• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: NORTH CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Regrettably, we do not accept your loved furry friends. We do have kennel located within one mile from the hotel. Please call for information and fees.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Whirling Waters/Wannamaker Park
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
North Charleston Shopping District
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Carolina Ice Palace, Northwoods Mall Adjacent
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Palmetto Commerce Parkway
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample free parking is provided for all our guests. Ample Parking also available for buses, trucks and RV's on hotel propertyl. No RV connections. Parking lot is patrolled in the evening by hotel security.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:98
  • Total number of suites:22
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:43
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:55
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:98
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:SC0491

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites®

Located minutes outside of historic Charleston, SC our hotel is situated off I-26 within five miles of the Charleston International Airport, Boeing, and in the center of the state's largest retail district. Within walking distance there are over a dozen restaurants and the Northwoods Mall. Our contemporary hotel provides a name that you can trust when visiting the Lowcountry.

Our Holiday Inn Express® Charleston - Ashley Phosphate
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites®

Located minutes outside of historic Charleston, SC our hotel is situated off I-26 within five miles of the Charleston International Airport, Boeing, and in the center of the state's largest retail district. Within walking distance there are over a dozen restaurants and the Northwoods Mall. Our contemporary hotel provides a name that you can trust when visiting the Lowcountry.

Our Holiday Inn Express® Charleston - Ashley Phosphate hotel promises to exceed your expectations. We're ideally located so you and your family can enjoy the many nearby attractions including Carolina Ice Palace, Cypress Gardens, Patriots Point and plantations. If the beaches have drawn you to the area, you'll be glad to know that Isle of Palms is 16-miles and Folly Beach is just 20-miles away.

Our hotel in North Charleston is near the Convention Center, the Air Force Base, Naval Weapons Station, Palmetto Commerce, Bushy Park and all major industry. Our hotel is an ideal place to stay for business travelers. Complimentary high-speed Internet access, a 24-hour Business Center, and a large meeting room make conducting business easy when staying with us.

Unlike Other Charleston, SC hotels we offer an array of complimentary amenities to help make your stay fabulous including a hot breakfast, Manager's Reception, Fitness Center, and outdoor swimming pool that is open seasonally. See you soon!

View Less
Features
Located in North Charleston off of I-26, our Charleston hotel is within walking distance of dozens of restaurants, new movie theater attractions, Northwoods Shopping Mall, and is a short drive to downtown Charleston and the areas favorite attractions.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 154 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by So-So Room was "Oldish" looking and bathroom was small with a too small sink area for two people. Will probably not stay here again when returning to Summerville. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by reasonable rate, good shopping and eateries Attended wedding of Niece at Sullivan's Island. Was a little out of range but good roads to location. Also near airport as I had to pick up daughters and return them to same after the wedding. Overall a good experience. June 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Five days in Summerville The lobby, breakfast area, grounds and pool are excellent. Once you get to the rooms the place is clean, but a little on the old side. When I stayed there last fall the "common" areas were being upgraded, but it still hasn't made it to the rooms. Still, I would stay there again because of the location. June 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great staff, but waited on room. Fantastic front desk staff. But, arrived at 6:30pm, room was not ready. Could not get in till 7:30pm. Otherwise, good experience and comfortable. June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, good value, comfortable stay. Stayed in this hotel before and made sure to return this time. Enjoyed the facility and deffinately the wonderful breakfast. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hope to return the next time we are in this area. June 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel and Staff Great Hotel, Staff and Breakfast, worth the Value for the Dollar. Give all the Girls on the front desk a heart for Me. June 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Unclean bed. Would stay at another Holiday Inn Express, but, based on the cleanliness of the bed, I would probably not return to this particular HI Express. I May 31, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by hotel in general It was a very enjoyable staff. Staff were excellent May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Able to relax My husband and I recenty stayed here for a get away/graduation. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. It was nice having two different types of pillows to choose from. The fitness center was good with a few machines to choose from. Breakfast we were both bale to find something to eat and leave for the day fueled and ready. May 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by so so It was an okay stay in an older hotel. Fitness center should have been cooler (temperature wise). There was a water cooler but no cups, baskets for dirty towels but no clean ones and nothing to wipe down equipment after use. April 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by In Need of a Makeover This hotel was a real disappointment, especially after some of the far superior Holiday Inn Express hotels we stayed at on this trip. Everywhere you look, this hotel is just plain tired. It is also in need of a deep cleaning, which I find somewhat disturbing. I was looking for a plug to charge my phone and wherever I looked (behind the bed, behind the TV cabinet and under the desk) I found dust, dirt and whatever. This does not stand up to the Holiday Inn standards. April 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by House keeping/ Breakfast We stayed in room 211 from April 9th -12th. The bed wasn't made correctly, there was dust on the head board and picture frames. The bathroom cleanliness was poor, eg, floor was sticky, the sink wasn't wiped......house keeping still managed to take my $5 daily tip though. You do get what you pay for.......we're done with the Holiday Inn. David. April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel until the dogs started barking As great as the hotel is (and this was our second visit), we will be looking for another hotel for our next visit. Someone's dogs started barking at 5am and continued for 2 solid hours. April 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by room cleanliness When we arrived our room was not ready and after we checked in our room could have been a little cleaner and the heat and air unit was noisey. April 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Our stay review Our 2 rooms was clean and comfortable but check in time was 3 o'clock. When we arrived at 4:30 our rooms were not ready which was an inconvenience. When we received our bill we were charged $25.00 per night more than we saw on the internet and were quoted when we made reservations. It is not pleasant to have to try to get your bill corrected. We were still charged $5.00 over what we were quoted on several nights. We were told this was due to the demand for rooms in the area but we were not told this when we made reservations. We travel a lot and this had not happened at any other we have stayed at so I would not recomend this hotel. I expected Holiday Inn Express to be better than other hotels since they are priced higher than the competition. March 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Bed in town No kidding. Great beds, and isn't THAT what you're paying for? Cookies at check-in aren't bad either. The staff, Tawny and Eric were very flexible as my plans changed on-site many times. Great hotel and value. March 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by J W I had to go purchase ear plugs in room near elevator, micorwave, frig and lamp won't out 2 days back to back. On the second. Day frig, microwave and lamp went out about 3pm and I did not get it back on until 11:40pm.... Then the front clerk got an attitude with me.... March 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Somerville This hotel or at least the room I stayed, is in dire need of updating or at least a better cleaning. The walls had something spilled on them, the towels were very course. Tiles were missing in the bathroom. If I had a guest staying in a room like this I would have been embarrassed. March 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 3/8/2014 stay Usually this hotel does just right. My wife an I stay here every couple of months and have always been satisfied. But this time the wheels just came off I guess. One of the nights we came in about 8:30pm and find that the bed was made and the bathroom partially cleaned, no floors and more importantly no towels, face cloths or soap. I called the front desk told them of our issues and eventually we got towels; no face cloths. I called again and we finally got 1 face cloth and 3 bars of soap? All in All not a great experience. March 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AWESOME JOB!!!!! i CAME TO STAY FOR A WEEKEND, AND LOVED IT. FROM THE TIME I WALKED THROUGH THE DOOR TILL THE TIME I WALKED OUT IT WAS SUCH A PLEASANT EXPERIENCE. i WILL BE COMING BACK SOON AND I WILL LET ALL OF MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY KNOW THAT IS PASSING THROUGH SUMMERVILLE SC TO COME STAY AT HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS THEY WILL ENJOY IT.... I KNOW I DID!! March 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to Holiday Inn Express Standards A very old worn out property with Holiday Inn express signs. Definitely not up to typical HI express standards! March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay as always. What can I say? Great stay as always. Samantha's smile at the front desk never fails to perk you right up; very warm and inviting. Denise in the breakfast area has been at this hotel for going on 16 years and her work ethic really shines through. I got the chance to stay in one of the newly renovated rooms on the third floor and they're very nice. There's only three "show rooms" as of now but I can't wait for all the rooms to be re-done this way. It seems when this hotel does get dinged in a review it's because the building is a little dated. But I think the friendliness of the staff and management more than make up for that. And regardless, it's still in good condition and without a doubt your best option to stay at in Summerville. February 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk personel was very helpful. First we checked in and the room went were assigned was dirty. However the young lady at the front desk was very helpful and reassigned a clean room. The breakfast area was ok but the food is the precooked stuff that taste like chemicals. Secondly I travel throughout the year and a reason I don't stay at Holiday Inn consistently is it is impossible to pay cash upon check in. Most other hotels will copy the card but not hold anything and accept cash. It has been my experience that HI doesn't do this. Thanks, Steve Merritt February 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Front Desk, Breakfast Staff and Management Have stayed here multiple times and will continue to do so. Front desk staff is always helpful and pleasant. Breakfast has a good variety and the staff there is great as well. It also seems that management is personally inspecting rooms for Elite members. I say this because my room number was pre-assigned and upon getting to my room there was a "thank you" letter for being Gold and chocolates on the bed! NIce touch. February 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service Sam and Kesya are the bomb on the front desk, they go over and beyond the call of duty. February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, staff, and comfortable room. The Holiday Inn Express in Summerville is one of the finest hotels in the Charleston area. We stayed here two different times and were treated with the utmost respect both times. Excellent location for visiting our son who was stationed at the Naval Base near Goose Creek, as well as traveling to and from many of the must see sights in the Charleston area. Good food nearby and easy access to the freeway into Charleston. February 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Always Great Service continued during Ice Storm I stayed at this location 30+ days last year and a week this year. Staff is excellent and attentive to demands. Always recognized as Platinum member. The Breakfast Lady does a great job and often sings while she diligently works. They have added a Managers Reception on Tuesdays that was a treat on an icy night. I had stocked up for the winter storm as I anticipated their staff would be unavailable the next day, but breakfast and room service continued uninterrupted during the ice storm. Great job by management to keep things rolling smoothly. January 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by James & Mary 2014 My Wife and I, and a friend I hadn't seen since 1966 in Viet Nam, was also there with his wife - the hotel put us in adjoining rooms without even having to ask. Good Job! My wife is from the Charleston area, so we are in the area a number of times each year. We always come back to the Holiday Inn Express in Summerville - we have been to other hotels in the Charleston Area, but his one remains the best of any we have tried. Keep up the good work!! This trip was for Jan 24-27, 2014; we were also there in early December 2013. January 31, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Older hotel - needs some work As others have stated, this is an older hotel. While it has been renovated, it still needs attention to detail. My door handle was very hard to open, the towel rack was loose on the wall, the desk chair looked like it had white paint on it, the exhaust fan was not working in the bathroom. Also, the hotel sits between 2 low budget hotels and safety was somewhat a concern for me as my room was located at the back of the property. I would highly recommend they add a security camera to the back door that can be monitored at the front desk. The bed was very comfortable and I am very grateful that they accept pets! The room was expensive for the location and age of the hotel. I would highly recommend the HI Express in Mt. Pleasant as an alternative. Newer hotel for a similar price that I have stayed at recently. Also, more convenient to downtown Charleston. January 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Hotel Experience - Ever This hotel cost about the same as another hotel I stayed at before off Ashley Phosphate, and I'm a Priority club member - so I tend to have high expectations of Holiday Inn and IHG hotels in general. My stay at the Charleston-Summerville Holiday Inn Express was perhaps the worst experience I've ever had at a hotel. The front desk staff was pleasant and were the highlight of the visit. The other staff, however, were loud, obnoxious, and completely ignorant of where they were at, or the possibility of guests actually trying to get some sleep. I know the concept is easily lost upon some people - but the reason why people check into hotels in the first place is purely for the purpose of sleeping. For whatever reason, it never occurred to the staff that a guest might actually desire a nap at three or four in the afternoon. The room was supposed to be non-smoking. It's hard to believe that in the year 2014, there are still smoking rooms available. Anyways, the room certainly didn't smell like it was non-smoking, and then I discovered why. I was staying in 107, and just across the hallway there is an outdoor lounge where employees smoke right next to the door. The smoke filters into the hotel and into the room. Disgusting. There was a huge opening underneath the door. It was as though someone had chopped off the bottom two inches of the door - So I could hear everything; and when I say everything, I do mean everything. I had a long flight to Charleston that started my day at 2:30 in the morning. By the time I arrived at the hotel at 3 in the afternoon, I wanted to nap. With the sounds of televisions, intimate relations, and employees shouting across the hall - I found it incredibly difficult in my traveler's stupor to fall asleep. Instead, I awoke with a migraine reminiscent of my Navy Sailor drinking days, and a mouth that tasted like an ash tray. Thankfully, I had the good sense to get out of the hotel and spend the night away. When I returned that night, things didn't change much. Instead of employees, I could have sworn I heard the distant cries of 'female ambassadors' (for lack of a better word) quickly followed by doors slamming, women shouting, and other issues. I feel sorry for the children who stayed that night - though, I highly doubt there were any. The whole place felt like it was accustomed to the strange vagrants who frequent it for nightly affairs. The room itself felt like it was stuck in some kind of time warp. As a kid, I remember walking into similar rooms - except they were decent enough to have the coffee pot in the bathroom on the other side of the toilet. The towels felt used and dirty. The shower unclean - mildew stained like streaks of urine left splattered across the wall in an Exxon Gas Station's Bathroom (Yes, that was an unnecessary comparison to Exxon's fine establishments. I'll be sure not to insult them further by comparing them to this hotel). The entire time I was there, I wanted to scream. Unable to fathom another minute of the place, I promptly checked out around 4:30am. My flight didn't leave until Nine. I found better sleep in the airport . . . January 20, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Welcome to North Charleston. Minutes from CHS airport & downtown.
Welcome to North Charleston. Minutes from CHS airport & downtown.
Select to close.
Welcome to North Charleston. Minutes from CHS airport & downtown. Hotel located near Boeing and the Palmetto Commerce Corridor We are ready to welcome you! Welcome! Hotel is in center of the state's largest retail area. Our Award Winning Team looks forward to serving you! Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading