• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: NORTH CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Regrettably, we do not accept your loved furry friends. We do have kennel located within one mile from the hotel. Please call for information and fees.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Whirling Waters/Wannamaker Park
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Carolina Ice Palace, Northwoods Mall Adjacent
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
North Charleston Shopping District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Palmetto Commerce Parkway
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample free parking is provided for all our guests. Ample Parking also available for buses, trucks and RV's on hotel propertyl. No RV connections. Parking lot is patrolled in the evening by hotel security.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:98
  • Total number of suites:22
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:43
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:55
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:98
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:SC0491

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites®

Located minutes outside of historic Charleston, SC our hotel is situated off I-26 within five miles of the Charleston International Airport, Boeing, and in the center of the state's largest retail district. Within walking distance there are over a dozen restaurants and the Northwoods Mall. Our contemporary hotel provides a name that you can trust when visiting the Lowcountry.

Our Holiday Inn Express® Charleston - Ashley Phosphate
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites®

Located minutes outside of historic Charleston, SC our hotel is situated off I-26 within five miles of the Charleston International Airport, Boeing, and in the center of the state's largest retail district. Within walking distance there are over a dozen restaurants and the Northwoods Mall. Our contemporary hotel provides a name that you can trust when visiting the Lowcountry.

Our Holiday Inn Express® Charleston - Ashley Phosphate hotel promises to exceed your expectations. We're ideally located so you and your family can enjoy the many nearby attractions including Carolina Ice Palace, Cypress Gardens, Patriots Point and plantations. If the beaches have drawn you to the area, you'll be glad to know that Isle of Palms is 16-miles and Folly Beach is just 20-miles away.

Our hotel in North Charleston is near the Convention Center, the Air Force Base, Naval Weapons Station, Palmetto Commerce, Bushy Park and all major industry. Our hotel is an ideal place to stay for business travelers. Complimentary high-speed Internet access, a 24-hour Business Center, and a large meeting room make conducting business easy when staying with us.

Unlike Other Charleston, SC hotels we offer an array of complimentary amenities to help make your stay fabulous including a hot breakfast, Manager's Reception, Fitness Center, and outdoor swimming pool that is open seasonally. See you soon!

View Less
Features
Located in North Charleston off of I-26, our Charleston hotel is within walking distance of dozens of restaurants, new movie theater attractions, Northwoods Shopping Mall, and is a short drive to downtown Charleston and the areas favorite attractions.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 34 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by My Stay Wasn't Happy with the quality that was received and I know this to be a quality hotel chain, unfortunately this location may need a little more training. July 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Experience Booked a King Online and received a Queen when we arrived. Was not told at the front desk. Just surprised when we unloaded ALL of our luggage into the QUEEN room :( Front desk staff not friendly. Acted as if I was the one with a problem. Acked as if they did not want to work. The lobby of the hotel was HOT and STEAMY feeling. The staff that was cleaning did not seem nice either. The Room was old and run down looking. Looked like a hotel that really needs to be renovated. July 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by good staff We came in around 8 after a day in downtown Charleston. The staff was friendly and accommodating, but to our dismay the room left much to be desired. The trash from the last guest was still in the trash can. The lamp on the wall was unsecured, exposing electrical wires and when we locked everything up for the night the dead bolt didn't work which may not be a big deal for a man, but is for a mother and a daughter. We checked out the next morning (early departure ) and the staff was very friendly. Front desk staff 10... housekeeping and maintenance 0 June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by COMFORTABLE BED, CLEAN ROOM AND GREAT SERVICE GREAT SERVICE, CLEAN ROOM AND BATHROOM. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO EVERYONE. IT WAS ONE OF THE BEST HOTELS I HAVE STAYED IN. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New Experience and couldn't be happier! We checked in after being lost and not arriving until after 1am so I was not in the best of moods. From the time I walked up to the front desk until I left 2 days left I couldn't have been more satisfied. The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful from check in to check out. The rooms were clean, yes some of the furniture wasn't new but neither is mine at home. The bedding was clean and the kitchen was SPOTLESS - I don't think my new mircowave was ever that clean! Easy access wifi, plenty of outlets and the AC was excellent! I've never stayed in an extended stay hotel so the full fridge with ice maker, dishwasher, stove, etc was a shock that I enjoyed having. Even though the parking lot was full, the place was QUIET!! Next year when we go back to the convention, I won't even try to get into the hotel it's at and pay $150 - it is worth the 10 minute drive to stay here again for a much cheaper price and have all the amenities of home! June 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor accomidations Poor review, uncontrollable A/C, small beds, no pool or Ice machine, no medical rate for dr's appt's. June 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Work Trip I chose this hotel over the Holiday Inn due to having a full size fridge. Would be nice to have cleaning more than once a week but that is how it is. Would be nice to have an ice machine since the ice maker takes a long time to make. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Value We chose Candlewood Suites for the convenience of being able to prepare our own meals and save the expense of eating out. We did not know that the value would be increased with free laundry. The staff was very responsive to our needs, and brought everything we requested to us instead of us having to go down to the front desk. We highly recommend this location for anyone wanting to spend an extended amount of time in the Charleston area. June 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location to Historic Charlston Easy access to highway gave straight way to sights and scenes in downtown Charlston. June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Delighted Very clean rooms; great kitchen; easy check in/out. Highly recommend, especially at price range. Got more than expected and lots of space for kids. June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Price and Wonderful Staff We came into town Saturday May 24th and stayed until May 27th. We were here for a short vacation with our 5 year old daughter to visit the beach. I booked the room a few weeks in advance and was very leary after reading past posts. I am so happy I did not cancel our reservation, we had a very pleasent stay, it was affordable, near by a ton of shopping and eateries, the staff was super friendly, rooms were clean, kitchen space nice and saved us a ton of money not eating out every meal. No, it's not a brand new hotel with first class accomodations, but for the price you obviously know that to begin with. I would def come back and stay for another trip. Only downside is no onsite pool for when you want an activity without leaving the hotel. Also, the rooms are either too cold or to hot, but hey if thats all the negative I found, it was a great place to stay!! May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Expectations and experience The accommodations met all of our expectations. Clean facilities, comfortable beds, near our destination, reasonable room rates, friendly and accommodating staff. May 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not too good THis hotel is becoming too run down. Only stayed here because all others were booked. April 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Glad I didn't pay & used points-Super Noisy! Upon arriving, the hotel staff could not find my reservation, even after I provided the confirmation number. It took quite some time, but finally she found it. The desk worker was extremely nice and appologized several times for the issue. Once the reservation was found I was told there were only smoking rooms left, even though I booked a non-smoking room. I refused and began looking for another hotel on my phone and was then told she found one that had been canceled but I needed to look at it because housekeeping hadn't been in the room in a few days and she wasn't sure what state it was in????? The room was fine, looked tidy and clean. Apparenlty there is no insulation surrounding the room. I could hear every word of every conversation of people outside in the hall and in rooms next to ours. It was HORRIBLE! If I hadn't been so tired from our 8 hour drive, I probably would have stayed somewhere else! The bed was not confortable at all! Needs replaced. Only 3 flat pillows for double bed. Also, the front desk couldn't tell me the correct password for the business center or internet. February 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Animal House This Candlewood catered to rough neck contractors and construction workers, they hung around the laundry room/gym, drank beer in the lobby and the parking lot. The men harassed my wife and only after several complaints did they take action and evict the contractors. They would knock on our door late at night and when I was gone to my job. If I see any work trucks at a hotel, I will never stay there again., Desk staff was indifferent to my complaints and only the management took action, but the safety and security was lacking. If the place isn't safe, then it doesn't matter how good the rooms and perks are. We felt like prisoners everyday we stayed there and had to use the back door. An old wild west saloon or frat house would have been safer. January 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Noisey stay, No towels. Bathroom not stocked. Room not very clean. Poor stay for the money. January 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas Visit Staff was friendly and courteous and recognized me as a platinum member, but the room was slightly below average. The stove top was missing drip pans for the burners. The double bed had only three pillows. The maintenance staff needs to pay a little more attention to details. January 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by MATTRESSES NEED REPLACING My mother, sister and I found the staff and the "pet-friendly" policy great, but it went downhill from there. The hotel only has 1 working luggage cart, and we had to search for it. The bathroom was dirty, fixtures were covered in water marks and finger prints, there was trash left in the bin in the kitchenette. And, the trash cans by the other hotel exits were overflowing. The BBQ area was filthy, as were both the gas grills available. BUT, the mattresses were the worst all 3 of us have ever slept on and need immediate replacement. I'm glad I didn't pay cash, used points for this stay-but wasted them here. I wouldn't stay here again. September 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Slept like a baby! This was a very clean facility. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. I was alone and felt very safe. The overall environment at this hotel was quiet and restful, even though it was very close to a Mall. The room was spotless and the kitchen supplies very handy. Coffee was great! Staff was friendly. I will definitely be back when visiting relatives in the area! August 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you When I arrived I didn't receive the room I reserved from the 800 reservation number, but the staff was very helpful on making my stay as pleasant as possible, I got a discount for the inconvenience which was great. My room was nice, love love love the location its right by the mall, movies and restaurants. I would truly recommend this hotel. July 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by STAY AWAY FROM HOME I normally stay at Candlewood Hotels because of the home like feeling. This time I was a little suprised at the run down funiture. When I checked in I noticed that the desk chair was ripped up. I called the front desk and they replaced it. The carpet was old and the bed was not fresh. I would still recommend Candlewood suites again but only if they update their funiture. Great staff no complaints there but the cupboard was not stocked and very limited selection. July 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Staff I stayed here on vacation with my family. The staff was friendly and quick to respond. When my husband and I came in Friday the elevator was broken, but working again before we got up at 7 in the morning. The facility was clean and obviously had regular guests. We shopped in the CC every morning and it was nicely and frequently stocked. We loved the convenient location. We easily got to downtown, the beach and outlets. Great stay overall. June 8, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overbooked! The hotel was overbooked even though i'd already been billed. Hotel is average, about Motel 6 quality. Spend the $100 more get closer to the city and rocket up in niceness. June 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Great staff Ricky was extremely helpful close to food and the mall. January 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Experience Staying at Candlewood has been the best hotel expierence for me. I'm truly impressed and feel in love with Candlewood. My boyfriend also expressed that this was his best hotel experience. The desk clerk was VERY helpful and nice. She was/is the perfect example of "OUTSTANDING CUSTOMER SERVICE". There was nothing about my stay that I would change. My money was well spent. I look forward to making Candlewood my choice stay for any trip that I go on. LOVED IT!!!! November 19, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We had a 1 bedroom suite as it was myself, spouse and mother so we needed the space. The room was set up great...loved the kitchenette area and my Mom said the sofabed was very comfortable. The hotel was very clean and staff was friendly and helpful. They did not have extra pillows or blankets our first night there but we made it work with what we had. Great stay, great location and very nice hotel. Will definitely stay again. October 21, 2012
<<prev2
Welcome to North Charleston. Minutes from CHS airport & downtown.
Welcome to North Charleston. Minutes from CHS airport & downtown.
Select to close.
Welcome to North Charleston. Minutes from CHS airport & downtown. Hotel located near Boeing and the Palmetto Commerce Corridor We are ready to welcome you! Welcome! Hotel is in center of the state's largest retail area. Our Award Winning Team looks forward to serving you! Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading