience all round. As we were going to Newcastle races it was ideal for that purpose. The lounge area and food were great. The staff were excellent and made us very welcome. We had a problem during our first night with a very noisy radiator, which kept us awake most of the night. It was banging almost every hour and I managed to clear it, but it just kept banging. I reported it to the night porter at approx. 4am and he said nobody could do anything until the maintenance staff arrived later that morning. They set about a repair as we were at breakfast, but the receptionist had already agreed for us to move to an upgraded room, where we moved to later that day. It was all done very efficiently with no fuss. Thanks October 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Service We waited in the resteraunt on sunday for twenty minutes for our drinks a further 30 for poor quality tepid food with tough meat. Workmen were drilling on Saturday morning at 8am. I was not warned that there are major road works around the hotel, overall the stay was awful. S Boyd platinum elite member October 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Refurbished hotel The new rooms are a great improvement however the new heating is inadequate for the size of the room and extremely noisy. It would be impossible to sleep with the heating / air conditioning switched on. The heated towel rail in the bathroom that worked was a pleasant experience and at least the bathroom was warm! Breakfast was poor with un cleared tables and staff that clearly did not want to be there. I was even asked if I had finished when my plate was half full and I was still eating!! October 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding guests Ok but not fantastic, definitely room for improvement. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GOSFORTH HOLIDAY INN GREAT SERVICE All staff at the hotel were kind courteous and helpful and we will certainly be staying there again in the future Top marks to all the staff for their attitude and helpfulness October 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed I stayed at this hotel on Sunday 5th October with my family.Firstly the lady at the reception was very rude and not at all welcoming.I had booked for breakfast and pre-paid,when i mentioned this she said i had not booked breakfast and i was told to pay extra,i said quite a few times that i had book breakfast and she still refused to listen to me,then when she looked at her computer she said "oh you have booked breakfast" but never apologized,very stern faced.Next we had to wait along time for our rooms,this was ok to start with as some of our party had not arrived but when they did the rooms were still not ready,it was turned 4-0 clock when they were ready,not good.The pool was not in use which was a big disappointment,that is one of the reasons i chose this hotel.The room was cold as the radiator switch was missing and couldn't turn it on,also some of the lights didn't work.On a positive note, the bar staff were very friendly and the food was good.When i went to reception later there was a lovely young lady who was helpful and friendly,it's a pity the other lady wasn't the same,it is not nice entering a hotel to be greeted by someone who couldn't be bothered with us. October 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by not a good experience I've been using Holiday Inn for a long time.We've recently stayed for 3 days at one of their hotels Unfortunately on the second day they didn't clean our room.The hotel was brand new but during the day there was loud construction noises in the room next to us.The coffee machine at the Restaurant was very dirty and the cups weren't clean. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent upgraded Executive Rooms Another great stay at the Gosforth Park. Nicely decorated exec room, breakfast excellent. Will definitely be back to enjoy all the facilities October 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed messages Have stayed here before and had a great time but this time it was a bit mixed. Had dinner in hotel first evening and staff were excellent, food was good and it was good value for money. This was in contrast to the service from reception/housekeeping. We were with our two children in a double room, newly renovated and excellent to stay in, very clean and comfortable, but with only towels, cups, mugs etc for two people. Phoned reception and they said they would sort. Nothing ever arrived. Complained again next morning and this time it was resolved. All going well until the last day. Had pre-arranged for a later check out as we wanted a long lie in and were then going to use leisure facilities. At 07:30 hammering and drilling from the room above woke us all. Phoned reception and they said they didn't know anything about it but would try and sort. They got it stopped at 07:50 then right on 08:00 it started again. I understand that repair work has to be carried out but why before 9am? Is 9am not reasonable for a hotel where guests could be trying to get some sleep/have a relaxing break? No lie in, couldn't hear television and had to get out of room to even hear ourselves talk comfortably. Went for breakfast and this compounded problem. Apple juice was extremely strong and undrinkable, milk was warm, coffee tasted very cheap, same with black pudding and sausages. Overall not worth the money and wish we had gone to Little Chef next door where food would have been of a much better quality. Overall breakfast standard not what you would expect from a Holiday Inn. Overall a very mixed experience. Great hotel in great location but service was abysmal and breakfast a total waste of money. September 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Updated Rooms and Bathroom. Old Bed!? Everything looked fantastic. New decor. New Bathroom suite with up-to-date styling September 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Going away party Was handy for our needs to attend party in Gosforth. Not brilliant if you wish to spend time in Newcastle. Not a hotel for sitting and chilling in. September 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business This hotel is central to the area, yet portrays a rural outlook. This is the 4th I have stayed at this hotel and found the hotel staff very helpful and professional . September 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't bother Took 10 minutes to check in, took even longer to check out. 1 girl on desk is simply not enough. Full of coach party making restaurant over busy. My advice - go somewhere else. September 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and friendly staff Arrived late in the evening. Friendly and efficient night porter, quiet and comfortable room, and excellent breakfast in the morning. Just what I needed. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great re-fit Stayed here for the Great North Run, really impressed by the welcome. Friendly knowledgeable staff who told us straight away about the taxi service to the start line, which was all we really needed to know. Room had been recently refurbished and was lovely, great big bed, good shower. Working and controllable air con system, so could actually control room temperature and no annoying fan noises! Really enjoyed our stay. September 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great welcoming hotel We stayed here for the weeks as we were doing the Great North Run. From the moment we arrived the staff were fantastic and helpful and despite us arriving very early they were able to sort us out with rooms so we could go and enjoy our day. The rooms were clean and comfortable and although a bit dated, it was great value. Taxis were never a problem and the hotel even sorted out shuttle buses to the start of the run! Totally above and beyond the call of duty and just fantastic! The pool was great and clean! Will definitely stay here again. September 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn Gosforth Park Newcastle good customer service. friendly staff food in restuarant good September 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by superb facilities, food, staff, position wonderful stay, I have already written a review. Faye on reception was very helpful September 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recent stay for The Great North Run We all thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay which was made necessary by my son Tim taking part in the Great North Run. We found the bedroom comfortable and clean, the breakfast delicious and all the extra steps to make our visit to Newcastle very enjoyable. The taxi to the start of the race, the fresh towels, the size of the room, all of it was great. We particularly want to mention Faye on the reception desk as she welcomed us in on Saturday night after a horrible journey from Peterborough, explained all the arrangements for the race morning, helped us again on Saturday morning and wished us a pleasant drive home on Sunday afternoon. She must work very long hours! We found Newcastle very welcoming and a huge part of that was Faye,s help. September 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by THIS REMAINS OUR HOTEL OF CHOICE The young lady (with a pony tail) assisting in the breakfast area showed quite outstanding customer service skills dealing with two older ladies from what appeared to be a tour party. Her gentle, caring assistance is perfectly pitched and provided much-needed reassurance. This young lady is to be congratulated September 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by gosforth park stay This is an excellent hotel in a very good position for visiting Newcastle and the surrounding area. The hotel has just been updated and has very comfortable guest rooms. The lounge bar area is very nice with very pleasant staff. September 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing and Comfortable Stay Excellent, relaxing and comfortable stay - all the staff made me and my two daughters feel very welcome. Will be revisiting September 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good nights sleep I stayed here before due to business and was very happy but it was midweek. On this occasion the hotel was very busy due to a wedding. All staff where really nice on arrival and in the bar. My main disappointment was the noise in the hall way from other guests. I had children and other guests running up and down the hall at 11 o'clock at night, slamming doors from midnight onwards and another guest banging on the door next to mine as he'd lost his key. The noise didn't stop until gone 2am , so not a great night sleep for me. For the money it cost to stay and the poor nights sleep I've had a better stays at much cheaper hotels. September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent for visiting places of interest. This was our second visit this year to this hotel but this time we brought our 2 grandchildren with us to take them to visit place's of interest . They really enjoyed the stay and that that there was so much choice for breakfast. We hope to come back again soon. September 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room The recently refurbished room made a big difference to our enjoyment during our stay. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very enjoyable stay Initially we arrived quarter of hour early after a 6hour drive,rooms were not ready but to be fair we had been told 2pm,a reassuring receptionist said it would soon be available but we were at a bit of a loss in a strange place,however all went extremely well on our return,everyone was really friendly,laid-back,easy to talk to. A distinct lack of do,don`ts,notices everywhere struck me as really good practice. The younger members of my party were able to sign in and use the gym/pool with ease and new towels issues for every time. Breakfasts were a lovely experience and set us up for the day.............many thanks to all concerned. August 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall a good stay, but marred by two individuals Staying only one night while attending a funeral in Newcastle. While we assumed that breakfast ended at 10 (its actually 9.30) we went at around 9.45. A certain female member of staff allowed us to sit down for breakfast with a certain amount of reluctance. The same member of staff then proceeded to, lets say, discuss her dissatisfaction regarding our late attendance with her colleagues within earshot. The comments were certainly not appreciative of our, and in particular my wife's character. Since we were shortly to be attending a funeral, my wife broke down in tears and left the room (with myself in tow# After discussing our experience with reception, the on duty manager acted unprofessionally, and immaturely #again offensively discussing the situation within earshot to colleagues) and offered us no resolve input or appreciation of the situation and was completely unapologetic. Overall a nice little hotel and a short stay spoiled by the unprofessionalism and immaturities of the staff including the manager. A real shame. August 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Generally good value Hotel room was very dated but I understand that rooms are in the process of being refurbished. Bar area was modern and had atmosphere. Unfortunately on the Saturday evening a very drunken wedding party ( including the marangue dressed bride!) brawl spilled out into the bar area which was intimidating .... August 29, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle city centre Reception at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading