• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PHILADELPHIA
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

The hotel does not permit pets unless they are guide service dogs or animals. The proper documentation must be presented at check in.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:114
  • Car Parking Available
  • Self park daily parking fee is $25 per night, per car. RV, Tractor, Semi-Truck and Motor Coach parking is available at the Callowhill Bus Center that is located two blocks north from the hotel at a nightly fee paid directly to their facility.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 25.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:184
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:64
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:119
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:184
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:10
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia - Penn's Landing located just a short walk to the historic attractions and all the most visited area venues. We are convenient to all major highways including Interstate I-95 and 676 and just 11 miles north of the Philadelphia International Airport (PHL) and 5 miles west to the 30th Street Amtrak Station. For you, our guests, we have recently completed a full renovation to provide the most in comfort offering a clean, fun yet professional atmosphere. Stay
View More
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia - Penn's Landing located just a short walk to the historic attractions and all the most visited area venues. We are convenient to all major highways including Interstate I-95 and 676 and just 11 miles north of the Philadelphia International Airport (PHL) and 5 miles west to the 30th Street Amtrak Station. For you, our guests, we have recently completed a full renovation to provide the most in comfort offering a clean, fun yet professional atmosphere. Stay connected with our free high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and public space. Our Express Start Breakfast Bar is served in our beautiful redesigned lobby. We offer a new fitness facility and business center. Allow us to provide a great experience while staying at our hotel creating memories to be shared with family and friends for a lifetime. The Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia - Penn’s Landing is designed for travelers who require the latest in comfort to help make you feel at home in any of our spacious well-appointed guest rooms. The guest rooms boast breathtaking views of the Delaware River and Ben Franklin Bridge or chose the Philadelphia City skyline. Our hotel is 100% non-smoking. Our hotel is convenient to the most popular historic and area attractions, local businesses and hospitals, restaurants and high-end shops. Just a short walk away is the Liberty Bell, National Constitution Center and Independence Hall. We offer a shuttle to the most popular spots.
View Less
Features
Within walking distance of Philadelphia’s Historic Area, the hotel is close to many popular restaurants, businesses, and attractions including the Liberty Bell and Pennsylvania Convention Center. Parking is available on-site, fee is $25/overnight and is self-park. Guests must provide a credit card at check in. If card is not present at check in please contact the hotel prior to arrival.
Announcements
Join us at the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E-Penns Landing for the upcoming events:
National Association of Letter Carriers July 9 to July 12
Academy of Management Aug 3 to Aug
View More
Announcements
Join us at the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E-Penns Landing for the upcoming events:
National Association of Letter Carriers July 9 to July 12
Academy of Management Aug 3 to Aug 5
Made in America Festival Aug 30 to Aug 31
Women of Faith Sept 5
Infectious Disease Society of America Oct 8 to Oct 11
American Society of Nephrology Nov 12 to Nov 15
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 157 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay overall! I'm always happy with the comfort of the beds and pillows. I always stay at this hote when I'm flying out of Philadelphia. Best value than others I've stayed. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Gem in Essington I've stayed at this hotel for the last few years. They provide pick up service from the airport, clean rooms, friendly staff and if you get the right room, a river view. The price has gone up substantially and the breakfast food is ok but the man providing the breakfast service is wonderful. He smiles and replenishes the food as it's needed and he keeps the area really clean. Kudos to him. I'm sorry I didn't get his name. Tarshia at the front desk was wonderful also - smiling and willing to help. The cleaning staff did a great job at cleaning. It's not easy because some of the furniture and carpeting could use an upgrade. Overall, I enjoy staying here. It is next to the park and is very peaceful. June 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Double charge and poor service The front desk charged me for two rooms because we were switched to another room in the middle of the night when the air conditioner broke. The front desk staff was argumentative and rude throughout my effort to resolve the issue, ending in a big hassle for me to get the charges straightened out. June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful location on the water This hotel meets all the expectations of a Holiday Inn Express. It's location at a boat dock is beautiful for sunsets. I do not recommend the restaurant next door (The dock) because there was gnats flying around the dining area and the staff was extremely unprofessional. June 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location to Philadelphia International Airport Easy access to airport for early morning flight and rental car drop off. Welcomed as an IHC member, and room was ready. This property looks as though it is in need of refurbishment - hall and room carpets stained, needs some TLC. Other than that, it was fine. June 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst experience It was my first time staying at this hotel with stayed less than 6 hours. I checked in late after 11pm on 5/24 and the front desk lady was busy and did not pay attention to a quest at the first time and just give a room without explaining any hotel information. No recognition for IHG Rewards Club Members and no gift neither. When I entered the room, I could heard some noises, so I came down to check if the hotel could transfer me to another room. When I came to the front desk, she was busy to talk with someone by phone which I found out 5 minutes later that it was her hotel manager to complain about another guest. If a guest was waiting in frond of her, she supposed to hold the phone and helped the quest first. But she was not. Anyway, I couldn't transfer to another room and needed to use ear plugs to sleep. I have stayed many IHG hotels all over and love IHG hotels, but not this one. May 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Waiting and then waiting This is the second time I've stayed at the property - both times due to travel issues at nearby PHL. Being a loyal IHG member, I always seek out the brand(s# whenever possible. The hotel itself is what you'd expect. It's an Express so it's not high brow but on average you get what you pay for. The room was comfortable, the bed average. A little beat up and my grip that rooms don't have enough light in them anymore due to the CFL bulbs. Nonetheless, it's an okay space. The downsides kind of compound. First, I waited almost 45 minutes for the shuttle to pick me up, despite calling the hotel the minute I got the baggage claim area. I called back twice just to verify they were indeed coming. Both times the young lady at the front desk #sorry, I didn't write down your name# was very nice and very professional. When I got to the hotel !!FINALLY!! the restaurant next door ~ not part of the hotel ~ was closed, much to my dismay #closed 20 minutes before I got there --- see the issue?). When I checked in the young lady must have recognized my voice from my calls because she asked how long I waited, apologized for the delay and went out of her way to find me someplace that was still open and delivered food. Excellent service from the front desk. The other complaint is tied to the location of the property - it's just left of no where and I believe in fact is where the Flying Dutchman stores his boats for the winter based on the marina next door. As a result, the one food delivery place took an hour to get there #no competition I guess) so more waiting. Since the hotel is so remote, there' s really no place to walk to, not that at 11 PM there would be many more options. So - the pros - nice people, price is right, no surprises and the ever famous Holiday Inn Express Breakfast. The cons - shuttle takes forever, limited food options and isolated location. May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Shuttle service was outstanding. They were not only polite but also on time. May 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient for airport I chose this hotel as it was convenient for the airport - which it is The staff were very friendly and accommodating which is always great. It would be nice if there were more restaurants in the close vicinity, but otherwise a good stay. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Service We arrived at 12;30 AM and were picked up by the 24 hour shuttle service within a reasonable period of time (considering the 5+ mile distance from the airport). We were greeted as GOLD card members and quickly checked in. Everything was clean and fresh and we had a very relaxing night. Breakfast was excellent and the cinnamon rolls were GRAND! The shuttle service provided us a ride to the off-site rental car location. May 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a great stay! I have stayed at properties all over. This is one location I most likely will not choose again. The cell phone reception was not good at all. I had to go outside to make phone calls because there was no reception in my room. The WiFi went in and out. I was kicked off line more times I could count. There are many changes needed to be made to make this property stack up to any other brands. The rate was great, but I guess I got what I paid for this time. May 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous hotel My wife and I met up with some friends and stayed at the Philadelphia Airport Holiday Inn Express. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Room was clean and mattress was comfy. They provide 24 hr shuttle service to the airport. The breakfast had many choices: eggs, bacon, sausages, biscuits and gravy, fruit, bagels, cereals...everything one could want. All in all, a great experience, and I would go back there again. May 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best hotel staff ever I usually am not interested in writing a hotel review but your staff was so wonderful that I felt I had to do it. We stayed two nights. The first was planned; the second as a result of a flight cancellation. The hotel is a bit "tired." The rooms were very clean but certainly could use some updating. But your staff is outstanding. The girls at the desk were efficient and very friendly. The shuttle drivers were terrific. They even offered to drive us to local restaurants because it was cold and raining. Judy in the breakfast room was outstanding!! She treats her job like it was her own kitchen and the guests as if they were guests in her own home. Normally, I would try a different hotel next time but I will probably go back to the Holiday Inn Express because of your people!! April 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice fitness Location Really enjoyed the fitness center with a view of the river and passing river traffic. Was disappointed they don't recognize platinum members :( boo. Did use the shuttle service to and from the airport and both drivers were very polite and friendly. April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Stay @ Your Holiday Inn Express I very much enjoyed my stay @ your Hotel in Philadelphia, Penn. The staff were very friendly, accommodating and professional. All of my requests were accommodated. I will stay there again, should I be required to remain overnight in Philadelphia again. I also will recommend it as a place to stay to all of my friends. April 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great and budget-friendly way to enjoy Philadelphia! We visited Philadelphia on whim and were hard-pressed to find available and affordable hotels the night-of. We opted for the Holiday Inn Express at the airport, and it exceeded our expectations in every way! We were worried about the ease of reaching downtown Philly, but we simply took the free shuttle to the airport and hopped on the train to the city--so easy and it saved us hundreds of dollars because we were staying near the airport. The shuttle picked us up at the airport when we were ready to come back. The room itself was spacious, clean, and modern. The staff was extremely friendly. We received excellent help from Taisha at the front desk (I hope I've spelled her name correctly)! The complementary breakfast was wonderful with a great selection. The hotel is located along the river, and we enjoyed sipping our coffee in some nice patio furniture overlooking the docks. Overall, highly recommended! April 16, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Ok location but run down hotel Our room had many issues from the start - toilet blocked on arrival, panel on the wall had fallen off, room door would not close properly, air con was noisy and did not heat the room enough. I spoke to the two lady's at the front desk the following morning to advise of the issues. Neither were very helpful - I was not even offered an apology or the option to swap rooms! I was simply told that they would look into it. When I arrived back at the hotel around 2pm still nothing had Happened it was only later that afternoon/evening when a different manager came on shift that anyone bothered to look into these issues. I have only just returned to ihg and hope this is not a sign of things to come.... March 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Find Near The Airport This property is in a neat little neighborhood that is close to the airport but does not have the hustle and bustle of normal airport lodgings. The staff is always friendly and it is a quick shuttle ride over to PHL. There is a nice restaurant/bar next door to the hotel that has good food and beer and a really nice deck (unfortunately it was too early in the year for the deck to be open) overlooking the river. March 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overall stay was below average Poor experience the minute I arrived at hotel. Desk clerk had trouble scanning and getting my credit to authorize. The room I was assigned was handicap accessible room with no tub and a walk in shower with fold out bench, hotel was unable to switch me to another room. My room was beside elevator, and every time the door closed it sounded like someone dropped a bag of bricks on the floor in front of my door. My sleep was interrupted every night because of the elevator door. Then house cleaning missed cleaning my room one day. I had to ask desk clerk for clean towels to use the following morning. My room key didn't work, every day during my stay I would have to go to front desk to get my key reswiped. My cell phone did not cause this problem with the key. All in all my stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Essington PA was poor and I would not recommend this hotel to my friends. March 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 2 sleepless nights in a row 1st night: alarm rings at 4 am! Don't these alarm clocks get "cleared" after each guest? 2nd night: phone rings sporadically as of 4 am! Single rings occurred every few minutes. Called front desk and said they did not know cause of the problem or how to stop it! But that they were "working" on it. This was not a good stay; especially since I had presentations to give to a major client the next day. March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cory Cory is on her game, she greeted me as a regular to the property. Even though the property is showing signs of wear the staff is beyond excellence. The nice lady that handles the breakfast always has a smile. The shuttle drivers are great. Thanks for all your staff does to make their guests comfortable. I usually arrive late and very tired from my travel to Philly. I spend alot of time traveling and your staff is a welcome sight after a long day. February 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellant Choice We stayed here to attend a family reunion. Upon checking in I was worried because we were not greeted and welcomed as IHG members. The room was clean & smelled fresh. The bed was very comfortable so we could sleep.. The bathroom had lots of towels and soap but so far it was just another Holiday Inn.....when we return around midnight we were greeted by Jenne'. She did make us feel welcome, told us about several things we could sightseer and added our email to a list for upcoming events. She is an excellent employee and one of the main reasons I will stay at this hotel whenever I am in the area. February 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Jenne Jenne went out of her way to accommodate me. After very long day of travel she was a very welcome face. She is a fine example of Excellent Customer Service. Please see that she is commended for her hard work, February 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Much better I was in town again on business and had to stay an extra night due to the snow storm. Corey (Sp?) was very accomodating. Although the property needs updating the onsite staff is doing the best they can. Corey knows her job very well and should be commended for her excellent work. January 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by PO on Floor? 3rd Attempt at posting a HONEST review of this hotel. The Good First 1) Lots of Parking (well while I was there) 2) Pulling up to the hotel you think its New Updated 3) Lobby is nice, updated, 4) Internet worked well, even on TOP Floor 5) Convient to Airport 6) Bed Comfy though Now The Bad 1) Staff NOT Friendly or Welcoming 2) after lobby you get to real part of hotel and its EXTREMELY Outdated & run down 3) Inside of the Eleveator looks to have been painted by 1st graders 4) My room was Extremely Unclean, had off white sticky stains on office chair arms, & what appeared to be a piece of PO on the floor by the bed, (HI refuses to allow me to post the photo) 5) Room loud LOTS of outside noise & neighbor noise 6) TV minimal stations and not great picture 7) Has a restaurant/bar/club next door, nice view but limited menu of options to eat & OVER priced but they don't have many options near this hotel. As a Extremely Frequent Travelier 200+ nights out of town each year, this place would NOT be in my stay here again portfolio. January 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average Experience I will come again to this property since it is convenient for my business travel. I will have to say that nothing at the property stood out as above average. The property including the room show real signs of wear. January 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poor service Unfortunately unscheduled stay due to airline issues. Pick up at PHL prompt and driver very nice but front desk staff was to busy watching Duck Dynasty to even talk. Did not notice or care of Platinum status and did not give welcome package and though reservation indicated would need toiletries not given until asked for. The driver to airport was more concerned with cell phone than clients and did not even call out for waiting patrons and did not say one word whole ride. Stay served purpose and room nice but service poor. January 16, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst experience ever I was flying out of Philadelphia International airport on January 5 so I decided to stay in a hotel near the airport the night before my flight. I choose the Airport Holiday Inn Express at Essington, PA after doing a research online of the Hotels near PHL. The reviews was the decisive factor in choosing this property. I checked in on January 4, 2014 after the Northeastern snow storm of January 2 and 3. I did not know how bad the road conditions were after the snow storm so I decided to leave my house early for my stay at the Hotel before my flight. I got to the Holiday Inn Express about 1pm. Two hours before the check in time of 3pm.Traveling from South Jersey, a great distance from the Holiday Inn express, I approached the front desk and asked the front desk agent if I could checked in early because I was tired from the travel. The agent informed me that there was no room available yet and none will be ready before the check in time of 3pm. I told her it was fine and that I would wait in the lobby until check in time and to please let me have the first available room since I had a reservation and a confirmation number. As I waited for my room I observed how other walk in came in after me and the agent gave them a room right away. I did not complain about tis and waited patiently for the check in time of 3pm. While I waited in the lobby I observed and heard how the agent sat in the breakfast dining area to gather with other co workers and proliferated foul language as they lounge in the dining area. I did not complain about this. At about 2:55pm I approached the front desk agent and proceeded to inform her that it was almost 3pm check in time and that I was still waiting. Her answer was that knew how to tell time. She made me wait for the next front desk agent to come on for me to get my room. January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stormy weather I stay at this location a lot. I was headed to another city when a snow storm hit and got very bad very quick. I knew I would not make the other location due to weather. I called the desk (not reservations) and the wonderful young lady who knew me by name said no problem get here safely, I have a room for you. It took me over a hour to drive 7 miles but I made it. All of the people(staff members) at this location have always treated me very well. One time I has an issue with my room charge and the manager herself handled it and I have never had anothe issue. To me when I am in the Philadelphia area it is like going home when I stay at this Holiday Inn Express. January 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I have come to expect from an express Bed was good. Walls are thin, shuttle drivers are rude to the point of not even making eye contact with you. I have stayed a few times and its not just one of their drivers. Stay on the top floor or stay awake all night listening to your upstairs neighbor. This hotel should be your last option. I am a platnum member and travel 150 + days a year. January 8, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior View from Hotel View at our hotel from Race Street Pier Across the Street Franklin Park has a snack bar, playground and miniature golf Spacious clean lobby Entrance into the Hotel Hotel Lobby Front Desk and Registration Eastern State Penitentiary National Constitution Center in walking distance The Bourse at Independence Mall View from your Riverside Room of the Ben Franklin Bridge The Philadelphia Art Museum Independence Hall in walking distance Front Desk Love Park in Center City
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading