Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 86 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bed is nice The bed is comfortable. There are no screens on the windows so we had to kill a few bugs including a spider. The carpet could use an updating. The noise from the highway was loud even after I closed the window and killed the bugs. If you want a good night sleep I don't recommend staying here. The pool was cloudy and very small. Not many attractions besides a bar next door for walking distance. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience! From the moment we walked in at 10 PM we were welcomed. The gal on staff when we left was even willing to get us something to eat at 5 AM in the morning when we left!!! What a wonderful few hours all the way around after an exhausting day! October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing weekend getaway We spent a weekend night and explored the area parks and walking trails. The motel was very clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and it was very quiet. We enjoyed our stay and will come back again. We also love that we can bring our pets. We highly recommend this motel! September 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My experience overnight. I arrived later than expected and was quickly assigned my room. The accomadations were perfect for sleeping and I slept well. I was a little disappointed at the breakfast served the next morning. I was eager to start my day of driving another 10 hours until I could reach my next location in Kansas City, KS. I arrived promptly at 6:30 AM and witnessed the breakfast staff of one trying to set up a beautiful food display. Everything was not prepared for the early arrivals and most of the food was not even luke warm. The danish rolls tasted like they were several weeks old and not even heated up properly. The bacon was served very greasy which did not present itself very appealing. I ended up only eating a small portion and stopped later for breakfast that was much more appealing and less greasy. I would stay here again; however, I would think twice before I went to the express breakfast bar. I would suggest that more thought going into a better presentation which appeal to the early risers. Being a Platinum Ambassador does have its perks; however, in this case I felt cheated on the FREE breakfast concept. September 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Right off the highway We had a pleasant night. Cookies and popcorn are always a very nice treat in the evening. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Would stay here again if we are in the area. Breakfast was nice with many choices. September 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel, good location convienent location near turnpike exit an several restaurants August 27, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good experience The Elev., did not work... Trouble with the TV... The A/C did not work well. The coffee was not good. We have been Priority Club Members for a number of years, but do not plan on staying at this Holiday Inn Express again. The next time we will go to another motel or go to the next town. We drive by Portage, IN once or sometimes twice each summer and this is a good stopping area for our travel schedule. ooooooooooooo13 August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay here again The staff were very friendly, and there were plenty of them if we needed anything. I rated the staff and service a 5. The room was clean and comfortable, the only issue was the toilet seat and the bathroom tile were loose. so a 4 for the room. The breakfast was excellent and the lady's working in the breakfast area were magnificent. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Feels like home Wonderfull staff at the counter and at breakfest. A smile goos a long way. August 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel, good location nice hotel, good location, nice hotel, good location August 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst experience ever! Upon registration no welcome gift as is the norm for Rewards Club Members. I am a platnium member. Then I am told the elevator does not work and they put me on the third floor. I walk into the room and the carpet has stains. After coming back from dinner I turned on the tv to watch a show I watch every week and the channel does not work. I call the front desk and they tell me to turn off the tv for a couple of minutes and trun it back on. I do this a couple of times with no success. I call the front desk and I am told they have been having this problem all day and there is nothing they can do. Sometimes it works and somtimes not. I ask for another room ans they tell me they have a full house and no rooms are available. Then I go to close the curtains and there are multiple stains on the curtains. Needless to say I will never stay at this location again. I stay at Holiday inns and Holiday Inn Express because of the predictable quality which was totally missing at this location. August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you. Thank you for adding more fun to our family reunion. We all enjoyed our stay and are already thinking about next year. August 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight stay The front desk attendant was very welcoming and warm. Tory apologized that the only room available was recently treated duet a previously guest excessive smoking. The room carpet and drapes should be replaced with all new material. The walls should b wash as well. The smell was overbearing. No amount of freshener could take away the awful odor in room 331. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and empowered staff Every staff member encountered smiled, spoke, and asked if we needed anything. Everything was clean and servicable. The breakfast was amazing. When we visit the area again, we will stay here again! It was one of the best stays we have had in forty years of travel. And allowing pets was the icing on the cake. Thank you for a wonderful visit. August 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Portage Holiday Inn I always like staying in this hotel as it is handy for all the high ways. Close to shops and restaurants. Staff are very friendly and it is a quiet area. I also like having Marko's Bar close by. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall, one of the best HIX's - with one little caveat.... I'm a Platinum IHG Club member and Holiday Inn Express is usually our first choice on quick family getaway weekends. We picked this property to stay at for a couple of nights as we came to visit the Indiana Dunes. I was a little concerned because this hotel's overall review-rating here on the website is just under 4 as I write this, but my concerns started to drift away when I received a phone call on the morning of my arrival letting me know they were expecting me and asking if I had any special requests (which I didn't#. A lot of upscale hotels don't go to that much trouble and it's a nice touch. Right away you get the idea that the staff will display Hoosier Hospitality - and make an effort to help you with any issue or concern. When I arrived I was greeted quickly and my check-in was friendly and efficient. The room was just fine - no complaints at all. HIX isn't a luxury chain #but you probably already know that# but the room was very clean, comfortable, quiet working temp control, a nice TV, and a fridge and microwave. The bathroom was very clean and in perfect working condition. What more could you hope for? The kids got to swim for a bit in the pool. It's the #what seems to be# standard configuaration for HIX. Smallish indoor pool, no hot tub - but clean and kept stocked with towels for the swimmers and few chairs and tables for non-swimming parents. And cleaned overnight and ready to go the next morning. Breakfast time was a real pleasure - again, you can't expect haute cuisine, but the menu was very predictable and very well prepared and attended by Miss Mary, Laura and Tracy. #Thank you very much ladies!# They worked very hard keeping the #smallish) lobby clean and the breakfast area stocked with fresh items. With a good breakfast crowd they were very busy - but they still made time to be friendly and check on each guest to see if they could do anything else for them. This is really above and beyond what you might expect from a "budget" hotel but it was very much appreciated. So what's the only caveat? A minor one really. If you're out in this part of the country you should visit the Indiana Dunes, see a few historical sites, continue your search for the world's largest ball of string - and stay at this hotel which may have the worlds smallest, slowest elevator! Just kidding. It wasn't a huge inconvenience but the thought did cross my mind that if they'd just raise the room rate by $1/night they could probably upgrade that elevator in a year or so. Oh well, it's part of the hotel's laid-back charm I guess. I highly recommend this property. As you can tell, I had to really stretch it to find anything wrong at all. We were happy with the room and the amenities and as noted by several other reviewers, the staff at this hotel really are top notch - very very personable and friendly. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff I was amazed at how thoughtful & pleasant your front desk staff was. First of all, they called me the morning before I arrived just to ask if I would need anything when I arrived. I have never had a hotel call me to ask that. On arrival we asked if we could order dinner to be delivered and if we could eat in breakfast area. There were 8 of us. They generous have us milk for little ones & made sure we had dishes & utensils. All above & beyond. Great staff. Thank you! August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Although this hotel is a little outdated it was clean. My compliments to the staff. They always had a smile on their face and answered our questions on the best places to go and see. My only complaint is the early morning train whistle. July 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dated buliding. Excellent Staff Rooms are dated. Booked room for 2 adults and 4 kids. The sofa bed was not big enough for two kids. Bathroom sink was clogged and drained very slow, making it disgusting at times. Small pool. Paid about 180 dollars. Not worth the price. Best part was that all the staff were very nice and welcoming. Did not experience this kind of hospitality for quite some time. July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome staff Probably the best hotel staff we have ever experienced. We travel alot and appreciate great comfort. We will deffinately be returning to this hotel. Too bad all of Holiday Inns around the country are not the same as this. Thank you for the exceptional stay. July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed my home away from home The weekend I stayed was booked solid with three (3) baseball teams. Even though I'm sure it could be hectic at times for the staff, you could not tell it. I found the staff to be knowledgable, friendly and attentive. I usually stay at the Portage Holiday Inn Express when I am in the Northwest Indiana area, and will continue to do so in the future. July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service The front desk was just helpful and give great direction. Thanks you Michole & Ashley July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay for a sports team We traveled to Portage for the Ohio Valley Babe Ruth Regional Baseball Tournament as an entire team. When we checked into our room, we were greeted with a snack gift bag, personalized welcome letter, and 2 Gatorades cooling in the refrigerator. It was a nice unexpected touch after traveling with two 17 year old boys who are always ready to eat. The front desk staff rooted for the team as we left for each game and applauded us or offered sympathy when we came back not so victorious. It was if we had our own cheer squad at our home away from home. The staff was extremely friendly and recognized the team in or out of uniform. When one of our pitchers needed to ice his arm before the next day's game, they provided the ice, bag, and even wrapped his arm for him. They were amazing. Upper management was always present with a smile and a friendly greeting. We immediately felt that if we needed anything for any reason, they would be there to help us out. This was a great stay and we would highly recommend anyone to bring their team or family. Thank you very much from the Madison County Elite! July 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by My Stay The staff was very friendly and made me feel part of the team, While the water pressure was low in the shower. The room as a whole is a great value and very comfortable sleeeping. It would be nice to see the Military rate dropped more, As i will be in the market here atleast montly, and i do travel and it is nice to have a select Hotel and not have to stay in so many different brands. July 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dark and dank While the front desk staff was friendly on check in and check out, my room itself was dark and felt cramped, and had an odor as if someone had been smoking in it. Not a place I'd want to stay again. July 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by July 4th holiday trip Although this hotel could use a little more cleaning, and the breakfast was nearly out when we arrived (near the end of the time period), the best feature was the service from the front desk staff. We checked in on July 4 and the two ladies working were terrific. We had our dog, and they were very pet friendly. They also brought out glow sticks for the kids to celebrate the fireworks which could be seen from the front entrance. We had a cook out in the back, and they came to check on us. Thanks for making our holiday enjoyable! July 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by From a rare foreigner :-) I am French and working worldwide for a big steel company. I stay many times in this hotel. This is a correct hotel with a good price. The staff is very efficient, the room is clean and close to the main highways. June 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not for Non Smokers Our "non-smoking" room and entire hotel smelled of cigarette smoke.. Amenities and breakfast were good, and location was convenient. June 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mediocre hotel stay For the price we paid I expected a better experience. Disappointed to find the room smelled of smoke, after signing a statement that we would be charged a fee if we smoked in the room. We are not smokers and it was insulting to sign a statement and THEN enter a stale-smoke scented room. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, but it was not in great shape. Not that the hotel can control this, but I was awakened multiple times at night because of a passing train whistle. It was not too far from the Indiana Dunes which was our destination. Although the hotel staff, when asked for directions, could only provide the directions posted on the Indiana Dunes site itself, which we already had. I was expecting personalized directions from the staff, from the hotel to the dunes. June 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value This is not a fancy hotel but is a good value for the price. The staff was pleasant, the room was clean, and it was easily accessible from the turnpike. June 7, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>