• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PHOENIX
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals only. 250 dollar fine for bringing a pet into your room.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:110
  • Car Parking Available
  • Large parking lot surrounding the entire hotel. Great for bigger trucks and commercial vehicles

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:90
  • Total number of suites:29
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:42
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:48
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:90
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Taste Excitement in the Phoenix, Arizona Downtown Area

Our beautiful hotel's location in downtown Phoenix, AZ is in the middle of all the action and fun the area has to offer. The smoke-free Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Phoenix Downtown - Ballpark hotel's guests can walk to Chase Field, home of the Diamondbacks, and US Airways Arena, home of the Phoenix Suns and many concerts and event.

There's no better place for corporate guests to stay in Phoenix! Our meeting room can
View More

Taste Excitement in the Phoenix, Arizona Downtown Area

Our beautiful hotel's location in downtown Phoenix, AZ is in the middle of all the action and fun the area has to offer. The smoke-free Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Phoenix Downtown - Ballpark hotel's guests can walk to Chase Field, home of the Diamondbacks, and US Airways Arena, home of the Phoenix Suns and many concerts and event.

There's no better place for corporate guests to stay in Phoenix! Our meeting room can accommodate up to 30 people. You can work from your room with free Wi-Fi Internet access or work in the Business Center. Our Phoenix downtown hotel is next door to Genome Research Institute, near AZ State University, medical and nursing schools, APS, Wells Fargo and federal and state offices in the Arizona capital.

Discover the Native American art at Heard Museum, spend a day at the largest non-profit zoo in the US or be awed by the Arizona Science Center. You can walk to a game at US Airways Arena or Chase Field.

Guests don't have to leave our hotel's facility in Phoenix, AZ to have a great time. Stay cool during hot desert days in the outdoor pool or relax after work in the whirlpool. A Fitness Center and outdoor basketball court help you stay active. Other amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access, a hot breakfast, rooms with a 37-inch flat screen TV, microwave and a mini fridge. You'll discover warm hospitality at our Phoenix downtown hotel.

View Less
Features
Located in the downtown Phoenix, our hotel is suited to meet your needs. Whether you're here to cheer on the Suns or Diamondbacks, visit Arizona State University or see a show at Dodge Theatre, the Holiday Inn Express is there for you.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 75 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected I am less than impressed with the room I was given for my one night stay. We had no AC, and were told that they didn't use AC in the winter, and that our room would cool down. It never did. Also, the TV didn't work, they stated that it hadn't been set up yet... and wouldn't be till Monday..The guest service people were very pleasant, I just wish they would of told us up front so we could of booked somewhere else. January 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very clean experience All are very good, the hose kipping are very clean. Only you need change the sofas and the chairs in the living room and the restaurant. January 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Very nice staff/nice room. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, especially Manny. I appreciated the medical rate as I was being tested for surgery at St. Joseph's Hospital. Shower could have put out more water!, ugh! December 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff The staff at this hotel were amazing. My mother was a patient at St.Josephs hospital and during a time of stress the star were so accommodating. They allowed early check in on a day if being at the hospital until 1:00 am and they allowed us to see if my mother was going to be discharged from the hospital to decide if we were going to need another night. The parking could definitly be closer but everything else made up for it. The breakfast was delicious. December 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good but The room was good and clean. The problem was the fan noise was so loud we couldn't sleep. Breakfast was great and very friendly staff. Within walking distance of ADE and the rail.. December 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by LACK OF INTERNET AND BAD ODOR Overall, I was disappointed with the stay, which is not my normal experience with Holiday Inn. The room was small, well-organized and comfortable, but I was not able to access internet. I was able to access from other locations in the hotel, it was just my room where I experienced the problem. The staff were not helpful in this regard, nor were the technical support team. On several occasions I was told help would be coming but they never once followed through on any promise. Additionally, the room smelled like sulfur every evening. When I mentioned it to the staff, they advised me the hotel was older and there was an issue with sewer pipes. They even knew where my room was located based on the odor I described. In spite of these issues, no attempt was made to resolve them other than to shrug their shoulders and say there was nothing further they could do. It gave me the impression they were not really concerned with the quality of my stay. I should point out that I did not get that feeling from the manager, but at the same time no attempt was made to resolve my issues. This was a disappointing stay and I will not be returning to this hotel. November 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and comfort Parking limited and awkward. Nice room, features, amenities. Clean and quiet. Better to find an alternative hotel with good convenient parking and free breakfast! November 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Itty bitty pillows Room was clean. beds were comfortable. I had 3 adults in one room, and they gave us a suite, which was awesome! One of us took turns on the hide-a-bed in the couch. However, this wasn't made up, and there were linens in the closet, but no blankets or comforter or pillows. The pillows really were awful. My neck is just starting to feel normal after a week. The staff seemed friendly and accommodating. We had no problems. They should have offered free breakfast, and for $8.50, could have been better than what other hotels offer for free. I would still stay again, though! November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Visit I had a great visit, a great stay and a great breakfast. November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Nice room with fridge, coffee maker, iron, flat screen TV and nice city view. Great front desk staff, very friendly and professional. Good central location. November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well Above Average Stay here on business..always great ..only negative is the parking ( a short walk) otherwise a great stay. November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, wonderful staffs Great stay, good accommodation, attentive staffs................... October 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great time and space for relaxing. This Holiday Inn in Phoenix was quiet and welcoming to new guests as they arrived. Being able to have a space to park in a garage was also nice in downtown Phoenix. I would stay at this Holiday Inn again and recommend it to others looking for a place to stay. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AZ stay We loved the staff here in every department, they were so Nice and kind !! We liked the hotel at every aspect ! We will stay again Although you really need to do someone about the parking ! October 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location We got the Grand Canyon University rate and it's about 10 minutes to the university. We stay here all the time when we visit our college kids. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent to rest The best option to rest Excellent food Staff very nice Very clean, excellent location October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Service, Great room!! I had to make a stay close to St. Joseph's hospital and really took a shot in the dark on this hotel. I am pleased to say, the hotel was wonderful!! I love the sweet lady at the desk who offered me a hospital rate (I didn't even know about it!), and the room was just perfect! I loved the bed, the internet service and the cleanliness! I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing to stay in the area and will certainly choose it again on my next stay! Thanks so much, you made a stressful event so much more comfortable!! Kudos!! October 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Wont go Back One of the things that you would expect from a hotel in Phoenix is working air conditioning. That was not the case when I stayed in September of 2013. Half of the rooms seemed to have no adequately working air conditioning. My room started at 83 degrees. After 5 days of running the air conditioning 24/7, my room finally got down to 72 degrees. But mostly because the outside temps dropped below 100 degrees. The staff offered to switch my room to another one, but they did not have a comparable room. They did comp one nights stay though. In addition, walking from the parking garage to the hotel at night, we experienced the very foul smell of sewer gases emanating from the manhole covers outside the hotel. The smell managed to make its way into the back hallways of the Hotel. I will not be staying there again. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and Manager The staff and Manager were great! very easy to deal with! September 20, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Most horrible experience The staff member Manny was actually the rudest and most disrespectful person in the customer service industry I have ever met . He made very rude and disrespectful remarks to me hung up on me . The room of mine and many others had no air conditioning and people were checking out so fast . It's funny the owners are opening up a brand new million dollar hotel this week but yet they can't afford to have air conditioning in their existing hotel ... September 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hospital stay Reason for choosing this property was that it was close to St Joes. They had hospital pricing for room. Room had overstuffed chair and ottoman that we had turned into bed for post surgery bed for upright sleeping. Place was clean and staff friendly. Would stay again if needing to stay in area again. September 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Customer Service Everything was great, except room temperature a bit to warm and wouldn't cool any lower. It was 112 outside, so I'm sure if it was 100 or under it would be fine September 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Best hotel I have stayed at for the price. Beds were comfortable, room was very clean and staff was extremely friendly. September 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by NEEDS A MAKEOVER The complete hotel needs a makeover. The parking lot was big enough for about 10 cars. The A/C in the rooms are horrible! The first room I got into was extremely hot. The ac was on full blast in never got below 80. I called got moved to another room this a/c was off the room was 90 inside turned it on it started to cool down but never got below 78 it ran for over 24 hours. The tv didn't work in this room so they brought one in from another. Needles to say will never stay in this location again. They did comp one of my nights stay but to be honest the whole stay should have been comped. I stay all over the united states in Holiday inns and this one was by far the worst. Someone needs to spend a little money on this location. September 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel. Nice Staff. Staff was very accommodating. Room was nice and comfortable. Will stay at this hotel each time I am in Phoenix. August 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place! We will be back :) The people were wonderful!!! Calm quiet atmosphere... August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! Wonderful Staff, really friendly and helpful. Very accomodating. Easy access to main roads and freeways. Comfortable rooms with nice amenities. I would stay again on my next trip to Pheonix. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WONDERFUL. PEACEFUL. Glad I stayed and stayed over. The view of the city and sunset was amazing. August 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Air conditioner did not work, room very hot. The room was beautiful, clean. The bathtub Jacuzzi was not worth the extra $20.00, jets not working. Arrived at 3pm, room not ready although check in was at 2 pm, Room in the evening did not cool off even though the thermostat was set to 68 the room was 78 and very uncomfortable. Went to have the breakfast /brunch, the man opening up was extremely rude. We peeked in the hot food pans, everything looked rubbery. Because of the rude man and horrible looking breakfast went to McDonalds. For half the price got great service and hot fresh food. Do not recommend. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Property I really have no complaint, but I've grown so accustomed to receiving a welcome bag for being and IHG Rewards member that I was surprised to receive no water/acknowledgement. This place was clean and new and the parking was easy. Night desk clerk(s) were very helpful. They called a cab for me and didn't mind locking my stuff in the safe. August 7, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Phoenix Roadrunners Hockey Walk to Chase Field/AZ Diamondbacks Arizona Sunset Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.