• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: RAPID CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

One pet under 50 pounds allowed per guest room. The pets must be kept in a kennel at all times and may not be left unattended or be in any public areas of the hotel. The pet rooms are non-smoking rooms located on the first floor.
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Badlands National Park
Distance From Hotel:45.0MI
Attraction:
Historical Deadwood
Distance From Hotel:45.0MI
Attraction:
Journey Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Crazy Horse Memorial
Distance From Hotel:42.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:63
  • Total number of suites:9
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:16
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:47
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:54
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Best Among Rapid City, SD Hotels

When you're visiting the Gateway to the Black Hills, you can expect a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Rapid City. Our hotel's central location is in the city's medical hub. We're also near Mt. Rushmore and the Black Hills of South Dakota.

We're a popular choice among families and leisure travelers looking for hotels in Rapid City, SD. Stop for a photo op with the life-size bronze statues of the Presidents in our historic downtown.
View More

Best Among Rapid City, SD Hotels

When you're visiting the Gateway to the Black Hills, you can expect a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Rapid City. Our hotel's central location is in the city's medical hub. We're also near Mt. Rushmore and the Black Hills of South Dakota.

We're a popular choice among families and leisure travelers looking for hotels in Rapid City, SD. Stop for a photo op with the life-size bronze statues of the Presidents in our historic downtown. Discover the Black Hills' history at Journey Museum or take a tour of the Museum of Geology at South Dakota School of Mines & Technology. The beauty of Badlands National Park is worth a day trip. We're also near Deadwood, Wind Caves, Mt. Rushmore and the Crazy Horse Memorial.

Business guests and families appreciate our Rapid City, SD hotel's location near Rapid City Regional Hospital, Black Hills Surgery Center, Black Hills Regional Eye Institute and the Same Day Surgery Center. Plus we have a public computer and copy & print service.

Whether business or pleasure brings you to Rapid City, SD, our hotel's free high-speed, wireless Internet access keeps you connected. Wake up and enjoy a our free Express Start breakfast bar before visiting the indoor pool and whirlpool. With the free airport shuttle from Rapid City Regional Airport (RAP), features like these are why we're the favorite among hotels in Rapid City, SD.

View Less
Features
If you're searching for hotels in Rapid City, SD near the medical hub, search no more. We're within walking distance of Rapid City Regional Hospital and Black Hills Regional Eye Institute.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 152 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful property and staff. Best breakfast buffet. Shuttle driver and desk staff are superior! September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Front Desk Staff The front desk staff was the best I have ever experienced in my travels. They were 100% ready for my families arrival. We had 4 rooms for 2 days and a 5th room for one day. The staff had everything ready and were amazing to work with. I would recommend them for any stays in the Rapid City area. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It was a great location to use as our home base as we traveled throughout the Black Hills. We were also able to walk to downtown for dining and some shopping, and there was a shuttle available, however we did not use it. September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Rapid City Great hotel with friendly staff. Ordered food from Grille very good but breakfast buffet needs more attention & checking if food trays getting low. Very comfortable bed, pillows & room. September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dining I had breakfast each morning. I have no complaints about the food, I thought it was good. You do need to replace the chairs at the tables, the upholstery is getting pretty worn. Also, the edges of the tables have a wood veneer finish. These were sticky to the touch. They need to get wiped down thoroughly. September 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious suite, comfortable bed The staff was very friendly, greeting me as a Rewards Club member. The hotel Atrium is very attractive. The suite was large and well equipped. The hotel is beginning to show its age and the rooms could use updating - carpet in room and hall needs replacing., furniture dated and not too comfortable. Location right downtown is excellent, facing a park, very convenient parking. September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience As a Platinum Priority Club member I stay at a lot of properties, and I have to say that on a recent mini vacation the experience at this hotel was outstanding. Very friendly staff. . .nice rooms. . .no issues at all because we were traveling with our dogs. . .even room service was great. I strongly recommend staying at this property. September 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Granny1938 The check in clerk was very accomodating, pleasant, helped with directions to easily journey to Mt. Rushmore. Our breakfast waiter, was very pleansant and accomodating. I wanted to ask him why he had a toothpick between his lips both mornings, and am guessing he was trying to quit smoking Fine young man. Check out "bellman" asked if he could do anything to help us. Overall, a very pleasant stay. September 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice enough room Do not recommend this Holiday Inn though I usually love them! Room okay-restaurent-AVOID! Stayed two nights 9/1-9/3...got breakfast tickets for our suite. The first morning flies poured out of coffee carafe at table and waiter laughed about it. Bad service even after that. Second day ordered pancake (buffet flies everywhere)...52 minutes after ordered...nothing but couple a walk by jokes by waiter. Complained to three women working front desk and response was WOW! No body could care less...checked out and left. Very disappointed .... September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service comfortable, quiet, good food, good happy hour prices September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best stay ever!! We had a great experience staying here! The front desk gal was friendly, cheerful, personable, and very helpful at check-in. We had a really nice suite that was very clean with a comfortable bed. We had the greatest experience at the hotel restaurant for breakfast with a young man that seemed to enjoy his job and was friendly & entertaining as he served us. He started our day with lots of smiles & laughs. We had a very pleasant stay and will certainly stay here again. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay This hotel is very nice and clean. The staff is awesome. The food was very good. We only had one complaint and that was the big dog barking in the room next door but the front desk handled it. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large spacious room The room had a King bed and a sofa. It was very comfortable and spacious. The atrium in the lobby was gorgeous. The room was cheaper than a comparable room at the Holiday Inn Express near the highway. It does not come with a free breakfast, but the money you save on the room (compared to one at the HI Express) you can buy a very good breakfast in the restaurant. September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by NO problems No problems, good clean place, friendly staff and helpful September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel!! We were only staying one night on the way through Rapid City, but wished we could stay longer. The staff was great and the beds were very comfortable. I stopped at the bar at 10:30 and was able to get a terrific drink, but no food. I thought this was unusual. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will stay here again! Friendly staff, clean room, and a great location adds up to one thing: we will stay here again! August 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great staff, needs updating. The living area suite furniture is very old and worn. Didn't feel comfortable with the cleanliness of the furniture. The bath and bedroom also need updating, The ceiling is in disrepair and stained. The pool water was very cloudy. August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Rapid City Rushmore Holiday Inn Great Hotel, However my room had a bad old smoke odor, I had my carpet steam cleaned and it still had a odor in the room. Food and Staff were excellent! August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, service and comfort. The hotel was located next to the Civic Center and near downtown. Lots of fun activities, shops and restaurants close by and the people were all super friendly. It was quiet, comfortable and the suite was perfect for visiting with local friends. August 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay This was my second visit in 3 years. Found the hotel the same but "tired". Is in need of updating. Otherwise my stay was great. The staff is all wonderful especially Savannah. The hotel is close to everything we needed to do. The meals we did have were very good, the bar area was very accommodating to our large group. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Personnel Twana is an outstanding supervisor--we were there 2 nights apart on a long drive on the second night and she helped us tremendously. A kind and sweet lady.We enjoyed the cocktails in the bar where we enjoyed our dinner. We are Texans and loved our stay with so many kind people,but we feel that Twana went above & beyond to help!!! August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay, Even In Rally Week! We recently combined business with vacation in Rapid City. The hotel was much nicer than I expected, and I loved the layout of the lobby with terrace corridors for the rooms, which made it bright and airy. The boys loved the glass-in elevators. Location was excellent for touring the Black Hills. The room itself seemed a bit small for 2 adults and 2 children for a full week -- plus, it was 2 double beds instead of 2 queen beds -- but overall, it worked out OK. Service was excellent. And even though we stayed during Harley rally week, the noise level was fine. In fact, we hardly noticed them, except to admire the array of gorgeous bikes parked by the doors. My one quibble was the extraordinary price charged during rally week. It's why I rated this as "fair" in terms of value: It was the same hotel as the week before, but inflated prices for the rally week. But, that's economics and competition and we paid the rate knowing that it was inflated. We still had a good time, and would stay there again. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing service The employees at this hotel are the best that I have ever had. I have never had so many people be friendly, courteous, and willing to help. One of the best stays at a hotel ever. August 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by IN NEED OF A RENOVATION This Holiday Inn is need of a renovation. The rooms are very dark, outdated and have a strange smell. The rooms do not even come with a microwave or a refrigerator . You have to request a refrigerator if you want one. The bathrooms are small too.. The beds need to be replaced as they are worn and are not comfortable. Next time we are in Rapid City, we will stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites which has very comfortable beds and the rooms are very nice. We stood at this Holiday Inn because of the location (ease of getting to Mt. Rushmore etc.) However, for the price we paid, we expected more. Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza should take some pointers from Holiday Inn Express and Suites chains. Here is hoping that in the near future this place gets a much needed renovation (not just replacing the light fixtures). It is time!! August 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 20 year veterans My wife and I have been frequenting this property for the past 20 years, and Sherri Beck, Dave, Peter, David, and Twana have always gone out of their way to make us more than comfortable. As for the food service; over the years we've experienced somewhat of a hit or miss. This year our dinners (herbal chicken over pen pasta) was a definite miss, while brunch with roast beef was a hit, go figure. Anyway, we love our annual stay at this Holiday Inn and recommend it highly. M&M LaDue August 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 family vacation Very thing was great. The staff was helpful and friendly. August 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No Good Our arrival was approx 10pm and room service was not avaiable, there was bad odor in the room and hallway. Bedding was less desirable, pillows were small and not fluffy. I ask a simple request for ANY type of cutlery to consume my morning oatmeal and NON was brought to my room; upon check-out at 9am the coffee shop was closed so I couldn't purchase a cup of coffee before leaving to the airport. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and Friendly Staff This hotel was just beautiful. Our stay was very relaxing and all of our needs, questions and concerns were met. If we needed directions they provided us maps and personal directions. The staff was always very friendly and greeted us with smiles. The Hotel was convenient to everything that we did Mt. Rushmore, Bad Lands, Downtown, Sturgis, etc. This was our second stay at this hotel and we will stay there again when we're back in Rapid City. We loved it. August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay Pleasant staff, clean rooms. Would be great to keep the bar open until 1 or 2 a.m. (or room service for drinks) and to offer some food a bit later in the evening. Thanks for the great stay. August 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Passing through for one night Nice hotel. While I was there for just one night, I did notice how friendly the staff was. The two girls at the front desk were friendly and polite. Gift Shop employees were always helpful along with my server at breakfast. None of the employees sounded robotic (as they often do at hotels). The amenities in the rooms were fine, however bedframes, chairs, bathroom are due for a renovation. The room was a bit overpriced however the demand was there for that location so the rates were agreeable. I would stay there again. August 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast was great, staff was wonderful-front desk!! Excite room had broken machine that did not work, had to use the stairway for my excite but the staff was wonderful and breakfast was great, overall enjoyable stay. August 1, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Lobby Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby Front Desk
Select to close.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Availability
Loading