• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: PHOENIX
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals only

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:114
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is free while you are checked into the hotel. In addition, we offer an exclusive Park Stay N Fly Package, allowing guests to park for up to 14 days for $15 plus tax.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:114
  • Total number of suites:20
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:84
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:30
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:114
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:AZ0473

Welcome to our Contemporary Phoenix Hotel

Come experience a memorable stay at one of the finest hotels near the Phoenix airport. The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Airport is conveniently located just minutes from Sky Harbor International Airport, Light Rail, downtown, Tempe, area businesses and Arizona State University. Our hotel provides a name you can trust when visiting Arizona, and with reasonable rates, we're definitely the place where you always "Stay
View More

Welcome to our Contemporary Phoenix Hotel

Come experience a memorable stay at one of the finest hotels near the Phoenix airport. The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Airport is conveniently located just minutes from Sky Harbor International Airport, Light Rail, downtown, Tempe, area businesses and Arizona State University. Our hotel provides a name you can trust when visiting Arizona, and with reasonable rates, we're definitely the place where you always "Stay Smart."

Ideal for professional travelers, our Phoenix hotel near Tempe is only four miles from downtown and within easy driving distance of ASU, University of Phoenix and the Phoenix Convention Center. Complimentary hotel wide high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and a 3,100-sq ft meeting room make conducting business easy.

Our Phoenix-Airport hotel is also located near attractions including Chase Field and the Phoenix Zoo. Shopping fans love being close by the Mill Avenue district, Arizona Mills Mall and Tempe Marketplace.

Unlike other hotels near the Phoenix airport, we offer an exclusive Park Stay N Fly Package, allowing guests free parking for up to 14 days. All rooms include microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. All of our guests can enjoy our complimentary airport shuttle and amenities including a hot breakfast buffet, outdoor pool and Jacuzzi.

View Less
Features
Get the most out of your stay in Phoenix! Located just 2.5 miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport, we offer complimentary 24 hour shuttle service to and from the airport, a free hot breakfast, free wireless internet, and room service from 5 to 10pm nightly.
Announcements
Located just a few miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport and Arizona State University, the Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport is the ideal place to stay while you are in town for the Arizona State
View More
Announcements
Located just a few miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport and Arizona State University, the Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport is the ideal place to stay while you are in town for the Arizona State University Graduation. We offer complimentary shuttle service to and from Sky Harbor Airport, the Phoenix Light Rail and within a 5 mile radius of the hotel.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 113 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Historical Resort Taking in Chandler at it's best the Crowne Plaza San Marcos is amazingly beautiful with a service culture above and beyond expectations. In the heart of historic Chandler the atmosphere was warm and welcoming with every associate going the extra mile to take care of every little detail during my stay. Walking about the resort property the garden and courtyard areas offered a relaxing get away with a swimming pool, upscale coffee shop, restaurants, shops, everything you need at your fingertips. My guest room had modern decor with historical flair, new flat screen tv, chic leather and modern furnishings, a balcony with table and chairs looking out to palm trees and garden courtyard. This property is a place for both business and leisure travel not to be taken for the typical restrictive "hotel" this is truly a resort with history. Food and beverage was fantastic as well which is hard to find. Walking along the rows of shops and relaxing by the pool after a long day was a huge plus. I'm bringing my family on my next trip to Chandler, definitely a resort to recommend for all. February 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Expected better I have stayed in many IHG hotels, in my 35 years of travel but the level of service I expected from a Crowne Plaza was not met during this trip. The check in was great, however, upon arrival to the room door, there were wasps around the frame. I had to get a towel from house keeping in order to get rid of the. And then enter the room. Later on, I went for some ice since there was no fridge, but the one on my floor was not working 4th floor. I tried the third floor , only to find out that that one did not work either. Checked with the front desk by phone to see which one does work and I was told someone would bring me ice. Waited 40 minutes and never saw it. So I decided to go to the pool. Checked everywhere to find that there are no towel anywhere. I had to ask housekeeping. The next day, the same thing, no towels. I just expect a little more service from a 4 star Crowne hotel. I might not book via IHG website but I still stay at many IHG that I book via travel sites. Over all, not bad. February 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by San Marcos Golf Resort The lobby appearance was lovely and the front desk staff were great. Unfortunately the air conditioner in our room did not work. We called for engineering to come to fix it and they came but did not fix it. After two nights without air, we requested a new room and it was given to us. We finally had ac. We were on the 4th floor and the ice machines on our floor and the 3rd floor were not working. We had to go to the 1st or 2nd floor to get ice. February 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful buildings and grounds Enjoyed the beauty of the resort grounds and architecture. Room keys didn't work the first couple of days we were here but staff was quick to help. Furnace was very loud, woke up us at night when it kicked on but rooms were very nice & clean. No fridge in room which we thought was odd. Elevator was down most of the stay which made for carrying things up 4 flights of stairs. Close to many restaurants, shops which was very convenient. Despite the few inconveniences we experienced, we will definitely return again in the future. February 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 还不错,除了空调有点吵 还不错,除了空调有点吵,地点是不错的,吃的也还好. 因为总提示评论字数太短,就说点差的!设施有点旧,特别是电梯. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful stay Good location, very comfortable rooms, easy walking distance to local restaurants and stores. February 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Getaway We planned a one night get away. The rooms have been remodeled since our last visit. They were very nice and comfortable. My favorite part was sitting by the fire pit at night enjoying the beautiful evening. February 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great improvements since last year!!! I usually stay at the San Marcos Golf Resort because of the proximity to local dining areas as well as reasonable access to my customers in the area. There have been ongoing improvements to the San Marcos since last year and I can say the changes I see are a very good improvement to the hotel. Updated rooms, updated fitness center, very clean pool and pool area. All of this adds up to me continuing to want to stay at this hotel. January 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by New Year's Eve We stayed for New Year's Eve. Had a great buffet dinner in the Restaurant. The room was large and very comfortable. We have a history with the San Marcos when we lived in Chandler and it was nice to be back January 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by NOT CLEAN Detail to cleanliness was very very poor, especially since it was just remodeled. There were hairs on the sheets & when the remote fell under the bed it was filthy. The toilet had stains around the toilet (urine?),they remodeled but left the old stained tub in place. The tub did not drain and the plastic non-slip mat was peeling up. The towels on the shelf below the sink were dusty and had someones hair on it. Every towel had a stain on it. The vent in the ceiling was filthy & covered with dust. The area between the nitestand & bed was dirty and needed vacuuming. Nice room but just dirty. Was quoted $8/day resort charge by the front desk and on the last day they slipped a receipt for the stay under the door & charged $10/day. The front desk removed the resort charges when we told them about our room and the overcharge. The restaurant was filthy too. Sticky frayed placemats, again, needed vacuuming, and the windows and doors to the patio area were covered in handprints. 2days later, the windows were still dirty. Just an icky place with great potential. I blame the management & staff. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping director focused and effecient I spent two nights at the newly remodeled San Marcos Crowne Plaza in Chandler and had a great experience. My room was in tip-top shape and I really appreciated not getting needled with a lot of sometimes tricky extra expenses. On my way home I realized that I had left 2 items in the room. When I called and left a message for the housekeeper, I was called back right away and told that the items would be mailed within a day or two. The front desk clerks were also extremely professional and knowledgeable. The new remodel looks fantastic. January 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Rundown property with poor shuttle service I stayed at the San Marcos as part of a wedding block solely because they offered a shuttle to the wedding venue. I was disappointed in our overall stay – the hotel rooms were rundown, the layout was very confusing, and I typically don't stay at hotels where the door opens to the outside, so I wouldn't have stayed here if I knew that's how this hotel was set up. The shuttle experience was disappointing. The shuttle to the wedding left 10 minutes later than the front desk agent told us it would. The driver didn't know where the venue was and when he started texting the front desk agent while driving, I pulled up the address on my phone and gave him directions. On our way, the driver played a radio station featuring a comedian who made fun of several ethnic groups and homosexuals. Once we arrived, the driver ran over a curb. The return trip was much nicer, as the driver knew his way around and he was friendly. January 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas stay Room was newly refurbished, clean and comfortable. View from balcony was not great, but street traffic was non existent. A little cool for pool, but area looked great. January 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The only concern was the bedding. It was too institutionalized/commercial feeling. Not soft or homely reminder. Also, when are you going to put a fridge and microwave?? December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Only one problem Our experience was wonderful except who ever was sleeping in room 170 on December 24 and 25, 2013 snored so loudly that it kept both my husband and I awake! Seriously loud and you could hear them through the outside door. We should have asked to be moved. December 29, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Experience Bathroom sink clogged up immediately, loudest stay I've ever had with people constantly banging doors and shouting throughout the stay. Took 30 min's to check in. Room service didn't verbally tell me gratuity was already included. Room smelled like a heavy dose of rubbing alcohol. December 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by San Marcos Golf Resort The overall outward appearance of the Hotel is nice. However, the staff are less than motivated. The restaurant has very poor service. In addition, there was no hot water when taking a shower. I stayed two days and both times took cold showers. And finally, the toilet was stopped up. I called maintenance and they came and supposedly took care of the problem. It was still stopped up and we were unable to flush the toilet the remainder of the time. December 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Honeymoon-small king suite This is a very nice resort...after all these years. Everything was great, we had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in the room. The king bed was very comfortable and tons of pillows! The only thing that detracted from our stay was the tub drain. We had to take quick showers so the water did not rise too much. Also, the coffee was not very good. But the room was updated nicely, had a great HDTV, and a lot of room. I did inform the front desk and they did make me happy! Great customer service! I would come back or recommend this hotel again. December 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable place but cold!!! The room would not heat up at all. Set thermostat at 775 but room would not get above 68. That is my only complaint so tell your maintenance to fix thermostat in room 116!!! December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A few issues, but staff made it right I stayed 2 nights for business and was really impressed by this beautiful place. Overall it was awesome, but... -The drain in the shower was terribly slow -The closet door was off its rail -The heating system was really loud I notified staff of the 3 issues above and they responded beautifully: immediately apologized, offered a free breakfast, said there wasn't much they could do about the heating system, and the next time I was in my room the first two issues were fixed. Great job. December 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 2 problems with room Upon arrival, the chair in the vanity area of my room was horrible. There was a considerable amount of long, dark hair stuck in the creases of the seat back. A large amount of paint had been spilled on the back of the chair, dripping down the entire seat back. It's inconceivable to me that no one noticed this chair during housekeeping. It was so disgusting, I took a picture. I called the front desk, and someone came with a different chair, but I didn't feel clean in that room the rest of my stay. Two days later, toilet wouldn't flush. Plumber was sent to our room to fix, which he did, but he left such a mess around the toilet (debris inside, dirty hand prints everywhere)...it was pretty gross. December 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by New rooms, Great Staff Check in was easy, very nice personable young man helped us. Got to room, it was modern, clean and comfortable. During the night it got pretty cold, the thermostat didn't work. Next day went to front desk and informed them of the situation, they had a gentleman there to repair it within 15 minutes. (We ran into another couple with the same issue) turned out to be the batteries in the thermostat. Couldn't get an internet signal in the room, so I bellied up to the bar in the lobby and had great signal and drink. All-in-All it was nice. December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay and a lot of history! We didn't know what we were getting into when we booked the room. It was just close to were we needed to go and the web sight looked good. What a nice surprise and all that history. November 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needed early check in I needed to have an early checkin and called ahead. Told Operator would need to cancel unless could ensure early checkin. 90 percent sure no problem. 4 hour later had to take a different room so we can change and be at event, staff was rude and told hotel executives and VIP had not checked out. November 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by could use some extra attention The room was just remodeled so it was nice however, the "little things," could have been improved. No trash bags in the trash cans, there was broken glass in the closet, the ice machines and elevators weren't working. We ordered room service and the restaurant was so busy it took 2 hours to finally get our food #which was cold#. The staff was very friendly and you could tell they were working very hard. They needed more staff! November 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Comfort !! My Family and i, stayed at this amazing place for 3 nights, and the room smells like new, everything Was shiny and clean. Golf was excellent !! The área at chandler downtown is just great. Front desk guys were very friendly. Simply put: what a great time we had, súper comfortable beds !!! Súper clean bathroom, huge Space inside the room, nice big Tv, great Service from check in to check out. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and amenities We recently (November 2013) stayed there to celebrate the wedding of our daughter. The wedding, reception and associated activities all took place at the hotel. The entire staff could not have been more professional, accomodating and friendly. The location, grounds and facilities were excellent. November 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel but no frigid We were in town for a wedding held at the hotel. Check in was easy but we were not given any details about the hotel, i.e. restaurants, fitness center, pool or the shopping district right down the street and that the art walk was that night. Due to the layout of the hotel, the rooms are sometimes a longer walk than normal from the elevator especially with luggage. Our room looked newly remodeled and was super clean. I was not a fan of the bed but it was a good solid bed. Probably brand new. The bathroom was clean and looked freshly updated however it appeared that the final inspection has not occurred because there was still grout and sealer that needed wiped off the tiled walls, the shower was missing some grout/caulk along the wall and tub. It also appeared that the tub and sink had not been replaced just the fixtures around them. Based on other hotel stays, we have come accustomed to having fridges in our rooms and there was not one in this room. When we inquired about a fridge we were told that it would be an additional charge each night to have one placed in the room. This was difficult for me to understand due to the fact that we were at an upper scale hotel, golf resort and the best western that we just stayed at for a lot less money had fridges standard in all the rooms. The banquet staff at the wedding was superb, they worked the wedding Saturday night and then were back the next morning for brunch. Great ladies and great service. November 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing in a room No coffee machine, no dryer, no hanger, no shower curtain, no tissue... Nothing. I suspect I was assigned to a room which is under renovation process. November 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Check in There were problems with check in with room not being ready, but staff was wonderful and did a great job of getting the problem solved. November 13, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn Express ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Availability
Loading