• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: ONALASKA
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet may not be left alone in room. Please pick up after pet.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Adj. to Valley View Mall Shopping Center
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
Mississippi Bluffs & Camp; Coulees
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
State Bike Trail 100 miles of paved trails
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Mississippi Riverboat trips & recreational boating
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:100
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking available tour bus parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2004
  • Total number of rooms:75
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:25
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:50
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:75
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:WI0437

Paddle or Ski near One of the Best Onalaska Hotels

Just five miles from the picturesque Mississippi River and Mt. La Crosse, the Holiday Inn Express® Onalaska (La Crosse Area) hotel is a great home base for water activities. Yet water is not the only thing flowing in Wisconsin. With City Brewery and the world's largest six-pack just a few miles away, this Onalaska hotel's location is pure, distilled fun.

This greater La Crosse, WI hotel is less than six miles from the corporate
View More

Paddle or Ski near One of the Best Onalaska Hotels

Just five miles from the picturesque Mississippi River and Mt. La Crosse, the Holiday Inn Express® Onalaska (La Crosse Area) hotel is a great home base for water activities. Yet water is not the only thing flowing in Wisconsin. With City Brewery and the world's largest six-pack just a few miles away, this Onalaska hotel's location is pure, distilled fun.

This greater La Crosse, WI hotel is less than six miles from the corporate headquarters of Kwik Trip and Trane Company and close to the incredible medical facilities of Mayo Clinic Health Systems and Gundersen Lutheran Hospital. With the 650-sq-ft Valley View room and free high-speed, wireless Internet access, this La Crosse hotel's amenities are everything you'll need to enjoy your stay.

The University of Wisconsin - La Crosse is just eight miles from the hotel, putting you moments away from your UWLAX events. You could even hop over to nearby Valley View Mall before cheering along with the university's Colbert the Eagle. Be sure to also plan time for a riverboat cruise down the Mississippi before you leave.

With so much to do in La Crosse, WI, hotel visitors will want to charge up with our signature cinnamon rolls from the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar in the lobby. Whether you're planning a quick trip or an extended stay, we've got a room for you at the Holiday Inn Express® Onalaska - La Crosse Area hotel.

View Less
Features
You won't have to miss out on your favorite shows while staying in La Crosse! Just watch the hotel's 37-inch LCD TVs to catch your favorite university games and HBO programs in high-definition.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 92 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place Very nice place to stay, clean and great beds. Enjoyed the room. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding Extended Stay Experience We booked this hotel for all of our family traveling in from out of state to attend my son's wedding in La Crosse. Great location, easy access, very nice and new. The only complaint we would have would be that our suite smelled a little musty when you first entered. It didn't seem to affect our overall stay experience though. The hotel almost ran out of coffee but had a shipment come in right on time. Very clean, modern, and nice. Would definitely recommend. Great value for what you get and what we needed. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay I am glad I stayed here and have really enjoyed my short stay in LaCrosse! July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good choice for flexibility and comfort We stayed here because the Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express were full, but we found it very pleasant. There was a grocery store "next door" where we bought food for breakfast, given that we had a full kitchen. We walked the mile to 'downtown' to eat at night. A great find! July 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Locomotive Engineer The associate at the front desk was excellent, very helpfull! July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and convenient stay Recommended hotel when needing to stay for longer periods of time. A small kitchen area is a wonderful addition when eating out for every meal is not desired. The treadmill and free laundry facilities were also great assets. The only drawback is this hotel does not have a pool or continental breakfast. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great hotel new up to date well configured suites perfect for the business traveler. Easy parking not like the downtown motels where parking sucks. I would recommend this motel as a great value as compared to the other higher extended stay places. July 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for Extended Stays I needed to stay in LaCrosse for a week due to a class I was taking at a nearby university. Having the full kitchen was a real benefit so I didn't have to eat all my meals from restaurants. The location was awesome because it was easy and convenient to get downtown. The room was pretty clean, the bed was comfortable, and it made being away from home for an extended period of time pretty comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who needed a place for an extended stay. July 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Way overpriced for what you get 1. Was told we would get ice in our room within 10-15 minutes by pulling up the lever in the freezer. We owned one of these freezers and that is ridiculous. It takes at least an hour for those to produce Ice. They knew all the rooms were full that night and should have had all the ice makers working before the guests arrived. I went to ask for ice at the front desk assuming they must have a common ice maker somewhere in the building for times like this or when ice makers in the rooms break and they had no common ice maker. We had to drive to a store to get ice. 2. Wifi access would not work on my high end Android smart phone. Went to the front desk and they couldn't help me with that as well. I never have trouble getting wifi access in any other establishments that I'm at including little ma and pa taverns and motels. 3. Clearly didn't vacuum before we got there. Found a bobbie pin laying right in the middle of the carpet. 4. Hardly any bathroom amenities provided...just a small bottle of shampoo and soap. No conditioner, lotion, shower cap etc. that you normally see in a hotel charging this price range. We travel a lot and stay at many different hotels and motels and this is one of the worst which made me feel the need to write this review. July 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Wedding Had to deal with a overbooked hotel where room flexibility was limited so I dealt with the room issues and lived. Others had issues with rooms and would not recommend for booking blocks of rooms. July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay. Nice hotel and accommodations. Loved the kitchenette and availability of grill to prepare our own meals (convenience of grocery store right next door was great too). Room was very clean with nice decor. Comfy beds provided us with a good nights sleep. Great hotel staff. The only downside was that we didn't have daily maid service. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice patio area and comfortable beds We stayed overnight to avoid early morning travel for colllege registration the next day. Although we didn't need all the amenities of the suite, it was well-stocked for those guests who would be staying for a longer period of time. There was also a very nice patio with grills. There were also so many other amenities we didn't utilize due to the nature of our stay. One downside was no breakfast, although food can be prepared in room, so that is probably why. There was complimentary coffee and plenty of items available for purchase at the Candlewood Cupboard. Location to the colleges in LaCrosse was excellent. July 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by check in on an off day for this location Management is aware of the issues with check-in to a dirty room June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by June stay Nice hotel with good amenities and location to downtown LaCrosse. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay in LaCrosse Very friendly and helpful staff; very nice suite; excellent location close to shopping and dining.. Candlewood Suites was recommend to us by friends living in the area. We were very pleased with the accommodations and will certainly recommend Candlewood to other travelers. We have stayed in other IHG properties and found the Candlewood Suites to be a good representative of the accommodations offered by IHG. June 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good quality for the price Only complaint was the carpet needed to be changed, smelled like a wet dog the whole stay. Front staff Zack very helpful and pleasant. Great location, quiet, clean, roomy, would definitely recommend staying here. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Raad tripping Excellent choice for a travel stay while on the road or extended if travel calls June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient location Up to date conveniently located hotel near downtown. Grocery store nearby. Hiking and biking trails adjacent. Mississippi River and park in walking distance June 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location for walking The hotel was clean inside and out. My room was on the opposite side of the building from the street and looked out onto a pond and some trees. It was very peaceful and within a short walk of a system of riverside walking trails that gave easy access to the Lacrosse riverfront. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and awsome service Candlewood is now our new go to hotel when we travel. We liked everything about our stay. Only wished they also had a big commercial ice machine available for guest. We wanted ice when we arrived but had to wait over two hours for the refrigerator in our room to make some ice! May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in LaCrosse! GREAT HOTEL EXPERIENCE!! Clean and new! Staff was professional and friendly. Grocery store is within walking distance. This is an extended stay hotel; but makes for a great weekend on the "Great River Road". BEAUTIFUL DRIVE! May 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel staff at front desk was very helpful. Clean Hotel with a great location and good size room. April 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good accommodations, but the room smelled very badly Our room was a one-bedroom suite on the first floor. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean except for an overwhelming acrid smell of cigar or cigarette smoke. It permeated the carpeting, drapes and furniture, apparently. Before this room is again rented it needs a very thorough cleaning to remove the odor, as it was quite offensive. We mentioned it to the staff when we checked out. They were very apologetic and explained that a previous guest had violated the no smoking rules. April 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable It was clean and comfortable for the price. Most of the staff was great - very friendly and helpful except on the morning we checked out. It seemed like we were a bother for any question we asked. April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by La Crosse Great value and the room was spacious. We had a the room with a kitchen. One of the most comfortable rooms, I have stayed in. I highly recommend it. January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LaCrosse This hotel was great! The room was wonderful. Clean and fresh. Everything was perfect! December 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable rooms I have yet to stay in a bad Candlewood Suites. Great location, very good stay for the business travelers. November 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 stars! I happened upon this hotel online when I was looking for a room in the LaCrosse area last minute. My husband and I are fairly picky with hotel rooms but we have NO complaints about this place. The staff at check-in was very friendly. My stomach was not feeling well and we were able to purchase some medicine in the "store" which was super convenient. Our king size suite was roomy, clean and quiet. I gave it only 3 stars on value though because it was a bit more costly than we wanted to pay but we couldn't find any other hotels decent enough that had vacancies. That being said, we'd definitely stay here again. November 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight - mixed experience My family and I stayed overnight at the Candewood Suites. Location was nice and central, the room was clean and comfortable. The air-conditioner, however, was not functional and no one on the staff knew how to fix it. They did bring us a fan that helped but would have appreciated the air conditioning being functional. Also, the ice machine didn't work which was a bummer. Kudos to the young man at the desk Friday morning who gave us a fantastic suggestion for breakfast. He was helpful, sincere and Maria's Cafe was a winner!!! October 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by meh... Here is the deal...its not a bad place by no stretch, but It was an average to below average visit. We checked in at 530pm and they said the room wasnt ready?! Then they said we could go up but the towels will be brought up. Get to the room and key cards didnt work. Asked an associate walking by to help and he said I would have to go to the desk. Go back and then they remind me someone would have to clean my air conditioning units on Sat. why would you ever book maintenance like that on a booked weekend?! After we got back in the room at night there were still no towels. Long story short....was dissappointedfor the money spent. oh and the tv is a decent size but it ends up being 19" because of the bad cable service...and no espn?! October 24, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Welcome Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading