• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: ONALASKA
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet may not be left alone in room. Please pick up after pet.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Adj. to Valley View Mall Shopping Center
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
Mississippi Bluffs & Camp; Coulees
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
State Bike Trail 100 miles of paved trails
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Mississippi Riverboat trips & recreational boating
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:100
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking available tour bus parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2004
  • Total number of rooms:75
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:25
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:50
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:75
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:WI0437

Paddle or Ski near One of the Best Onalaska Hotels

Just five miles from the picturesque Mississippi River and Mt. La Crosse, the Holiday Inn Express® Onalaska (La Crosse Area) hotel is a great home base for water activities. Yet water is not the only thing flowing in Wisconsin. With City Brewery and the world's largest six-pack just a few miles away, this Onalaska hotel's location is pure, distilled fun.

This greater La Crosse, WI hotel is less than six miles from the corporate
View More

Paddle or Ski near One of the Best Onalaska Hotels

Just five miles from the picturesque Mississippi River and Mt. La Crosse, the Holiday Inn Express® Onalaska (La Crosse Area) hotel is a great home base for water activities. Yet water is not the only thing flowing in Wisconsin. With City Brewery and the world's largest six-pack just a few miles away, this Onalaska hotel's location is pure, distilled fun.

This greater La Crosse, WI hotel is less than six miles from the corporate headquarters of Kwik Trip and Trane Company and close to the incredible medical facilities of Mayo Clinic Health Systems and Gundersen Lutheran Hospital. With the 650-sq-ft Valley View room and free high-speed, wireless Internet access, this La Crosse hotel's amenities are everything you'll need to enjoy your stay.

The University of Wisconsin - La Crosse is just eight miles from the hotel, putting you moments away from your UWLAX events. You could even hop over to nearby Valley View Mall before cheering along with the university's Colbert the Eagle. Be sure to also plan time for a riverboat cruise down the Mississippi before you leave.

With so much to do in La Crosse, WI, hotel visitors will want to charge up with our signature cinnamon rolls from the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar in the lobby. Whether you're planning a quick trip or an extended stay, we've got a room for you at the Holiday Inn Express® Onalaska - La Crosse Area hotel.

View Less
Features
You won't have to miss out on your favorite shows while staying in La Crosse! Just watch the hotel's 37-inch LCD TVs to catch your favorite university games and HBO programs in high-definition.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 164 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Good hotel. I would for sure stay here the next time I am in town. The room view was view was weird the was a window but it looked at a concrete wall which was probably good and made any outside noises lessened, if there were any. November 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable Stayed at this hotel while on a college visit with my son. Lobby and dining area were nice and well maintained. The room was very clean and the beds quite comfortable. November 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top notch customer service The high quality of this hotel shows that the staff is dedicated to customer service. November 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel and friendly staff I stayed here November 13th because my daughter and I were touring WSU the next morning. The hotel staff was friendly. We had a very large room which was clean. Breakfast was included in our stay and I was surprised at the quality of the food and the number of options available. Would highly recommend this hotel. November 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great breakfast We have family in the Winona area we visit several times a year, and the HIE has the best combination of value, services, and comfort. We'll be back. November 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! I have stayed at the HI Winona several times and have NEVER been disappointed! The beds feel like new, the rooms are clean and quiet, and the staff are friendly and helpful. November 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay The room was very comfortable. It was a nice add to have the tv in the bathroom, and the fitness center. November 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel great hotel. great place to sta. staff very friendly and fun town to visit. November 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our Stay Hotel, staff, and breakfast were great! Highly recommend this hotel to any that are in the area! November 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Winona Busines Hotel Stafff are friendly and attentive. Rooms are quiet and Comfartable. November 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Hotel Hotel was very nice. The room was big, had a TV in the bathroom and was very clean. November 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! The staff is awesome! I always feel welcomed and comfortable asking for anything if I need it. November 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable stay I would definitely stay there again. Very clean and the staff was just fine. November 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Delayed check-in - worth the wait Our check-in was delayed over 30 minutes, but once the room was ready, we were very pleased with how clean and spacious the room was. The room was quiet and the curtains darkened the room for a good night's sleep. The only downfall was the lack of mirrors with outlets and good lighting - just one in the bathroom. The lighting in the bathroom was dimmer than I would have liked, but not a big deal. Overall, we would stay here again if in the area. November 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Air conditioning The only thing I would like is that the air conditioner ran regardless of the outside temperature. I usually set the temperature as low as possible but I believe the A/C will not run if the outside temperature is below a certain temperature. I like my room to be cold. November 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor room temperature control Could not regulate room temperature. There was a statement on the air conditioning unit about the outside air temperature of 55 degrees the air conditioner would not work, to use the fan. The room was to warm and the air conditioner would not work. I informed the front desk in person regarding the later. In all the hotel rooms I've ever stayed in I'VE ALWAYS BEEN ABLE TO CONTROL THE TEMPERATURE OF THE ROOM!!! This should ALWAYS be left to the customer to choose, not the hotel!! October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a great stay Always have a great stay at the HI Express in Winona. Very clean, modern rooms. Pool area is always clean. Kids love going there as well. Staff is very nice and professional. Only suggestion I would make is they need to have a full spare roll of toilet tissue in the bathroom somewhere. It was somewhat odd calling the front desk and asking for some TP to be brought up. Otherwise, our stay was enjoyable. October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best hotel in Winona Only place you should stay in Winona. Location is good. Staff is nice. October 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Value and Service Excellent When in the Winona, Mn, I prefer to stay at the Holiday Inn Express, The property is super clean, staff friendly and is an excellent value October 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and nice clean room During a recent visit to Winona with my daughter we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express October 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value It was just as expected at a good price - everything worked, the pool was fine, breakfast was good. October 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Very Nice Hotel We met family in Winona and stayed here (our second time). The staff is very friendly and courteous, and the location is great for access to many things in the area. The price was reasonable for the fall tourist season and the free breakfast makes it competitive with other hotels in the area. October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommend We were in Winona for a little family getaway and had an extremely positive experience staying at this Holiday Inn Express. The room was very comfortable (atmosphere, beds, etc), our son was obsessed with the pool area, and the breakfast provided far exceeded our expectations. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this area! October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! Informed staff, comfortable beds, nice breakfast, and clean common areas. October 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Smoking near Entrance Did business travel here, staff was wonderful. I requested a room in a specific location on the 1st floor to make it more accessible to me and they were able to meet that request! Overall, great place to stay whether personal/business travel. Only problem I have with them is the Smoking. They should BAN the smoking near the hotel entrance. Everytime i left and came back i reeked like smoke because all of them would be right by the door on the benches. Move the benches over 30 feet from the building. The staff needs to better enforce that because some people with medical problems can't be around that. October 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by checking in I want to start out that my first experience was tremendous, this last visited started with our check in being very bad. we arrived at 4pm to check in to find out that our room was not ready due the fact a soccer team decided to go to there game and not check out on family weekend at both universities and all area hotels were booked solid. the young man at the counter was doing his best but the phone was ringing of the hook and no one was there to help.. he was trying to deal with irate customers trying to check in like us and being told the same thing. of course the manager was no where to be found and would not answer her phone. A good manager would know how busy this weekend is to the area and would staff accordingly in case of any unexpected dilemma. I truly like the location to the university and all it offers. I did expect a free stay but with us staying two nights a small discount of some sort would have been a nice gesture. our son will be in the area for the next four years. we will visiting a lot and were driving 6 hrs to get there a little friendlier approach would have been nice. October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by room temperature I don't like the fact that the air conditioner doesn't go on unless it is above 50 degrees outside. We had to open the window during the night because it got extremely warm in the room because the fan was on but it was circulating warm air. There needs to be a way to let overnight guests use the air conditioner even if it is cooler outside. Many people like using the air at night even during cooler months while staying in a hotel. October 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel, breakfast gal needed help We had a pleasant stay for our needs at hiexpress in Winona. The bed was very comfortable and room was clean. Only complaints were that there wasn't a great system for moving air in the room. If we put on the fan it was so loud you couldn't talk let alone sleep. We functioned with the window wide open in 40 degree weather and were still uncovered. Plus - when I found someone at the front desk - by hollering - he was willing to share some small plates with us in the evening. Breakfast - there was one woman doing her best, but the that was not adequate for the crowd at the hotel. Garbage cans were overflowing and she simply could not keep up with stocking the food. Staffing should have been adequate for the very full hotel. Pool area was nice, but your towels are getting thin. Bathroom towels were very nice, clean, and smelled good. October 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Consistent with brand This hotel is a good safe bet for a classic Holiday Inn Express experience. Nice clean rooms and good location on the main busy street convenient to everything. October 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, clean, convienient, Great Customer Service Always stay there when I visit! Staff is always attentive and professional! Comfortable beds, clean linens, clean pillows! Like the TV in the bathrooms great for catching up on the news while getting ready for the day! October 2, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Welcome Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading