• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Polish

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
St James Park Football Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:432
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is available at the Grainger Town Council owned Car Park and is free from 5pm until 8am. Car Parking charges apply after 8am and must be paid in advance of parking. Please ensure you are not in a Permit Holders Bay and are in a clear bay.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Public Areas

Premium Internet Service

Premium Internet service has twice the bandwidth of the standard Internet service and is usually recommended if you plan on streaming movies or you do a lot of online gaming.
Wireless Internet available
Premium Internet Fee£ 5.00 5.0  GBP

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:73
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:57
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel.

Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters.

Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas
View More

See the best of vibrant Newcastle from our budget-friendly city centre hotel.

Our modern, city centre hotel in Newcastle is only a short stroll from the city centre’s cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Head over to the huge Metro Centre for an excellent array of designers before enjoying a night out in the stylish bars and restaurants of the Arts Quarters.

Take in the views sweeping from the nearby Gateshead Millennium Bridge or take a trip to the historic St. Nicholas Cathedral. If you’d like to experience the thrill of top-flight football, visit the home ground of Newcastle United, St. James' Park. Whatever your interest, Newcastle is an outstanding city to explore.

Unwind over drinks in our 24-hour lounge bar, complete with a pool table, large screen TVs and free Wi-Fi access to help make your budget city break even better. Families too can save money in our Newcastle hotel as under 18’s stay for free when sharing a parent’s room.

Start your active day off with a buffet breakfast featuring a tasty range of hot and continental items.

Getting to and from our hotel is a breeze too. Newcastle Central Station and the Metro are only five minutes away and when you have a car, our hotel can be easily reached from the A1. Secure parking is available at the Grainger multi-story complex, pay and display car park adjacent to our hotel.

View Less
Features
Highlights of our hotel include a city centre location, rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi throughout and free car parking adjacent to the hotel from 5pm until 8am. Akbar’s Indian restaurant is across the courtyard!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 226 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for touring The hotel is situated just off the A1 and is convenient for getting out for the day to see some of the beautiful Northumberland countryside and the many sights. It has recently bee partly refurbished, with the reception areas uplifted from their previous sorry state. But there are still three televisions in the lounge/bar areas which distract from social interaction even though the sound is turned off. In particular, there is now a television in what used to be a quiet area past the bar. The rooms, refurbished only a few years ago, are now looking tired. They are, apparently, soon to be refurbished. They are currently pretty average. We have been staying at the hotel for several years, more than once each year, because of its convenient location. In that time, we have seen the breakfast improve from awful to 'not too bad'. The problem is that breakfast is a buffet, self-served from a central island of water baths to keep it warm. This does not work with eggs: the fried ones are overlooked and the scrambled ones watery. The 'juice bar' dispenses poor quality apple and orange juice only. The coffee and tea are barely drinkable. But the location has it! September 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Positive experience. Nothing is perfect but room and service were OK and would use again. September 9, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Holiday Inn I have been in On arrival at the Holiday Inn Newcastle the building looks pretty dated and not as good as the other hotel almost next door, bit far away from Newcastle too. The reception however is well decorated, spacious and modern and the car park is barrier controlled. Check in was pretty much here is your key, room is on the first floor. I walked around a little until I saw the stairs (looks like a fire escape) and later on I gave someone else directions to the stairs as they were looking around bemused. I used the leisure centre although the sauna was broken the steamroom wasn't. The pool has probably the smallest swimming area I have ever seen in a leisure centre, didnt go in myself as there were already 2 people swimming in circles which would I am sure resulted in a collsion if I had joined in (1/2 of the pool is too shallow to swim in#. The changing rooms were a bit grubby with mould all over the grout - so bad I actually took pictures of it. My room on the first floor was unbearable due to the heat and no air conditioning, I complained to reception and was told that some of the air conditioning doesn't work and it should have been removed from the website. At this point I was ready for leaving even though I had only booked 1 night. I was given another room #room 30# on the ground floor, I moved all my things downstairs as it definetely was cooler. Both of rooms I was in were dated with stains on the walls and carpets, the bathroom in room 30 has cracked tiles, broken shower head, mould on the tiles around the bath #again I took some pictures as it was so bad). It really is the worst Holiday Inn I have ever been in, if I had booked 2 nights here there is no way I would have stayed at all and I will never stay in it again. The only positive from my experience here was the food, it took a little while, could have been warmer but it was tasty and cooked as requested. If you can I would recommend you avoid this hotel. September 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Large Room, Cheap Bar. But too noisy and Room could be cleaner. We booked a one night stay on a saturday as we were visiting friends nearby. The hotel was nice inside, bright and airy. Check in was swift and friendly. We had a standard double room, the bathroom appeared to be clean but on closer inspection the shower over the bath was coming away from the wall and there was mould around the seals of the taps and between tiles. The carpet in the room had a couple of bleach type stains and the carpets were faded over by the window. Room was dust free and comfortable overall though. The bed was comfortable however two of the four pillows were dirty and we didn't use them. The greatest downfall for me was at 4 am when my partner and i were woken by young adults running up and down the corridor upon returning from a night on the town. I feel if rooms are going to be let out to young groups there should be staff/security on hand to ensure the sleeping areas at least remain quiet and orderly. Would stay here again if the price remains competitive to local budget chains. September 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by room awful- food fantastic!!!!!!! when me my partner booked the holiday inn express we expected the room to be a lovely room as you would expect from a holiday inn however this was not the case, we had room 37 and the smell that hit you as you entered the room was disgusting very damp and heavy on the chest we had to open the window and keep it open the whole time as we had two young children with us, and the smell was very heavy on the chest , the bedding was clean but smelt of the damp and the carpet in the right hand corner of the room was rotting we really did find the room appalling and extremely dated, if we were there for a longer period we would of had to complain even now i feel annoyed about the fact we payed good money to stay in an awful smelling room. the only plus side to the whole experience was the food we went for a meal in the restaurant on the night and it was beautiful we couldn't fault it really lovely. September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent short stop over Only stayed a night and arrived fairly late. Quick meal with the family in the bar as there was a wait for the restaurant of 20 minutes. Not sure why as one part of the restaurant was empty. Meal was very good and tasty. Good night sleep and then before departure a fantastic breakfast with choice for adults and children. Great location on our way to Alnwick Castle. September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent - again Very comfortable, clean and the staff really look after you. Didn't use pool or gym which look compact but adequate. Food was very nice and the dinner menu is extensive. September 1, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hot room Hot room, awful food, dirty crockery, nice receptionists August 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value good food We upgraded to an Executive room, and the average cost per night which included breakfast was very good value. The food was very good, up to date menus well cooked and well,presented. We stayed 4 nights over the bank holiday weekend for a wedding elsewhere. The hotel was full but the staff were well able to cope with guests for other weddings, coach parties of tourists and foreign students, this all added to the experience. Bizarrely, service was lacking in quiet times in the restaurant and the bar, when there was no obvious supervisor present. One downside which we still don't understand is that the bathroom fans are on a hotel-wide timetable, so are on constantly from 6.30 to 10 and 4 til 11. We were told this was to ensure freshness however we have never had that before it sounds like cheap construction. We solved it to a great extent by closing the door, but were uncomfortable at the waste of energy, especially if rooms are not in use. We also hope that, having refurbished the bedrooms and public rooms, the hotel makes sure the main staircase, and remember there is no lift so everyone uses it, is refurbished, along with the landing. Having said that, we would stay again and would recommend it. August 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Newcastle upon Tyne Relatively easy to find off the A1. Reception staff friendly but seemed to be a little disorganised. Room was comfortable but a little tired looking. Shower attachment was broken and air conditioning didn't work but the latter wasn't a problem wi British weather! Service in restaurant was generally good and evening meal was good. Clean plates from the kids! Overall generally good value for money as a stop over point on a long weekend away from home. August 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed: Good points and mixed points Another week in another IHG hotel with some good points and some "could do better" points. The common areas look excellent and the restaurant/bar area look great. Parking is excellent - no shortage and they've got a shortcut from the car park to the rooms. Small gym is ok - I believe its got a pool and sauna but I didn't use them. In terms of improvements, here are the niggles that have annoyed me: 1. Lack of plug socks.... 1 socket by the desk and that's got the only light in the room.... where do I plug my laptop, iphone and ipad in? I did ask for a 4-way but they couldn't muster one up. 2. Iron.... you guessed it, no iron in the room. Pet hate as it took over an hour for them to find one. Usual hotel iron, it didn't do much good anyway! I'll finish on a positive... can't fault cleanliness! August 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice makeover Stayed here a year ago and thought it was old and tired. Fast forward to now and the rooms and fittings have been very nicely refurbished and feel very modern and appealing. Good breakfast and very pleasant and obliging staff. Pity about one or two guests who like to make a racket at 1 am when others are trying to get some sleep. August 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Inconsistent hotel chain offerings and staff were inconsistent with their knowledge Had to close my priority account to an IHG account to gain 15 mins of internet access for half price. Restaurant promotions did not consider non drinkers. Dishwasher needed cleaning as speckle dirt on all crockery at all meal times - told 4 staff and they all ignored. I put plates aside and staff put them back for guests!!! Swim pool every morning full of monthly subscription members which caused over crowding. Requested papers which were forgotten about. August 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good stay bright room, excellent night sleep,good food in the bar area,breakfast very good, will definitely use Holiday inns again. coffe at breakfast a bit disappointing, a self service machine,a bit temperamental. August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really nice hotel! This hotel was fantastic, food was great, the staff were polite and helpful, the pool was fantastic especially as we had our two boys with us- they loved it! The rooms were very clean and spacious. Would definitely recommend it! August 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pity about Breakfast in bed Good value for money but why charge an extra £6 per person for breakfast in your room. Other Holiday Inns we have stayed at do not so why here? August 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and restful Worth upgrading the room to executive. Great pool and sauna with a small gym. Lounge area useable and staff very pleasant. Missing a lift for the older folk to get to the second floor. Slightly remote location good if seeking some peace but local stores not too far away. Restaurant above average with a decent menu card, not gastro food but well prepared and presented. A nice find, very content with the hotel overall. Stayed an additional night. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Impressive in all respects from the first entrance into the hotel Lounge, bar and reception areas are very modern and this experience is complemented by very good staff who go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The rooms are very good quality, the beds are extremely comfortable and there is a swimming pool and sauna and steam room too. It is situated a long way out of Newcastle city centre so a car or taxi ride is needed here although there is a good local express bus near the hotel for those on a tight budget. August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff The reception & bar area has been recently refurbished and looks really good, the staff were all really helpful & friendly. The food was excellent. Breakfast was busy on the Saturday morning and they maybe could have done with another member of staff but you find Saturday's in most hotels busy and we were in no rush. The pool was an added bonus to keep the children occupied in the morning and was nice & quiet whenever we went. Rooms were fine, it was hot while we were staying and the air-con wasn't great but they gave us a fan. Would stay again. August 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed Gold member! I often stay in hotels in the NE of England and thought I would give this HI a try, really disappointed on arrival that none of my information was ready. As a priority club Gold member this is normally ready, also then had to go through the whole check in process even though the booking was recorded on the IHG App. I was informed that since changing the app the hotel are not getting some bookings through, after over 5 hours travelling to get to the hotel this was the last thing i needed. As for the rooms, they are very very dated, the bathroom whilst clean was very much in need of refurbishment with mould growing on the silicone in the bathroom. The doors to the bedrooms were also very noisy and slammed whenever someone left the room as the slow close mechanisms attached to them were so old they did not work. The staff were all lovely and friendly enough. I did not mention any of this to the staff at the time as the exhaustion of my trip meant I really could not be bothered at the time. August 13, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Surprising and marriage threatening!!!! Truly amazing, the more so since I have not stayed at this hotel recently. Indeed last time was January 2006. Your E-Mail dated 30 July states that I stayed, and your records show I stayed on 24 July. This is total garbage.....much more to the point.....it has angered me and INFURIATED MY WIFE of some years, and she is demanding I come clean and tell her what I was doing in Newcastle on that night!!!!!.....a fact that you formally put in writing You may see fit to try and save my marriage by explaining in detail how/why the E-Mail was sent to me, as a Priority Club member. To state it was a "human error" will not be accepted, since I understand it was automatically generated centrally by IHG. Also, please explain how you have linked my personal and private E-Mail address to another Priority Club member. The Priority Club number is NOT my number You may wish to help me and compensate my wife by sending a cheque for £50 so that i can buy her a meal My wife and I look forward to a prompt response and a grovelling apology August 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for the money paid! Stayed in a Family room with my wife and our two small children. Nothing is extravagant and the hotel doesn't pretend to be, which is refreshing as I've been in hotels that really do try to make themselves out to be special and fail miserably. It's a little dated, but you get what you pay for. Reception area and bar seem pleasant and function well. Beds (two doubles) were very comfortable, room was clean, TV had childrens channels for the kids. Staff on Reception were friendly and helpful as were the young porters who supplied an ironing table, a fan and a bucket of ice very promptly. Gym was well stocked, but small. It had enough fitness machines, and the pool looked nice, though we didnt have time to use it unfortunately. It's location is great for Newcastle, Blyth beach was a 10 minute drive away. It's a great stayover for southerners driving north to explore Northumberland. Alnwick is 25 mins up the A1. August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Uni Tour- hotel stopover We booked this hotel for a stopover to tour Newcastle Uni the following day. Upon arrival, all staff were courteous, professional and looked after us so well. Didn't get chance to use facilities other than the Restuarant. But can fully recommend it. Great location for visiting the city of Newcastle. August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel same about check out Lovely hotel great location, same about trouble checking out. Preauthorised credit card then took 1 week to get money back on credit card not a good service. A big let down to a good stay. August 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dissappointed When I arrived after a long journey from Scotland with my young family and got all our luggage and kids toys etc to the room I found that the folding bed was broken and that the soap dish in the bathroom was hanging off the wall. I then went down stairs to complain and had too wait another half hour on another room. I was offered no assistance moving all my luggage etc again to the new room therefore I was a bit disappointed. By the time I had got everything sorted out (approx. 1 hour after arriving) I had very tired and hungry young children on my hands. I thought that some sort of apology in the way of a bottle of wine, meal voucher or discount should've been given. On the basis of the aforementioned I wouldn't stay at this hotel again or recommend it. August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet night out With children now filling the house and no room we can call our own. Sneaking out after dark was the perfect remedy to continual sanity. The hotel was the perfect oasis of forbidden pleasure and tranquility. The bedroom was relaxing with a bed big enough to remind us of our youth. The champagne was cold and the breakfast the next day refreshing and much needed. August 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Family functions were excellently handled We only stayed for one night after a large family wedding in one of the hotels function rooms. We found that the services and attentiveness of the staff was exceptionally good. I would recommend this hotel to anybody wishing to have a function of any kind. We had staff available for purchasing drinks at all times which was something we were pleasantly surprised at, considering in most placing you are expected to wait until the bar staff are ready for you. The rooms were excellent and had everything we could possibly need, we were fortunate enough to have working air con in all of the rooms we booked out and every family member boasted of an enjoyable, comfortable sleep. As we purchased a B&B service, we found that the breakfast meal was something to be admired. It was above our original expectations and we thoroughly enjoyed it, we had a bit of a complaint about the lack of water, but after mentioning it to a staff member we were given glasses and a pitcher. Overall an incredibly good stay which i would recommend to anyone August 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not the best Holiday Inn I have ever stayed at. As a fairly recent Priority Club member who stays 30+ nights a year in hotels because I have to as my business dictates it, I was met at booking in that it costs £15 per night to connect to wifi. - essential for my business. I also received an offer for extra points if I ate in the restaurant. -Just show it at reception when you book in, still no points, I am having to chase them. The showers in the pool changing rooms smelled of bad drains. the pool area was lacking in facilities such as a water fountain. No Jacuzzi? I ate in the restaurant, nothing spectacular. Breakfast was no better, - unless you have a thing for hard crisp fried eggs. July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just what I needed when travelling Love the refurbished areas and hope it continues to the bedrooms which are CLEAN. just need a refresh. Staff chatty when they can be. Food has improved in past year so congrats to the kitchen and service teams. July 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Almost good, but ......... Non functioning air conditioning unit made executive room far too hot for comfort. Offer of another room was not taken up as nobody could be postive about room with an air con unit that actually worked. Slept with two fans operating all night. Next day a maintenance engineer found us a room with a working air-con unit and we changed rooms. Cool air bliss! food and service excellent in the restaurant. Very friendly bar staff. July 15, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Newcastle City Centre Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle city centre Reception at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading