• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: ONALASKA
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet may not be left alone in room. Please pick up after pet.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Fort McCoy
Distance From Hotel:40.0MI
Attraction:
Oktoberfest Grounds
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Viterbo University
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Childrens Museum
Distance From Hotel:12.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking available tour bus parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2004
  • Total number of rooms:75
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:25
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:50
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:75
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:WI0437

Paddle or Ski near One of the Best Onalaska Hotels

Just five miles from the picturesque Mississippi River and Mt. La Crosse, the Holiday Inn Express® Onalaska (La Crosse Area) hotel is a great home base for water activities. Yet water is not the only thing flowing in Wisconsin. With City Brewery and the world's largest six-pack just a few miles away, this Onalaska hotel's location is pure, distilled fun.

This greater La Crosse, WI hotel is less than six miles from the corporate
View More

Paddle or Ski near One of the Best Onalaska Hotels

Just five miles from the picturesque Mississippi River and Mt. La Crosse, the Holiday Inn Express® Onalaska (La Crosse Area) hotel is a great home base for water activities. Yet water is not the only thing flowing in Wisconsin. With City Brewery and the world's largest six-pack just a few miles away, this Onalaska hotel's location is pure, distilled fun.

This greater La Crosse, WI hotel is less than six miles from the corporate headquarters of Kwik Trip and Trane Company and close to the incredible medical facilities of Mayo Clinic Health Systems and Gundersen Lutheran Hospital. With the 650-sq-ft Valley View room and free high-speed, wireless Internet access, this La Crosse hotel's amenities are everything you'll need to enjoy your stay.

The University of Wisconsin - La Crosse is just eight miles from the hotel, putting you moments away from your UWLAX events. You could even hop over to nearby Valley View Mall before cheering along with the university's Colbert the Eagle. Be sure to also plan time for a riverboat cruise down the Mississippi before you leave.

With so much to do in La Crosse, WI, hotel visitors will want to charge up with our signature cinnamon rolls from the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar in the lobby. Whether you're planning a quick trip or an extended stay, we've got a room for you at the Holiday Inn Express® Onalaska - La Crosse Area hotel.

View Less
Features
You won't have to miss out on your favorite shows while staying in La Crosse! Just watch the hotel's 37-inch LCD TVs to catch your favorite university games and HBO programs in high-definition.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 83 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Motel Have stayed at this motel in the past, has a nice little area for our grand daughter to swim in. Other than the lower TV stations not working it is a nice place to stay with a restaurant across the parking lot, so you really don't have to run around to go anywhere. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet! This was one of the quietest rooms I have experienced. The staff is always friendly and helpful. A good place to stay! May 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping stole my belt I definitely left a belt in the room. When I called the next day they said they didn't have it. They definitely stole my belt. Climate control is awful as well. You can't use the AC when outside temperature drops too low yet that doesn't keep your room from getting to 75 degrees. May 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay Always enjoy the stay at the HI Ex Winona. Great rooms, staff, and hotel layout. The breakfast is great and the rooms are quiet and clean. About the only other thing I could ask for would be to acknowledged as a Platinum member (no bottle of water, etc). May 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay I stay in this hotel 3-4 times per year. Staff is very friendly, rooms are VERY clean. Nothing but good experiences here. April 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel, Staff needs to smile We recently stayed at this hotel for a wedding weekend. The hotel is beautiful! We have stayed at other Holiday Inn Expresses and this hotel had one of the biggest rooms we have ever stayed in. We didn't have the kids with, so we didn't check out the pool area. I did peek in and saw they had a smaller pool for younger kids. That is a great bonus for families with multiple age kids. The only negative was the front desk staff when we arrived. Maybe she was having a bad day, but there was no smile to be found. She did act very professionally, but there was no warm welcome. Breakfast was typical and good. The rooms were very clean. April 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Many good qualities but lack of CLEANLINESS overrides them all This is our second time staying at this hotel. The location, pool, and breakfast options are ideal for our family. However this time, it was obvious that our room had NOT had a true cleaning before our stay. There were bottles of partially used shampoo in the shower, old food condiments on the table (butter and peanut butter), and towels in the closet. Yes the beds were made and new towels were in the bathroom but the other items made you wonder how much had been done. Also, both times we went to the pool there were ZERO clean towels. The second time was at 7:30 am when you would think there would certainly be new towels. We are hoping that this was just a bad weekend and that the next time we return it will be improved as our stay in the area is an annual event for our family. April 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by They do not recognize Platinum Member I checked in and I was thanked for being a Platinum member but did not get anything for it. No free water, no points and no room upgrade. The room was larger than most BUT there was a lot of dust/hair on the phone. We checked out early so I did not get to sample the free breakfast. I thought the price of the room was pretty steep. April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place Great accommodations! Nice room and good breakfast! March 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy and quiet we enjoyed our comfortable and spacious room after a long drive. Great not to be right along a noisy highway which allowed us to relax and sleep well. March 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff The staff at this Holiday Inn Express are the best. I stayed there 4 times within 3 weeks and each time they were wonderful. March 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff very unwelcoming Our hockey team recently stayed in this hotel for a tournament. We were welcomed with a full page of extra rules for athletic teams. I was informed I was not welcome to bring my son's hockey gear into our hotel room. When I told them he would have to put on frozen gear if it was left in the car. I was told that was too bad, it was part of the "agreement" I signed in order to stay in the hotel. We tried to ask the hotel for a space to get the team together for pizza after a game and were told the only space available was the lobby. We were kicked out of the lobby shortly after the pizz arrived due to vague noise complaints. When we booked the rooms, it was made clear we were booking a block of rooms for a hockey team. If they were not willing to accommodate us, the reservation should have been refused. VERY UNWELCOMING! Will not return. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent!!! We stayed there Friday night January 24th and everything was fabulous. I recently stayed in a Crown Plaza in St. Louis, and this hotel was nicer than that by far. The rooms were immaculately clean, and the pool was great and even had a kiddie pool with a frog water slide. The rooms were spotless and had every amenity you would need, and even a Television in the bathroom. The bed and pillows were as good as any 5 star hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and amazingly professional. I would give this a 5 star rating in a heartbeat and recommend this place to anyone. January 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The staff is very helpful and care about their customers. The breakfast could be better, but the cinnamon rolls are good. The fitness center is very nice --- there are plenty of machines so several people can work out at the same time. January 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Experience We were so pleased with the Winona Holiday Inn Express. The room was spotless, the beds were very comfortable, the Continental Breakfast was the best we've ever had (and so many food choices). The only disappointment....we didn't have enough time to enjoy the pool or the workout room. A wonderful Experience. December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and comfortable Hotel was very nice and clean. The staff was very accommodating. Great value. Free breakfast is not wonderful, but it is free! Kids loved the pool. Will absolutely stay here again when we are in Winona. December 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT EXPERIENCE It was out first trip to Winona, and staying at this Holiday Inn was an added bonus...Very clean, comfortable, excellent breakfast, convenience food locations waling distance from the hotel, perfect pool / play area for the kids, and the staff was very friendly and helpful....Definitely will be staying there again on our next trip....THANKS November 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk clerk helpful! All went well with our stay. We will come again. Only negative was that all 3 garbabe cans that we could see in the breakfast area were overflowing and we couldn't throw our paperplates and cups away. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome hotel We stayed here for a barrel race and it was great! The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was actually open when we had to go feed the horses. The staff was also great about us checking in late and checking out late. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice stay We have stayed here before and always enjoyed it. This time was no different. Check in was fast and easy and room was ready and clean. Staff was very friendly. Everyone saying hi and have a great day! Bed was very comfy. The only issue was the people in the room above us were very loud the first night. A lot of yelling in the parking lot which caused difficulty sleeping. We should have complained but didn't so don't know if staff was aware. Breakfast was very good and good variety. Will definitely stay here again. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Spot tucked in a great river town We were in town on a short weekend trip and it was very nice hotel with great rooms, great beds and most importantly for us... quiet. Thanks for the nice and easy stay. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great night sleep! Wonderful staff. After a long, long day of driving your hotel was a welcome respite. Friendly, clean and so comfortable. I will stay here again! October 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by TV in Bathroom This hotel is one of the nicest I have ever stayed in. TV and make-up mirror in the bathroom are nice touches. Staff was super friendly. October 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Didn't like "pet friendly" hotel We were disappointed because our room had an odor and the hotel was full and they could not move us to another room. They did offer to "bomb" our room but we would have to be out for at least 30 min. After we checked in, we noticed the entire hotel was "pet friendly" which I believe was the cause of the odor. The staff was excellent but in the future, I will definitely avoid hotels which are "pet friendly". October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice clean room and nice amenities This hotel is a bit newer than some. It is well kept and has everything you need, fitness area, restaurant across the parking lot, breakfast included, 2 tvs (one in the main room and other in the bathroom. it is nice if you want to catch the news while getting ready in the morning! This is a solid hotel and I will return. October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wondefrul place to stay! Our family had a wonderful experience at your hotel in Winona, MN. The pool area was a big hit with all. The room was very spacious and extremely clean. The service was excellent, the staff was very polite and helpful. The FREE breakfast was very nice, many choices and well stocked. This hotel is in a great location, minutes from a lot of great things Winona has to offer. Overall, we will definitely be returning to this location in the future. October 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 The Red Top Hotel I have traveled quite a bit in the Midwest and eastern United States, but this was the first Holiday Inn I have seen decorated with a red lighted boarder at the top. We looked right beyond that building looking for our hotel until we saw the Holiday Inn Express logo. We have always had our favorite HIE breakfast location and have never found one to match it's quality, cleanliness and selection and quantity of breakfast items until now. The HIE Winona is now our favorite breakfast location. Everything about the hotel was superior and the breakfast has warranted a highest quality rating for the HIE fare. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Had a great time staying here! We'll be back Everything was spectacular-We will return again and again-We were able to bring our dog with us which was great and the room was perfect (clean, comfortable, roomy, up to date, etc) The breakfast was superb and we were treated so well by all the staff we encountered. We were extremely impressed and would highly recommend this be your lodging choice over everything else in Winona. Large gathering space off the lobby and next to the pool for groups to visit or to monitor the kids swimming. I honestly have never had such a good experience-Well done Holiday Inn Express! October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Accommodating I was in town for a funeral and all the staff were very courteous, understanding and accommodating. Housekeeping was flexible about cleaning the room. Overall good experience. October 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel Have stayed at this location before and very happy with past stay and would make a reservation again at this location. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and entire hotel area is clean. October 10, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Welcome Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby Front Desk
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading