• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: RAPID CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Journey Museum
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Museum Of Geology
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Dahl Fine Arts Center
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
South Dakota Air And Space Museum
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:122
  • Car Parking Available
  • Spacious and well lit lot.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:102
  • Total number of suites:25
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:1
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:77
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:85
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Stay Smart at our Hotel in Rapid City, SD

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites in Rapid City, South Dakota. These newly renovated accommodations put guests near the Midwest's biggest attractions and businesses. Our hotel in Rapid City, SD is pleased to welcome travelers of every agenda.

Situated 12 miles from the airport, seconds from Rushmore Mall and two miles from downtown Rapid City, SD, our hotel's property is ideal for leisure travelers. Nature enthusiasts
View More

Stay Smart at our Hotel in Rapid City, SD

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites in Rapid City, South Dakota. These newly renovated accommodations put guests near the Midwest's biggest attractions and businesses. Our hotel in Rapid City, SD is pleased to welcome travelers of every agenda.

Situated 12 miles from the airport, seconds from Rushmore Mall and two miles from downtown Rapid City, SD, our hotel's property is ideal for leisure travelers. Nature enthusiasts appreciate the hotel's location near Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park and Wind Cave National Park. The South Dakota Air & Space Museum and the Museum of Geology are also close to our facility in Rapid City, SD.

Our hotel's guests are just two miles from Rushmore Plaza Civic Center events, and we're near many area businesses. With function space for up to 30, we are pleased to host meetings or events. Our Rapid City, SD hotel's business center offers everything you need to work, from fax and copy services to free Internet access.

It's hard to find hotels near Mt. Rushmore with the same contemporary comforts and a reputable name like ours. With amenities like free breakfast and free high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool and a fitness center, guests of this hotel in Rapid City, South Dakota have what they need within reach. Stay Smart at our hotel's facility near Mt. Rushmore, and enjoy easy access to all the area has to offer.

View Less
Features
Our Rapid City, SD hotel's location near Mt. Rushmore brings travelers from across the nation to our door. Whether you're in town for business or leisure, our hotel is the smart choice.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 213 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience!!! Great experience at Holiday Inn Rushmore , thanks Anna!! May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room When I check into a Holiday Inn property, I expect a certain level of excellence in all aspects of the service provided and was not disappointed in this property. May 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was amazing! There is absolutely NOTHING bad to say about this hotel! Beautiful and amazing from the staff to the rooms! May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent facilities with super friendly staff I always choose this hotel whenever I am in Rapid City. I have stayed here well over a dozen times and am always greeted by friendly staff that go above and beyond to make sure my time away from home is as comfortable as possible. Rooms are always kept clean and fresh. April 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by reservation I want to begin by saying the staff at the hotel were all very nice and great to work with. The hotel was very clean and nice. Many of the rooms were in the process of being upgraded with super nice quality rooms. We booked several rooms for a group. Each family tried to call and put the room under their credit card #. This proved to be very difficult and involved many phone calls to try to straighten out. When we checked in hotel I confirmed the rooms that were still under my credit card #. I also confirmed a room for someone coming in the following day but would be late arrival. On the way to the hotel this person received a phone call stating they no longer had room for them at this hotel and gave him a room elsewhere. It was great that they found him another room but we were all traveling together and could not socialize all together as planned. Holiday Inn stated that rewards member took priority over our reserved room. When we stopped at desk for something else there was a patron at the desk stating that he received a call in his room that he needed to leave his room because they gave his room to a rewards member. I guess my money is not as good as a rewards member money. I always thought if you reserved a room and paid via credit card that room was yours. I will probably avoid Holiday Inn if my room reservation is only good if a rewards member doesn't want my room. April 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of organizing moving the guests throughout the remodeling The hotel needs a lot of maintenance. I moved to three different rooms during my stay and found the commons problems; heating was terrible lack of enough heat during winter, need to run bath water for more than 10 minutes to get the hot water for shower, all window need to reinstall the weather strip to prevent the cold coming through the window frames, there is 1" gap between the bottom of the main room doors and the floor that brings cold air from the atrium to the room. The front desk crew could not decide which floors the contractor will do the remodeling and they moved me three times within 50 nights that I stayed at the hotel. The general manager quit her job at the end of February and no general manager filled the position for the last two weeks of my stay to help organizing my moves from one room to another. March 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very loud The room was nice but the hotel was very noisey but it was okay. The main issue was parking. February 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Do Not Recommend Room had bad odor, wallpaper peeling off wall, cracked vanity and dirty carpet. Noise from bar was so bad had to complain to front desk at 12:30 p.m.. Price was high for such an old hotel. Do not recommend anyone to stay there. February 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Necessary overnite Thank you for the comfortable stay and accommodating the family we were serving during their time of loss. January 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff I was there to teach a seminar. Peter and David gave me great help in setting up the night before. The whole staff was very friendly and professional. For someone who travels constantly, it doesn't get any better! January 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room I was awakened at 12:30 AM from alarm in adjoining room, had to call front desk to have alarm turned off. Room location on East side of second floor looked out on roof of convention center, considering that the hotel was 80% empty I would have preferred a room on the south side with a view. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this place I travel through rapid city often, and when i do i always check this hotel first to see availability, the staff is great, plenty of parking, rooms are nice, the only thing is the rooms don't have fridges in them, as someone who will stay for multiple nights at a time the fact that there isn't a fridge is frustrating. All that being said i like the hotel and look forward to my next stay. December 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by So Noisy Stayed room 214, right above a ballroom and the bar area. A birthday party made a huge noise till 11:15pm, and a big crowd did not stop making big noise until after midnight, as RC Rush fans gathered there after the game right next to the hotel, Rapid City Convention Center. A hotel staff told us that the hotel has "quite" policy after 11:00pm but it was not working obviously. Basicaly, they should not asign a room near ballrooms or bar area, as it was Friday night after Thanksgiving Day and the holel looked only 10 -20 % occupancy. December 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always like this motel We stay here a couple times a year and always get great service. Great discount when family in hospital - great packages when attending events at Civic Center. Nice facilities - nice staff. Very convenient! November 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Rapid City in November I really enjoyed the location and convenience of the hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly and went out of their way to accommodate those of us with no transportation. I was at a conference and felt the facilities were good considering the small budget our group had to work with. My room was quiet and though there were times the frivolity of the guests could be heard from the atrium - it never interfered with my getting a good night's sleep. My only "complaint" was that there appeared to be a fair number of stains on the carpet - some looked newer than others. If this is a pet friendly hotel - they need to find a more effective way of shampooing the carpets. It would be nice if I had been told of that policy and could have asked for a room that does not allow pets, just as they used to have smoking/non-smoking rooms. All in all, I enjoyed the hotel, staff and amenities very much. November 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Outdated, Dirty & Inconsiderate of Business Travelers I have stayed at many IHG properties around the US and this one is by far one of my least favorite. The Hotel is extremely outdated and not well maintained. The staff was more concerned about the conference attendees in the hotel rather than the regular business travelers. My room was the "last one available" when I checked in at 6:00 and upon arrive into my room the carpets were stained with lord only knows what in several spots. When I called to be moved I was told no other rooms were available because of the conference. The attendees of this conference were loud up all hours of the day and night. Complaints to the front desk weren't take seriously either. For the rate that I was charged I'm honestly appalled at the accommodations. The one time I ate in the restaurant downstairs the food wasn't well prepared and especially for what I was charged I expected much more. I would recommend you check other accommodations in the area before you stay here. November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel & convenient location I stayed at this hotel for a conference. It was an excellent choice. I enjoyed this location. It was close to downtown. And the amenities were fantastic. November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful space Overall a nice experience. I loved the open concept and balcony inside overlooking the restaurant, bar, main desk etc. The beds were a bit firm for my liking but had a good night's rest anyhow. The restaurant was very reasonably priced and affordable. Two of us had breakfast everyday for less than $20.00! November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful place to stay! I stayed here for an entire week the end of October. It was clean, exceptional beds, wonderful welcoming staff, and overall beautiful hotel. The swimming pool/hot tubs worked well and looked like a spa. Very clean and exceptionally well kept. I swam every day -- some days twice--and the pool was great. The food was good in the hotel, with a nice coffee shop in the front. A very pleasant experience. Thank you. November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wow Good hotel but the experience is capped off by the excellent staff. Everyone I encountered truly cared about their job and the customer. In particular I recall Bryan in the restaurant and Big Dave! Keep up the good work! November 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Rushmore Been staying at this hotel for over 10 years and the staff and facility continues to out do itself every year. Love the room, quiet at night, shuttle, bar and the coffee shop is fabulous. Restuarant needs a little revamping on service and food. October 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Incredible Staff This was our second time staying here and the staff was incredible both times. The rooms could use updating but the staffs abilities overcame any shortcomings. We will definitely stay with and recommend them again. October 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An quit clean plase to stay The staff was vary nice and would take care of any need I may have needed everyone would smile say hello October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay in Rapid City We were attending a dog show at the Rushmore Plaza Convention Center, so it would be impossible to find a more convenient place of that. But it turns out the hotel was very convenient to downtown restaurants and even provided shuttle service there and back. Our room was very comfortable and clean. And as we had an irregular schedule, the cleaning people were ver flexible in working with us. I had dinner one night in the restaurant and it was excellent and reasonably priced. All-in-all, a great experience. October 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room smelled like vomit If you were attending a conference this would NOT be a place to stay the smell in the room and the barking dogs were awful and we were there for only two nights. I complained to the front desk and ask for a manger and was told that they were ALL in a meeting. I also ask for a refrigerator for the room the first night we were there I was told by Shelby that it would be $15 per night charge and I am thinking this is how special you treat your two priority club members. Once I told them it was for my insulin I got the refrigerator at no charge. The housekeeper brought us extra pillows (the ones in the room went flat when you laid down on them), I asked could he spray the room because it smelled like someone had just vomited, his reply was they probably did. The spray helped for a while but I woke up to that smell and thought I was going to vomit myself. I used a can of Lysol spray but it did not help for long. That night as I was packing I pulled the rolling chair from the desk and then I found the vomit in the back screen of the chair, now I hope that I do not get sick. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff You should be very proud of your staff as they smiled and showed that they enjoyed their jobs. Even with the blizzard they didn't let that interfere with their jobs. Long hours and short sleep. I thank them all. Keep up the good work. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service The people at this hotel are so friendly and accommodating. I stayed during a blizzard and was so impressed with the staff. They handled every need with a smile. The same people worked every shift and sincerely seamed to be enjoying themselves. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing service during a blizzard This hotel and its staff was fabulous during my stay. A rare blizzard hit in October and the city was shut down, most without power. The manager of the hotel did an amazing job of keeping the staff going and providing excellent food for the guests. The waiters and waitresses were working extremely long shifts, as was all of the staff, because no one could come in to replace them. They all had great attitudes...... cheerful, hardworking. Bryan was our favorite. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice experience Great Holiday Inn. Met all of expectations and more. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First stay in Rapid City The hotel staff was awesome. They provided a shuttle for us downtown and a ride back to the hotel when we inquired about taxi services in Rapid City. The coffee and gift shop were well stocked and again, super friendly staff. Plenty of room to spread out in our room. The breakfast and dinners were fabulous and reasonably priced. September 29, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading