• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: RICHMOND
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Only Service Animals Allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Virginia War Memorial
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Richmond Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
American Civil War Center
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Landmark Theatre
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:110
  • Car Parking Available
  • $10.00 overnight self park fee. Parking pass issued at check in. Entrance at 2nd and Cary Street. 6' clearance for cars. SUV parking in back of hotel
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:100
  • Total number of suites:20
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:50
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:50
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:95
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6

Downtown Richmond’s Best Value in Location and Parking!

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Richmond, VA. Located in the heart of historic Richmond's River District, we offer corporate and leisure guests the best of the past and the future.

Business travelers can appreciate our convenient Richmond, VA accommodations. Our hotel, situated in the heart of downtown Richmond, is close to businesses such as Wells Fargo, theVirginia Biotechnology Research
View More

Downtown Richmond’s Best Value in Location and Parking!

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Richmond, VA. Located in the heart of historic Richmond's River District, we offer corporate and leisure guests the best of the past and the future.

Business travelers can appreciate our convenient Richmond, VA accommodations. Our hotel, situated in the heart of downtown Richmond, is close to businesses such as Wells Fargo, theVirginia Biotechnology Research Park, Altria, Philip Morris, SunTrust Bank and Mead Westvaco, as well as other Fortune 500 companies. Virginia Commonwealth University is six blocks away. The Greater Richmond Convention Center is .4 miles.

Your family will love staying at our hotel in Richmond, VA, located on Cary Street, because we are close to the Virginia Capitol Building, the Children's Museum and the Museum & White House of the Confederacy. Other nearby sights includes the Carpenter Center, the Landmark Theatre and VCU's Siegel Center. The Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens offers visitors natural Virginia beauty at its finest.

When you stay with us, you'll enjoy deluxe amenities including a 24-hour fitness center and a free Express Start breakfast. The free high-speed, wireless Internet access will keep you connected. The 24-hour business center has print, copy and fax services. Stay Smart in downtown Richmond and check out our great Richmond hotel deals and rates.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express in downtown Richmond offers you a premiere location with convenient access to the financial, Capitol and Riverfront districts and Virginia Commonwealth University's Academic and MCV campuses.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 277 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful, Clean Hotel, Staff and AC problems Extremely well maintained hotel, very clean. Had 2 issues. 1) Concierge room was supposed to open at 630am, it did not. (When I called the front desk they told me it was 633 and they didn't know why it wasn't open). No apology, no "i'll find out" just "I don't know". 2) Room AC. As long as I was up and walking about, it was fine. But laying asleep, it would not kick on. Woke of sweating multiple times - each time as soon as I stood up the AC kicked on. I understand the need to regulate AC and manage energy bills, but this one. Something apparently faulty in the system. At checkout, I told the desk clerk of my issue and asked her to have the manager call me. The manager did not - I guess we will have the discussion when I dispute my credit card. As an IHG Platinum member, and as a Platinum equivelent at a competitor, I am in at hotel 150+ nights a year. I understand issues happen. Having issues is not a problem - how management does or does not handle a problem is the issue. Would I stay here again - I would cautiously answer yes - the cleanliness of the hotel is outstanding. July 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfactory room, terrible service The rooms were clean and the shower had decent pressure and hot water. These cursory requirements were the highlights of the hotel. Service was terrible. I am not a Priority Club member. Perhaps that's why my experience was so different from those that I read online when I was researching which hotel to choose in Richmond. Our room was not available when we went to check-in at 3:15. No apology, no suggestion of what to do in the interim beyond sit and wait, and no compensation. Staff seemed relieved when I suggested we use the pool until the room was ready. Pool was ok (they always look better in the pictures), though work was being done in the women's locker room and we had to use the men's room to change. After passing 45 minutes at the pool, we went back the front desk and they were able to find a room for us to check in. (There were many people awaiting a room.) Still no apologies for the wait. Hallway to room was soaking wet with no signs to alert people walking through hall. Later they put a fan in the hallway in an attempt to dry it out. We were in Richmond to experience the city. We booked this hotel because we thought that we would be in the midst of the action. However, I asked multiple times for suggestions of what to do and where to go in Richmond to no avail. After looking through a magazine in the room, I asked for directions to go to a restaurant and they just rattled off directions, taking no time for me to actually write them down. (I was informed that this restaurant was not within the shuttle distance. No suggestions of other kid friendly restaurants within the shuttle range.) The rushed, unperceptive, bare-minimum service by staff happened multiple times in multiple ways by various staff. In addition, I decided to pay the extra $5 for valet parking, thinking it would be easier. However, the two times we asked for the car, it took over 20 - 30 minutes to find the valet and then another 5 - 10 minutes for our car to come. I would suggest self-parking to anyone who has to stay at this hotel. They seem to be short-staffed so that the valet is constantly running around. Upon checking out, I had hoped to voice some of these concerns, but was never asked how my stay was or if I had a nice visit. Pretty sure they know that the hotel is a bust, and just didn't want another complaint. Rumor has it that Richmond is a great place to visit. Unfortunately the staff at this hotel did not seem to know where visiting guests might like to go. This hotel made for a bad hotel experience, as well as no desire to return to Richmond. Beyond a satisfactory room, a good hotel is notable for its high quality of friendly service. Unfortunately this hotel doesn't have it! July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good business hotel to stay in Good overall hotel with an easy location to find. Bar manager very good and very friendly to all customers with lots of information about the area. July 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by felt very comfortable here. The staff at this hotel, make it a very good choice. they were very attentive and went out of their way to accommodate me. Nice view of St James river. Not too far from downtown restaurants. They do have a shuttle with a small radius, but all in all, it was a great experience. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First-Class Stay Breakfast buffet and omelet chef are first-class. Wednesday reception is very nice - especially complimentary beverages, fruit tray, and dessert tray. Heated food is okay. Location is perfect for business in downtown Richmond. July 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by We expected more Our visit was both business and leisure. The room was clean and comfortable but it's in major need of a makeover. Especially the bathroom. We ordered dinner through room service. The service was pretty bad she forgot all the side sauces. It took her 20 minutes to bring back the sauces by that time the food was cold. So I was totally over it! July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, close to all downtown attractions Enjoyable stay at the hotel. If you are an avid runner, make sure to take a run over the suspended pedestrian bridge to the island in the river where there are some great trails. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great price, convenient location Great value for the money - booked on line and got a better deal here than almost anywhere else - like the last time we stayed in Richmond, so this is now our "go to" hotel. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne Plaza As always, the staff was great, pleasant and efficient. I/we have never had any difficulty at this hotel that wasn't caused by other guests, and the staff was able to control them. I might recommend shortening the review, And allow people to save and exit when they think they are done. July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good potential to become an internationally rated Crowne Plaza. This property could use a visit from head office. There is so much potential to become an international level Crowne Plaza. There is no way to compare the Crowne Plaza Richmond to the Crowne Plaza Auckland but there should be some resemblance. The staff really seemed to try and please the guests. The Club facilities need some redecorating by a European or Asian designer/decorator. My room although very nice and met my expectations, did not have black out curtains that sufficiently allowed me to sleep beyond the early morning. This is my chief complaint. A good polish could make this hotel outstanding and could use a visit from head office. I will not be staying there again opting for the Holiday Inn Express in Richmond downtown. July 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding Weekend We enjoyed our stay at the Crowne. The staff was friendly and helpful. We made use of the hotel shuttle. The only difficulty we encountered was that all the rooms we needed were not ready at check-in. July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Room and Great View The 15th floor view of the James River was outstanding. Bring the binoculars! Comfortable bed, good pillows, great front desk staff. July 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Much Ado about Nothing Waste of money. Wish I had not selected this hotel. Staff tried to offer good service but not worthy of the rate paid July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service with friendly, helpful staff Was very pleasant at check in. Answered all questions with a smile. Stayed 3 night with a group of high school students with many other student were staying there as well and they were still very pleasant July 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and comfortable bed Hotel staff were great to work with and very pleasant. Breakfast buffet was excellent with helpful staff. Parking was sufficient, but automatic gate needs refining. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent place to stay My husband, 2 year old son and I stayed here for 3 nights for a wedding. The check in process took a bit longer than it should have, but the people helping us were very nice and accommodating. The hotel lobby looks very nice and the conference/ballrooms are pretty, but the hotel rooms themselves are a bit run down. They seem clean for the most part, but you can definitely tell it's an older building. The housekeeping staff were very nice and helpful. There doesn't seem to be too much going on downtown, but if you need to be in the vicinity this is a decent place to stay. Overall we had a good stay and I have no reason to not recommend this hotel. June 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't ever stay here! The first night we were placed in a room directly across from the elevator, and next to the cleaning staff closet. The door to our room was extremely poorly sealed (you could see light all the way around), making the room extremely noisy. You could hear every ding of the elevator and the rustling of cleaning supplies. We asked to be moved, and were told it would not be possible. On top of that, the room smelled of mildew. The pillows on the bed were far too stuffed, making sleeping quite uncomfortable. I ended up sleeping for most of the night with my head directly on the mattress. The morning after our first night, the toilet clogged and overflowed everywhere, a likely source of the mildew smell. Only after that did they reluctantly agree to move us to another room. This room was better, but did not make up for our terrible first night. I was also told by friends staying in another room that their toilet clogged as well, and their air conditioner was set on a motion detector for some reason, making it very hot at night. Overall, the hotel was dingy and outdated, particularly considering the high cost. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, and will make sure to share my experience with others online so they can know to avoid this hotel. June 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room but terrible service The room was wonderful, but the service staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good experience Overall, the room was very nice. Everything set up perfectly for a two night stay. The bathroom was a little awkward with the toilet almost right up against the wall. The staff was friendly. It was nice chatting a little bit with the woman at the front desk. However, the waitress in the restaurant did misunderstand and pretty much pressured me into ordered the buffet instead of a la carte. Access to parking was great. Central location. I would certainly stay again. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful facility The rooms are ALWAYS very clean! They have Internet access hard line and Wi-Fi. I had more than enough towels. Just a short walk to Main St... and covered parking!... The staff isALWAYS very courteous and fun to work with!. My most recent trip, When I got home, I realized I was charged for the parking (it was supposed to be complimentary)... small error... One phone call took care of it and the problem was solved. :+) Oh... must have been an oversight... and I didn't think to ask... I didn't get anything "extra" like I usually do, for being a Priority Club member!... oops June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely friendly staff The Crowne Plaza in downtown Richmond was the nicest hotel my wife and I have ever visited. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean, with fresh, white towels and lots of very hot water. The desk and wifi came in handy. The buffet-style breakfast was terrific. In the future, we would likely use the shuttle service, especially if the weather was poor. The drivers were always there ready to go. We had two minor issues, which were handled immediately. Especially noteworthy was the friendliness and respect from the staff. Definitely the best I have experienced at a hotel. It made us feel very important as guests! We would highly recommend this hotel and, yes, this is a real, live guest typing this review! June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellence and convenience in downtown Richmond I thoroughly enjoyed everything about my experience at this hotel. I was only in town for one night, and arrived too late to take advantage of some of the amenities (like the fitness center), but for my purposes the Crowne Plaza was an excellent choice. The room was clean and up-to-date, the front desk staff was friendly, and it was super-convenient to my business destination. I would definitely recommend this hotel. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. Outstanding service. Enjoyed or stay very much. Hotel is close by to the concert venue we came for and the place we wanted to visit for dinner. The staff was very helpful and friendly. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location for tourists and business people alike! Located on the James River it is a great location and rooms have very nice views of the river and surrounding downtown area. The staff is friendly and always happy to handle any questions. Gemma, who served in the 2nfloor café was very efficient and always smiling. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and nice hotel I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The check-in staff was very helpful and went out of their way to accommodate our family. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped but the shower curtain is too short in width. The shower water came out onto the floor and we had to put towels to soak up the water so we didn't slip. This was the same in the other two rooms our family had for our stay. The breakfast staff was slow to wait on us and we had to get our own water and juice for an ordered breakfast and not the buffet. I would stay here again as it is close to the areas we were visiting. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Great Hotel all around, clean and well kept. The staff is friendly and helpful, highly recommend this hotel June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It was good It was good. I was there four nights, I can't recall anything that wasn't as expected. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Return Trip Have stayed here before and will again, the Hotel Staff is wonderful and as an IHG Gold member they go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. The Rooms are Nice and the lounge is a nice place to relax after a day of meetings June 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Executive floor We stayed on the executive floor but the concierge room was never open as advertised. Also the walls were too thin and we could hear our neighbor's tv June 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Expected more from a Crowne Plaza First impression is a nice hotel with excellent front office staff - they did not disappoint at checkin. Things went downhill after leaving the front office - although I did not notice the worst thing until the next morning. While getting out of the shower after my only night staying at the hotel, I looked up and found two body hairs (i.e. short and possibly from private areas) on the ceiling. Looking more closely, they appear to have been painted or glued onto the ceiling. How does this happen? Additionally the pool was COLD and not at all what was advertised. However, the most frustrating thing for me what the shuttle service. Most times it worked as advertised but on my last day I followed the hotels instruction to call for pickup. I was told that a shuttle had just left and would be stopping at my area shortly. Since it is only a 5 minute drive to the convention center and that is where the shuttle was heading, I figured that I would have a short wait. 45 minutes and 3 phone calls later I was finally picked up by a very kind gentleman who apologized profusely. When I returned to the hotel I stopped at the front desk and, as timing would have it, was greeted by the same front desk person but with much less satisfying results. When I stopped to to check out I mentioned the same issues that were mentioned above. The first thing that I was told was that shuttles were first come, first served. Fine, but when I call and you tell me that you have someone on their way THREE times, I expect to be picked up. Then I was told that there really couldn't be any hair on the ceiling but someone would look into it later and, as far as the pool, oh well, sorry about that. Generally I am a patient and understanding person, overlooking problems and making the most of things. This reaction though frustrated me beyond belief. Apparently the front desk person recognized my frustration because I was offered free parking (a $12 value), no charge on the bowl of cereal I got from the shop (a $2 value), some additional points on my card, and two small bottles of wine. Understand, I did not stop to mention these things in order to get something, I even made that clear. However, to treat me in such a way as to offer some trinkets and minimize the treatment that I received was incredible. I travel around the country on business and for fun and have NEVER had an experience such as this. My plan is to travel back to Richmond annually for the same conference and to arrange a group of people. Will I book at the Crowne? I don't see how I could when I see how the treat their customers. June 9, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Welcome to our hotel lobby. Thank you for being our guest.
Welcome to our hotel lobby. Thank you for being our guest.
Select to close.
Welcome to our hotel lobby. Thank you for being our guest. Downtown Richmond Hotel offers free full hot breakfast Free wifi in our lobby/ patio area Richmond Coliseum  8 blocks from the hotel VCU Siegel/ Verizon Center- Final 4 2011 Season Go RAMS VCU Rams Basketball  Fianl 4 2011 season Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens A Must see A Million Blooms Carytown Shopping is a short 10 Minuite drive St. Johns Church located 2 miles from the hotel- Landmark Theatre  6 blocks from the hotel Edgar Allen Poe Museum- located 1 mile from the hotel Our lobby is the perfect place to meet a friend or relax and read Relax in our spacious lobby , Free fast wifi access Science Museum of Richmond located 2 miles from the hotel Our lobby area is expansive with plenty of room for everyone. NASCAR at RIR located a short 7 miles from the hotel Monument Ave a beautiful drive full of history Welcome to our front desk registration. We are waiting for you. Canal Boats- Canal Walk- a great spring/summer experience Maint Street Station- Amtrak 1 mile from the hotel Black History Museum located 6 blocks from the hotel George Washington Statue Virginai State Capital Excellent Hospitality  is our goal James River Rapids- many water options on the river Shockoe Slip- Fine Dining & Nightlife  10 blocks from the hotel Carpenter Performing Arts Center Down town Richmond- Friendliest staff in downtown Richmond! Virginia State Capitol located 10 blocks- open for daily tours VA Museum of Fine Arts- Picasso, Mummys, Elvis
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading