• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: ONALASKA
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet may not be left alone in room. Please pick up after pet.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Adj. to Valley View Mall Shopping Center
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
Mississippi Bluffs & Camp; Coulees
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
State Bike Trail 100 miles of paved trails
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Mississippi Riverboat trips & recreational boating
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:100
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking available tour bus parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2004
  • Total number of rooms:75
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:25
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:50
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:75
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:WI0437

Paddle or Ski near One of the Best Onalaska Hotels

Just five miles from the picturesque Mississippi River and Mt. La Crosse, the Holiday Inn Express® Onalaska (La Crosse Area) hotel is a great home base for water activities. Yet water is not the only thing flowing in Wisconsin. With City Brewery and the world's largest six-pack just a few miles away, this Onalaska hotel's location is pure, distilled fun.

This greater La Crosse, WI hotel is less than six miles from the corporate
View More

Paddle or Ski near One of the Best Onalaska Hotels

Just five miles from the picturesque Mississippi River and Mt. La Crosse, the Holiday Inn Express® Onalaska (La Crosse Area) hotel is a great home base for water activities. Yet water is not the only thing flowing in Wisconsin. With City Brewery and the world's largest six-pack just a few miles away, this Onalaska hotel's location is pure, distilled fun.

This greater La Crosse, WI hotel is less than six miles from the corporate headquarters of Kwik Trip and Trane Company and close to the incredible medical facilities of Mayo Clinic Health Systems and Gundersen Lutheran Hospital. With the 650-sq-ft Valley View room and free high-speed, wireless Internet access, this La Crosse hotel's amenities are everything you'll need to enjoy your stay.

The University of Wisconsin - La Crosse is just eight miles from the hotel, putting you moments away from your UWLAX events. You could even hop over to nearby Valley View Mall before cheering along with the university's Colbert the Eagle. Be sure to also plan time for a riverboat cruise down the Mississippi before you leave.

With so much to do in La Crosse, WI, hotel visitors will want to charge up with our signature cinnamon rolls from the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar in the lobby. Whether you're planning a quick trip or an extended stay, we've got a room for you at the Holiday Inn Express® Onalaska - La Crosse Area hotel.

View Less
Features
You won't have to miss out on your favorite shows while staying in La Crosse! Just watch the hotel's 37-inch LCD TVs to catch your favorite university games and HBO programs in high-definition.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 81 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by college very clean and comfortable room. i woudl stay here again. very nice front desk employees September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, and excellent value I've stayed at this location twice now and both times it has been a wonderful experience. The staff is friendly, the rooms are nice, and the location is very convenient for my trips into town on business. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone. September 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and great service I would highly recommend staying at Candlewood Suites in La Crosse. We had a great stay. September 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Gideons Bible All was well. I stayed in room 212 and the Gideon's bible was missing please have it replaced. Thanks Joel September 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by LA CROSSE STAY Clean and bright hotel. Very nice staff. Room was spacious and very clean. Bathroom was terrific. Nice to have a mini kitchen too. September 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very quiet, friendly staff The room was too dark, we had to leave the bathroom light on while sleeping. When sleeping in an unfamiliar environment, it is always nice to have a night light so as not to stumble in the dark while looking for the bathroom in the middle of the night. September 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wouldbe great if you need to cook Very nice room with full kitchen.We didn't use it just the fridge. We turned ice maker on and made ice which kept my husband up. The cost is probably pricey due to the kitchen. No free breakfast but coffee available. Staff very friendly! fitness room looked nice.No pool September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Totally recommend a stay here. Great service, great rooms, fun and convenient location!!!!!! September 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and kitchenette. We visit the area about 4-5 times a year to visit our daughter who is a student at UW Lacrosse, we typically stay in he Onalaska area. This was our first experience with a Candlewood Suites and in general we were pretty satisfied. The hotel was a bit removed from the downtown area, but was conveniently and easy enough to get to. We really liked the kitchenette feature, next time we plan to bring/make her a home cooked meal . The people at the desk were very helpful and friendly. The only downfall was the room had a funny smell even when the air/heat was running. They did try spraying some air freshener but that did not seem to do the trick but like I said over all it was a good experience. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LaCrosse Great place. Traveled for business and loved it. Room was very comfortable and clean, staff were friendly and attentive. Will be staying again for sure. August 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Expensive for a night's stay - lots of noise Very expensive for a night. The room was not a 'suite' it was one room (plus bathroom) with a kitchenette. I found it to be noisy and slept poorly. I would not recommend this hotel because of those 2 factors. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LaCrosse great room. very clean, up to date and modern. perfect for someone staying for an extended period August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First Candlewood Stay I was concerned because I had not stayed at a Candlewood Suites before. But it was what my company recommended. I am very pleased with the result. Very comfortable and the staff was fantastic. August 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by value We were not impressed with the value for the price. I guess we thought there was a pool and breakfast--we were disappointed. We did like the kitchen since we had to make our own breakfast. Bathroom was not the cleanest. Beds were comfortable. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel in the area If you are in the Lacrosse/Onalaska area, you will not go wrong with choosing this Hotel. The value and the ease to get around including back to the freeway is excellent. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good location nice location near grocery and fast food............................................................................. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very homey feeling the staff was so warm and welcoming and curtious. we also asked for food recommondations and their suggestions were fabulous. they were helpful with directions and mentioned other local activities August 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good staff and convient location Mostly a great place to stay. Issues with the window, but otherwise a beautiful place to stay and the staff is very nice and helpful. August 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Feel at home in La Crosse Nice facility with well-trained staff that goes out of their way to make you feel at home. This property is one of the newer Candlewood facilities (circa 2010). The staff makes this facility special - from the front desk staff to the cleaning crew to the "fix everything I can get my hands on" guy are really friendly that you are happy to stay here. August 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place Very nice place to stay, clean and great beds. Enjoyed the room. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding Extended Stay Experience We booked this hotel for all of our family traveling in from out of state to attend my son's wedding in La Crosse. Great location, easy access, very nice and new. The only complaint we would have would be that our suite smelled a little musty when you first entered. It didn't seem to affect our overall stay experience though. The hotel almost ran out of coffee but had a shipment come in right on time. Very clean, modern, and nice. Would definitely recommend. Great value for what you get and what we needed. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay I am glad I stayed here and have really enjoyed my short stay in LaCrosse! July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good choice for flexibility and comfort We stayed here because the Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express were full, but we found it very pleasant. There was a grocery store "next door" where we bought food for breakfast, given that we had a full kitchen. We walked the mile to 'downtown' to eat at night. A great find! July 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Locomotive Engineer The associate at the front desk was excellent, very helpfull! July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and convenient stay Recommended hotel when needing to stay for longer periods of time. A small kitchen area is a wonderful addition when eating out for every meal is not desired. The treadmill and free laundry facilities were also great assets. The only drawback is this hotel does not have a pool or continental breakfast. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great hotel new up to date well configured suites perfect for the business traveler. Easy parking not like the downtown motels where parking sucks. I would recommend this motel as a great value as compared to the other higher extended stay places. July 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for Extended Stays I needed to stay in LaCrosse for a week due to a class I was taking at a nearby university. Having the full kitchen was a real benefit so I didn't have to eat all my meals from restaurants. The location was awesome because it was easy and convenient to get downtown. The room was pretty clean, the bed was comfortable, and it made being away from home for an extended period of time pretty comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who needed a place for an extended stay. July 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Way overpriced for what you get 1. Was told we would get ice in our room within 10-15 minutes by pulling up the lever in the freezer. We owned one of these freezers and that is ridiculous. It takes at least an hour for those to produce Ice. They knew all the rooms were full that night and should have had all the ice makers working before the guests arrived. I went to ask for ice at the front desk assuming they must have a common ice maker somewhere in the building for times like this or when ice makers in the rooms break and they had no common ice maker. We had to drive to a store to get ice. 2. Wifi access would not work on my high end Android smart phone. Went to the front desk and they couldn't help me with that as well. I never have trouble getting wifi access in any other establishments that I'm at including little ma and pa taverns and motels. 3. Clearly didn't vacuum before we got there. Found a bobbie pin laying right in the middle of the carpet. 4. Hardly any bathroom amenities provided...just a small bottle of shampoo and soap. No conditioner, lotion, shower cap etc. that you normally see in a hotel charging this price range. We travel a lot and stay at many different hotels and motels and this is one of the worst which made me feel the need to write this review. July 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Wedding Had to deal with a overbooked hotel where room flexibility was limited so I dealt with the room issues and lived. Others had issues with rooms and would not recommend for booking blocks of rooms. July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay. Nice hotel and accommodations. Loved the kitchenette and availability of grill to prepare our own meals (convenience of grocery store right next door was great too). Room was very clean with nice decor. Comfy beds provided us with a good nights sleep. Great hotel staff. The only downside was that we didn't have daily maid service. July 10, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Welcome Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading