• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: RAPID CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

One pet under 50 pounds allowed per guest room. The pets must be kept in a kennel at all times and may not be left unattended or be in any public areas of the hotel. The pet rooms are non-smoking rooms located on the first floor.
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Journey Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Mount Rushmore
Distance From Hotel:22.0MI
Attraction:
Custer State Park
Distance From Hotel:40.0MI
Attraction:
Crazy Horse Memorial
Distance From Hotel:42.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:63
  • Total number of suites:9
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:16
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:47
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:54
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Best Among Rapid City, SD Hotels

When you're visiting the Gateway to the Black Hills, you can expect a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Rapid City. Our hotel's central location is in the city's medical hub. We're also near Mt. Rushmore and the Black Hills of South Dakota.

We're a popular choice among families and leisure travelers looking for hotels in Rapid City, SD. Stop for a photo op with the life-size bronze statues of the Presidents in our historic downtown.
View More

Best Among Rapid City, SD Hotels

When you're visiting the Gateway to the Black Hills, you can expect a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Rapid City. Our hotel's central location is in the city's medical hub. We're also near Mt. Rushmore and the Black Hills of South Dakota.

We're a popular choice among families and leisure travelers looking for hotels in Rapid City, SD. Stop for a photo op with the life-size bronze statues of the Presidents in our historic downtown. Discover the Black Hills' history at Journey Museum or take a tour of the Museum of Geology at South Dakota School of Mines & Technology. The beauty of Badlands National Park is worth a day trip. We're also near Deadwood, Wind Caves, Mt. Rushmore and the Crazy Horse Memorial.

Business guests and families appreciate our Rapid City, SD hotel's location near Rapid City Regional Hospital, Black Hills Surgery Center, Black Hills Regional Eye Institute and the Same Day Surgery Center. Plus we have a public computer and copy & print service.

Whether business or pleasure brings you to Rapid City, SD, our hotel's free high-speed, wireless Internet access keeps you connected. Wake up and enjoy a our free Express Start breakfast bar before visiting the indoor pool and whirlpool. With the free airport shuttle from Rapid City Regional Airport (RAP), features like these are why we're the favorite among hotels in Rapid City, SD.

View Less
Features
If you're searching for hotels in Rapid City, SD near the medical hub, search no more. We're within walking distance of Rapid City Regional Hospital and Black Hills Regional Eye Institute.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 213 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reunion I am the reunion planner for our organization. This is our second reunion holding events at the Rapid City-Rushmore Plaza. The Catering Office, Banquet Staff, and Hotel Manager were very friendly, helpful, very accommodating and easy to work with. This year's reunion was a combined reunion, holding two receptions, a meeting, banquet with special program, and Sunday Breakfast, with registration days also. I received many compliments and great reports from attendees of the hotel, meals, and events. We look forward to our next reunion to be held at the Rapid City-Rushmore Plaza, again in three years. The number of attendee's we have is approx. 100. This hotel is very accommodating and in a great location. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place in a Great Place! The Holiday Inn in Rapid City was a great place for our Air Force reunion--and Rapid City is a WONDERFUL place to live/visit/work/play!!!!!!!! We hope to come again soon! July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel! I loved this Holiday Inn. The lobby area is beautiful, very well decorated and comfortable. The bar area and restaurant were great, I utilized both. I loved this place, will stay there again when visiting the Rapids City area. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel! I had a great stay at this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, the service was good, the staff were pleasant and helpful, and the waterfall in the atrium was soothing and beautiful. The shuttle from the airport is great service, and I enjoyed the company of the driver - which is amazing at 5am! And Mike the bartender makes a mean G&T, and the best margaritas around! I look forward to staying again next year! June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always great and great staff....Thanks Thank you as always and excellent stay and staff...love staying here and will return.. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent for non-smokers High quality accomodations, next to civic center, well equipped for business and vacation travelers. The only reason I would not make this my primary choice for lodging is the hotel is 100% non-smoking and, as a smoker, I prefer accomodations that provide for the 20% of us that smoke, when booking for personal travel. June 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed I used my rewards points for this stay. I was charged the cost of the room anyway on my debit card, which caused me to have problems with my card at the final destination of my trip. My luggage was taken to different room than what I was actually in. There were no Kleenexes in the room or bathroom. When I went to check out, my rewards point balance was incorrect. The person at the desk was rude to me and was of no help to me. He was from a foreign country and very difficult to understand. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Excellent hotel, friendly staff, very clean and convenient. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay Our room was nicely updated and clean, staff were very pleasant and accommodating. The hotel was a short walk from the downtown shops and restaurants. Easy access to the freeway and the area attractions. June 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place overall The place is very nice and the people are friendly. The staff are very helpful and the building is very well kept. Our only issue was the bed was very uncomfortable. June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by need to update restaurant furniture Shabby furniture in restaurant area, waited for service at breakfast , finally went up and did buffet . staff looked uninterested. June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay in a Great Town We loved our stay at the Rapid City Holiday Inn! Staff was very helpful in giving us ideas for how to spend our time when we were in town. Thanks so much for an enjoyable trip to Rapid City, and the surrounding area! June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good place It was fine. The staff was the most friendly and helpful and happy I have ever seen. June 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel but poor housekeeping We stayed here for our son's wedding. (The wedding reception was also held here.) The front desk staff were excellent. The lobby and atrium area were great. Lots of comfortable and clean seating. Housekeeping was lax. On day three we asked housekeeping to clean our room and leave us fresh towels. Nope. We had to borrow towels from a family member in another room. We set the trash outside the room in hopes it would be removed. It was, but sheesh..should we have had to do that? The reception was beautiful and the hotel was super- accommodating. The event planner for the hotel did a fabulous job. We were very pleased with everything. The stay was good except for the housekeeping issue. I'm sure that they will remedy that right away or suffer the loss of business. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great brunch, comfy beds we stayed at the Holiday Inn in Rapid City for a class reunion. A local classmate booked a block of rooms there at a special price. The room was a great value for the price paid, the bar area allowed us to "take over" a space for a bunch of us to reminisce. We were given a private room to enjoy our Sunday Brunch which was excellent. Staff at all facets of this hotel were attentive and personable. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn-Good value We came to Rapid City to attend a performance next door at the Civic Center and were very pleased with our experience at the Holiday Inn. Our only point of dissatisfaction was the fact that the common areas (dining area in restaurant, lobby, gathering area near fountain) was very chilly. The day we arrived was quite cool and wet, so that may have had some bearing on the indoor temperature of these areas. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much. The pool area especially was pleasant. We recommend this facility for anyone staying in Rapid City. June 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This Holiday Inn is in a prime location for guests who want to walk to restaurants and shopping. The staff are friendly (if not the most efficient) and have experience working with large groups. IMHO, the restaurant and hotel are overpriced but it is a quality property with adequate meeting space, pool, fitness center, and other amenities. June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent wait and hotel staff Exceptionally helpful and professional staff. Extremely clean. Close to city center and exterior is well lit for security and safety. June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel Good location to sites in the area. Can walk to downtown. Food and drink at hotel were good. My only complaint would be house keeping not replacing towels when ask and not leaving enough towels. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice clean hotel at a decent value I was very impressed with the hotel from the first phone call I made to confirm my reservation to the easy check out. I would definately recommend this hotel! June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service above and beyond The staff time and time again exceeded by expectations. This was confirmed one last time when I was in a hurry to leave and asked for a plastic bag for an item in my luggage. While not able to quickly grab and me having to head to the car, I found them chasing after me in a sprint to bring me the requested plastic bag. This was just one example of the service that was experienced time and time again during the 9 days of my stay. The only improvement that I could see would be a better fitness center, but there were full service centers not far away in town. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great experience We had the best overall hotel experience of any trip ever. From the Front Desk to the room staff we were very pleased. Twanah was very accommodating to us as was the whole staff. We ate in the Court and the bar area and both were excellent..Sorry to say this, but the Banquet dinner was very low Quality except for the Dessert, which was superb. Our recommendation is assured. June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet relaxing place We had a minor issue with the room (sink in bathroom) but overall this is a nice property. Good wi-fi in the room. Decent food and gathering area(s) in the lobby. Very, very nice staff. June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location This hotel has friendly, efficient staff...convenient parking, food, beverage AND even a coffee bar. Overall a great place to stay. June 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Loud and little sleep. The hotel had two weddings that evening and all the rooms open into a central courtyard. We were on the 6th floor and there was extremely loud laughing, yelling and shrill whistling until almost 3am. My husband and I both slept very little. I would recommend this hotel if you were traveling during the week as the room itself was comfortable, very clean and very modern but weekends are out! I'm not sure if this hotel has wedding parties, or other such large gatherings often, but if they do I would recommend a major remodel to shield guests who are not part of the festivities from the noise. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value in central Rapid City Best locaton in Rapid City. Easy access to downtown and all it's amenities and to the Black Hills. Enjjoy having a restaurant, coffee bar and loounge all in the building. Friendly and helpful staff. June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and convient Excellant hotel in a good location to city center and highways. June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and friendly!! Hotel was clean and staff very friendly!! Wish they had PPV though, although the satellite channels were good (first world problem, ha ha ha!!). June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff Clean, room, very efficient and helpful staff, good meeting spaces. June 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Holiday Inn I ever stayed at! Front desk staff welcomed me as Platinum member but failed to offer amenity until reminded, Carpet in public areas on first floor as well as upper floor hallway were littered with debris. Surprisingly the room was quite clean. However, despite new furniture, there was no refrigerator. I called and one was delivered quickly. The restaurant, "The Grill," was an experience in greasy, over seasoned offerings. The "Wild Caught Walleye Cakes" resembled smashed pancakes fried in grease. The soup of the day was over-seasoned and tasteless. Do yourself a favor, stay anywhere but here. May 28, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Lobby Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading