• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
St James Park Football Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:432
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is available at the Grainger Town Council owned Car Park and is free from 5pm until 8am. Car Parking charges apply after 8am and must be paid in advance of parking. Please ensure you are not in a Permit Holders Bay and are in a clear bay.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Public Areas

Premium Internet Service

Premium Internet service has twice the bandwidth of the standard Internet service and is usually recommended if you plan on streaming movies or you do a lot of online gaming.
Wireless Internet available
Premium Internet Fee£ 5.00 5.0  GBP

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:57
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel.

Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters.

Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas
View More

See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel.

Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters.

Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas Cathedral. If you’d like to experience the thrill of top-flight football, visit the home ground of Newcastle United, St. James' Park. Whatever your interest, Newcastle is an outstanding city to explore.

Unwind over drinks in our 24-hour lounge bar, complete with a pool table, large screen TVs and free Wi-Fi access to help make your budget city break even better. Families too can save money in our Newcastle hotel as under 18’s stay for free when sharing a parent’s room.

Start your active day off with a buffet breakfast featuring a tasty range of hot and continental items.

Getting to and from our hotel is a breeze too. Newcastle Central Station and the Metro are only five minutes away and when you have a car, our hotel can be easily reached from the A1. Secure parking is available at the Grainger multi-story complex, pay and display car park adjacent to our hotel.

View Less
Features
Highlights of our hotel include a city centre location, rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi throughout and free car parking adjacent to the hotel from 5pm until 8am. Akbar’s Indian restaurant is across the courtyard!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 233 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 almost perfect all excellent form form internet in room service which was either very slow or not working at all despite asking staff about t nothing improved over the 6 days we were there. July 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel, poor heating management Generally the hotel was as good as any others I have stayed in however, the heating in the rooms for some inexplicable reason was left set to maximum hot in a British summer, the windows wouldn't allow enough air in the room to cool it so an uncomfortable night was experienced. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Had a wonderful break cannot fault hotet in anyway would recommend to anyone. July 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poor hotel supposedly under refurbishment with no thought for disabled customers [disabled and no lifts]. Beds far too narrow for larger persons. July 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable clean room Overall I was happy with my stay, just a couple of small things which took the edge of it, but i would still happily recommend the Holiday Inn to colleagues and friends. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great newly furnished rooms..! Often use this hotel for business travel, and find it friendly & convenient. Even better now some rooms have been refurbed and the air con is sooooo much better! Will stay again soon. July 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No Gust lift, and old tired rooms Not a good stay. Room small, tired and with old . NO guest lift to the first floor !! furnishings. Stained carpet not swept well following last occupant. Mould on window frames. Not enough tolietries, sliippers or bathrobes in the room. Bathroom good but small. Work in progress in parts of the hotel. Noisy roadworks outside of the hotel area went on until 11.00a.m. Inaccurate bill on check out. Not recommended July 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great - had it not been for the room temperature Overall, the hotel was nice, comfortable and met the needs for our family. The room, however, was incredibly hot and there was no effective way to cool it down. A big black mark on what would have otherwise have been a very nice stay. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good service the rooms heating was on when we went into the room and it could not switch of phoned reception and we moved to a refurbished room that work was ongoing but I must say the room was great and staff where very help full July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Service as always Great stay as always at this particular Holiday Inn Staff are always excellent here and always go the extra mile for their customers. The only thing I would improve is the facilities in the disabled rooms. My wife is now unable to get into a bath and I feel that all disabled rooms should have either walk in showers or full wet rooms fitted with seats. Holiday Inn Express disabled rooms have these facilities July 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service & nice facilities We needed a hotel neAr Newcastle at very short notice - we booked this one firstly because of the excellent price and secondly because we have been pleased with Holiday Inns in the past. It was easy to find & staff on reception were very welcoming. Our room was a good sized although next time we will probably book a kingsize bed. Breakfast was well worth it. We would definitely go back if we go to Newcastle again. July 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bad bar Day 1 - Asked for (advertisd) non alholic beer to be told non available Day 2 - No none alcolholic beer and asked for fresh orange. SOLD OUT. But 20 mins later FO arrived?? and not asked if alternate drink was required. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal for me Great location when travelling on the A1 and staying out of the possibly noisey centre - saves travelling through the city & allows more to relax. A lovely genuine welcome followed by chatty but knowledgeable serving team was just what i was after. Room was spotless clean which counts more to me that being outdated. Hopefully have a new room on our journey in August. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by make Sure you know what you want I have stayed in many Holiday hotels, this was the first one where I wasn't asked if I wanted to charge bar servies to my room. Getting acces to the swimming pool was stress full, asked or receiption fortowel, but was not told that you need another key to gain access. Also the changing area is a little poor, but the holiday is in the process of being refurbiished so this should be sorted outthen. The breakfast is one of the best I have had in any IHG hotel. July 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok - if you like sleeping in a sauna Having stayed in many Holiday Inns around the country this WAS amongst our mostly highly rated until our recent stay!! Our room was so hot it was unbearable at times. There was an air-conditioning unit in the room which was not working and a small table fan. We mentioned to the receptionist about the air-conditioning and was very abruptly informed the air-con in all the rooms were out of action "which is why we do not advertise air-con on the website" She offered us a fan but the one we had was only circulating the warm air and felt another would not have made any difference. It made for 3 very uncomfortable nights. Also each day after returning to our room after it had been serviced we found the keys did not work, again we told we this was probably because they had been kept next to phones in our pockets etc even though we kept the keys in the same place all the time and they worked when we returned to our room later in the evening. After dining elsewhere on the first 2 evenings we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant on the last evening only to find they were offering a "meal deal" for 2 people which turned out to be cheaper than the local pub. We cannot understand why this offer was not advertised anywhere where as at the entrance to the restaurant a breakfast menu was displayed but no evening menu and when we mentioned this to the waiter he assumed this was because the offer was ending shortly, but the fact it was still on should have been advertised and we would definitely have dined there at least 1 more evening. I think the front of house staff need lessons from the housekeeping staff as one young lad called Andrew helped us with our suitcase up and down the stairs without being asked. He was very polite and nothing too much trouble and felt he deserved a mention. Infact all the housekeeping staff were attentive, polite and courteous. We also feel the fact there is no lift should be mentioned on the website giving the customer the choice of a ground floor room for those unable to manage stairs with luggage July 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tired shabby motel style building with noisy rooms A tired and dated motel building with some modernisation to lobby area. Room quality is poor - the replacement windows wouldn't close properly! Disappointing! July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by smartie We enjoyed our stay and have already booked to return with our grandchildren in August to visit local attractions. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location A well situated hotel with ample parking and convenient location for the area. Helpful and attentive staff. Good range of facilities available. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noise problem handled well. A great location for exploring Northumberland. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food in restaurant was OK and good value. We had a noise problem on our first night but the staff sorted it and the remaining 2 nights were noise free. Facilities are good - lots of asily accessible parking, nice pool, etc July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good communial areas and great food Only stayed for one night, however will certainly use again. So pleasant to have good communial areas and pleasant staff. The food was excellent and plenty of choice. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Customer Service, very close to the airport! Stayed here for one night, following a spa session purchased from Groupon. The hotel is quite contemporary and the lounge area is very nice. The lunch time menu was good and the food tasty. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms were not quite as clean as they could have been (in the corners and on the skirting boards etc) but overall not bad. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellrnt location We arried on 30th June for 3 days, we were greeted and treated very well, although hotel is currently being refurbished we were not disturbed by any noise or dust, Very easy to get to A19/A1 or further journeys, quite close to Airport and ideal hotel to stay prior going on vacation. July 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by stop over hotel Fine hotel to stay overnight to break up a journey or to use as a base if car and travelling. Avoid if you do not have a car as it is £15 to town by taxi each way and there is nothing, absolutely nothing, in the area. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service We enjoyed our stay it was only for a couple of days room only but had a very stress free experience. There was some building work being done to the site but this did not influence our stay. Would recommend this hotel to any one. July 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfactory for purpose Hotel is currently in a refurb programme so hopefully the hotel will rectify the water pressure issues. Don't try having a bath in a hurry as it won't happen, takes ages to fill and if using the shower - again no pressure. July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lone female traveller Good comfortable hotel, staff were very welcoming and friendly. I used the bar and ordered a pizza to take to my room as I had work to do. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and great event We attended the annual Burns Supper with a group of friends and we all had a great time. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and the new bar & lounge was perfect for some mid afternnon drinks. The Ballroom looked good and the food was even better than last year. We will be back! June 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed review First impressions on entrance, very nice decoration and bar area. Room was a good size and clean, however the noise coming from the guys in the rooms next door and up and down the corridor made it almost impossible to sleep. Leisure facilities were ok but the gentleman shaving in the sauna put us off using these facilities, particularly when he left his razor lying around. Food and service in the bar was good, staff friendly and food lovely, same for the breakfast in the morning. Disappointed that when checking out the reception staff didnt seem interested in whether or not we had enjoyed our stay, didnt bother to ask. June 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Booked last minute stay, was close to motorways so convenient for my purpose, one night stay was relaxing and comfortable. June 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service If you want to get a good night's sleep then don't make my mistake and stay at this Holiday Inn. If you want to experience rudeness by the restaurant staff then this is the hotel for you. June 11, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle city centre Reception at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading