• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: RAPID CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Dahl Fine Arts Center
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Reptile Gardens
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI
Attraction:
Terry Peak Ski Area
Distance From Hotel:45.0MI
Attraction:
The Journey Museum
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:122
  • Car Parking Available
  • Spacious and well lit lot.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:103
  • Total number of suites:25
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:1
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:77
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:85
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Stay Smart at our Hotel in Rapid City, SD

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites in Rapid City, South Dakota. These newly renovated accommodations put guests near the Midwest's biggest attractions and businesses. Our hotel in Rapid City, SD is pleased to welcome travelers of every agenda.

Situated 12 miles from the airport, seconds from Rushmore Mall and two miles from downtown Rapid City, SD, our hotel's property is ideal for leisure travelers. Nature enthusiasts
View More

Stay Smart at our Hotel in Rapid City, SD

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites in Rapid City, South Dakota. These newly renovated accommodations put guests near the Midwest's biggest attractions and businesses. Our hotel in Rapid City, SD is pleased to welcome travelers of every agenda.

Situated 12 miles from the airport, seconds from Rushmore Mall and two miles from downtown Rapid City, SD, our hotel's property is ideal for leisure travelers. Nature enthusiasts appreciate the hotel's location near Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park and Wind Cave National Park. The South Dakota Air & Space Museum and the Museum of Geology are also close to our facility in Rapid City, SD.

Our hotel's guests are just two miles from Rushmore Plaza Civic Center events, and we're near many area businesses. With function space for up to 30, we are pleased to host meetings or events. Our Rapid City, SD hotel's business center offers everything you need to work, from fax and copy services to free Internet access.

It's hard to find hotels near Mt. Rushmore with the same contemporary comforts and a reputable name like ours. With amenities like free breakfast and free high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool and a fitness center, guests of this hotel in Rapid City, South Dakota have what they need within reach. Stay Smart at our hotel's facility near Mt. Rushmore, and enjoy easy access to all the area has to offer.

View Less
Features
Our Rapid City, SD hotel's location near Mt. Rushmore brings travelers from across the nation to our door. Whether you're in town for business or leisure, our hotel is the smart choice.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 157 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service The people at this hotel are so friendly and accommodating. I stayed during a blizzard and was so impressed with the staff. They handled every need with a smile. The same people worked every shift and sincerely seamed to be enjoying themselves. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing service during a blizzard This hotel and its staff was fabulous during my stay. A rare blizzard hit in October and the city was shut down, most without power. The manager of the hotel did an amazing job of keeping the staff going and providing excellent food for the guests. The waiters and waitresses were working extremely long shifts, as was all of the staff, because no one could come in to replace them. They all had great attitudes...... cheerful, hardworking. Bryan was our favorite. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice experience Great Holiday Inn. Met all of expectations and more. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First stay in Rapid City The hotel staff was awesome. They provided a shuttle for us downtown and a ride back to the hotel when we inquired about taxi services in Rapid City. The coffee and gift shop were well stocked and again, super friendly staff. Plenty of room to spread out in our room. The breakfast and dinners were fabulous and reasonably priced. September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and friendly staff Nice rooms but a small refrigerator would have been a nice extra. September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful property and staff. Best breakfast buffet. Shuttle driver and desk staff are superior! September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Front Desk Staff The front desk staff was the best I have ever experienced in my travels. They were 100% ready for my families arrival. We had 4 rooms for 2 days and a 5th room for one day. The staff had everything ready and were amazing to work with. I would recommend them for any stays in the Rapid City area. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It was a great location to use as our home base as we traveled throughout the Black Hills. We were also able to walk to downtown for dining and some shopping, and there was a shuttle available, however we did not use it. September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Rapid City Great hotel with friendly staff. Ordered food from Grille very good but breakfast buffet needs more attention & checking if food trays getting low. Very comfortable bed, pillows & room. September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dining I had breakfast each morning. I have no complaints about the food, I thought it was good. You do need to replace the chairs at the tables, the upholstery is getting pretty worn. Also, the edges of the tables have a wood veneer finish. These were sticky to the touch. They need to get wiped down thoroughly. September 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious suite, comfortable bed The staff was very friendly, greeting me as a Rewards Club member. The hotel Atrium is very attractive. The suite was large and well equipped. The hotel is beginning to show its age and the rooms could use updating - carpet in room and hall needs replacing., furniture dated and not too comfortable. Location right downtown is excellent, facing a park, very convenient parking. September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience As a Platinum Priority Club member I stay at a lot of properties, and I have to say that on a recent mini vacation the experience at this hotel was outstanding. Very friendly staff. . .nice rooms. . .no issues at all because we were traveling with our dogs. . .even room service was great. I strongly recommend staying at this property. September 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Granny1938 The check in clerk was very accomodating, pleasant, helped with directions to easily journey to Mt. Rushmore. Our breakfast waiter, was very pleansant and accomodating. I wanted to ask him why he had a toothpick between his lips both mornings, and am guessing he was trying to quit smoking Fine young man. Check out "bellman" asked if he could do anything to help us. Overall, a very pleasant stay. September 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice enough room Do not recommend this Holiday Inn though I usually love them! Room okay-restaurent-AVOID! Stayed two nights 9/1-9/3...got breakfast tickets for our suite. The first morning flies poured out of coffee carafe at table and waiter laughed about it. Bad service even after that. Second day ordered pancake (buffet flies everywhere)...52 minutes after ordered...nothing but couple a walk by jokes by waiter. Complained to three women working front desk and response was WOW! No body could care less...checked out and left. Very disappointed .... September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service comfortable, quiet, good food, good happy hour prices September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best stay ever!! We had a great experience staying here! The front desk gal was friendly, cheerful, personable, and very helpful at check-in. We had a really nice suite that was very clean with a comfortable bed. We had the greatest experience at the hotel restaurant for breakfast with a young man that seemed to enjoy his job and was friendly & entertaining as he served us. He started our day with lots of smiles & laughs. We had a very pleasant stay and will certainly stay here again. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay This hotel is very nice and clean. The staff is awesome. The food was very good. We only had one complaint and that was the big dog barking in the room next door but the front desk handled it. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large spacious room The room had a King bed and a sofa. It was very comfortable and spacious. The atrium in the lobby was gorgeous. The room was cheaper than a comparable room at the Holiday Inn Express near the highway. It does not come with a free breakfast, but the money you save on the room (compared to one at the HI Express) you can buy a very good breakfast in the restaurant. September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by NO problems No problems, good clean place, friendly staff and helpful September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel!! We were only staying one night on the way through Rapid City, but wished we could stay longer. The staff was great and the beds were very comfortable. I stopped at the bar at 10:30 and was able to get a terrific drink, but no food. I thought this was unusual. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will stay here again! Friendly staff, clean room, and a great location adds up to one thing: we will stay here again! August 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great staff, needs updating. The living area suite furniture is very old and worn. Didn't feel comfortable with the cleanliness of the furniture. The bath and bedroom also need updating, The ceiling is in disrepair and stained. The pool water was very cloudy. August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Rapid City Rushmore Holiday Inn Great Hotel, However my room had a bad old smoke odor, I had my carpet steam cleaned and it still had a odor in the room. Food and Staff were excellent! August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, service and comfort. The hotel was located next to the Civic Center and near downtown. Lots of fun activities, shops and restaurants close by and the people were all super friendly. It was quiet, comfortable and the suite was perfect for visiting with local friends. August 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay This was my second visit in 3 years. Found the hotel the same but "tired". Is in need of updating. Otherwise my stay was great. The staff is all wonderful especially Savannah. The hotel is close to everything we needed to do. The meals we did have were very good, the bar area was very accommodating to our large group. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Personnel Twana is an outstanding supervisor--we were there 2 nights apart on a long drive on the second night and she helped us tremendously. A kind and sweet lady.We enjoyed the cocktails in the bar where we enjoyed our dinner. We are Texans and loved our stay with so many kind people,but we feel that Twana went above & beyond to help!!! August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay, Even In Rally Week! We recently combined business with vacation in Rapid City. The hotel was much nicer than I expected, and I loved the layout of the lobby with terrace corridors for the rooms, which made it bright and airy. The boys loved the glass-in elevators. Location was excellent for touring the Black Hills. The room itself seemed a bit small for 2 adults and 2 children for a full week -- plus, it was 2 double beds instead of 2 queen beds -- but overall, it worked out OK. Service was excellent. And even though we stayed during Harley rally week, the noise level was fine. In fact, we hardly noticed them, except to admire the array of gorgeous bikes parked by the doors. My one quibble was the extraordinary price charged during rally week. It's why I rated this as "fair" in terms of value: It was the same hotel as the week before, but inflated prices for the rally week. But, that's economics and competition and we paid the rate knowing that it was inflated. We still had a good time, and would stay there again. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing service The employees at this hotel are the best that I have ever had. I have never had so many people be friendly, courteous, and willing to help. One of the best stays at a hotel ever. August 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by IN NEED OF A RENOVATION This Holiday Inn is need of a renovation. The rooms are very dark, outdated and have a strange smell. The rooms do not even come with a microwave or a refrigerator . You have to request a refrigerator if you want one. The bathrooms are small too.. The beds need to be replaced as they are worn and are not comfortable. Next time we are in Rapid City, we will stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites which has very comfortable beds and the rooms are very nice. We stood at this Holiday Inn because of the location (ease of getting to Mt. Rushmore etc.) However, for the price we paid, we expected more. Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza should take some pointers from Holiday Inn Express and Suites chains. Here is hoping that in the near future this place gets a much needed renovation (not just replacing the light fixtures). It is time!! August 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 20 year veterans My wife and I have been frequenting this property for the past 20 years, and Sherri Beck, Dave, Peter, David, and Twana have always gone out of their way to make us more than comfortable. As for the food service; over the years we've experienced somewhat of a hit or miss. This year our dinners (herbal chicken over pen pasta) was a definite miss, while brunch with roast beef was a hit, go figure. Anyway, we love our annual stay at this Holiday Inn and recommend it highly. M&M LaDue August 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 family vacation Very thing was great. The staff was helpful and friendly. August 9, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Check Availability
Loading