• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 18.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Regrettably, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites North Charleston does not accept your loved furry friends. We do have a kennel located nearby. Please call for information and fees.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Charleston Southern Universtiy
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Trident Health Systems (Hospital)
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Whirlin Waters Adventure Water Park/Wannamaker Prk
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
Northwoods Shopping Mall
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Charleston has well-lit on-site parking at no charge to our valued guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:86
  • Total number of suites:20
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:44
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:42
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:86
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

A Gracious Hotel in North Charleston, SC Welcomes You

The Holiday Inn Express Hotel North Charleston, SC welcomes you to the "friendliest city in the nation". Charleston is the ideal South Carolina vacation destination because it has everything, from deep-sea fishing, world-class golf and tennis, museums and Spoleto.

Leisure travelers appreciate our North Charleston hotel's convenient location and access to the city via I-26. Museum Mile, Fort Sumter, Rainbow Row and the
View More

A Gracious Hotel in North Charleston, SC Welcomes You

The Holiday Inn Express Hotel North Charleston, SC welcomes you to the "friendliest city in the nation". Charleston is the ideal South Carolina vacation destination because it has everything, from deep-sea fishing, world-class golf and tennis, museums and Spoleto.

Leisure travelers appreciate our North Charleston hotel's convenient location and access to the city via I-26. Museum Mile, Fort Sumter, Rainbow Row and the historic district are only 18 miles away. Charleston Southern University and Wannamaker is almost next-door. And while lodging in Charleston, SC at our hotel, you can step back in time by visiting nearby plantations.

Our low-country accommodations in North Charleston mean business travelers are close to the Charleston Airport (CHS). Our hotel is conveniently located close to Boeing, Palmetto Commerce Parkway, Trident Hospital and Bushy Business Park. The North Charleston Coliseum, Summerville, Goose Creek and Moncks Corner are convenient too. Our hotel is the perfect place for you to start your cruise with our Park and Cruise Package.

The Holiday Inn Express Hotel North Charleston is the perfect lodging for everyone from families to groups. Stay Smart on your next visit to Charleston, South Carolina and enjoy great Charleston hotel deals today.

View Less
Features
Our North Charleston hotel welcomes you to the Low Country. Whether you're here for business, your wedding or a three-day vacation in Charleston, we offer you the best in Charleston accommodations.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 158 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Great location for seeing the beauties of Charleston and it's beaches. June 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 MR. KB Got job done. Comfortable bed and i love the big spaces shower June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Crowne in the system I travel all over the US and stay at a variety of IHG properties. This Crowne Plaza should serve as a model for all other Crownes to reach. The facility is new and up to date, the rooms are extremely comfortable, and the staff is very professional and accommodating. Many Crowne Plazas throughout the system have become stale and stuck in the 1980s and 1990s. This property blows them all away. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, room, restaurant, bar and lobby. The room was comfortable and homey. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. There were lots of pillows to prop up on for reading. There was a sitting area to use if you had time for TV. I will stay there again if I have the opportunity to visit Charleston. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay I travel frequently and put hotels through scrutiny gauntlet...they passed with flying colors. I will stay here again June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well appointed with excellent staff. The hotel is beautiful and the staff responsive. The beds were comfortable and the room quiet. It was an excellent value, just regret I did not have time to shop. June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff housekeeping staff appropriately friendly, good eye contact, pleasant and cleaned/straightened room nicely June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great reunion We look forward to our reunions every year and your hotel provided everything we needed. The location was great, the service was great, the food at our dinners was very good, the hotel was very clean and comfortable. This was a very good choice. May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful, friendly staff! We stayed in room 237. The hotel is beautiful. EVERYTHING is perfectly planned, designed, and tasteful. The art is beautiful. The staff is helpful and friendly. The beds and linens are comfortable! I don't know if I have EVER stayed in a cleaner, better run hotel, BUT outside of our room's window and maybe the room next to us is a high powered generator/AC/chiller--something that screams like the turbines at Hoover Dam. All day, all night it does not alternate just runs at top capacity. The noise is HORRIBLE!!! My husband is hearing impaired and he could not hear that frequency. ... Either noise proof storm windows need to be placed on the outside of the window or top quality ear plugs need to be provided for anyone staying near the machinery...or just do not place someone in those rooms UNLESS they are hearing impaired. I did not sleep one minute...even kleenex stuffed in my ears did not help. If the manager does not believe me, he needs to spend the night in our beautiful room. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location I really enjoyed my stay here at the Crown Plaza, even though we didn't spend much time there due to out and about with family members. After running around all day it was nice to come back and enjoy this beutiful Hotel. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Time...Great Stay!! We spent four nights at the Crown Plaza celebrating a military reunion. There were many that hadn't seen each other since our time in Vietnam. So obviously, the setting was good for us to have a great time. The stay at your facility made it easy for me to take it to the next level...the accommodations were great!!! Thank You!! dlitz,,, May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room location I have limited mobility and the hotel staff made every effort to provide me with a room that made it possible for me to have an enjoyable stay. May 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just average Everything was just average or so. Beds not very comfortable. Pillows not comfortable. Stayed five nights and loud guests woke us up on two nights. Navy reunion had to compete with loud, live music which made it difficult to hear. Breakfast was very average, and ketchup and hot sauce not on tables. May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My hotel stay I really enjoyed my stay the room was nice and hotel was in a great location May 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by shuttle I found out you don't shuttle to downtown anymore. I understand the reasoning. Staff directed us to Charleston transit bus - it worked out fine. Staff was very good! May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dianna, Housekeeping Supervisor I have meet many people in my travels but Dianna, she has surpassed the rest, thank you Dianna for all you did to make my stay comfortable! May 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding This was our first time staying at the Crowne and we loved, loved it. The rooms are fabulous, and upscale. Want to try another Crowne Hotel again. May 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by USS NOA REUNION 2014 Charleston, S.C. OUTSTANDING !! WONDERFUL LOCATION FOR ANY REUNION. HOTEL WAS GREAT TO WORK WITH. STAFF PROVIDED EXCELLENT SERVICE AND THE ROOMS WERE PERFECT. YOU ARE CLOSE TO EVERYTHING...EASY ON AND OFF THE HIGHWAY !! WOULD GO BACK AGAIN !! May 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and excellent service The hotel was nice, the staff is very professional and good excellent mannerism. The room was nice and comfortable. The only issue I had was the mattress, I was able to fill lumps and it was uncomfortable. Seemed worn out to me. For a hotel this nice it would pay for itself to invest in new mattresses. April 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not That Impressive I decided to treat my wife to a weekend in Charleston since it was close to our anniversary, and rather than go to the mountains, I thought it would be nice to go to Charleston instead. When we arrived it was pouring down rain and had to wait while the desk clerk finished checking in other guest. He was very attentive to these people but was rather curt with us. As a platinum elite member usually the staff is quite cordial and have all the paper work completed in advance, but not here. I inquired if there was a possibility of being upgraded, and at other IHG brands they usually automatically do so prior to arrival, but not here. His answer was ”no” not no sir, not sorry we haven't any availability, just plain no. He asked if we wanted a quiet room and we said yes. In this case quiet means they put you on a floor that has quiet zone posted on the wall but we faced the atrium where the noise echos from the lobby. Not my definition of quiet. My wife noticed that the floor in the bathroom was sticky, the towels were not exactly clean, and the seat on the desk chair was wet. Other than that the room was ok. My wife likes to sleep late but I'm an early riser. I got up the next morning to get a cup of coffee in the lobby but found out of you want coffee, you have to pay for it in the restaurant. I got in the car and drive to the Spinx station around the corner and picked up one for the misses. Housekeeping knocked on the door at about eleven and I requested they come back later. I put the do not disturb sign out but removed it when we left at about 1:30. We returned back to the hotel at around 8:30 and discovered they did not clean the room. I went to the front desk to complain and my guess it was then that they discovered I am a platinum elite member as they offered me either free drinks or a free breakfast and got housekeeping to clean the room, so apparently there is a ray of hope here for improved customer service. I usually don't write reviews, but I travel to the Charleston area once a month on business. I've stayed a just about every IHG hotel in the area over the course of decades of traveling, and I must say this location would likely be one the least likely one to return to as the value simply isn't that great and the rooms do not justify the premium they charge. I'm sure the manager will apologize in response. What he needs to do is go here and observe. April 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this hotel! This is a very clean, nice, friendly hotel. Our stay for one night was excellent. Steak and Shake right next door. Walmart and Sam's club easy to walk to. And the shopping at Tanger Outlet made the trip worth it. Will be back soon! April 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unpleasant Stay Upon arrival, the front dest clerk was very nice and provided us with a smile and good directions for things to do in the area. The rooms had good decor, however room was not very clean, the bathroom curtain did not close all the way, and the curtain in the room did not close all the way which allowed sun light to come in and did not allow us to sllep in late. My number one complaint was the bed was horrible. Evertime you moved in the bed, it made a squeaky sound which woke us up in the middle of the night and the bed was extremely worn out to a point where me and my wife woke up with a sore back and neck. I must say that this was the worst sleep I ever had at a hotel. Most disturbing is I brought up this complaint to the front desk manager upon check out and all she said was I will have house keeping check it out. She did not offer compensation or anything. I was disappointed and don't think I will be staying at a IHG property again if they can not correct this problem and provide compensation. Another thing that need working own is the slow service in the restaurant. The server was slow and we were not happy with the menu. The hotel need to consider non-pork items for the non-pork eaters. A lot of the other hotel chain are going to turkey and beef products on the menu. April 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great overall stay Everything about this hotel is top notch except I didn't feel appreciated for being an platinum elite member. Didn't even recognize me as one. I enjoy the IHG chains and have worked hard to earn that special level. Not one extra perk. Wondering what the advantage of having that level is. April 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed my stay Room has a sleek European style- the room was quite large - loved the sink next to refrigerator _ loved the vanity & glass door shower-- Bed was squeaky - hotel shuttle driver was very helpful in assistance in connecting with express bus to historic downtown areas April 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Wait Wait Wait First upon check in we were told a wait of 45 min which turned out to be over 3 hours. The clock in our room did not work. An the one bartender was very slow in getting our drinks and taking our order for food, considering the bar was not that busy at all. April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceeded Expectations This hotel exceeded my expectations! the room was very comfortable, clean, practical, and decorated nicely. Lobby was very nice and airy! Staff was very courteous, friendly and accommodating and the bed was very comfortable. On my next stay in the area, I definitely will book my room at this location, I really liked my stay at this hotel and I don't say that often about many properties I stay at while on business travel. KUDOS to this location. March 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room and we enjoyed our stay We loved the room. Stayed in spa suite. Our stay was an excellent price. We enjoyed the room and food was great. We had few problems with reservation service but was easily corrected with front desk. Would loved for bed to be a pillow top for greater comfort but still slept comfortably. We were located on second floor and noise level from bar was the only negative. Will plan to stay again and request higher floor. March 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worse Hotel Experience Ever The front desk staff was nice and the room was clean and pretty however looks can be deceiving. The bed was extremely hard and every time you moved in made a squeaking noise. The curtain in the room would not shut all the way so the lights from outside shun in the room all night. Noise level is out of control. We could hear any and everyone's conversation that was outside in the hall. We were on the 5th floor with our room door shut and could hear people's conversations word for word down on the first floor. When room service knocked on the door around 9:30a.m. they were told not right now but still tired to come in the room. Check out was at 11:00a.m. and at 11:03a.m as we are finishing packing up and walking out the door there comes another friendly visit wanting to know when were checking out. For the price of this room we could have stayed at another location and that location would have probably been cheaper. And do not even get me started on the hot water. March 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One fabulous stay I loved the room. I was surprised at the interior design of the hotel. It was a wonderful surprise. I'm sorry it was just one night but I will be back. Thank you. March 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean rooms, unhappy with work space I thought the rooms were very clean and well maintained but the two queen bed room had a desk with no lamp. I tried to get move to a room with a better set up but was told all queen bed rooms were the same. I think this location is good for being able to walk for shopping and food. March 7, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel located near Charleston Southern University
Hotel located near Charleston Southern University
Select to close.
Hotel located near Charleston Southern University Wannamaker County Park is walking distance Lobby with Business Center by Trident Hospital Featuring a managers reception Monday-Thursday nights Trident Hospital is across the street Hotel Lobby Easy access off of Interstate 26. Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Availability
Loading