• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
(e.g. Nov-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PHILADELPHIA
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

The hotel does not permit pets unless they are guide service dogs or animals. The proper documentation must be presented at check in.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:114
  • Car Parking Available
  • Self park daily parking fee is $25 per night, per car. RV, Tractor, Semi-Truck and Motor Coach parking is available at the Callowhill Bus Center that is located two blocks north from the hotel at a nightly fee paid directly to their facility.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 25.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:184
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:64
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:119
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:184
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:10
Come visit the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E – Penn's Landing to experience the softer side of Philadelphia. Located waterfront in Penn's Landing, our location is a perfect central point for visitors coming to see the historical landmarks including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and many other popular attractions. Our hotel is located within walking distance to a variety of shopping and restaurants, City Hall, the PA Convention Center, the Visitor’s Center and South Street just to name a few
View More
Come visit the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E – Penn's Landing to experience the softer side of Philadelphia. Located waterfront in Penn's Landing, our location is a perfect central point for visitors coming to see the historical landmarks including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall and many other popular attractions. Our hotel is located within walking distance to a variety of shopping and restaurants, City Hall, the PA Convention Center, the Visitor’s Center and South Street just to name a few favorite destinations. Whether you are here for shopping, exploring, business or a doctor’s appointment, the Holiday Inn Express is designed for travelers who require the latest in comfort. Relax in our spacious well- appointed guest rooms offering all of the comforts of home. Stay connected with our free high-speed internet service. Our Express Start Breakfast is served daily in our modern breakfast area offering a stunning fireplace in our adjacent lobby seating area. The Holiday Inn Express is convenient to many public transportation resources that can get you to anywhere you want to go. The subway located at 2nd and Market is a short walk away and can get you to and from the Amtrak 30th Street Station or into South Philly to Citizens Bank Park, The Lincoln Financial Park and The Wells Fargo Center. If you are coming to Philadelphia for a concert or event over at the Susquehanna Bank Center or the New Jersey waterfront attractions, simply take a ride on the RiverLink Ferry.
View Less
Features
The hotel offers a new cheesesteak package and when you are done you can visit the Optimal Health Club on 13th and Market where we have made arrangements for you to show your room key and enter for free. Self-parking is available on-site at $25 per night. Guests must provide a credit card at check in. If card is not present at check in hotel requires a signed third party credit card authorization.
Announcements
From January 5, 2015 to February 28, 2015, the hotel will be upgrading their elevators. During this time, one elevator will be out of service. The hotel will continue to have the other elevator
View More
Announcements
From January 5, 2015 to February 28, 2015, the hotel will be upgrading their elevators. During this time, one elevator will be out of service. The hotel will continue to have the other elevator available during these upgrades. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause during your stay.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 567 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff No matter what staff member I meet there was a smile even at the end of their shift. I could not ask for a better group of prople September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Customer Serviice was Great !!!! We were pleasantly surprised with the Holiday Express on Walnut St. The hotel is pleasantly appointed and the entire Staff were very friendly, knowledgeable, and professional..... Great Stay Would Stay here again Would Recommend Highly..... Thanks to the Entore Staff...... September 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Historic Philadelphia Visit Bring suits - there IS a pool. Also the Patriot Parking garage is a convenient place to park overnight. It is very cramped so be aware of that. Parking was a big stress for me - it was not easy. Once that was done, I was able to enjoy my stay at the hotel. August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing time in Phily wow, I have never had such a great experience at a Holiday Inn. Staff at the front desk were extremly helpful, kind and did all they could to make my stay the best. Gwen at the front desk was so cheerful and was very helpful in suggesting places to explore during our stay and great local eateriers (give that women a raise!). I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. It is located right in the heart of the city. walking distance to everything. Only downside is the traffic in Phily is horrible and you have to pay for parking, however, it isn't the hotels fault on those notes. There is a pool but I never used it, breakfast was great lots of choices. House cleaners were excellent at their job and always greated youwith a smile. August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, centrally located Our room was ready ahead of check-in time, front desk and housekeeping staff friendly and very helpful. Hotel is within walking distance of all tourist destinations and lots of restaurants. August 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Do not rely on wireless We were in PA on business and choose this Holiday Inn for location and wireless. The wireless is slow and times out. Impossible to use for business needs. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Better than expected Service is outstanding, rooms are bigger than I thought. Breakfast selection was very good. The breakfast area is kept clean, and food was always replenished. Front desk was very helpful and very friendly. The only negative is the parking lot attendant- would not let us self park our car and was very rude to my husband. Other than that, would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Its location is great- walking distance to everything and plenty of choices for food. If you are and IHG member you can request a late check out! August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location A great location to see and explore Philadelphia. The staff are personable and knowledgeable. We had a good time. The hotel is within walking distance of restaurants and things to see. Also the hotel is within easy walking distance to the Market Street subway. August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and helpful staff This is the third time I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown. The staff is very helpful and courteous, the rooms clean and comfortable, and the free breakfast is much appreciated, Will be back next year! August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by They delivered as promised Every staff member I encountered was helpful and pleasant. Some even approached me to make sure everything was okay. The room was clean and quiet. The location was perfect for my needs. I would definitely stay again. August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Many thanks to the staff at Midtown! I stayed for a week at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Midtown for business and had a fantastic stay. Not one complaint from me! Every staff member there went out of their way to say hello and were all so kind. I did not feel as if I were an out-of-towner. I did not feel like I was just another room number. The staff members were just so fabulous, especially Teri at the front desk and Tanya in Houskeeping. The room was large and I was able to relax in the evenings. There are tons of great dining and shopping right in that area. If I ever end up in Philadelphia again, I would stay NOWHERE else other than at the HIE Midtown! August 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express Center City, Philadelphia, PA This was one of the best Holiday Inn Express hotels that I have stayed in. The staff was knowledgable and friendly. As a Priority Member I was able to stay until 2:00 PM which was much appreciated. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. We paid extra to have a room with a microwave and refrigerator, These two items should be standard in all rooms. Several cons included the free continental breakfast, cost of parking and the amount of state and city taxes added to the bill. The egg and cheese omelet did not look that appetizing and I did not try it. The hard boil egg did not taste fresh, and I did not finish it, the turkey sausage party was tasteless. They ran out of bagels. Stick with the fresh food; yogurt , fruit, cereal, etc August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice First time staying at this hotel. It was very nice. I would stay again. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay The hotel is in a great location close to Rittenhouse square, right in Center City Philadelphia. We were able to walk everywhere. The breakfast was great, lots of options, including eggs, cinnamon rolls and yogurt. The staff was really helpful in pointing us in the right direction to check out the sights in the area. The room was comfortable and clean. The only thing I didn't like was the parking situation. Parking costs $25/night and the majority of the spaces in the garage are stacked parking. Overall, it was a great stay. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff I stayed at this property for 5 days,I really felt comfortable and happy that everything I would want or need was within walking distance. The staff was wonderful....Thanks to Bria and Davante (sorry if I spelled wrong) were wonderful.Not being familiar with the area I asked Bria a few places to shop ,she directed me to where I wanted to be.Davante, helped me with my luggage as soon as I pulled up...such a gem and hard to find a nice ,pleasant young man these days. HK,FD,Maint as well as parking attendants were wonderful and polite! Again I would like to thank you for a wonderful "working visit" August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location & Rates For A Philly Native Retuning Home I originally picked this location due to the Green Engage program, and close proximity to everything in Center City and beyond. As a Philly native coming back for a mini vacation, I wanted to show my family the many treasures of Philly without the hassle of driving. I was expecting to pay an arm and a leg since I was downtown just a stone throw away from Broad St, City Hall and the old Wanamaker's building but was pleasantly surprised at the rates. This HIX is centrally located and one can easily walk to all the attractions downtown including Reading Terminal Market, The Gallery, The US Mint, Federal Reserve, Independence Hall, and the Liberty Bell to name a few. It located near several bus lines as well as the Broad St Subway (Phillies, Eagles or Sixers games is just minutes away, Temple University), EL aka Market-Frankford Line (Penn's Landing, Independence Hall, Drexel University), Trolleys (University of Penn, Drexel University). Also even though they are not all listed, there is tons of restaurant varying from American, Italian, Japanese, Indian and other venues located within literally 2-5mins walking distance. The only fault I had which is very minor is the paint on the bottom of the pool is peeling. Long story short, if you want to come to Philly and have a great stay you are not going to find a better place. Everything from the staff, food, rates and location is A+ bar none. Also if your driving in, get the "Philly Overnight" package so you don't have to worry about parking. One suggestion I would also like to make is about the Green Engage program is to look into the Cree LED Warm White or Daylight light bulbs for the rooms. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fun in philadelphia My brother who has reason to visit the Wills eye clinic often recommended the Holiday Inn Express Midtown and we were not disappointed. The location was great for what we wanted to do and the rooms were comfortable with nice towels, plenty of pillows and everything we needed. The breakfast buffet was more than we expected and satisfied our appetites. The pool was fine and everybody was pleasant and helpful. If you stay be sure to visit the Wainwright Building nearby (Macy's). August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best of the Best We stayed in this Center City property for our grandson's law school graduation. I chose it for its terrific location only. Its additional attributes make it one of the best HIEs we've ever stayed at! Right from the start, the front desk staff greeted us warmly and congratulated us on our happy occasion. The room was predictably comfortable, clean, well-appointed. Hotel staff throughout our stay greeted us cheerfully, held elevators for us, opened doors, etc., etc. A lovely touch at our first breakfast: the concierge came through offering roses to all the moms and grandmoms of graduates that day! We stayed a couple of days extra to sightsee in Philadelphia. The hotel's location made hat a dream! All in all, the perfect Philadelphia visit. Would definitely stay there again. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceeded expectations The room was quite comfortable and the staff could not be more accommodating. Will definitely stay there again. Great location and value. Here is the "but". During my stay the weather was gorgeous and I actually had down time. I was going to take in some pool time. (There is a roof top pool on the property.) I went to check out the pool area and was so disappointed that a conference room was located adjacent to the pool deck. Would have felt uncomfortable knowing there were a room full of people possibly gazing out the window. I know the pool is a public area - but I'd like to have some imaginary privacy. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay I had a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown. Comfortable bed, room was quiet and clean. Hotel staff was very friendly. Excellent location. August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Environment, Nice Room We had never stayed at an HIE in a major city, and we had a great experience. Staff was friendly--not just desk staff, but workers in the hallway, elevator, any place. Room clean, breakfast fine, especially given the large number of diners. Check in staff offered us a discount bc taking son to school and a welcome bag (platinum member). A lot of guests coming and going all the time, but staff never rushed and remained attentive always. Only complaint: Internet was extremely slow--dial-up speed, which made doing work on the road pretty much out of the question. August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and Great breakfast! Best breakfast choices! As a dietitian, I was impressed that you had turkey sausages, several egg choices and heart to heart cereal everyday! Staff went out of their way to help those of us attending our conference. August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location Very spacious room right in the center of the city. Rooms were clean and not at all small like many city hotels. Walking distance to a lot of things. August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and location! This was our first trip to Philly and we loved the location, staff friendliness and value! Everything was just as promised, a smooth check in with our room ready at exactly 3:00, and breakfast was full and a wide variety. Parking lot was safe and the hotel was clean. Everyone at the front desk was polite and helpful, I would highly recommend this location for anyone including families. August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome place to stay!! I can't say enough about this hotel!! Everything was absolutely perfect. The staff were all cheerful and eager to please. Aubrey Allen was the best as she helped us get into our rooms early and even gave us a late check out so that we could stay at our son's White Coat Ceremony without worrying about being late for check out. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was wonderful. We will definitely be staying here again!! August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by SERVICE WITH A SMILE Stayed here for a concert. Check in we had all smiles and everyone willing to help. Parking was excellent I felt my car was safe as staff members assured me and parking attendants drove around in golf carts checking the lot. Our room was spotless. In the morning my wife and I enjoyed the huge continental breakfast and also Cathy suggested places we should check out .I would recommend anyone to stay here. August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and comfortable Bed I have stayed atthe Midtown HI express many times over the past several years. This time was particularly memorable in that I had forgotten my umbrella and it was pouring. Thankfully one of the staff at the desk was so kind as to provide me with an umbrella for the day. Great service wonderful staff! I will most definitely continue to stay with you when I am in Midtown. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience! My 16 year old son stayed here for a week while he was at the Broadway Dreams Foundation camp at the Kimmel Center. During his stay he got very sick and while the camp councelors did take care of him, they did nothing to compare to the hotel staff. The Hotel staff brought him hot tea and checked on him often and was instrumental in getting him to an Urgent Care. We came up on Saturday to bring him home and was surpirsed when we walked in the lobby and the desk clerk (I wish I could remember her name) said, "You must be Christian's parents!" When thanked the staff for taking care of our son they were very humble about the entire thing, saying, "no problem, that's what we are here for" and "your are welcome, I hope someone would do the same for my child." August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff The entire staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Great job making us feel welcome. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice!! One of the best hotels we ever stayed. Staff was exceptional. August 16, 2013
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 20 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior View from Hotel View at our hotel from Race Street Pier Across the Street Franklin Park has a snack bar, playground and miniature golf Spacious clean lobby Entrance into the Hotel Hotel Lobby Front Desk and Registration Eastern State Penitentiary National Constitution Center in walking distance The Bourse at Independence Mall View from your Riverside Room of the Ben Franklin Bridge The Philadelphia Art Museum Independence Hall in walking distance Front Desk Love Park in Center City
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading