• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PITTSBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

ADA and Service Dogs Only. Assessed fee of 250.00. Proper Documentation Required. Pet Signage available at front desk

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Duquesne University
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Station Square
Distance From Hotel:0.4MI
Attraction:
Downtown Pittsburgh
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Consel Energy Center
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • One vehicle per room allotted. Well lit parking lot . Patrolled nightly. Parking Fee: $14.00 including tax. Wheelchair Accessible Parking limited. Unauthorize vehicles will be towed. Parking plaque given at check in.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 14.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:125
  • Total number of suites:125
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:90
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:35
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:125
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6
  • FEMA Property Number:PA895

Our Pittsburgh Hotel's Location Pleases Guests!

The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Pittsburgh - South Side Hotel is nestled in the beautiful historic district, home to fabulous dining, great shopping and fantastic live entertainment. Our excellent location also places you near several of the city's major businesses. As one of the leading hotels in Pittsburgh, PA, our modern facilities boast one-meeting room. Business travelers also appreciate the convenience of our on-site business center, snack
View More

Our Pittsburgh Hotel's Location Pleases Guests!

The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Pittsburgh - South Side Hotel is nestled in the beautiful historic district, home to fabulous dining, great shopping and fantastic live entertainment. Our excellent location also places you near several of the city's major businesses. As one of the leading hotels in Pittsburgh, PA, our modern facilities boast one-meeting room. Business travelers also appreciate the convenience of our on-site business center, snack market, and our great location, which is near businesses like U.S.Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, FBI. Duquesne University also, calls Pittsburgh home. Guests enjoy the variety of attractions surrounding our hotel. Spend the morning shopping on Carson Street, Southside Works,or Station Square. Catch a great game at Heinz Field, Consol Energy Center or PNC Park, home of the Steelers, Penguins and Pirates, respectively. Rivers Casino is just minutes away and promises a great night of gaming and dining. Families enjoy traveling on Duquesne & Monongahea Inclines, which boasts unparalleled views of the city. We are proud to provide free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout our hotel's accommodations. While in Pittsburgh, PA, you can also use our complimentary shuttle to travel around the area. Be sure to visit our indoor pool or on-site fitness center. Book your stay today!
View Less
Features
We offer complimentary shuttle service to Rivers Casino. Please enjoy our complimentary shuttle to Pirates, Penguins and Steeler games (drop off locations & restricted 3 mile radius). Our indoor swimming pool open from 9 AM to 10 PM. We are conveniently located only 2 blocks from the Bourbon St. of Pittsburgh! (known as Carson Street)

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 229 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by key cards and door lock The banquet was excellent, really good food. The young lady at the reception desk did not make a good impression on several people. I received key cards which would not open the door but the front desk staff were gracious enough to send a young man up to the 8th floor with key cards that did work. It was very difficult to use the dead bolt to lock the door at night and the repairman called did not fix it. He commented the door needed adjusted but it was never done during my stay. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Value women customers I was very impressed that they had a high quality magniifying makeup mirror in the bathroom. A pet peeve of mine is that most hotels ignore that this is very important to their female clients. We were in Pittsburgh for a family celebration and were very happy with the hotel service. One thing absent that would have made our weekend better would have been a continental breakfast on the room service menu. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel Hotel is a little older, but it has all the comforts. Staff is very helpful. Nice location. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Overall Experience Everything was splendid. All the staff were extremely friendly. October 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Overall I enjoyed it here. The room was clean. I have no complaints other than the cost, although in fairness, it wasn't more expensive than comparable hotels. I plan to stay here again. October 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The bed was great and room was nice We had our 60th High School Class Reunion on Friday and Sat. both nites turned out great!! Everyone was friendly and very helpful!! I dealt with Rose and Kelly for the dinners and they went out of their way to help me!! All the waitress where friendly and served us fast and where very good!! All in all everything was perfect!! Thank you !! I was born and raised in Bethel and it was great to be back home!! I now live in Maryland!! Love my Steelers but they aren't doing to good but the Pirates are so I bought a pirate t shirt!! Go Buc's !! October 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My Stay at Crown Overall everything was good except for handicap parking. Need more spaces October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay I enjoyed the stay a great deal. Cheryl in the restaurant was wonderful. September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay upon check in the evening staff was very professional... upon entering my room to my surprise was a working FIREPLACE, (which i used of course :-) ) the breakfast buffet had everything and plenty of it.. at night after work the bar was also very nice with good conversation from the barkeep the only negative thing was the location from the PIT airport (long & curvy drive) all n all though I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel September 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding Parties Run Rampant! Stayed here recently for a convention of horror movie fans. Several wedding parties were booked the same weekend. Members of the wedding party were permitted to run amok in the hallways until the wee hours of the morning, yelling and screaming, banging on doors. Management was notified and did nothing. NOTHING. Worst hotel experience I've ever had, and I've stayed in some real dumps. Like staying in a frat house! Will never stay here again, and will STRONGLY recommend to my friends that run the movie convention that they seek another venue for future events. September 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room was dirty Hotel was nice, beds nice, but room was not clean at all. Food on floor between beds and our baby's feet turned black on the bottoms where he walked. Could use a good cleaning all around. September 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Inaccurate Information and Noisy! Our previous stay had been nice so we were very disappointed when this visit went so wrong. The day before our arrival I called the front desk to confirm a late arrival and asked to have a cot placed into our room for a 5th person. Since they had a cot available I cancelled our second room. When we arrived we were informed that we could not have a cot due to fire code. So we had to get a second room on a different floor from our group. They apologized for the mis-information but it soured our first impression since we were no longer on the same floor as our family. (And they placed us right across from the elevator.) The second night of our stay we were awakened at 1:45am by other guests standing outside of our door talking, laughing and drinking. They proceeded to leave and return 3 times over the next hour trying to get into a room nearby yelling for the people to answer the door. Terrible night of sleep! September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff! Manager, Lisa, and bartender, Natalie, provided fantastic customer service and made our stay most enjoyable. Kudos to both of them! September 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff This was my third stay at this location and every time i am in Pittsburgh I stay here. This is a community with friendly service and attention to the needs of the guests. Thanks for making my stay here extra memorable. September 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience We attended a wedding at the Crowne Plaza South and we had a great experience. The food at the wedding was amazing and the beds were comfortable. The only thing I did not like about the hotel is how they charged my credit card. Most hotels charge you the amount of the room and then charges additional for damages, if any... not the Crowne Plaza. They pend your account for the amount of the room and an extra $50 for damages (If there are any) Once the charge cleared in my account, the $50 was taken off. While it the charge was pending though, I checked my account balance via online banking and panic because I thought they over charged me. I called the hotel and asked why this amount was pending and he said they get these phone calls all the time and the $50 would not be charged to my account. To me, if you these type of phone calls happen frequently, find another solution to fix this complaint from customers. September 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, but noisy I had an adjoining door room - I could hear everything from the neighbors. Were multiple weddings the weekend i was there. Apparently the reception continued in the room above me on the 6th floor until very late in the evening. September 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Some problems, but overall okay Our rooms overlooked the patio, Tiki bar, and pool. Saturday night the bar was open until 2:00 am and a wedding group decided to party very loudly until 2:00 am. When I called the front desk, they basically said there was nothing they could do. We were not able to sleep until 2:00 am, and had to get up for a funeral at 7:00 am. When I spoke to the manager, they comped a night, but they comped the cheapest night, not the one they should have. The restaurant, Pjs, was not good...got orders wrong and took forever. They did give me my meal free, since it was wrong. One of our rooms had a broken iron, that leaked water. We had to tell 3 people before they replaced it. So, all were willing to make good on issues, but I'd have rather not had issues. September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay What made my trip was the wonderful staff that were so accomidating and thoughtful. The room was comfortable and the atmosphere quite so we could have a restful night after a trying day of traveling September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay I was in town for a wedding so I literally was there to sleep. The room we had was spacious and clean. I would stay here again even though my recent stay was brief and I saw very little. September 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overpriced for Condition I thought the room was over priced for the amenities that were not available. The room overall was not well kept, the corners of the room were filthy and the wall paper was torn. The carpets were soiled. Overall I would not recommend this Crowne Plaza. I believe some money needs to be invested to charge the rates I paid. On the positive side the staff was excellent. Give them a little more to work with. September 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by So-So Average facilities slightly overpriced, no refrigerator or microwave in room, breakfast service when asked was limited to one price option only for a full sized breakfast, and I had not the time nor the appetite for a full breakfast. Why didn't I hear about any other choice? Generally friendly staff when approached but seemed surprised when I made a request of housekeeping, like nobody had ever before asked housekeeping to do anything outside their normal routine. August 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pool party The hotel had an excellent pool bar that we used extensively as we were part of a wedding party. The rooms are smaller than expected. Also, I did not receive priority club points for my staff yet.? August 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average for Pitt The bed was not too comfortable, it hurt our backs. A bit too worn and lacked support. The room quality as average materials of a lower end property, also due to wear. Needs some TLC. Staff was friendly and cannot complain about the reasonable price we received online. August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing great The comforter had stains on it when we got to our room. Only 1/4 roll of toilet paper. The dryer on the 4th floor wasn't working. Had to lug wet laundry to other dryer. Pool area was clean. Food for the breakfast buffet ok. August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Hotel Worth Starying At Just to let everyone know, this hotel is an excellent place to stay. Its location is accessible to many different venues and easy to get to . The Staff and Service was very friendly and Helpful and the restaurant in the hotel was very good. The only request I have is that a small Sundry Shop should also be on the premises for its guests. This was my third or fourth trip to Pittsburgh and this is my "Home Away From Home." Keep Up The Excellent Work!!!!!! August 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by glad we chose this hotel! Not only did we have scores of family & friends stay here for our son's wedding weekend, but we hosted the rehearsal dinner here, as well; excellent food, service and accomodations- glad we were here! Every question we had was answered quickly and professionally, the planning was easy and we loved working with all the staff- thanks so much for adding to the celebration of such an important event! August 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy pool area As a whole, this is a very nice hotel. The staff are very nice. I stayed in the King Corner Room. Extremely nice. My only issue was that my room was overlooking the pool and outdoor bar. I needed to get up early to catch a flight out of Pittsburgh, and the bar was open and very noisy until 2 in the morning. My suggestion is if you need to sleep, make sure you ask for a room that does not overlook the pool area. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and wonderful accommodations What a surprise to find such a great hotel not featured on any searches for Pittsburgh area hotels. It is beautiful inside and out .The parking area was large and well lighted . The two elevators were fast and smooth. The room was large and comfortable, with a newspaper at the door in the morning. I enjoyed the superior picture on the wide screen TV and its location in the room. The room was also very clean and the staff was great. I left my shaving kit in the bathroom and the staff took it to the lost and found, then returned it to me , when I confirmed my address in Virginia. South Hills is a wonderful part of Pittsburgh to stay. August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff We are native Pittsburghers who returned to play tourist for a few days. The hotel was very nice but we were particularly impressed by the helpfulness and overall friendliness of the staff and restaurant personnel. From giving directions and advice about traffic to holding the elevator door open when one of the staff heard us leaving our room to just saying hello and asking how our day went. We felt very welcome. Of course being from Pittsburgh we know how naturally friendly the people are but hotel staff can sometimes forget that. Your staff did not and we greatly appreciated the attention. August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This was a very comfortable stay! We got great service from the time we walked into the doors. Great place to stay close to shops/stores. The breakfast was delicious. August 16, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express South Side!
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express South Side!
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express South Side! Front Desk Reception Seating Area Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Piitsburgh/Southside Relax in our all new Media Center! Reception Seating Area Gather around the fireplace in our inviting lobby! Pittsburgh's famous Carson Street. Pittsburgh city view from the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Heinz Field on the River Welcome to Pittsburgh! Entrance at Night Main Entrance Holiday Inn Express South Side Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading