Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 371 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, but could use a good cleaning. Location in Gunwharf Quays is convenient to restaurants. However, the hotel could use a good cleaning. Perhaps my standards are too high, but I am not accustomed to mold in the shower and stairs that are never swept. If Internet use is desired, plan to stay in the bar, because the router is located on the ground floor and does not reach to the top floor. November 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in great location The hotel is very centrally placed close to Portsmouth attractions. Rooms are fine, and staff are very helpful. November 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great location As a family of 5 visiting the hotel, we found the room to be roomy enough for us, so without the children I guess the rooms would be very spacey. They are clean and tidy with a bright, clean bathroom - love the idea of being able to close just the toilet off. There was plenty of choice for breakfast although we did miss the bacon! All the staff were very friendly and helpful, willing to help with any questions or queries regarding the hotel and local area. The location was fantastic for us right in the shopping complex with plenty of things to do. November 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Visit Excellent position for visiting the attractions at Portsmouth Historic Dockyard but it would have been useful if we had been advised that there would be huge queues to get into the Gunwharf Carpark early on a Saturday afternoon. This cut down on the time we expected to have to enjoy the sights on the first afternoon. Once in the Hotel, the staff were very welcoming and friendly. At breakfast, Katy was particularly helpful and friendly to my four Grandchildren. I would not encourage families to stay on a Saturday night - noisy from the partying and the Trains. Sunday night was much more peaceful. Reception is on the First floor but it would be good if there could be a member of staff in the ground floor lobby to look after luggage while driver parks/retrieves car. November 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Dissapointing We stayed here while visiting my son, we traveled from North Wales. The car park is a bit of a hassle getting to and from the hotel because you have to walk through the shopping center with all of your luggage but the cost was brilliant. First 24 hours are free and each day after that only £2. We found the room to be just average but the sink in the bathroom still had shaving hairs in it and the carpet had a huge water stain on it just outside the bathroom. The breakfast was one of the best we have experienced in any of the hotels we have stayed in and the location is brilliant. The reception staff did explain that the carpets are being replaced throughout the hotel early 2015 but we thought the cost should have reflected this. November 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good room, breakfast was a little sparse One night in Gunwharf for business: I've stayed in a fair few hotels recently, and the room was great value, staff were freindly and efficient and the free internet for Members is a nice touch. Only negatives were the noise at night, which was kind of my own fault for having the window open, and the selctions at breakfast. Hot food was limited to sausages, scrabbled eggs and baked beans. No bacon, hash-browns, mushrooms or anything else that I've had in the same hotel previously. Cold breakfast range was usual fare. November 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay, good location Excellent service and comfortable stay overall. Had interconnecting rooms so very good for the family and had a great nights sleep. November 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Breakfast The location of the hotel couldn't be better BUT... We had reserved a triple room but when we arrived the third bed wasn't made and there were no extra towels. We requested an extra pillow which took 3 calls to reception and 2 hours before it arrived. The breakfast should not be advertised as included. We stayed 4 days and every day there was only toast, cereal, beans or powdered scrambled egg, and the whole breakfast experience was unpleasant. On the 4 day we gave up and went to Bar 38 next door which did 2 breakfasts for £11, which was a full English and a much more relaxed and pleasant experience. I would stay again but just not go down for breakfast November 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Small Family room We booked a two night stay over the October Half-term to visit the Historic Dockyard. The location of the hotel was fantastic and the staff that greeted us on reception were friendly. However, the pull out bed for our 2 kids aged 6 & 9 looked more like a single bed, it was also hard and uncomfortable. The double bed was better but slumped on both sides. The carpet in the room was very stained in several places and the bathroom looked old and tired with a patch of dark staining behind the door. The room was hot and so we were not able to sleep without the air-con on which was incredibly noisy and didn't help the already poor sleep. If you are just staying 1 night as a family of 4 it is bearable but not any longer. Even our kids couldn't wait to leave and said they would not want to stay there again. November 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great situated a very short walk from shops and amenities Very friendly and helpful staff. Parking fees excellent free first 24hr then £2 thereafter. Rooms were basic but comfortable I did think the corridor carpets could do with a clean and shampoo did not smell very fresh and the net curtains in the room could do with a wash. Breakfast was a disappointment water for tea was not hot, good selection of pastries , cereal and fruit but the cooked breakfast consisting of only beans scrambled egg and sausages was very poor. Also I thought it was excellent that with our key card we got certain discounts off restaurants in gun warf which are great savings. Overall a good place to stay for a short visit November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by we enjoyed it Ihad three rooms all where great thank you. iwill be back hopfuly next year for the same to see the fireworks November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything at hand My sister and I stayed for 2 nights. This is a great base to enjoy all Gunwharf has to offer. The hotel was clean and comfy, all the staff were very nice and helpful and the continental breakfast was very good. We would definitely stay here again. November 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Smoking! We arrived at aprox 6 30 pm , after having a breakdown with our car , tired and weary, only to find our allocated room stunk of cigarette smoke ! A notice had been put on the side reminding guest not to smoke, but nothing done about the smell etc - also the toilet did not flush , we had to take ourselves and our luggage! Down to reception to ask for another room, the staff were apologetic , but i wonder who cleaned the room before our stay and did not notice the smell enough to do anything about it. Also noticed the carpet was badly stained Also noticed the second lift is STILL out of order!! Have stayed at this hotel several times , but may look elsewhere next time November 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really really Quiet room A really modern Hotel in an amazing position for everything you need to do in Portsmouth. November 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by central location Generally good hotel but the breakfast is rather chaotic with guests moving in all directions within a fairly small area. There was scrambled egg aplenty but no other choices of egg. The sausages were not too good and there was no bacon. Staff generally very friendly. November 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor breakfast Very poor breakfast. Poor choice and very poor quality November 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great place to stay Was at the centre of the shopping and dockyard in old Portsmouth. The views were great and the breakfast area was clean and tidy. Pitty the front of the hotel does not open out on to the shop area as you have to walk around the back to entre the hotel. October 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for a Short Break The greatest asset of this clean comfortable hotel is it's friendly and helpful staff. At check in we were asked about room preference and advised of the quieter end of the hotel. Being right in the middle of Gunwharf Quays I wasn't expecting it be perfectly quiet and it wasn't. But I am a light sleeper and had two good nights sleep. My wife and I both enjoyed our stay. October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home from Home always a warm welcome Visit Gunwharf Frequently and always choose to stay here, even though there are cheaper options near by, staff are lovely, breakfast is great, although would prefer it if it was served until 10.30 everyday, Great relaxing atmosphere in public rooms and in guest room, October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and great service The room was very clean, we liked the toilet layout. Our two boys 12/15 slept well on the sofa bed. Ideal location for a weekend October 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed. Beds very comfortable but heating/air conditioning not very good as it would not turn off altogether. October 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Super location; family room is a squeeze Family of 4 stayed for a couple of nights over half term. The location is great. We parked the car easily, paying £2 per day and did not have to move it again until we left. Check in was quick and easy and we were given discounts for restaurants which was very useful. Breakfast was basic but plentiful. Shame the rooms are so small, with the sofa bed out for the children there was no space to move. The sofa bed was very uncomfortable and poor quality which meant the children were uncomfortable. Room was spotless and the staff great. October 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by The prices go up - the rooms get tattier! Third time staying here and the prices have increased and the quality has decreased.The right side elevator wasn't working on my April visit -nor on this visit. I hope it has been working at some point in between. Long waits. Prices have increased considerably and my room was on the wrong side of worn - cracked sink - light bulb out and not replaced during my 5 night stay. Carpet more than a little stained and the sofa bed needed a new cover. Bathroom was clean but age showing - ie dirty corners . Towels were worn thin. Your cleaning staff do a good job but it is hard to maintain sparkle with very worn fittings. You have the location - now you need to get back to what you once were - a bit of re-investment required. Breakfast - very much hit or miss on what is available. Noisy in the corridor Thursday and Friday night. October 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly, helpful staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel, so convenient for shops and nightlife and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. October 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal location Very friendly welcoming staff. Natasha was very helpful and proactive. Clean room, comfortable surroundings October 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel even better staff The staff at most Holiday inn, and express are good, but the staff at this one where great, helpful, efficient, and most of all had a smile on their face and a cheer hello when every they saw you, which is nice when you are arriving after a hard journey. October 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and hotel in great spot This is our second stay at the hotel, both times the stay has been really good. We are really happy with the position of the hotel to all the local shops, places to eat and nightlife. Although when in the hotel you can't hear any of the noise from outside, which makes for a great nights sleep. The reception staff where really helpful, we will be going back October 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by big improvement from 2 years ago Big improvement from the last time we stayed 2 years ago, especially the staff and also cleanliness, plus FREE Wifi!! My only gripe is pillows too hard for me (I forgot my own), bouncy bed and the towels in my opinion are too small. I think we were in a 'family' room the sofa bed isn't really suitable for sitting on to read a magazine & relax but we just flopped out on the bed. The reception staff are fabulous and even found me an ipad charger as I had forgotten mine, helped me out big time. They were friendly and interested plus motivated. I haven't given the hotel 5 stars as I think it is very good but a few tweaks would bring it up, corridor carpets pretty tatty, lift incredibly slow & only 1 working, breakfast huge difference from last time but a little jug for milk for your tea/coffee, somewhere to dispose of your tea bag and perhaps rethink the layout..(it's slightly complicated the 1st time you go to it). I had allbran, yoghurt & fresh fruit, my husband had hot which he said was OK but not very much & not much choice as there were some bigger faster people the same morning... All in all we will continue to stay, I just need to remember my own pillow to sleep better! I do think if there hadn't been free wifi we wouldn't have returned so it is a very good move getting it installed. October 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very uncomfortable bed Although the location was superb and clearly reflected in the price the room price for 1 night was very high for what I would class as a 'Budget' hotel. One of the most important aspects of any hotel accommodation is the quality of sleep and this was severely affected by the very uncomfortable bed. It was only a 4ft 6inch bed and was clearly in need of a new mattress being very soft and dipping towards the middle. My wife and I got very little sleep and arose in the morning very tired with many aches. I did raise my concerns with the receptionist when we checked out. Had we been staying for more than 1 night we would, undoubtedly, have moved to another hotel. October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient location of hotel convenient for museum sites and shopping October 15, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>