Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-23-2014)
(e.g. Apr-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 209 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by portsmouths holiday inn very good would stay again. nice shopping area. Friendly staff and nice room. November 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service, pity that the furniture seemed 'very tired.' Excellent staff and service on Reception. Much needed investment required to breathe new life in to tired furniture e.g. arms on comfy chairs in lower reception were black with wear, hole in bathroom door, iron mark on carpet, bed gave a similar experience to a water bed. November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, good service Not sure when I booked the hotel for a 3 day break whether I made a mistake or the hotel, but I booked a double room for 2 people but the booking confirmation showed 3 people in a twin room, I called the hotel same day to query and correct the booking, this I was told had been done and that we were in a corner room. On arrival the booking hadn’t been changed and they told me they had no more rooms. The receptionist was very good (not sure of her name but I remember her badge said trainee) saying she would speak with the duty manager. When we returned to the hotel later it had all been sorted and a complementary bottle of wine left in the room. Great service would recommend the hotel and its staff all very welcoming and helpful. I’ve stayed in countless Holiday Inns and Holiday Inn Express hotels over the years in many locations and as a Gold Elite member I can honestly say this Express gets my vote. I see from some reviews that people have issues around breakfast, but it’s an Express not a full blown hotel, the quality and variety I found good, even if the scrambled eggs were a little rubbery. Overall we had a great long weekend (even if the weather tried to spoil it) some good food in and around Gunwarf Quays and the hotel went some way in making our trip memorable. November 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Return Stay Arrived (travelling by train) on Friday afternoon and was pleasantly surprised at how close the hotel is to the Railway station. Arriving at reception we were immediately made to feel welcome. We enjoyed the local restaurants, bars and shopping over the next day, having had a good fill-up at breakfast. Check-out on the Sunday was quick and easy. Everyone one of the staff were pleasant and helpful, though we didn't really need much. The rooms could do with a minibar. October 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fab location We stayed here with 3 children at Oct halfterm. It wasn't cheap but the location made it worth it. 10 mins walk from all the attractions in the Historic Dockyard and right in the midst of the Spinnaker tower, Gunwarf Quays shopping and restaurants and a lovely 10 mins walk to the Round and Square towers and the pubs at The Point.. It made our 3 days away very easy. Parking was great- we did venture out up through Southsea to see friends but it only cost us £2 to leave the carpark. Only thing that would improve it would have been a bath (rather than a shower) to have a soak whilst the kids slept! October 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Adequate but with some niggles We booked to stay here for one night to meet up with my old school chum and his wife, so that we could all to visit the historic sights of Portsmouth. My chum suggested here, as he reckoned that the Holiday Inn Express franchise is a bit more upmarket than your average chain hotel. Well, I’m not so sure. Firstly the positives. A reasonable size room with adequate size ensuite. We had a view out from the third floor over Gunwharf Quays and the canal, which was quite pleasant. Our friends, on the other side, looked out over the carpark, which wasn’t quite so good. The location is good for both the pubs in the historic area and the naval attractions of the Warrior, Victory and Mary Rose (for which see separate reviews). Parking is free for the first 24 hours. Check in and out at reception is efficient. The negatives. This hotel does not have its own carpark. You use a separate entrance to get into the general shopping centre carpark, where there are no specifically designated spaces for the hotel. You could, therefore, be parked quite a way from the hotel entrance. You also have to leave the carpark and walk above ground to get back to the hotel reception. Not good if it is raining! Our first problem came in our friends and us trying to contact each other. I phoned their room and it rang and rang with no answer. We later found that they also phoned our room with the same result. We found out later that the room phones were set on silent, so that they did not ring at all. Duh!! Why? When we finally got together and made for the lift to descend from the third floor, the lift arrived at the third floor, but the doors would not open. We walked down. When we returned from eating out, I went to the vending machine on the second floor, to get a bottle of water for our room. After two separate pound coins and two 50p pieces had gone straight through the machine, to no avail, I descended a further floor to reception. There I was told that the machine was out of order and should have had a sign on it saying so (which it did not!). Buffet breakfast was included in the room rate but was, frankly, not worth having. There was no bacon offered, just sausages, and pretty revolting sausages, at that, together with very dry scrambled egg that I suspect was made from reconstituted eggs rather than fresh. Yuk!! For the price charged, I can’t say that I rated this hotel very highly. October 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and generally ideal Found this hotel to be ideally located to historic dockyard and gun wharf quays , good standard of cleanliness and welcome from staff was very good . The only little grumble would be the bed was way too soft even with the mattress topper would definitely return when there are new mattresses . All in all a good hotel October 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Walls to thin! The walls between each room were so thin you cold hear every word be said in the room next door. The cooked breakfast was dry - scrambled egg, beans and sausage each day - very poor. October 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Left disappointed We were really disappointed when we got to our room to find out we had a twin room. We had booked a standard room and was unable to specify a double room on booking. The hotel was fully booked so was unable to move us and it wasn't possible to move the beds. Really disappointing as it is rare to be away without our children and this is not a cheap hotel. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great base and very comfortable Lovely comfortable bed, clean and well equipped room. Good view of Spinaker Tower. Good choice at breakfast. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good, but.... ... this is a good modern hotel in an upmarket and historic area of Portsmouth. The rooms are fine and the staff are charming, but the owners need to upgrade the quality of the breakfasts. At present it is so awful that I cannot recommend this hotel overall. October 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by PERFECT, GREAT SERVICE ALWAYS PERFECT AND NOW WI FI FOR FREE IN THE ROOM, A GOOD ADRESS. October 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast let this hotel down Enjoyed stay. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Location excellent. However breakfast experience was awful - breakfast cutlery, crockery and glasses were not replenished nor was the food. There was no cups for the hot drinks and the Staff has no idea how to sort this, just said there were no more. Tables were not cleared, it was chaos and a big mess. October 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best place for Portsmouth Dockyard, The Victory, Marie Rose etc We went by train to Harbour station, literally 5 minutes away and were delighted to find the hotel in a lovely area of redeveloped Royal Navy Gun Wharf. Full of restaurants, designer outlets and other shops and less than 4 minutes from the bus station and only 7 or 8 minutes to the Dockyard with all its attractions. Our room overlooked the redeveloped wharf area and was warm and comfortable. The staff could not have been more helpful, especially Shaun and Ben, nothing was too much trouble for either of them. The cost of breakfasts is included in the room price and whilst the choice was limited, it was fine. Would we stay there again? Moist definitely. October 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by October stay nice hotel good location but pricey fir an express October 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall a good place and package we had a lovely few days in Portsmouth, only one gripe, the toilet seat had a fixing bolt missing, it didn't detract from our stay, and I didn't report it until we left, as it seem worth making a fuss, but needed fixing. Otherwise a brilliant location, parked the car when we arrived, and didn't go back to it till we left October 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service and clean. we both had a very enjoyable stay at gunwharf quays. and would definitely come back.which we plan to do in December.central to to shops bars and restaraunts. weather was great too! October 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room. Good staff. Dreadful breakfast It's a pity that the hotel cannot supply more linked rooms so that families can come with older children. For a hotel chain with a reputation such as Holiday Inn it is sad that they cannot provide bacon and decent coffee at breakfast time. I went out to Costa for my breakfast ! The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring Portsmouth and the Isle of Wight . October 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, budget hotel The location of this hotel sets it apart from the others but be prepared to pay for it! Rooms are below average for the price. Beds are comfy but too soft so you end up waking your partner if you turn over! pillows gave me neck ache. Room amenities are OK with a sofa, smallish TV, kettle and budget hair dryer but no iron. Even though there was a large iron burn mark on the carpet! Plastic cups in the bathroom! Hotel feels modern but looks dated with poor furnishings though out, badly maintained carpets and stain marks. As well as a set 2 types of pastries, The breakfast also has a budget feel and is restricted to Sausage, Beans and scrambled egg. Overall I would stay here again, this is only due to it's location, it is a direct comparison to other budget hotels which you would expect to pay over half less that you would a holiday in express. Please sort it out or adjust the price to reflect value for money! October 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Didn't need to use car, hooray!!!! Spent two nights at this location for a birthday treat at start of September, to visit Mary Rose museum which meant we had two days without using the car. Easy reach of shops and restaurants all virtually on the doorstep. Good selection for breakfast including hot items which on booking we were told it was only a cold breakfast available so a nice surprise. Made one mistake of opening windows at night which meant we were disturbed by all the noise from late night revellers in near bars/restaurants, cure was to have windows closed and air conditioning on. October 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by reward points My reward points not updated from my last two visits. .I mentioned it and nothing ever happens. .. apart from that it is highly priced..I asked for double bed and got a room with two single beds. . Could not be bothers to change it. .. everything else is good October 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Conveniently situated for attractions and shopping Comfortable & convenient for attractions & shopping. Breakfast was chaotic & food was luck warm which let the hotel down and needs addressing but other than that a pleasant stay. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Hotel & service Excellent location, excellent hotel and excellent services, clean hotel with excellent service from reception, they even stamped my ticket from the Shopping Centre car park so i parked for free. There was a little noise from outside but it was a Friday night and the hotel is in a prime location so i can't complain about that! Great choice of food for breakfast too. I will be staying there again the next time i visit Portsmouth! The Hotel gets top marks from me. October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and Cosey We had a nice relaxing stay at your property and your staff were most helpful! October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and excellent service. We came down to shop- have a break- just enjoy Beautiful Portsmouth. This hotel is clean and modern with brilliant staff and excellent service. We had a couple of little niggles but they were dealt with efficiently and immediately. Rooms are really comfortable and clean. Very clean. The views are fine- it is after all, in a very busy and vibrant area. I would recommend Extra caution when using the shower as the tray is very slippery. There IS a warning sign but so small it is easily missed , I missed it! The Staff ,however, we're absolutely red hot in ensuring I was alright. More a niggle but that sign Should be bigger! Overall- a great place to stay, Children are well catered for and cared for and I highly recommend it ! September 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Perfect location for both shopping and sightseeing. The 24 hour free parking makes the stay even more enjoyable as you don't have to rush off. September 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Historic Dockyard Hotel We stayed at the Holiday Inn primarily because of its location to the Historic Dockyard and restaurants. We normally expect Holiday Inn prices to be below average but this was very expensive for the standard of hotel and is obviously charging high prices because of its location. September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant Excellent experience. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Rooms clean, modern and comfortable. Location excellent and easy parking was the icing on the cake. September 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Average We were booked in here as our hotel had overbooked, location was good but room was basic although clean. Breakfast really needs some improvements, just like being at school, the hot items were awful. September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Gunwharf Quay excellent location if want to combine a bit of indulgent shopping with a visit to some of England's best Naval Heritage sites. Hotel up to usual HIE standard, clean and efficiently run with very helpful staff. Location has plenty and good variety of places to eat to suit every palate and wallet. Enjoyed our stay. September 23, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>