• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: LANSING
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

In order for us to serve all our guests better we have a few rules regarding animals in our hotel. We allow dogs under 80 lbs with a limit of 2 pets per room. No cats. Pets must never be left unattended. Non refundable 25.00 dollars weekley fee
Pet deposit amount  25.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Free Parking available to all Guests. Plenty of parking for Buses and Trucks.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:160
  • Total number of suites:32
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:48
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:80
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:160
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2
Travelers to Lansing and East Lansing will find themselves minutes away from popular destinations like the Capitol and Michigan State University. Surrounded by many attractions, businesses and various dining locations our hotel is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. We are located off of I-96, with close proximity to Lansing Capital City Airport, Amtrak and Greyhound bus stations. Guests traveling without an automobile will appreciate our complimentary shuttle service (based on availability).
View More
Travelers to Lansing and East Lansing will find themselves minutes away from popular destinations like the Capitol and Michigan State University. Surrounded by many attractions, businesses and various dining locations our hotel is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. We are located off of I-96, with close proximity to Lansing Capital City Airport, Amtrak and Greyhound bus stations. Guests traveling without an automobile will appreciate our complimentary shuttle service (based on availability). Our hotel is also located incredibly close to several charming small towns. Leisure travelers with an afternoon to fill may wish to go antiquing in Williamston, visit the fairgrounds in Mason or venture to the Uncle John’s Cider Mill in St Johns. MSU is less than ten minutes away providing easy access to several large attractions. Broadway lovers will flock to the Wharton Center. The MSU Pavilion is practically around the corner for visitors interested in livestock and agricultural education. Sports enthusiasts love the nearness of The Breslin Center, Munn Ice Arena and Spartan Stadium. The campus is abundant with family friendly activities like a visit to the butterfly house, MSU Museum, Broad Art Museum, Abrams Planetarium or MSU Dairy Store. Several gardens are located on the campus providing the perfect spot to take a walk. Parents visiting their students at MSU will appreciate the close proximity to the campus and the comfortable and relaxed atmosphere of our hotel.
View Less
Features
We are very pleased to announce to our guests that we have recently added local shuttle service to our list of amenities. This includes service to Local businesses, Restaurants, shopping centers and the Michigan State University Campus. We have a brand new Wireless Internet Provider to make surfing the net easy!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 74 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Surprise! My stay was very good. Confortable rooms, kind people, quiet place. Clean. The only thing that I had to complain was the almost daily increase in the per diem. I think that the host should be informed in advance, even if the prices are reasonable. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place for the Road Warrior I stay here once or twice a month when working in our EL office. The team is very responsive and went above and beyond to track me down when I left an item behind in my room. June 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel - Breakfast concerns! During our stay everything was as expected till breakfast. The staff informed us that breakfast began at 7 AM. We arrived at 7 and almost no food was out - certainly nothing that was hot. We waited 15 minutes for hot food to be placed out. If 7 is the posted start time, please have the food ready. Hostel staff otherwise was wonderful and attentive. June 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast issue Stayed on a Friday night! Checked in early as I'm a rewards member and was appreciative that the staff gave me a room as they were obviously dealing with a large turn over the night before. Average stay at a nice HIE - same ammenities as you'd expect. Had to get out early in the morning and went down for breakfast at 7 AM the time they said breakfast started. The worker had obviously just arrived and the only thing out was the biscuits. Waited 10 minutes for the food to put out and finally got to eat about 7:10. If breakfast STARTS at 7 - the worker should be there earlier. Hope this was a one time event as I can't be late for my meetings in Lansing. June 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by 2 Great Employees do not make a great hotel I've stayed at this property two separate weekends and brought in ten other bookings with me, and was supposed to stay there a third weekend with ten others, but that will no longer take place. Myself along with the others in my group had housekeeping issues...but we overlooked them because of the great guest service provided by Barry (Front Desk) and Shawn (Breakfast) Unfortunately that's where the great guest service ends. We also had issues with two VERY rude Front desk employees who seem to view guests as an inconvenience, rather than the reason they are employed. I highly recommend this property's employees are retrained in the ways of guest service, because without myself, and other frequent travelers like me, they will no longer have a place of employment. The hotel market is saturated and there is always a competitor brand doing it bigger and better than you...and brand loyalty can only take you so far. Unfortunately myself, and those who travel as part of our group, will not return be returning to this property. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk Staff makes up for any housekeeping shortcomings!! We had a group block for our travel team (Thank you to Dana who did a great job with our block and rate) and the majority of the team parents came to check in at the same time following our games on Saturday. Barry did an excellent job handling everyone at the desk at the same time, all the while answering the occasional phone call/guest question. Barry was also very accommodating with whatever we needed to help make our stay enjoyable, which we greatly appreciated. (We had a small meeting room for a team pizza party and when we needed a vacuum to help us in our clean up process, Barry was able to help with that as well!!) The breakfast attendant (so sorry I forgot your name) was very friendly and helpful, and the variety of foods in the a.m. was great!! Also, the pool area is great for anyone traveling with young children! To sum up our stay-Because of the great guest service we received, we are returning this weekend for a 2 night stay!! So again, thank you to Dana, Barry, and the rest of the staff for providing excellent guest service!! June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Value Excellent Value! Great service, Clean and comfortable room. Will use again. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Barry is excellent. Remembered my name and company, very easy check in. Very friendly. May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay at Holiday Inn Express Kudos to Barry. Great employee! Was scheduled for 1 week stay, upon check-in had me listed for 1 day. No problem correcting the reservation. May 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Used toiletries The bath and hand soap in my room was used. The maid put both bars back into the original wrappers and tried to pass them off as new. The shampoo was also used. It was an open bottle about 1/2 full. This makes me seriously concerned about the cleanliness of the room including sheets, towels, counters, etc. How about the cleanliness of the common areas or breakfast bar? Are they really clean or are they short changing these areas as well? April 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Worst breakfast ever I stay at a lot of HI Expresses throughout the year and I have been at this one 3 or 4 times already over the past few years. The hotel is fine, The rooms are clean and quiet, the problem is the breakfast! This is the worst HI Express breakfast I ever had. I cannot remember ever having breakfast here that I have come to expect from a HI Express. The biscuits with the biscuits and gravy are hard little pucks, the cinnamon rolls are dry and the eggs were burned. Stay here for a decent value, but go to breakfast somewhere else April 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by very nice room, poor breakfast Just plan on going out for breakfast. Arrived in the dining area 45min before it was to close and there were a few sad looking sausage patties, some stale danishes, and that was about it. The yogurt supply had apparently been wiped out the day before. There were no eggs either. So...I had my coffee and juice to get me on the road and went to McDonalds! March 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not the best experience The man at the front desk when we arrived about 9:30pm was rude and did not ask if I would like the bag of snacks or the points. I was told at the Holiday Inn express in Ohio that all locations would be asking that in an effort to provide continuity of service from location to location. Also, the note pad on the desk in our room was very sticky on the back. The rest of the room did appear clean however. There was no coffee in the breakfast area at 7:30am when we left. This was not at all what I have experienced at the other locations of Holiday Inn Express. Hopefully they were just having a rough day. March 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Convenient to campus, but…. My two complaints are 1) MSNBC is not available on tv, and 2) there should be an ice machine on all floors. March 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast what breakfast? I went down for breakfast after having to sleep with an elephant walking around above me all night to find no eggs. No sign, no attendant, nothing. Finally when an attendant appeared I asked him when the omletes or scrambled eggs we're going to be out and he simply said he didn't have any eggs. Really, the hotel didn't have any eggs? No sorry, no I didn't think to go the grocery store next door to the hotel and buy eggs. Nothing. So if you are thinking you will get a good breakfast don't count on it. February 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice we were there for my daughter's birthday. the girls had a great time, the neighbors in the other rooms, however (some cheerleaders) were extremely noisy in the hallways...running up and down. overall, though, the rooms were spacious and very comfortable. we will return, i'm sure. a good time was had by the girls we entertained. February 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We were very impressed As MSU Alumni my wife and I have the occasion to stay in area motels as least once a year. Last week we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express - East Lansing for the first time. We had a great experience and will be staying there again in the future. Some of our reasons are: Great price - cheaper than other less appealing motels we have stayed at in the area. Great location - near the freeway mid-way between Lansing and East Lansing. Great continental breakfast - better than most of the competition. Very pleasant dining area and included several good hot menu items along with the usual cold fare. Coffee was first rate too. Great room - very large, clean, modern and up-to-date. The facility is quiet and off the beaten track even though near the freeway. The heating unit was easy to adjust to our preferences and the beds were fine. Great parking lot - we were there during a very snowy weekend and the roads were a mess. At the motel the entire parking lot was ploughed out both days before we left for the day. It seemed the snowplow also made a return trip as the individual parking slots were also plowed out by later in the day. There was a back entrance near our room and two handicapped slots right there which we needed. Great staff - a real high point - every one was pleasant and attentive. When the lock on the rear door froze and I reported it at the front desk a front desk clerk personally went immediately back to the door and unstuck it. The crowning kudo though was that I forgot a personal bag filled with expensive toys. Unpacking at home and finding it missing I call the motel who confirmed they had found it and safely stored it away. A special thanks goes to Dndi (sp?) the front desk clerk who assisted me in arranging a UPS pickup and packed up the bag for shipment. She even called me back to double confirm the shipping information when UPS arrived on site. I got my bag back the next day! The Holiday Inn Express is my favorite place to stay in the East Lansing area!! February 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It was just fine! Having not read the mostly negative recent reviews on this hotel until AFTER I booked, I was a little nervous about staying here. However, I had no problems at all. Staff was great, room was clean, shower was very good. Internet worked fine. Breakfast could have had a little more variety (in terms of fruit and condiments) but it was hot and it was there, and it worked for me. It is true that the pool area is under perpetual construction and it has no hot tub at all, and for this reason I would not stay here with my family, because my kids expect a working pool and a hot tub. But for my solo business trip, this property was just fine. January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by OUTSTANDING Staff I was in the middle of a busy day, checking in around 3 PM, crammed between a late lunch meeting and needing to be to another meeting that I was sure to be late for. Needless to say, I was stressed. And then I checked in to my hotel. The person at the front desk was so nice, it was like hitting a giant reset button on my afternoon. She was polite, friendly, eager to help and just more outgoing than anyone I think I have ever talked to at the front desk of a hotel before. Between meetings, and ahead of what was going to be a long night of meetings and events, this was just an outstanding experience. My biggest regret was that I didn't catch her name so I could make sure she was recognized. This hotel is a bit tricky to find, but easy enough if you sort of know the area. It is a quiet area, amongst business buildings, off the main drag but just a few minutes from the freeway. IHG members are offered a bottle of water and a snack item. I snagged the water and left the cookies - I regretted that later. :) Props to this somewhat new property. If you're in the Lansing area, stay here. Seriously. Don't even look anywhere else. January 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk service Nara was very helpful with my accommodations and made my stay very nice. She kept in touch throughout my stay and made sure everything was acceptable. The room cleaning service was less than adequate for several days and better others. There was an upgrade for priority club members but not a separate check in or greeting package as many other hotels offer. January 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Pool and Treadmill Broke The quality of this location is slipping. I love the location and have stayed here numerous times. However I am finding the quality and service has changed. Cutting cost with writing paper toilet paper. Bathtub drained slowly most likely due to hair build up. I found two dirty socks near the luggage rack. I am a rewards member and was never offered a complimentary water let alone a snack. I will not stay at this location again. January 15, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Strong body odor on one bed I had a very good first impression on this hotel, it looked nice. Before I went to bed, I noticed strong body odor. I was not sure if they had changed bed sheets. I called the front desk and was told they could not change the sheets for me, so I had to go to the front desk, get a fresh set and change it myself. January 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Exercise Equipment still broken. Poorly managed staff. This is a nice property in some ways and is in a good location in East Lansing. Unfortunately, the cardio equipment is ancient and dysfunctional. I note from other reviewers that this is an ongoing issue. Promises for repair appear to be ongoing from the responses. Action, so far completely absent. During my stay, both treadmills and the cardio bike were broken. The bike has been broken for several months. I brought this up to staff and asked to speak with a manager and was advised that they don't answer their phone. No one made an effort to take my information for the manager to contact me later. Some staff feigned surprise that the equipment didn't work, but, one eventually fessed up that the bike had been waiting for parts for 3 months (must be searching antique stores). The staff also lied to me about the discount they were going to give me for being dissatisfied. The pool was also closed due to disrepair I may choose to stay at this property again due to the location, but, I'm going to inquire about the repair of the cardio equipment first. This property is very poorly managed. January 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Cheapo The hotel offers fresh baked cookies to guests, but not on Friday, Saturday, or Sunday because there are "too many guests". On weekdays, they run out. "Fresh" fruit on the breakfast bar consisted of rotten bananas with split skins. The thermostat in my room was broken and the room was way too hot. January 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Friendly Staff and very accommodating After an ice storm hit and no power we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express (less than 2 miles from our house) in East Lansing for 4 nights. Every staff member we encountered were outstanding and very friendly. They were also very accommodating. The breakfast offered a variety of delicious food just wished it had more fruit. December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff We recently had a bad ice storm. The staff was very flexible and helpful as the hotel filled up fast. Great breakfast and the kids loved the pool! December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas at the Holiday Inn Express I had no power in my apartment from 12/22/13-12/26/13 and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in East Lansing for 3 nights, including Christmas Eve. The staff was excellent. Everyone was friendly, helpful, smiling and happy to help and the hotel was full the whole time with them having to turn people away as many people had no power. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the breakfast was good. Since I had to stay in a hotel I couldn't have picked a better one. I want to thank the staff for making my Christmas memorable and more positive than it might have been. December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay during a Holiday Ice Storm Staff very nice, helpful and considerate during an extra busy holiday week. December 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Snow While I was at the hotel is snowed a few inches overnight. While I know you need to clean off the snow from the sidewalks and parking lot starting the process at 4:30am is a bit early. I had a full day of meetings ahead of me and to be woken up at 4:30am by blowers and plow made for a very long day. December 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn in Detroit I absolutely loved the service. We were there for a hockey tournament and spent 3nights and days. The staff was Very accommodating, very help full and very clean. The front desk was amazing with kind words even when it got hectic. The rooms were very clean breakfast okay but overall our 4 days was spent good. December 11, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading