• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Rural

  • Location: Rural
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets Allowed Other then certified Guide dogs or service animals

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:73
  • Total number of suites:18
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:31
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:42
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:73
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Enjoy Hotel's Convenient Location in the Kansas City Area

Our hotel's property is near the Kansas City Convention Center, Worlds of Fun and downtown Kansas City so you save time on the road. The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites North Kansas City can also save you money with a lower sales tax rate.

Despite being out of the office, corporate travelers can stay productive thanks to the complimentary Wi-Fi access and a 24-hour Business Center with free local fax, print and copy
View More

Enjoy Hotel's Convenient Location in the Kansas City Area

Our hotel's property is near the Kansas City Convention Center, Worlds of Fun and downtown Kansas City so you save time on the road. The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites North Kansas City can also save you money with a lower sales tax rate.

Despite being out of the office, corporate travelers can stay productive thanks to the complimentary Wi-Fi access and a 24-hour Business Center with free local fax, print and copy services. Enjoy quick and easy access to I-29, which can get you to your business destination, and our convenient location in the Kansas City area places the hotel's guests near the Kansas City Convention Center, too, giving you more time for relaxing and less time fighting traffic.

Convenience isn't just confined to business travelers; leisure patrons love our location, as well. The always-entertaining Worlds of Fun amusement park is only 10 minutes away, while the Sprint Center, with its diverse calendar of events ranging from sports to concerts, is even closer at eight minutes away.

This hotel takes pride in giving travelers the modern amenities they expect, like an indoor, heated pool and a 24-hour Fitness Center. Guests also enjoy delicious items like scrambled eggs and crispy bacon at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar each morning. So, book your room today to save money and time by staying at our hotel's accommodations in the Kansas City area.

View Less
Features
The hotel's strategic location in the Kansas City, MO area drastically reduces travel time for guests, and the lower sales tax rate enables guests to use that extra money elsewhere in their budget.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 219 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is Excellent - Value not so great! I found the hotel to be rather "old" and pricey for what we got. Breakfast was not included and we paid $55 for 4 of us to eat. You are charged for parking per night, per extra guest over 2 in your room and lots and lots of taxes. The initial cost was reasonable, but when extra things are tacked on, the value per cost was not great! On a plus side, the staff is excellent and the location to the Power and Light District was great! June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fun evening ! Had a great stay in Kansas City at the Crowne Plaza. Came to a wedding of our friends. Busy hotel and great service. Location was great in relationship to the church and reception. June 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by prepaid for a room and got another type of room I prepaid for a room about the 23rd floor. when i arrived i was lead to believe i was getting something better only to find i was on the 16th floor and in a wheelchair access able room. i wanted a bathtub. June 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dissapointed. Had to wait 4 hours for room to be made ready. Staff was courteous but cleaning crew was not. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for our wedding room block! Crowne Plaza downtown Kansas City has the best customer service. The staff was friendly and helpful even months before we arrived. Julie was prompt with her emails and even when she didn't have the answer she had someone contact me who did. Once we arrived, the hotel staff made every effort to make sure we had what we needed. The hotel was clean and the location near Power and Light District was so convenient. The Starbucks downstairs was an added bonus! I would highly recommend anyone to stay here. I will be back!! June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable beds Enjoyed our stay overall, but there always seemed to be some confusion when we asked questions. Parking on Saturday night was a joke. June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel Hotel clean, bar and food amazing, staff great, hotel extremely nice and modern, walking distance to the convention center, rooms nice, spa kit was wonderful and free, beds and pillows great. This would be a great hotel for business or personal stay. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Friendly staff, Great view from the 26th floor and super fast elevators. Great place to stay in Kansas City. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Wedding Experience We enjoyed our stay the Crown Plaza Hotel. The staff was excellent in meeting all our needs and all the needs of all our out of town family and guest. If you are ever in Kansas City, stay at the Crown Plaza it is the best downtown KC has to offer. May 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful downtown hotel with friendly shuttle service but LOUD! We stayed at this hotel to partake in family activities at union station and crown center. The hotel itself and the room was great. I wish there was an indoor pool though. However we were rudely awoken an kept awake by rowdy party goers from about 3am to 430am. Security did little to help the situation. Fortunately my daughter slept through most of it so she did not hear their vulgar comments but i was exhausted the next day as a result. Perhaps paying closer attention to where you book a party of 4 adults and a party that includes a 9 yo would be a remedy. It was a terrible stay due to this but up until that point it was ok. The lady at the front desk was my helpful at all and I had to ask about shuttle service and of a map that was offered to a couple right before us. I also wish parking was included. They provided two vouchers for breakfast with the deal we booked and was going to charge full price for my daughter who was eating a piece of bacon and box of cereal. A different hotel staff told us that she would be comped too so that was nice. Might be a good stay for some but just not for us. May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by When in KC I take comfort in knowing this is where I will be staying. I usually stay here for a week of business three times a year. I take comfort in knowing I will always have a quiet room, clean accomodations, and good service. The staff is always polite and helpful. A helpful hint: Don't sit under the vents when dining in the restaurant. Food cools off way too fast. May 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Desk Staff I had the same desk staff when I checked in and when I checked out. I got the sense she was new and not completely trained. The others present when I checked in were more confident and explained much more of what was available. The woman who checked me in failed to annotate 'self park', despite me specifically mentioning that. When I got the bill the next morning I was billed for self parking and valet parking. Another trip to the desk and a seemingly unsure clerk. I really don't know what will show up on my credit card. Room was next to a stairwell and there were noises all night long. May 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Excellent stay, one problem Overall my stay was excellent. The staff was friendly and willing to help. My bathroom sink backed-up and it took a couple of technicians to fix the issue. Other than that one minor problem, my experience was excellent and I would recommend the hotel. May 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room once we finally got the one we paid for I had this night planned out a month in advance for my boyfriends birthday. Heard this was a top of the line Hotel, so went ahead and booked an executive suite ( 23rd floor or higher). I go to check in, and the lady told me we were on the 12th floor, and sorry there was nothing she could do because they were booked, and at least she had us in a suite. Well I paid to have an executive suite, not a 12th floor suite. So I went and talked to the manager that evening and she fixed the situation, all while the lady who first checked us in had a little attitude smerk on her face the whole time because she knew that we were right about the situation, and we stayed on the 25th floor. I thought that was horrible customer service on the front desk ladies part, but thankful for the manager that situation was fixed. Had a beautiful room, beautiful view. So in the morning we call and ask about having access to the 26th floor ( which we did). We were informed that the worker called in so we would just have to go downstairs that day. Well didn't feel very special to me, and was disappointed we were almost late to our show Saturday night because of the room ordeal at check in. The manager the next morning was a very nice gentleman that we talked to and he fixed everything for us. Just wish this weekend would have went a little more smoothly than it did. I am not sure if we will return... May 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne Plaza Kansas City Hotel is well located. However, it needs urgent improvement: old scratched elevator cars, noisy wall air conditioning units and, worse of all, old uncomfortable mattresses. It feels like a cheap motel, not a Crowne Plaza (although it is priced a a top range hotel). The only salvation is the staff, which is very nice. May 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Big Groups I'm sure hotels love big groups, because they sell a lot of rooms. However when those groups are comprised of teens or young adults, a greater effort must be made by the staff to remind them that they are NOT the sole occupants of the hotel and that they must respect other guests. I had people slamming doors and yelling up and down the hall well after midnight. My job is safety related and I need a good nights rest. May 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Staff and Service I checked out on Sunday and while I was driving home I noticed I left my ipad in the room. I called the hotel and told them I left it charging by the bed. No surprise, they didn't find the ipad. I realize it was my fault for leaving it there. The hotel said there was nothing they could do. I spoke with the general manager and he stated that everyone who had access to the room after I left didn't have it.. Well Mr. General Manager how do you know?? When I asked him what happened to it then he had no explanation at all. You would think he would offer something but absolutely not. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Why would you want to give a hotel business when potential shady things like this can occur. I realize your not responsible for lost or stolen items, but take some responsibility since it happened on your establishment. May 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Veterans stay here! This hotel honors currently serving military personnel as well as retirees with a military discount on room rates. HIGHLY recommend to all my fellow veterans! May 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel This is an outstanding hotel with a wonderful and caring staff. I'd highly recommend it to anyone staying in downtown Kansas City. It's only a few blocks to the Power and Light District, which is a huge plus! April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Big 12 Tournament Very friendly and helpful staff. Seemed to genuinely care about our time there and wanted to help make it as good as it could be. Bar didn't stay open late enough. April 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service as always This is my favorite hotel! I look forward to visiting KC, but even more so when I know I'll be staying at the Crowne Plaza downtown. The rooms are great, the location is excellent, but the friendliness of the staff is second to none! Even if you've stayed at other Crowne Plaza hotels, this one will exceed your expectations. I highly recommend this Crowne Plaza. April 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and pleasant surrooundings We really enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza. Perfect location for our convention. The staff were courteous, considerate and went above and beyond to make our stay run smoothly. Our room was comfortable and we really appreciated coming back to our room everyday thanks to the housekeeping staff. Would definitely choose the Crowne Plaza again! April 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not Worth the Money This Crowne Plaza is in desperate need of a update. The sleeping room is small, mattress is worn out, decor is out of date and bathrooms are tiny. The walls are thin so you can hear things several rooms away and on the floor above. The hotel was not prepared for the influx of guests due to the convention event...seems odd since they are right at the convention center and that would be their main source of business but they did not have enough staff checking guests in and out, to answer the phone, or bell staff to handle luggage. Also, the restaurant was not prepared either. We tried to eat dinner on Saturday night in the restaurant but the host informed us that the wait for our food would be over an hour because they had SO MANY PEOPLE in the restaurant. Some tables in the restaurant were occupied but there seemed to be over half of the restaurant empty. I got the impression that they were not prepared at all. Overall a very poor experience especially for the cost of the rooms. April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service It was a wonderful stay. It was close to where we were at a convention. Everyone helpful. I left a book after we checked out and I got it back immediately. Several people said , "now did you get it back". Very caring staff. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good. April 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by AWESOME Place Downtown! This place is great. I stay here 3-5 times a year. Beings I am a priority club member the treatment is fabulous. Free breakfast on the 26th floor plus free drinks for happy hour in the evening. Hotel staff is so nice and friendly, never have had an issue. Only thing I wish they could change is making the parking free. $19 to valet is a little steep. April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect place to be snowed in! John at the front desk was helpful and friendly. He checked us in right away and had our bags delivered to the room. What a wonderful surprise to be given a King Suite on the concierge floor with GORGEOUS views of the Kansas City skyline. The room was perfect -- comfortable and beautifully-decorated. The concierge lounge on the 26th floor had equally stunning views and was extremely well-maintained, fully stocked and comfortable after a long day. The staff in the concierge lounge was meticulous about cleanliness and gave us top-notch service. The lobby area was gleaming and the little restaurant at the back was cozy and chic. We were happy to have access to a Starbucks in the lobby as well! We were extremely impressed by the service in the hotel, considering the fact that while we were there a huge snow storm hit and roads were almost impossible to navigate! The staff saw to our every need, the location was amazing... and the overall experience was warm and cozy in the midst of a chilly Kansas City snow. I can't think of a more perfect place to be snowed in! March 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Your room needs inspected Very nice hotel 3 blocks from power and light district downtown. Nice rooms and ultra comfy bed n pillows. The only complaint I have is when I checked in I was told my room was cleaned but not inspected by supervisor. I can only assume that the housekeepers do such a poor job that every room needs inspected after being cleaned. I was told 5-10 minute wait but was over 20. For service recovery I was given coupon for continental breakfast!!! Gee, thanks.... March 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Accomodations We were treated exceptional from the the moment we arrived until we checked out. Very relaxing room and friendly staff. We will always stay there when we visit Kansas City. Could not be more pleased!! March 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by waive paid parking for Guest I think at the price you charge you should waive the cost to stay in your hotel. I have stayed in a lot nicer places and they don't charge to park. March 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by $$$ for no more than you get Way to expensive for no more than you get. Room was dirty and outdated no fridge in the room. Beds were very bad, phone in room did not work. Staff at front desk and valet were Great, to bad they work in a run down building. March 10, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Front Entry Way
Front Entry Way
Select to close.
Front Entry Way Front Desk Sprint Center Reception Lobby Power and Light District Hotel Lobby 2
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading