• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: ALBANY
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Italian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed besides Service Animals. A cleaning fee of 100 USD is posted if pets are found in the guest rooms

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
RPI Tech Park
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
SUNY Albany, HVCC, RPI
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
NYS Captial / Government Buildings
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
The Egg Performing Arts Center
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:71
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:82
  • Total number of suites:17
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:34
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:48
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:74
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Enjoy Our Albany Area Hotel's Ideal Location

Situated east of the mighty Hudson River, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites East Greenbush - Albany Skyline is the perfect choice for your next trip to the capital city. A captivating view of the Hudson River Valley and the Albany Skyline can be seen from this beautiful hotel by Albany, NY, which is conveniently located off I-90 in Rensselaer.

Corporate travelers appreciate how close our hotel is to area companies like Phoenix
View More

Enjoy Our Albany Area Hotel's Ideal Location

Situated east of the mighty Hudson River, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites East Greenbush - Albany Skyline is the perfect choice for your next trip to the capital city. A captivating view of the Hudson River Valley and the Albany Skyline can be seen from this beautiful hotel by Albany, NY, which is conveniently located off I-90 in Rensselaer.

Corporate travelers appreciate how close our hotel is to area companies like Phoenix Insurance, Fuji and RPI Tech Park. We are also just minutes from downtown Albany, the State Capitol building and legislative offices. Our guests stay productive with free high-speed Internet access and a Business Center. With 1,200 sq ft of flexible space and state-of-the-art equipment, our hotel in Albany, NY is the perfect place to host your next meeting.

You can easily explore the Albany area from our hotel's location in Rensselaer. We are just minutes from popular attractions such as Empire State Plaza, Times Union Center, USS Slater and the New York State Museum. The bustling entertainment and shopping district of Lark Street is just a short drive from here.

We go beyond other Albany area hotels to provide our guests with the best in comfort and convenience. Take advantage of our great amenities, including an indoor pool, whirlpool, free breakfast buffet, fitness center and gift shop.

View Less
Features
Other Albany area hotels can't beat the stunning views you'll enjoy at this hotel. All of our suites look out across the Hudson River Valley and offer captivating views of the Albany Skyline.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 109 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay but...... A group of us usually visit the Albany area once or twice a year and always stay at this hotel. The rooms are clean, the staff helpful, a nice breakfast is included in the stay, coffee is always available, they accomadate both smokers and non-smokers, and have a small but nice pool area. Our family group reserved 3 rooms and range in age from 2 to 60. During this stay the hotel appeared full and the staff was extremely busy. My problem (on this trip only) was with the pool area. When we got to the pool there were alot of swimmers so only 3 of us adults went in with 3 of our children. Because it was crowded we tried to stay in our own little area. There was 1 adult who was supervising about 10 children (should there be a limit on how many children 1 adult can supervise?). There was another large party that consisted of 8-10 adults and their children (and here lies the problem). The adults were all drinking alcohol- glass beer bottles in a pool area! One of the adult females cannonballed into the pool with no regard to who she jumped on. An adult male soon followed and the 2 of them had a wrestling/splashing match pushing everyone else out of half of the pool. My adult daughter kindly spoke to the man who replied "get over it lady". With total disregard to how many children were upset by the splashing they continued their antics. They seemed quite drunk so my nephew (who had small children in the pool) spoke with him to no avail. Two different people went to the front desk to complain and a hotel employee came in and asked that there be no rough housing. The drunk man then took his beer bottle and went to the hot tub. The hotel employee came back in and told the man he couldn't have the beer bottle in the hot tub so he poured the beer in a glass and got back in the tub . The lady went over and did a cannonball in to the hottub!! Total disregard for others who were relaxing there. I then went out to complain and was told the hotel was busy and someone would come back in when they had a chance. Children who were with this party started fist fighting and the next thing you know there is blood everywhere. This was when everyone who wasn't with this party decided to leave the pool area. It seems to me that after so many complaints about drunk people who can't follow pool room rules and whose antics could have caused serious injuries they would have been the ones who were asked to leave the pool area instead of all the other paying guests who were trying to have fun and relax feeling they needed to leave because nothing was being done. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Many thanks to the staff. I had a group staying in Rensselaer. My experience was wonderful from the assistants with making a group reservation to Tom Gabrele securing the groups block. Are rooms were clean and comfortable. The woman handling the breakfast in the morning did a wonderful job keeping up with the 15 U basketball team. (and how they can eat). The staff was very accommodating to the team so they could watch the NCAA tournament together in the breakfast area Saturday night, Thank you again for helping with a successful weekend in Albany. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed my stay This was a clean, comfortable, and relaxing place to stay. I've come to expect that with Holiday Inn Express, and this was no exception. March 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Facility The employee checking me in Friday night was excellent and was very informative. The room was ready and extremely clean and well kept. The food needed a bit of work. February 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and That's It Called the front desk daily as I would leave to ask maintenance to check on the squeaking heater in my room that I had to turn off to sleep, everyday I was assured someone would check it out..... never happened. Reservation was for three nights, the morning after my second night the paid bill was slipped under my door, so I called to ensure the front desk was aware to which they were and rewarded me with no house keeping that day. Checking in was very inefficient and confusing as the clerk tried to check me into a room with an associate as if everyone there shares rooms. There is a good little sports grill in the parking lot that was perfect and only a 50' walk, best item of my stay.... February 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay Not the best hotel I've stayed at but it was okay and quit. February 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel This is not the first time staying here at this hotel from the people and room accomidations fantastic place to stay. January 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best HI express but they allow smoking. Why???? Love this hotel. We stay every Christmas Eve when visiting family but I don't understand why they still allow smoking. The hallways stink and we know that all smokers don't care which room their in if the hotel allows smoking. If they don't change soon I will look to stay somewhere else next time. December 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tired and worn This hotel was a bit of a disappointment. I think it is the worst of the Holiday Inn's that I have stayed at. The rooms looked to be tired and worn from traffic. The tub was damaged and there were numerous dings and dents, etc. I'd look for another place to stay. It wasn't cheap, and it wasn't a good value. December 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by miserable failure by the hotel staff as a somewhat regular traveler to Albany I have stayed at this property several times. This time however the staff's attitude and professionalism was deplorable. First, I usually arrive to Albany by train. The hotel in the past has picked me up with their shuttle. This visit I was told by the rude front desk person that the shuttle was only available af until 4PM. I arrived at 515 PM. In the past the shuttle has always picked me up. Then upon my departure, the shuttle was not available until 1PM. So I asked the rude lady at the front desk, who barely spoke English, You mean to tell me that the shuttle only runs between 1PM and 4PM? Rediculous. Then, as a priority club platinum member I was not greeted at check in as such. When I asked why the lady said she didn't have time, and did not know where any of the priority club stuff was. She was visibly annoyed that I dared asking her such nonsense. December 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything good Price was good, room was good, staff was very good.. Only thing not good was the awful in-room coffee. Better to leave it out and offer just tea, instead. December 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable rooms. Great cookies. We always enjoy our stay at this hotel. The bathrooms are roomy, with lots of room for you toiletries. Front desk staff is great. Mid week breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. The midweek kitchen staff rations the food. It is very uncomfortable to have to ask for everything since she only puts one or two items at a time. Never had this kind of experience at any other hotel. November 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Albany review The gentleman that checked us in was great. It was 11:30 at night and he was still very upbeat. Sorry do not remember his name. We had a king room - very spacious.. Hotel very clean. Breakfast was good. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Great breakfast, clean, quiet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! November 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A pleasant experience Comfortable room and very welcoming staff. What more could one ask for November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place to stay love the staff, the breakfast and the service. See customer care suggestion for slight improvement in the room. November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn - EG Very nice. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Nice with 10% of dining at the Sports Grille next to hotel. November 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Walls made of paper The fiance and I stayed at the East Greenbush Holiday Inn Express for a wedding. The room and facilities were clean well maintained. The view from the hotel is nice and the free breakfast was great. the issue we had was the fact that we could literally hear everything which occurred within 25 feet of our room. People having a conversation in the hallway, people walking around in the room above us, people closing the door in the room down the hall. All of these sounded as if they were occurring in our room. It was loud enough that I opened the door to ask the people in the hall to keep it down, until i realized that they were not yelling at all just conversing at a normal volume. We were stunned by how much noise carried into the room. Needless to say, it impacted our ability sleep. To compound matters, when I tried to mention this to the front desk employee when she asked us how are stay was, she could not understand what the issue was. As I explained the issue, she just kept asking if I called the front desk, because they could have asked people to keep the volume down. I tried to explain that the problem was not excessive noise, but the failure of the room to block out normal noise. I tried this three times, before i gave up. So I got to embark on a 5 hour drive home with little sleep and some extra frustration on the side. November 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk staff While staying at your hotel we had a medical emergency with my wife. Being from out of town we had no idea on the location of a hospital for help. Erin from the front desk was extremely helpful in finding a location (hospital) for help. She went out of her way to find a location for help. Thank you very much Erin you were there when we needed you. The hotel should be proud of her and her helpfulness. Ken October 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Amtrak I use Albany as my hub for changing trains. Toronto to Albany and Albany to Chicago. Great location since it is quiet. Great staff and walking distance to The Sports Grill. October 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Consistent Excellence My wife and I stayed here the night of our Wedding in 2007, and each year on our anniversary we return. The property is expertly landscaped to quell traffic noise while offering a wonderful view of the Albany skyline. It's conveniently located for business travelers, and also very close to dining, shopping and movies at Rensselaer County Plaza. It's consistently an excellent place to stay, and we plan to keep it as a part of our Anniversary celebration for a long time to come. October 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms need remodeling. Platinum members get no special treatment. Rooms have no fridge or microwave. I asked the front desk for a fridge and was told there were none available. My coworker asked for one the next day and received one??? October 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Stay somewhere else unless your lily white I stay on average of 5 to 10 nights a month in hotels for business and pleasure. I personally prefer Hilton properties but also stay at Holiday Inn Express Motels. My adult son and I wanted a hotel off the Interstate and chose this hotel. Since I have a bad knee, I limped into the property. We were greeted by the Hotel Manager, Ms Legg, who asked us if we shouldn't be there but at the Urgent Care down the hill. I informed her that I knew that this was a hotel and that I had a reservation. My son and I are Hispanic Americans. When I confronted Ms Legg about her remark and its racial overtones, she snapped back at me that she knew what it was like to be a minority since she was Jewish. When we arrived at our suite, we found used soap by the bathroom sink, dirty washcloths on our bed and two used/open bottles of water on the counter. Ms. Legg offered to have our room cleaned again. This was one of our worst experiences with any hotel property. Unless you are lily white, stay away from this property... and Ms. Legg. September 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by stay in Holiday Express-Greenbush Thaddeus was gracious upon check in. for the second time I stayed, the pool was NOT open. September 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great customer service I stay here quite often and always have a great experience. The only complaint I have is they need to use softer bathroom tissue. Room and bath are always clean Employees are always friendly. The choices for breakfast are plentiful. Thank you for making this a great place to stay. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service - Close to Amtrak Everything was great including The Sports Grill close by. Overnight due to Amtrak connection. Will be staying again in Oct. September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Chance to relax Traveling with a 91 year old parent is not the easiest thing in the world! The staff really went out of their way to help me negotiate a room that was close to the lobby. They told me how to get dinner delivered as my parent could not walk to the restaurant. They were able to answer all inqueries I had regarding the area. The room itself was roomy and smelled nice and fresh! When my husband got there the next morning, even he commented how the room did not have a "funky" smell, but rather fresh smelling. I would definitely stay there again if I am in the area. August 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff; awful rooms First room I was in was musty, so much so that my eyes and nose started to burn and itch. Manager, very nice man, transferred me to another room. Not too bad from a musty perspective, but the sheet did have small (yuck) blood stains. I went out to visit friends and on my return discovered that the redneck bar next door apparently shares the parking, so no spot available. Again, the manager stepped up and gave me his spot. The room was generally noisy with the person above me quite loud and the TV audible. I just turned my air on high and the fan noise drowned them out. The worst was when I got up in the morning to take my shower and discovered that the tub was unusable. It looked like someone had dumped a mop bucket in it. I thought I could rinse it out, but it was kind of "congealed". Again the staff tried to accommodate me by offering to let me shower in another room but by then I was going to be late for my meeting and had to leave. So from an experience standpoint I would score it very low. The only saving grace is the incredibly accommodating staff. I think they know that they work in an unpleasant place and try to make customers happy. The manager said he was not going to charge me for the night but I have not checked yet to see if I was actually billed. August 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by staff rude and hotel mediocre When I checked in at 10 PM, I identified myself as a platinum member. The kid behind the desk looked as if he had no clue what I was talking about or didn't care. I asked about a room up grade and he rudely said no. When I got to the room the air conditioning controls were broken off the a/c unit. the air was either on full blast or had to be turned off. The next morning at 8:15 the maid was banging on the door continually, waking me up, trying to com in and clean the room. Doesent the hotel inform these people that guests may still be asleep at that time? Then I got up and took a shower under luke warm water. I went downstairs at 9 am for breakfast which was supposed to run till 10 am and there were some crumbs of scrambled eggs left. that's it. no English muffins, no potatoes no meat. Every table in the breakfast area was filthy. Covered in dirty dishes. I asked the lady there to clean one and she rudely responded I would have to wait for her to do it. August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff We stay in Holiday Inns a lot while traveling for work and this one will go down as one of our favorites. The staff went above and beyond to greet everyone that comes through the door. We felt very welcome here. It was also really nice to have The Sports Grill right in the parking lot. They have really good food and friendly staff. We will definitely stay here again when working in the area. Our only complaint is they do not have a guest laundry in the hotel. We live on the road 2 months at a time for work and really need the convenience of laundry on site. August 23, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior Daytime
Hotel Exterior Daytime
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Daytime RPI Tech Park Hotel Exterior Daytime Calming view from your SMART suite Hotel Exterior Night
Select to close.
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn Express ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading