• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: RAPID CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

One pet under 50 pounds allowed per guest room. The pets must be kept in a kennel at all times and may not be left unattended or be in any public areas of the hotel. The pet rooms are non-smoking rooms located on the first floor.
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Badlands National Park
Distance From Hotel:45.0MI
Attraction:
Historical Deadwood
Distance From Hotel:45.0MI
Attraction:
Journey Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Crazy Horse Memorial
Distance From Hotel:42.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:63
  • Total number of suites:9
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:16
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:47
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:54
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Best Among Rapid City, SD Hotels

When you're visiting the Gateway to the Black Hills, you can expect a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Rapid City. Our hotel's central location is in the city's medical hub. We're also near Mt. Rushmore and the Black Hills of South Dakota.

We're a popular choice among families and leisure travelers looking for hotels in Rapid City, SD. Stop for a photo op with the life-size bronze statues of the Presidents in our historic downtown.
View More

Best Among Rapid City, SD Hotels

When you're visiting the Gateway to the Black Hills, you can expect a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Rapid City. Our hotel's central location is in the city's medical hub. We're also near Mt. Rushmore and the Black Hills of South Dakota.

We're a popular choice among families and leisure travelers looking for hotels in Rapid City, SD. Stop for a photo op with the life-size bronze statues of the Presidents in our historic downtown. Discover the Black Hills' history at Journey Museum or take a tour of the Museum of Geology at South Dakota School of Mines & Technology. The beauty of Badlands National Park is worth a day trip. We're also near Deadwood, Wind Caves, Mt. Rushmore and the Crazy Horse Memorial.

Business guests and families appreciate our Rapid City, SD hotel's location near Rapid City Regional Hospital, Black Hills Surgery Center, Black Hills Regional Eye Institute and the Same Day Surgery Center. Plus we have a public computer and copy & print service.

Whether business or pleasure brings you to Rapid City, SD, our hotel's free high-speed, wireless Internet access keeps you connected. Wake up and enjoy a our free Express Start breakfast bar before visiting the indoor pool and whirlpool. With the free airport shuttle from Rapid City Regional Airport (RAP), features like these are why we're the favorite among hotels in Rapid City, SD.

View Less
Features
If you're searching for hotels in Rapid City, SD near the medical hub, search no more. We're within walking distance of Rapid City Regional Hospital and Black Hills Regional Eye Institute.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 160 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by IN NEED OF A RENOVATION This Holiday Inn is need of a renovation. The rooms are very dark, outdated and have a strange smell. The rooms do not even come with a microwave or a refrigerator . You have to request a refrigerator if you want one. The bathrooms are small too.. The beds need to be replaced as they are worn and are not comfortable. Next time we are in Rapid City, we will stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites which has very comfortable beds and the rooms are very nice. We stood at this Holiday Inn because of the location (ease of getting to Mt. Rushmore etc.) However, for the price we paid, we expected more. Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza should take some pointers from Holiday Inn Express and Suites chains. Here is hoping that in the near future this place gets a much needed renovation (not just replacing the light fixtures). It is time!! August 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 20 year veterans My wife and I have been frequenting this property for the past 20 years, and Sherri Beck, Dave, Peter, David, and Twana have always gone out of their way to make us more than comfortable. As for the food service; over the years we've experienced somewhat of a hit or miss. This year our dinners (herbal chicken over pen pasta) was a definite miss, while brunch with roast beef was a hit, go figure. Anyway, we love our annual stay at this Holiday Inn and recommend it highly. M&M LaDue August 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 family vacation Very thing was great. The staff was helpful and friendly. August 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No Good Our arrival was approx 10pm and room service was not avaiable, there was bad odor in the room and hallway. Bedding was less desirable, pillows were small and not fluffy. I ask a simple request for ANY type of cutlery to consume my morning oatmeal and NON was brought to my room; upon check-out at 9am the coffee shop was closed so I couldn't purchase a cup of coffee before leaving to the airport. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and Friendly Staff This hotel was just beautiful. Our stay was very relaxing and all of our needs, questions and concerns were met. If we needed directions they provided us maps and personal directions. The staff was always very friendly and greeted us with smiles. The Hotel was convenient to everything that we did Mt. Rushmore, Bad Lands, Downtown, Sturgis, etc. This was our second stay at this hotel and we will stay there again when we're back in Rapid City. We loved it. August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay Pleasant staff, clean rooms. Would be great to keep the bar open until 1 or 2 a.m. (or room service for drinks) and to offer some food a bit later in the evening. Thanks for the great stay. August 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Passing through for one night Nice hotel. While I was there for just one night, I did notice how friendly the staff was. The two girls at the front desk were friendly and polite. Gift Shop employees were always helpful along with my server at breakfast. None of the employees sounded robotic (as they often do at hotels). The amenities in the rooms were fine, however bedframes, chairs, bathroom are due for a renovation. The room was a bit overpriced however the demand was there for that location so the rates were agreeable. I would stay there again. August 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast was great, staff was wonderful-front desk!! Excite room had broken machine that did not work, had to use the stairway for my excite but the staff was wonderful and breakfast was great, overall enjoyable stay. August 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by water cold gorgeous room, mainly FABULOUS STAFF - hot water was cold - not good for a weary traveler - room key took 3 trips to reception to get working - so tired at that point. Bartender AMAZING - restaurant - GREAT - door man - poor - did not mention my car lights were on - a guest told me - the doorman was looking directly at my car. I asked 3 people for feedback form - not person got it right - the janitor tried the hardest. Stay was 7/24 July 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! A lovely place with friendly staff and delicious food. We enjoyed our stay immensely! July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Rooms Nice clean room upon check in. Asked for an in room fridge, and staff delivered a portable fridge in minutes. Thanks July 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Great location, but the property is in dire need of an update. No fridge, no microwave, stained carpet, out dated bathrooms, windows woukdn't open. Very expensive!!!!! July 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and good service It is nice to be close to the park. The rooms were clean and comfortable beds. The rooms could use some updates as the furniture is a little shabby. The sofa sleeper mattress was awful, you really should do something about that if you charge that much for the room. Most suites I have stayed in have a frig and microwave. Some even in a regular room, This should be easy for Holiday Inn to do. We were happy with the guest services as they brought us a microwave to the room and didn't even charge extra for it. But it is a pretty good place to stay and would stay there again. July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Traveling We stayed here while moving our family across the country. We had never been to Rapid City or the area before and we choose this hotel because it was pet friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is a bit on the expensive side however it is a first class operation. July 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel A very nice hotel. Everything went well with this hotel from check in to check out. Although we were not given free bottled water. I like the idea of the table lamps with electrical outlets. It is so easy to plug charges and the cpap machine of my husband. Will recommend to my friends. July 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Hotel! I stay in this hotel everytime i come to Rapid City. The staff is super helpful and very respectful. i have always been greeted with a smile everytime I check in, walk in, leave for the morning, and also check out. I will always stay here everytime i visit Rapid City. July 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by overall experience good We enjoyed our visit to Rapid City and this hotel. Maid service was a little lacking as they seem to not complete the job...bed not completely made, table tops not wiped off, glasses not replaced with clean and never vacuumed during our stay. Every day was a different issue. And none of it was a big deal, but noticeable. July 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service!! While this is an older location... it is located in a Good Location. close to downtown and anything you may need. The Service at the front desk is fantastic. the Wifi at this location is Good The food in the Grille Cafe is Good The room could have been cleaner... I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I would stay again ! July 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Great place to stay...great location..quiet...room was very comfortable and staff was very helpful. July 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Full service hotel with great staff The hotel was comfortable and efficient even though busy. We checked in, settled in our room and went out to explore. I asked for a city map at the desk and got a great one - it would be good to offer one to everyone at check-in. The park between the hotel and the city was pretty, with a lovely rose garden (in July). July 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay and great central location Stayed for 10 days with my daughter while seeing many of South Dakotas natural wonders. Great central location with much to offer! Staff was very friendly made you feel like everyone was more than happy to see you no matter the time of day or how busy they were at the time. Building and grounds always in peak shape. Look forward to staying here again! Would highly recommend! July 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Safety is not a priority here Do not stay here if you drive! I was woken up by the police, they called to tell me my tire had been slashed, and since the hotel has no security cameras on the sides of the hotel, there are no leads. I was lucky, I only had one tire slashed, while others had all 4 tires slashed. The police also let me know that a couple of weeks ago, thieves were ripping off windshield wipers, but no one warned us of this when we checked in. I paid the same price for the tire and the room, and I would have been better off sleeping in my car to protect it. The only apology I ever heard was a response from a general manager AFTER I had written a poor review on Trip Advisor. They invited me to come back and try the hotel again. Not going back to get my tires slashed again, thank you very much. I contacted corporate, but it takes 21 days to get a response, so I wouldn't even bother with another stay at this, or any other, Holiday Inn. July 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff, room and food! Excellent all around! Staff treats you great, beautiful lobby, comfortable rooms, great beds, great supper menu, and excellent breakfast buffet, served by people who cared! And a super location! July 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Mediocre Stay I went to South Dakota to spend time with my family, and booked to stay at Holiday Inn, Rapid City, SD using my points. Being platinum with priority club, I was hoping for an upgrade or a better room. Unfortunately neither happened, and they put us in a standard double bed room. Though the bed worked out for my family of 4, the bathroom was so cramped. The shower was too forceful, and lacked a hand shower. It was hard to control the water pressure. The property looks old, and needs a facelift. I wish I stayed at Holiday Inn Express @ Keystone, which is a nicer property. I'm sorry to say, but my next stay is definitely not at this hotel. July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience My wife and I find our stay at the Holiday Inn just terrific!! Rooms are clean and comfortable, food service is excellent, and the front desk staff is very helpful. Special thanks to Ally (at the front desk) and Ashleigh and Maryia in the restaurant. July 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poor food and service Site recommended by friend who works in area. Bathroom floor felt sticky to roommate on arrival to room. Better next day after routine cleaning. Maid service was fine.Room assignment directly across from elevator; hotel not full so better room seemed available. Weren't there much and noise ok so not really a problem... Breakfast buffet was not enjoyable. Seated in high traffic area when plenty of other ables and one booth available. When we asked if we could have the booth,the receptionist reluctantly took us there saying "they (the booths) are very busy this morning". Unfortunately,we found the booth very uncomfortable ( perhaps she knew we would) so we quickly asked for a table instead, apologizing as we did so. Again we were seated in a high traffic are when other tables were empty. We sat down and found the edges of the table were so sticky we didn't want to touch them. Waitress quickly came and we asked to have the table wipes down. She returned with coffee but forgot the wet cloth. Went back to get the cloth and never returned! Another waitress was intercepted on the way to the food buffet and quickly came over and wiped down the table. Buffet ran out of eggs and plates. Waitress finally returned at the end of our meal, brought water when asked by my travel companion but looked annoyed. At the end returned to apologize for not getting back to us during the meal. I have never complained or written a bad review before since I am usually very tolerant and understand busy days and staffing issues. However, we were two females and felt like we were being treated like it used to be before it was realized that we also had discretionary funds and were just as important as male customers. I hope you will do staff education to rectify this! July 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing experience. Room was modern and clean. I had breakfast at the hotel and the staff and food was excellent. Overall, a very enjoyable stay. PS: Easy parking. July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by ill stay again nice stay, relaxing !! but the only problem I had was in the booking with the main office but overall stay was good July 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 4th of July Stayed here on the 4th while driving from NYC to Denver. Rapid City was a surprisingly quaint city and a great stop for exploring Mt Rushmore and Badlands National Park. The hotel is dated- feels very 80's-90's -ish. The heavily stained and worn luggage cart set the stage for the rest of the stay. The staff was helpful but we had several stains on the carpet in our room. Bed comfort was just okay. No continental breakfast- $11 buffet and not even free coffee in the lobby. I saw several other hotels in the area, including a couple downtown, which I would likely stay at if I ever end up in Rapid City again. July 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Perfect Place to Stay! From the moment we stepped foot into the hotel, we felt comfortable and well cared for. The staff was always extremely courteous and helpful. The entire property was very well maintained. The noise level was incredibly quiet ~ and we were next to an elevator! A beautiful property in a location convenient to local eateries and the major freeways that lead to all the tourist attractions that South Dakota is known for. I would highly recommend the Holiday Inn Rushmore Plaza to anyone. July 9, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Lobby Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading