• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Rural

  • Location: Rural
  • Closest City: MARTINSBURG
  • Distance From Hotel: 27.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We do not accepts pets at this location. There is a kennel located about 7 miles from the hotel. Service animals are always welcome.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
Old Opera House Theater
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Jefferson County Museum
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Locust Hill Golf Course
Distance From Hotel:4.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Free outdoor parking for hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:145
  • Total number of suites:19
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:66
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:79
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:145
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Other Charles Town Inns Can't Match Our Quality

Tucked away along the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains in the Shenandoah Valley, the Holiday Inn Express® Charles Town hotel offers the finest accommodations in the area.

Situated a half-mile from Charles Town Races & Slots, this hotel offers easy access to an evening of exciting horse races or slot machine games. With a shuttle service provided by the casino, your night is sure to be worry-free. Our Charles Town Inn is also near to
View More

Other Charles Town Inns Can't Match Our Quality

Tucked away along the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains in the Shenandoah Valley, the Holiday Inn Express® Charles Town hotel offers the finest accommodations in the area.

Situated a half-mile from Charles Town Races & Slots, this hotel offers easy access to an evening of exciting horse races or slot machine games. With a shuttle service provided by the casino, your night is sure to be worry-free. Our Charles Town Inn is also near to the Appalachian Trail in addition to many other picturesque National Park Service trails. Other local attractions near our Charles Town hotel include The Old Opera House, Joy Line Train Museum, river rafting and historic Harpers Ferry.

If you need to visit companies in Jefferson County, this Charles Town hotel's convenient location makes for an easy trip to Ranson and other towns in the area. Stay in touch with co-workers via free high-speed Internet access, available in each hotel room, utilize our Business Center for your corporate needs, or reserve one our flexible meeting spaces.

The amenities of our Charles Town Inn ensure an unforgettable stay and include a delicious, free breakfast each morning. In addition, free Wi-Fi access and the convenience of a fridge and microwave in every room help guarantee satisfaction and comfort to guests of our Holiday Inn Express® Charles Town hotel. Come discover the wonder of the Shenandoah Valley's charm with us!

View Less
Features
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, the Holiday Inn Express® Charles Town hotel is sure to please. We have free Wi-Fi access, local calls and breakfast to make your stay comfortable and productive. The casino provides free shuttle service from our front door to theirs. Our hotel staff is eager and willing to help our guests with anything! Come visit the area and stay with us!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 81 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay. Nice property. Would stay here again. Staff was helpful, breakfast was good, room clean and comfortable. January 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room Excellent staff My stay was nice. The room was clean, the bed comfortable. I will stay again next month. The staff was very nice. January 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good bed. Clean room. Breakfast very good. Hotel was almost empty. Would stay again December 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No hot water, no water pressure, no service, no remedy I have stayed at this property many times but something has changed. This time the staff was not attentive or even reactive. We arrived late and had a reseravtion and got into our room for some much needed sleep. When we awoke to shower in the morning there was no hot water in the shower, we called the front desk a couple of times and there was no answer. I decided to take a cold shower because I couldn't waste any more time. I then realized there was also not enough water pressure to force the water up and out of the shower head. I had to hold a wash cloth under the spicket to even get the water to come out of the shower head. After my cold shower and ready to leave i went to the front desk at 7am to voice my displeasure and was told there is nothing the night person could do but the manager would be in at 8. I left my complaints and cell # and was assured he would call. I called @ 6 hours later and was told the manager did not come in but they acknowledged the problems with the room. They still offered no adjustments or anything. Now it has been 5 days and still no call from the manager. Classless and unprofessional! December 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good and simple! Nice room with chair and space. Hanging closet, nice bath and love the fridge and microwave. Nothing fancy, just nice, clean and full of features. Good breakfast ready at 6am; all self serve. Great value! December 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Rebranded hotel that needs updating, staff training I am commenting on our stay from 11/18 -20/2013 at this location. This is my second stay at this hotel in about 12 months. We arrived around 8pm the night of 11/18 and were greeted with a mediocre hello and checked without eye contact from the staff person. I think we took him (HIE staff) away from something he was watching or working on from behind the front desk. We found throughout our stay that the staff do not attend the front desk area but rather stay behind the facing wall and use cameras to check if someone has approached the desk. Why not just stay at the front desk? During our check in I was anticipating the usual “thank you for being a Platinum Member” greeting, but did not get one. Don’t get me wrong, I am not one of those individuals that gloat from achieving certain status from rewards systems, but having spent thousands of dollars annually on IHG stays and a points balance over 500K, a simple “thanks for your business ”would have been nice. We were checked in and hurried off with minimal conversation. I won’t go into detail of the issues we experienced during our stay, but the hotel itself is obviously a remodel from competitor. To summarize, this location is a lesser brand motel with IHG make up on. We found furniture to be of the late 70’s, with finish wearing off on most surfaces and handles broken or loose. The beds were outdated and very worn and the tile grout dirty and unkempt. During our stay a year ago we found wall paper around the windows secured by staple gun staples. Nice work. The bathroom sink drain was partially clogged and the sink would begin fill after 4-5 seconds of water use, which made washing hands a thing of grace and speed. During our first night, we heard this continuous squeaking noise near the air conditioner. I assumed there was a mouse or squirrel trapped somewhere in the unit or wall, so I did some checking. Fortunately it was only a tree that was overgrown with a number of branches rubbing against the windows and walls in the wind. One other issue we ran into, which Management says was out of their control, was the loss of internet service. Connectivity is vital during business travel and every effort to accommodate guests should have been made to correct the issue. The front desk staff also informed me the hotel does not have wired connectivity and relies only on wireless service. I ended up going to a nearby McDonalds for their free WiFi service. I would have given this HIE location two out of five stars if in was not for this last issue. I feel ratings of either extreme (1 or 5 stars) have to really earn those ratings. Unfortunately this location did reach that potential. During breakfast the first morning, I drank milk that tasted a bit sour. The expiration date on the carton was two days away, but this one went bad early. I shrugged it off and grabbed two more milks. The first of the two milks was OK, but second carton though was a much different story. Looking back I should have been alert to the fact that I already found one sour milk and another was very possible. I took a drink from the second milk container and just about fell off my chair. The extreme shock from the sour milk and floating chunks had me running to the garbage can spitting every last bit into the garbage. If you have ever tasted sour or rotten milk, you know it is a taste you will never forget. I informed the front desk staff of this issue and they asked that I give them all the cartons I had opened. To my surprise they were more concerned with the $0.50 refund they would get from each bad milk. I asked that they remove the remaining 8-10 cartons to ensure no one else runs into the same experience I did (there was a toddler with her mother eating breakfast minutes before my experience and I shudder to think of the little boy having to drink bad milk out of his bottle). Fast forward 24 hours and I found the same 8-10 milk cartons in the small refrigerator! I asked the front desk about this and they said their milk order had not arrived yet. I told them they cannot serve those remaining cartons, but the Manager ensured me they were fine by pouring milk from one carton into a cup and offering it to me. I have worked in the health field for the past twenty years, and find this to be unacceptable. Food service quality must be taken seriously and should be held on a high standard, no matter where the food is offered. As I mentioned in my opening paragraph I have spent quite a bit of money on IHG stays (both personal and professional as a business owner), and this location does not hold up to IHG standards. IHG needs to take a closer look at this property and determine if/where it fits in its portfolio. November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always clean and ready I have stayed at this location many times, and have also had family members stay as well, using my priority membership number. The staff is always ready to serve. I have used this particular location three to four times a year for several years now, and have always been treated very nicely. I travel from North Georgia to Northern Mass. with my small Terrier dog. Often I just show up, and all but once I was able to be served. The one time they did not have room for me, they gladly located another hotel close by who took pets and had room. If I call along the road a few hours ahead of my proposed arrival, I have been graciously reserved a room - on the ground level close to the pet yard and back entrance. They now know me on sight. November 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location My wife and I were very pleased with the facility and our stay! If we had any complaints, it would be the strong odor that is somewhat indescribable...not a bad or good smell but affected one with allergies. November 6, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Experience As long as the current management is in charge I DEFINATELY will not/would not stay at this particular hotel. Different things needed repair,the bathroom exhaust was non-existant(did not work). I always had to call for a desk attendant to come out from the back.I was refused a check-out reciept because I used my rewards points.The staff was not friendly.I felt like I was bothering them just by being there. The TV was not the best quailty picture and it was to close to the bed for a comfortable view.I'll just leave it by saying go to another Holiday Inn in the area. November 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed needs to be changed staff was friendly For the price the room was okay. Staff was very friendly but the bed was in need of a new matress October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by cleanliness & hospitality We just spent 3 nights at this Holiday Inn Express and were greeted warmly and very cordial. We even had our 10 lb. dog with us and appreciated the openness of having her with us. The rooms were immaculate and the breakfasts superb. Couldn't have asked for anything better. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel in a pinch. Booked hotel online on the road an hour before arriving. Easy check in. Nice clean room, quiet hotel. Easy process. Good breakfast. Only wish they had some fruit, but it is included in the room price and much better than ordinary continental breakfasts. Nice dining area as well. October 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Have never been dissappointed Have stayed here a dozen times ,will keep going back October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ice Box Best a/c ever. Like location, nice and cozy. Staff not to friendly. Try some turkey bacon to breakfast choices. September 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dont use the Iphone app and then use the map 1. the Iphone IHG app map took us about 5 miles away from the real address location of the hotel. Not the fault of the hotel, but be careful 2. When we did find the hotel, it is difficult at night to find the entrance. 3. when we checked into our room the latch from the inside somehow caught the door and we could not get it opened. Manager had to use a screw driver to fix the door. The hotel is older, slight musty smell. Ok to stay but you will not be "wowed" if that is what you are looking for. Basically ended up pretty frustrated between the directions and the room locking on us. Should be simple to fix, but it looked like its been that way for awhile. August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place To Stay My wife and I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express two (2) times during our trip to North Carolina from New York. When I made the reservations I read some what seemed isolated disparaging comments from another guest, I called the motel in Little Falls and asked about those comments and why I should stay there. The person I spoke to, (I forgot her name) was very informative and explained what had happened. They took corrective action and when we stayed there, once on the way to North Carolina and once on our return trip we were extremely pleased with the facility, its features, its cleanliness, the pool, the Wi-Fi, the room, the breakfast and most of all the extremely pleasant staff. I highly recommend this Holiday Inn Express. August 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Loud late night check in Overall the stay was nice. This property has been a welcome break for my family on a long trip the past couple of years. Unfortunately, this trip was not as good as others. around 12:30am, a group of people checked into their multiple rooms. They were very loud in the parking lot outside our window and in the hallway, talking to each other, slamming doors, and yelling down the hall to others in their party. Their noise woke all the people in our room, including our 3 year old son. A call to the front desk did nothing, as the group was noisy in the hallway for a full half-hour, including 10 minutes after our call to the desk. All of this was taking place on the first floor, immediately beyond the desk, and we never once heard any attempt to get the people to quiet down. August 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by NON-SMOKING ROOM AVIALABLE????? The staff varies from nice to really bad, When I check in the afternoon I was greeted by I wonderful lady I decide to check in get my keys and come back later so I did not when up to the room (BIG MISTAKE) when we finally got back to the hotel (NIGHT) it was a different crew, no one was at the counter and when I yelled hello a gentleman came out with food on his mouth I explain to him that I requested a non-smoking room since my 7 years old has asthma and the room was filth with smoke. without a glance at the computer and told me, there is no rooms available, then when back to attend his business. Disregarding entirely my issue. August 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to I-81. We make reservations by phone, requesting a non-smoking room. When we checked in, we were placed in a smoking room. Arriving after dark, it was hard to locate the driveway to the hotel. It would be helpful to add signage and/or a light. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Clean,quiet,restfull stop Everything was spot on,even though it is pet friendly you would never know it. The host is always grateful you chose to stay at his property .no complaints August 1, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by We Were Not Happy This was a stop on the way home from a Vacation North. We had seen the room and arrived late. When we checked the room, it had impressions on the beds - as though someone was watching the TV. We were said to hear the night manager tell us that the pillows were just thrown on the bed. We aren't stupid, but felt that the manager must have thought so. The Air conditioner did not work either. It only had a fan to blow the humid air around the room. We asked for another room for the three of us and we were told that only a single bed with a pull out sofa bed was left. The shower in this room had wall paper peeling off of the bathroom wall. This was a very disappointment and one of the saddest parts of our trip. We were glad that we weren't staying longer then to catch some sleep, or try to. I don't believe that I'll be back and should have gone down the road further. I hope these issues will be looked into and remedied, or others will say the same. We feel that we were robbed with this stay. July 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by exceptional The staff of the hotel was outstanding, making it worth our while to stay here. July 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No rolls for breakfast. Room dark. Spiders and bugs. Staff nice and informative The room was dark although otherwise very nice. The bed comfortable. We did find spiders and other bugs. there were no cinnamon rolls for breakfast. The staff were nice and informative of local restaurants and sites. July 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed with a Past Favorite We had stayed at this HIX previously and were much happier those times. Front desk and housekeeping staff were extremely pleasant, courteous and friendly - always making a point of saying hello. I think the staff is quite good but I do question the ability of management - is the correct overall guidance being given? is responsibility and decission making appropriately delegated? are the necessary tools/equipment being provided? The room was fine and we got a good night's rest. A storm came through and knocked out both TV and internet service for maybe 10 minutes or so - I believe the hotel uses a satellite dish for these services - don't think cable would have had the same problem. At checkin it was mentioned that the weekend had been very busy at the hotel - we checked in on a Sunday - so they were busy catching up. There was mention of a dryer being out of service therefor backing up towels and sheets needing drying. No mention was made of what we would experience the next morning at breakfast... many of their breakfast items were out-of-stock. The most disappointing of these was that there were no cinnamon rolls! This has been one of the main calling cards for HIX the past several years and something I always look forward to. Anyway, I'd have thought someone - hotel staff - would have run out to a Dunkin Donuts or supermarket to cover the missing breakfast options. The lady apparently running the breakfast area never came out of the "preparation room" - probably because she had put everything out that was left. Our reservation was an Advance Purchase one - supposedly our credit card was charged when the reservation was made - but the checkout receipt showed the card presented at checkin was charged. When asked about this I was told that's the way they do it at this hotel. I know others don't and that made me concerned as I couldn't remember if my card was charged 6 weeks earlier when I made the reservation. I checked my records first thing when I got home and found what I was told was true - I had not been previously charged. I do not understand why this HIX does things different from others. July 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed Bed was uncomfortable and the breakfast offerings were not not replenished and minimum selection.. Well under other Holiday Inn Express Hotels June 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT BUSINESS TRIP I spent one night at this location while traveling for business & it was enjoyable. The staff was very friendly & welcoming, the rooms were clean & comfortable with fridge & microwave, and the pool area was pretty & relaxing. Nice, quiet place to stay, I plan on returning in the near future. June 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room Our last visit to this establishment was unsatisfactory. The room had a toilet that did not flush properly and a sink which did not drain. We stay in this hotel frequently as we have family only 2 miles from the hotel. We were not offered any compensation after reporting to the desk clerk the problems. If this occurs upon my next visit I will be looking for another hotel chain to stay with. Martinsburg has many to offer. May 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable & quiet although... All was good except for the fact that it was Spring with beautiful weather outside and there were no screens on the windows so I had to deal with bugs coming in - not too many luckily. Breakfast was fast food, the kind that causes American's to have the highest death rates in the world for food related diseases. Lots of sugary breads, weird looking sausage, perfect little odd egg squares. May 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good choice Traveling north on Route 81, we had hoped to reach Hagerstown Maryland before stopping for the night. Heavy truck traffic and delays due to construction prompted us to exit the highway and stay at Holiday Inn at Martinsburg-North. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and comfortable, and breakfast was fine. All in all this was a very good choice. May 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by disappointment We have stayed at this hiexpress before, but was very disappointed this time, requested 1st floor on arrival told not available , which was okay, ice machine broken, no cinnamon buns at breakfast, and the pancake machine was out of order. Very disappointed in the overall experience. May 13, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading