• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: RICHMOND
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Only Service Animals Allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Virginia Avation Museum
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
The Library of Virginia
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Virginia War Memorial
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Richmond International Raceway
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:110
  • Car Parking Available
  • $10.00 overnight self park fee. Parking pass issued at check in. Entrance at 2nd and Cary Street. 6' clearance for cars. SUV parking in back of hotel
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 10.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:100
  • Total number of suites:20
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:50
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:50
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:95
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6

Downtown Richmond’s Best Value in Location and Parking!

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Richmond, VA. Located in the heart of historic Richmond's River District, we offer corporate and leisure guests the best of the past and the future.

Business travelers can appreciate our convenient Richmond, VA accommodations. Our hotel, situated in the heart of downtown Richmond, is close to businesses such as Wells Fargo, theVirginia Biotechnology Research
View More

Downtown Richmond’s Best Value in Location and Parking!

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Richmond, VA. Located in the heart of historic Richmond's River District, we offer corporate and leisure guests the best of the past and the future.

Business travelers can appreciate our convenient Richmond, VA accommodations. Our hotel, situated in the heart of downtown Richmond, is close to businesses such as Wells Fargo, theVirginia Biotechnology Research Park, Altria, Philip Morris, SunTrust Bank and Mead Westvaco, as well as other Fortune 500 companies. Virginia Commonwealth University is six blocks away. The Greater Richmond Convention Center is .4 miles.

Your family will love staying at our hotel in Richmond, VA, located on Cary Street, because we are close to the Virginia Capitol Building, the Children's Museum and the Museum & White House of the Confederacy. Other nearby sights includes the Carpenter Center, the Landmark Theatre and VCU's Siegel Center. The Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens offers visitors natural Virginia beauty at its finest.

When you stay with us, you'll enjoy deluxe amenities including a 24-hour fitness center and a free Express Start breakfast. The free high-speed, wireless Internet access will keep you connected. The 24-hour business center has print, copy and fax services. Stay Smart in downtown Richmond and check out our great Richmond hotel deals and rates.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express in downtown Richmond offers you a premiere location with convenient access to the financial, Capitol and Riverfront districts and Virginia Commonwealth University's Academic and MCV campuses.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 242 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by MY Favorite Richmond hotel Lovely hotel, fantastic staff, personable & friendly management, delicious breakfast, and a wonderful location are my top reasons for repeat visits! This is definitely my favorite hotel in Richmond. June 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I will NOT stay here again by choice I must say that I have never stayed at a hotel where the restaurant closed at 9 pm. My room was not cleaned or serviced the first day and I had to grab someone from house keeping to clean it on the second day. They took all the towels and did not replace them. I then had to call for towels. The front desk staff was rude. I had to stay here due to a volleyball block that was required of our team. I would never stay here by choice again. The shuttle was a good experience if something good must be said about it. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay as usual! We have the opportunity to stay at this Crowne Plaza fairly often for business reasons. We always find a pleasant, helpful staff and immaculate rooms. We also enjoy the breakfast and evening receptions for IHG members in the concierge lounge during the week. We have met some wonderful people there and it's a great way to relax! May 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by the good and the bad we requested an extra blanket twice and never recieved it. once i made this request to the front desk and the second time i called down to the front desk but it never arrived. when we checked in at 4:00pm, our room was not ready, however our breakfast was comped the next morning so that was ok. the staff was very friendly and overall our experience was above average. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very enjoyable Helpful front desk willing to accommodate our needs. Extremely pleased--the kids LOVED it! Great view from room and slept well. May 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not the quality hotel I was expecting For the price of the room, I expected much better service and food quality at the restaurants. The food was mediocre at best. When I called for extra towels or blankets, the phone rang for at least 2 minutes. Once I received a person to speak with, they were not pleasant and informed me that there was a limit on the linens each room could receive. Both times I valeted the car, I had to wait outside for 5-10 minutes for someone to receive the vehicle and take the keys. No valet staff was posted outside to receive cars as they arrived. Finally I had to go inside the hotel and let them know I needed someone to valet the car and then go back outside to wait on them. The only true complement I can give is regarding the shuttle service provided. Those staff members were extremely courteous and helpful. They were very responsive and timely, especially Train. May 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Good Stay Overall we had a very good stay. We were greeted and recognized as a Priority Club member. The breakfast buffet was well maintained with a very friendly and attentive staff. One drawback was the pool area changing rooms not being maintained (wet towels on floor and large puddle areas). There wasn't a clearly defined area for clean towels, we found a couple unfolded ones on the backs of a couple of chairs. Positive: Later in the evening, clean towels were brought in. Recommendation: a table by the door for clean towels. The other issue was the refrigerator in our room did not work. It appeared to have just recently happened as there was a puddle where the freezer section had melted. However, wouldn't I failed to report it completely as a "Con" as I forgot to mention it to give an opportunity to resolve it. May 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleasant Had a great weekend stay. Great location in downtown Richmond. May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5th Stay and still great We have stayed at this downtown spot 5 times and will keep returning. The staff makes you feel at home and everything is right at your fingertips. Great downtown experience. May 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service, room, breaksfast and staff! I wish I could remember the name of the woman at the check in counter. She was friendly and for someone who had been on the road, a very welcoming face. She gave me a very nice room with a great view and the staff and food at breakfast were extraordinary. The breakfast buffet was very good but the staff was just excellent. I will definitely stay at this location again for future business trips because of the staff. May 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful service and accommodations Last weekend I held a leadership training at your hotel. The meeting room was set perfectly and our buffet lunch was delicious. The service was wonderful. Those of us staying overnight enjoyed our rooms and the restaurant. The Sunday brunch had more options than anyone could eat! May 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good property but.... Two out of five nights I had to call the front desk at 12:15 am and 1:00 am due to extreme noise in the next room. First night they sounded drunk and the next night they were just loud. Certainly interfered with my sleep and my ability to be alert at my conference the next day. Don't like increasing the rate on the weekend when I am attending a conference. I was told I registered too late for the National Genealogy Conference rate but my friend received that rate when she registered Thursday after the conference started on Wednesday. Should treat everyone the same. Room was clean and comfortable. Food costs too high. Wish there was shuttle to the airport, it is not that far and $35-$40 for a taxi is too much. Great front desk staff. May 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, ok location, where's the recycling??? Clean, quiet, very friendly and helpful staff, especially maids and limo drivers. Conveniently walkable to downtown Richmond (15 mins), which lacks nightlife, but that's not what we were there for. Downtown Richmond just has poor ambiance in general, although a few blocks away from the hotel is the James River canal walk which is pretty. I was also able to walk to the Crowne Plaza from the Main Street Amtrak station (25 mins). The restaurant was severely understaffed Friday night (one server). The hot tub was unavailable two nights. I was very frustrated trying to find recycling bins for my newspapers (delivered daily free to every room) and plastic bottles. If they have any bins at all, they need more. May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, very comfortable stay Stayed for 5 days for a conference. Beds comfortable, hotel was very quiet, concierge service on 16th floor was fantastic. The food was good at the main restaurant - did not try the lounge. Above all, the staff was just great - from the front desk to the shuttle drivers to the housekeeping to the food service. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by for only one night Very helpful and pleasant staff. I loved the location. May 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible It was incredibly disappointing. The rooms world uncomfortably warm and they refused to let me borrow a fan as it is a liability. Are you kidding me? This service in the restaurant was nonexistent, absolutely terrible. Tonight's in a row I was awaken at 2 AM and 3:10 AM with people banging on doors in the hall and being extremely loud and boisterous. Never again. Trust me, stay somewhere else if you want any type of service and a restful nights sleep. May 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by The Difference Between Can't and Don't Want To One of the reasons that I booked this hotel for myself and my students was the fact that it had shuttle service, however, when we arrived, I quickly discovered the the shuttle service was only available if and when it was quick and easy for the driver. When I called the hotel and asked for the shuttle to pick us up at the convention center, I was told by the driver that he was unable to get to the convention center because of all the block off streets due to the intercollegiate Cycling Event going on downtown. I walked outside, talked to one of the cabbies parked by the convention center and he not only said he could get me there, but quoted a price. We piled in and were at the hotel in under 15 minutes. So much for can't. In about and hour when my students and I needed to head back to the convention center, I spoke to the front desk about the shuttle and they spoke to the driver and he still said the same thing, "I can't get there because of the bike races". I explained to him that the taxi cab had no problems getting us to the hotel, so I did not understand why he could not get us back to the convention center. His response to one of my students was that "Y'all need to be walkin' anyhow". May 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcome at Front Desk and Room Assignment and Condition I am a frequent guest at the Crowne Plaza Hotel on Canal Street in Richmond. I have stayed at this Hotel numerous times during the past four years because the Hotel is clean, safe and offers all of the amenities that make business travel feel like home. I am especially appreciative for the warm welcome I receive when I make my reservations and when I arrive. Kenya, who works on the front desk is exceptional in her customer relations and her approach to receiving guest. She makes me feel that I am a priority and always, I repeat always, has a smile and a "glad to see you again" greeting. She knows my name and makes sure my room assignment will allow me to work in a conducive atmosphere. Kenya, in my opinion, is among the top front desk employees I have ever encountered in all of my business travels during the past twenty-five years. I have traveled extensively all of the US and Kenya rates at the top of the front desk members who have checked me in. I commend Kenya to you because she is friendly, effective and efficient at her job and when greeting guest at the Hotel. She deserves recognition and a raise! I was in your Hotel last week for two days and will return again tomorrow night and I look forward to Kenya's smile and greeting when I arrive. Dr. Harris April 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room comfort The overall experience was good, however, the AC in the room was not working properly. The room was very warm and it was a hot day. I called for service. A service man did come by and attempted to make an adjustment, but his efforts did not make a difference. So my room and sleep experience could have been better with a cooler room temperature April 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Comfortable bed and a great room for the price offered. April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reunion Visit The visit at the Crowne Plaza was very relaxing and comfortable except for the bed which was a little uncomfortable. Overall it was a great stay. April 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous bed and stellar service! The room and hotel were both very clean. The beds and pillows are exceptionally comfy! The front desk and valet staff were by far the best I've experienced - both incredibly helpful and friendly. The only negative would be the Pavilion restaurant on the second floor was very short staffed. I was in town for a conference - as were many of the hotel guests - and the service was beyond slow at breakfast. Next time, I will plan to leave the hotel earlier, and eat elsewhere. Other than that, I would absolutely recommend this hotel, as the rest of the stay was great! Good value, and about 7 minutes to get to the Greater Richmond Conference Center via the hotel shuttle. I'll be returning next year for sure! April 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by i like the hotel but... Please update your gym. The equipment is old and outdated. March 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Sadly Disappointed. We had a kid free weekend and this hotel was recommended by a friend for us to have a little getaway. We were very excited to spend time at this hotel. When we checked into our room, it was 78°, we set the thermostat to 65° to try and cool it down. After an hour, it was still set at 78°. After a few calls to the front desk, someone finally picked up. They informed us that maintence had left for the night but instructed me how to manually reset it, we did and went to sleep hoping this did the trick and it would cool down. The coolest the room got was 76°. The next morning we went down and told them about the problem and that our room had been a sauna and they said they would have someone fix it right away. They did fix it but we were both already congested Bc of the dryness from the room. It was incredibly disappointing that we tried complaining and no one seemed to care. We spent a lot of money to come down and stay at this hotel, the customer service could've been way better. If a customer has to complain numerous times about their room being hot, something should've been done or offered to be changed. Our room was very clean and the wait staff in the restaurant were incredibly kind and courteous. March 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I stood here for the weekend and it was a great experience! Rooms were clean everyday, pool was nice and kept for. Even the sofa in the room was comfortable! The staff were friendly and helpful, especially with their shuttle service! One thing I would work on is I drove over 4 hours to get their would had loved if the front desk had smiles in their faces. They were not rude just would have appreciated a BIG smile when I got there! : ) March 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Guests Hotel staff were great, friendly, and very helpful. Had a top floor room which was great until the adjoining guests arrived with their hyperactive child bouncing off the walls. Hotel should not put children on top floor at a business conference during the week. We did not contact the front desk to avoid creating a confrontation. March 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My home away from home! The Crowne has always been my "go-to" hotel in Richmond. Great location with easy access to all interstates. Great breakfast buffet! Great staff and service. I have left behind cell phone, chargers, baby blankets,etc. and the housekeeping staff has always been accommodating to return items. And best of all is Ms. Althea at the front desk...always a smile and genuinely helpful when resolving issues. As a business traveler, I am always appreciative of good customer service. March 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel but bring your own TP We were very pleased with our stay, but there are a couple of exceptions. Let me start with the good things first. 1) The room was GREAT. I reserved for only 1 night with a AAA discount so the rate was very reasonable despite the lack of room availability in the area that night. In the reservation notes, I requested a "quiet" room not on the highway side, not near elevator or ice/vending area. 2) Our room was near the elevator, but they put us on the 13th floor in a "Priority Suite." The room was HUGE -- it was basically two rooms with a wall knocked out and split into living room and bedroom (king) areas. I loved the laminate (not hardwood) floors. I find them so much cleaner than icky commercial grade carpet! Now for the bad. 1) We arrived on Saturday afternoon around 2:00 p.m. There was one person in front of us on one side of the desk working with a woman behind the desk. There were 2 other women behind the desk. Then a third joined them. The woman with the customer was clearly dealing with some "issue" with him. The other women were pretending we were not there. We stood there for over 10 minutes before even being acknowledged. None of them even offered us a "We'll be right with you." It got to the point where my boyfriend said, "In about 2 seconds I'm gonna start yelling." I said, "NO. They have the power to put us in a bad room!" We waited (and based on the room we got, I'm glad he didn't yell). 2) The floors in the room were sticky. I believe they were clean, just not rinsed, so they made our shoes click as we lifted our feet. That is a minor issue. I just wore socks around the room. 3) The bed was too soft. Not because it was a soft mattress, but it sagged. The BIG issue was ... saving the best for last ... wait for it ... 4) The TOILET PAPER. Yes. You heard me correctly. It was so bad that I actually DID NOT USE the bathroom the morning we checked out. TMI? Maybe, but the toilet paper was HORRIBLE. It was worth the wait to get to a bathroom with decent toilet paper. That is one area where NO business should cut corners. I'd rather have rougher towels or sheets than toilet paper that leaves little rolled up blobs of paper in my nether regions. Yes, I said it out loud. A wipe should not then require a rinse. I was very pleased with the hotel overall and would recommend it. Just be sure to bring your own toilet paper and be patient when you are ignored at the front desk. March 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Add on to room review This is an add on to my first review. our cable connector to TV was broke March 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Thin walls Unfortunately we were given a room that adjoined on both sides. On one side there was a couple having a wild time way into the wee hours of the morning. On the other side there were people with children that were up at the crack of dawn. I had booked two rooms under my name since my daughter was also staying there. I was surprised since were given a room that adjoined on one side they did not book my daughter in one of those rooms. At least one side would have been quiet. I would strongly suggest that if one is booking there they specifically request that they are not given an adjoining room. March 10, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Welcome to our hotel lobby. Thank you for being our guest.
Welcome to our hotel lobby. Thank you for being our guest.
Select to close.
Welcome to our hotel lobby. Thank you for being our guest. Downtown Richmond Hotel offers free full hot breakfast Free wifi in our lobby/ patio area Richmond Coliseum  8 blocks from the hotel VCU Siegel/ Verizon Center- Final 4 2011 Season Go RAMS VCU Rams Basketball  Fianl 4 2011 season Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens A Must see A Million Blooms Carytown Shopping is a short 10 Minuite drive St. Johns Church located 2 miles from the hotel- Landmark Theatre  6 blocks from the hotel Edgar Allen Poe Museum- located 1 mile from the hotel Our lobby is the perfect place to meet a friend or relax and read Relax in our spacious lobby , Free fast wifi access Science Museum of Richmond located 2 miles from the hotel Our lobby area is expansive with plenty of room for everyone. NASCAR at RIR located a short 7 miles from the hotel Monument Ave a beautiful drive full of history Welcome to our front desk registration. We are waiting for you. Canal Boats- Canal Walk- a great spring/summer experience Maint Street Station- Amtrak 1 mile from the hotel Black History Museum located 6 blocks from the hotel George Washington Statue Virginai State Capital Excellent Hospitality  is our goal James River Rapids- many water options on the river Shockoe Slip- Fine Dining & Nightlife  10 blocks from the hotel Carpenter Performing Arts Center Down town Richmond- Friendliest staff in downtown Richmond! Virginia State Capitol located 10 blocks- open for daily tours VA Museum of Fine Arts- Picasso, Mummys, Elvis
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading