• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Rural

  • Location: Rural
  • Closest City: MANHATTAN/NYC
  • Distance From Hotel: 40.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service dogs and guide dogs are permitted in the hotel.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:92
  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel has ample parking for cars, trucks, trailers and buses.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:79
  • Total number of suites:26
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:48
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:31
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:79
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Enjoy One of the Finest Hotels in Newton / Sparta

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites hotel of Newton, NJ, the closest hotel to the Sussex County Fairgrounds. Our convenient location off Route 206 makes us ideal for business and leisure travelers.

The hotel's central location means we are just minutes away from area businesses such as Selective Insurance, Thorlabs, Inc., and Newton Medical Center, an Atlantic Health System hospital. We
View More

Enjoy One of the Finest Hotels in Newton / Sparta

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites hotel of Newton, NJ, the closest hotel to the Sussex County Fairgrounds. Our convenient location off Route 206 makes us ideal for business and leisure travelers.

The hotel's central location means we are just minutes away from area businesses such as Selective Insurance, Thorlabs, Inc., and Newton Medical Center, an Atlantic Health System hospital. We have an onsite 24-hour Business Center, with complimentry print, copying, and faxing, and free high speed internet access, as well as meeting rooms to accommodate groups of up to fifty.

Sussex County, NJ offer a number of exciting attractions. Sports fans can take in a round of golf at Farmstead Golf and Country Club, or hit the slopes at Mountain Creek. We are just outside the center of Historical Newton, which is home to the newly renovated Sussex County Courthouse, one of the oldest still operating courthouses in the United States. Families can shop in Lafayette Village, explore the sights of Space Farms Zoo & Museum, attend an event at the Sussex County Fairgrounds or The Newton Theatre, and visit Swartzwood State Park or Sterling Hill Mine Tour & Museum. The beautiful Delaware Water Gap is just a half-hour away. Visit us on Wednesday for an added treat of our complimentary Happy Hour!

View Less
Features
The friendly staff at this hotel in Newton, NJ prides itself on offering unparalleled customer service and has earned recognition as one of the top service hotels in New Jersey, displaying both Torchbearer and Quality Excellence Awards. Remember to join us for Wednesday night Happy Hour, with complimentary drinks and food!
Announcements
Fall is here! Come up to Sussex County to enjoy local pick-your-own pumpkins and apples, Fall Festivals at Sussex County Fairgrounds, or just to enjoy the changing leaves while visiting Swartzwood
View More
Announcements
Fall is here! Come up to Sussex County to enjoy local pick-your-own pumpkins and apples, Fall Festivals at Sussex County Fairgrounds, or just to enjoy the changing leaves while visiting Swartzwood State Park!
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 153 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, free wifi and good breakfast Comfortable bed, free wifi and good breakfast. I will be back again! July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great front desk service and clean room clean and comfortable room. Nice area for parking, felt safe leaving pick-up. i will be staying there again next time I'm in town July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overnight vsit attentive staff, comfortable room, air conditioner was great, easy check in and out. July 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by not happy No a/c on floor a/c leaks in lobby and in bar and restaurant gave me a room that was occupied . Was not happy at all July 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Holiday Ever I have already contacted corporate during my stay. Also checked out and moved to a different hotel after 2 days of a 6 day stay. Pool terrible, spa worse, room dirty, frig scratched, dented and dirty. Had to chase down cleaning staff to ask for towels when we returned in the evening. Whoever heard of taking the pool in a hotel with guests that expect to swim and allow swimming lessons and no room to swim for their guests. TV didn't work at night and the front desk said it doesn't work when it rains cause they have a dish on the roof. I do believe they have better technology today that works even when it rains. Overall this was the worst experience ever at a Holiday Inn. July 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by One Night I spent one night at this hotel. Overall it was a good experience. The only negative thing was our neighbors in the room across the hall. Apparently they were part of a wedding party and they were drinking and carrying on very loudly, while we were trying to sleep with our two little ones. I fell asleep somewhere around 11 so I am not sure how long that went on. July 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed We came with a wedding party and after reviewing your website and calling to make our reservation, were satisfied with the price. Sadly, the next morning we learned that breakfast wasn't included in the price, and felt that $12.95 was exorbitant. In addition, the password for the Wi-Fi didn't work in our room. We had a much better experience at a competitor the night before in Penna, with a micro-wave oven & refrigerator in our room. On the other hand, when I asked about the non-functioning hot tub, a technician quickly made the repair and I enjoyed soaking. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It Works My stay at the Budd Lake Holiday Inn was part of the arrangements made for visitors of a wedding. Overall it was an enjoyable stay. The staff, particularly the breakfast servers and maid service staff, were quite congenial and helpful. Most of the front desk staff was helpful as well. There is a lovely courtyard for a morning coffee and general quiet. The rooms are clean and well appointed. Alas, I could not get comfortable with the bed - too hard! I also found myself pulling out the corners of the sheets. "Tuck...no tuck." (Seinfeld fans will remember that dilemma.) I do miss real glass glassware. Plastic cups just don't cut it. And the plastic cups can't be recycled. The complimentary bathroom supplies are also fairly chintzy for what I have come to expect from Holiday Inn. Overall, my stay was enjoyable. June 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Loud, no sleep I dont reccommend this hotel, The management staff is uncaring of problems. June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, friendly staff Comfortable, relaxing stay. The price could be lower. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Better than expected We stayed at this place for a wedding we attended and it provided shuttle service to the venue which was great. Overall the room and hotel itself was cleaner than I expected. I only had a couple of issues, 1st: the remote for the TV was missing. I only stayed overnigt so I did not bother requesting one. 2nd: the faucet in the tub was loose, it took a while to get the shower to work properly since I had to figure out how push it back into place so the water could come out of the showerhead. 3rd: breakfast was a mess, had use the outdoor dining area because the indoor was too small and so it was full. I ordered an omelet from the menu which stated it came with toast and fries, it finally arrived after 20 min but it was cold,( they probably got it from the buffet which I did not want) no toast , no fries, the waitress said it did not come with fries or toast, I told her I wanted the toast, after another 10 min I finally had to get up and get the toast, salt June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by internet and comfort of bed Bed was very comfortable The food served at the lounge was great. Internet was very fast.I was not reconized as a platiuium member. Also when i ask about the 500 points instead of the welcome bag i ws rudely told by the clerk that i would not receive them dued to me using the corporate lodging card the rate was to low which kinda surprised me June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to unwind from hectic day I was able to enjoy a relaxing night sleep and breakfast was great next morning. Great service and would like to come again. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by hotel par excellence Great hotel....great staff... Staff had good knowledge of business... Courteous and friendly managers June 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No complimentary breakfast Failure to offer complimentary breakfast service results in an inferior experience compared to most hotel chains. June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfotable Bed Not too bad...clean and what to be expected from a mid priced hotel June 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lost earrings I left my earrings right on the night table after checking out I left and when I returned few hours later it amazes me that no earings were found May 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent hotel for a Holiday Inn but definitely nothing great The hotel was decent but could definitely use some work. I just stayed there for 1 night so it did the job but I have a few suggestions: - replace broken ironing boards - fix toilet tank which was blatantly crocked and loss - put a fixture on the exposed light by the entry door - use some air freshener, especially on the smoking floors May 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 vistor Very poor service no air conditioner or very little no comp coffee on Sat. May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by VFM Compare to other near hotels, it is almost half price and service is as good if not better in comparison, Very knowledgeable & courteous staff. Hotel was renovating and changes are very pleasantly visible. Enjoyed my overall stay. I would give 10/10 and would suggest to others. Value for Money. May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Completely Renovated, Enjoyed my stay I enjoyed my stay. Hotel was completely sold out due to wedding groups. Very courteous staff & attentive in greeting and addressing my needs. Definetly recommandable to frequent travellers. May 15, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I would never stay here again Very uncomfortable NO hot water ..food was cold very disappointed May 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Renovated Property with Renewed Comfort and Great Service Selection of drinks at bar was nice. Breakfast buffet is worth trying for price paid. Rooms looked modern and comfortable. Housekeeping staff on my floor greeted with my name was very pleasing to note. Try it out. VFM for sure. May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Food No complimentary breakfast, but the breakfast for a fee was good. Excellent omelets. March 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst hotel we have ever stayed We used this hotel for our wedding guests to stay at after our reception. The whole process with them was stressful and unorganized. It seems the front desk does not communicate with the sales desk. We stated in a suite which was a waste of money. The front living room area did not even have a tv because it did not work properly and was removed from the room? And it reeked like cigarettes because they put the construction workers room that were working at the hotel, right next to our room. I stayed there the night before my wedding and was kept up until 1am while they argued over which beer was the most popular. Throughout our experience with the hotel I even wrote to management on how unhappy I was with their service and professionalism through planning our wedding. They apologized but did not offer ANY compensation. What a shame because all my friends are getting married now and asking for recommendations for their big day. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. March 18, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by over charge to my debit card I had to plan a business trip to the Budd Lake area and my wife and I reserved the room about 2 weeks in advance. We wanted to know the exact charge that would be billed on the debit card and was quoted an amount. After 8 days of staying in the room I can say I was satisfied to an extent, I do understand the construction but it was a distraction. There were flaws with the room, but again I understand(the maid service was very good). On the morning that I checked out I noticed that the charge to my card was over a hundred dollars more than what I was quoted so I tried to talk to the manager but he could not understand me, nor could I understand him. So I wanted a quoted price so I could budget my money for the trip and all of a sudden I have over a hundred dollars less to travel over 500 miles on. I am very upset. So today I called the corporate office and after over 5 hours of waiting still no return phone call from them like I was promised. I can only hope that the company that sent me to the Budd Lake holiday Inn refers the multitude of business to the Budd Lake Holiday Inn goes elsewhere. March 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by conveniently located & great service, newly renovated Comfortable & relaxing stay, great guest service and new look lobby after renovation ideal for making extended stay great value for money. Hotel Staff very courteous. Shuttle service was prompt as requested. Restaurant in morning was busy but staff did excellent job. Rooms were big and renovated bathroom looked trendy. Will stay again in future. February 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Can't Seem To Get It Together I'm pretty tolerant of the occasional snafu at a hotel, even as a Platinum member. And in terms of location, this property is perfectly placed for me, so I have high hopes of them making the grade. Unfortunately, on this stay, they've dropped the ball so many times I have to submit a complaint. First, there's construction going on right over my room...from 3 pm to 8 pm. Nothing like being on a conference call and being drowned out by the sounds of drills and jackhammers. One reason I pick this hotel is that for long stays, they have a washer and dryer so I can keep up with laundry. The washer was broken last week when I stayed here, and is still broken. That's okay, I'll just stay in the room and watch some TV. The satellite TV service was broken, and offered no local channels or news networks. This has gone on for three days, and the front desk had no idea when it would be fixed. I tried ordering room services for breakfast, and no one answered. Kept calling, and finally called the front desk. He said he'd go check and have them call me back. Twenty minutes later they did call me back, and said the reason they didn't answer the phone is because they were delivering room service to someone else. And now, even though the restaurant closes at 9:30, it's 8:45 and they quit doing room service at 8:30. (winter hours, don't you know). Pair this with the elevators being worked on, the bar that opens late and closes early, and you're batting 1.000 for a bad overall experience. No peace and quiet, no food, no laundry, no TV or anyone that seems to even think something is wrong. Really, really, really bad. No excuses. January 23, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Gave it a fair shot and was disappointed My title says it all; I attempted to put aside all the negative reviews on here and give this hotel a chance. I realized there were a lot of mixed reviews and they certainly leaned heavily to the negative….But, I thought, this hotel probably just had a lot of disruption during the remodel and probably met with some unrealistic guests. My bottom line, If you are just looking for a clean bed for the night, this hotel would be okay. Otherwise, experienced travelers will be disappointed. Where do I start..... First, no recognition, at all, for Platinum membership. AS IHG figured out a long time ago, loyalty of business travelers is their bread and butter. When I checked in, the hotel was empty….and I mean empty. If there were 12 cars in the lot, that would have been a lot(it stayed this way all night). Upon check-in, The desk clerk was curt with me and wouldn’t engage in any sort of dialogue. It was simply strange….. Normally when you enter a hotel(certainly at a IHG brand), you are greeted by a personable person at the desk making a great first impression. They often engage in small talk during the check in process…. Not this time……. I thought “okay” she just having a bad night. Everyone is entitled to have a bad day! As the check-in continued, I got over it and asked about the possibility, AND I mean asked, about the possibility of a room upgrade. I couldn't have been kinder.. Without hesitation, I got a sigh and told there were none available and all the king suites were under renovations. As a platinum member, complementary upgrades are part of the perks. EVERY other time I’ve been on a IHG property, they are given automatically without asking. What this clerk didn’t know, is I check the hotel availability right before I walked in the front door to see what’s available. Again the lot was empty and the app showed six king suites available. So I clearly wasn’t told the truth. I became obvious this stay was going to be "different". Made it to my room. I was in one of the newly remodeled king rooms. Very simply, the wall coverings, carpeting and few other cosmetics were improved. The furniture was not replaced in the unit I had and the bathroom grout and caulk haven’t been touched in years. looks like the public areas were also spruced up including the hallways. Again, not the worst property and service I have ever experienced, but this is certainly one hotel I’ll never return to. December 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Would not return I understand that the hotel is renovating, however, the pool had so much chlorine in it, it turned my daughters bathing suit yellow, the pillows were small, the television didn't work because the satellite was out, there were no pool towels. The dinning room was staffed with one person, who was also the bartender. She had just gotten into a foul language fight with another staff person. The breakfast was filled with a church group leaving no seats and the menu was unavailable. The choice was to eat the buffet in the bar...the chairs were stained and dirty! December 18, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Enjoy and Relax with Free WIFI!
Enjoy and Relax with Free WIFI!
Select to close.
Enjoy and Relax with Free WIFI! Visiting Newton? Take in a show at the new Newton Theatre! Holiday Inn Express Newton, NJ Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Newton-Sparta, NJ Holiday Inn Express Newton, NJ Friendly Staff Is Always Ready To Help!
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading