• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: ROME
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+02:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. French
  4. Italian

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Historcal Sightseeing
Distance From Hotel:2.0KM

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Private garage up to 80 cars with TVCC guarded entrance, door opening from Reception controlled and lift to the lobby at € 12,00 per car or € 6,00 per motobike per night.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  EUR)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members: 9.00 9.0  EUR

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:120
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:60
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni is located in the south part of the historical city centre and provides a charming and relaxing atmosphere thanks to comfortable rooms and a spacious courtyard, ideal location for tasting appetizers. The Hotel offers 120 fully furnished rooms with brand new sommiers and anatomical mattresses, eiderdown, 2 graduated pillows per person, flat 32 TV set with Int.l channels, pay TV, air cond. system, bathrooms with shower and liquid soap dispensers. Prior each check-in
View More
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni is located in the south part of the historical city centre and provides a charming and relaxing atmosphere thanks to comfortable rooms and a spacious courtyard, ideal location for tasting appetizers. The Hotel offers 120 fully furnished rooms with brand new sommiers and anatomical mattresses, eiderdown, 2 graduated pillows per person, flat 32 TV set with Int.l channels, pay TV, air cond. system, bathrooms with shower and liquid soap dispensers. Prior each check-in all rooms are sanitized with the Ozone treatment. Wi-Fi connection is available all through the Hotel and the web-site PressReader allows to follow free of charge more than 2000 world-wide on-line newspapers. The Hot Breakfast Buffet offers a choice among over 100 products, many of them freshly home-made as pies or croissants, scrambled eggs, bacon, cheese, yogurt, or fresh fruits. Private garage on charge with controlled access. Please remind a city tax of € 2,00 per person per day is not included. How to reach Hotel: from railways station Termini, within 10 m. ride, with the metro A line, direction Anagnina stop in Ponte Lungo, at 820 yards 750 m. from the Hotel. From the Int.l Airport Fiumicino, within 40 min ride, by train direction Fara Sabina, stop at Tuscolana station, at 330 yards 300 m. from the Hotel. From the Cruise Terminal of Civitavecchia, within 1 hour ride, by train direction Roma, stop at Tuscolana station.
View Less
Features
The Hotel is located in the south part of the historical city Centre at only 2,50 miles from Coliseum. Near are the Metro stop of Pontelungo, the Tuscolana train station with direct connection from and to the Int.l Airport and the Bus stop 85 to the Roman Forum. Free WI FI for IHG Rewards Club Dry Cleaning/Laundry Same day Pickup Private underground Garage Breakfast Buffet always complimentary.
Announcements
Please note new restriction for IHG REWARDS NIGHT rate will be up to 2 people per room maximum. Starting from January the 1st. 2014 a complimentary Basic Wi-Fi connection until 512 kbps will be
View More
Announcements
Please note new restriction for IHG REWARDS NIGHT rate will be up to 2 people per room maximum. Starting from January the 1st. 2014 a complimentary Basic Wi-Fi connection until 512 kbps will be provided to all IHG Rewards Club Members.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 262 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business stay Overall very good experience, especially friendliness of staff, swimming and courtesy services offered. March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by March in Rome The hotel was a wonderful place to stay for exploring Rome. We can't say enough good things about the staff- always helpful and very friendly (and yes, everyone at the front desk speaks English very well). Once we got the trains and buses figured out, getting downtown was a breeze. The only bad thing about the hotel was that housekeeping seemed to run out of wash clothes halfway through our trip and the "do not disturb" sign means "be quiet" not "don't come in". So housekeeping was in our room every day. No big thing though. Definitely going back. March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good quality hotel. I would recommend the Crown Plaza for a stay in Rome as the staff were friendly and helpful, the facilities excellent (especially the shuttle bus) and spa. We found the lounge area relaxing and enjoyed the music of the talented pianist. The restaurant was good but not a great choice for a gluten free diet. The barman in particular was very pleasant and welcoming. March 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service The front desk was extremely helpful on how to navigate in the city. March 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Absolutely fabulous Absolutely loved my stay here. The staff truly exceeded my expectations in order to make my Honeymoon fabulous. If you are planning on a romantic stay I would highly recommend this hotel. The only downside is it is not very close to the beautiful part of Rome so use of buses/underground is necessary which at times can be a little uncomfortable, this is no reflection on the hotel itself as they offer a shuttle service to central Rome!! March 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Five day stay Enjoyed a great stay at the hotel but it is too far from the centre and stadiums and the shuttle buses end very early. March 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly and great staff the staff on the reception is exeptionnally very friendly and efficient in supporting visitors requests. February 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Kurztrip Schönes Hotel,nettes und hilfsbereites Personal,gutes Frühstücksbüfett,Shuttleservice immer pünktlich.Zimmer sehr gut,Ambiente des Hotels auch. February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just lovely stay I really liked our stay in the hotel . Great service, friendly and helpful staff , nice SPA and pool ,quiet area outside. We found delicious food at restaurant and mostly we enjoyed piano repertoire in a Lobby bar ..Just a really lovely stay !! February 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by So so experience I told the lady @ reception that I have been upgraded to Elite Member since I moved in the hotel and I confirmed it with IHG team center. But she did not check with the center and did not allow me to get the access to the internet. It was new year eve but i was not happy because of that, and i did not get welcome drink as well! The room is so so, and the location is far from the subway station, you need to take bus for any kind of movement. January 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas in Rome Great Winter break at the Crown Plaza at Christmas 2013. A little way out of the city but several buses into the centre stop outside and are frequent. The Metro is not that far way either. On a couple of occasions I walked through the park to the city, coming out at Giancolo with its fabulous views of the whole city. ( 35 mins? each way) The great facilities ( eg pool and spa) meant that the hotel was a destination in itself. Good breakfast each day although sometimes (getting up late!) it was a little cold. Great Christmas Eve Dinner ( seven courses!). Great pianist every evening was a treat for me! One moan: Internet should be free in the room! January 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice spa but dirty room Great location and nice spa, but the hotel needs a renovation. The room furniture was very old, the room was dirty with a big spider web in the corner. January 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dining in room We ordered a pasta and a pizza in room service. Both of them are cold. We are very disappointed at New Year Eve night. The drive mixed up the tickets which for the shuttle bus to centre. We gave the tickets to him already and then he asked us to give the tickets to him again and again. He is not in order. No hair conditioner has provided by hotel. It is inconvenient. The breakfast is not much choice. Luckily we stayed at the room with firework display view. January 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poor facility - low quality Definitely doesn't worth the money, serious renovation of rooms is needed. Quality way below the standards of a crowne plaza. January 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrilble Night no one greeted us upon arrival, one staff member working lobby/front desk at 6:30 pm. was told i needed to wait, priority club status not recognized, when i inquired about the breakfast i prepaid for was told its over there, ( and just pointed) nothing was there First room was non smoking, upon entering the room, it was filled with cigarette smoke, called to change rooms, no one called back, had to go back to lobby for new room. was told by receptionist " some one must have smoked in there" no apologies for the room No one offered or helped with the bags at any time, room 2- found blood and hair on pillow from previous occupant, hair dryer is out in the room area by closet not in the bathroom, neighbors could easily be heard through wall. breakfast and dinner were sub par- order a club sandwich- arrived to table with no meat, server never came back, had to ask 3 times for the check. emailed manager that night about all the problems, got a generic response later the next day, offered to refund transfer to airport only- said they talked to housekeeping, but i doubt it will do much good, Ps- i tried uploading the pictures of the blood and hair, but i would not let me... Find a different hotel! January 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Travelled in a family of 4. Request for connecting rooms and told all not available. Children on 3rd floor Rm 308 and us on 5th floor Rm 500 from 1~3 Jan 2014. 1st room check in smell of heavy smoke. Change to next room and there was somebody inside. 3rd room also smell of smoke and reception insist it was a non smoking room. Finally ask conceirge to go up with us to check which room has no smell of smoke and ended up in Rm 500. No available room on the same floor? Already too tired dragging the luggages around to talk to reception again. Also ask if there is free internet for gold member. Answer NO. Fortunately the rest of the stay was OK with minor cleaning problems. January 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Problems With Internet Service We had difficulty connecting to the internet. The front desk staff was helpful and the problem was finally resolved. January 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by VERY GOOD PLACE TO STAY THE ROOMS WHERE AMERICAN SIZE AND IT WAS CLEAN. EASY TO GET DOWNTOWN TO THE VATICAN WITH THE BUS STOP RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE HOTEL #881 ONLY 1.50 EUROS IF THEY CHECK WE PAID BUT DIDNT USE THE TICKETS NO ONE CHECKS ON THE BUS. THE TAXI IS 11 EUROS TO AND BACK FROM THE VATICAN IF YOU WANT TO GO BY TAXI. EVERYONE IN THE HOTEL SPEAKS ENGLISH AND WAS VERY HELPFUL. ONE THING THERE IS A 6 EURO TAX PER DAY YOU HAVE TO PAY AT CHECK OUT. TAXI TO AND FROM THE AIRPORT IS ABOUT 40 TO 50 EUROS. ONLY BAD THING IS YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR THE INTERNET IN THE ROOM 10 EUROS PER DAY. I SIGNED UP FOR THE CROWN PLAZA REWARDS CLUB MEMBERS TO GET IT FREE PLUS WE LIKE TO STAY AT CROWN PLAZA IN OTHER LOCATIONS. January 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by sleepless in Rome Several complaints - the mattresses in our room need to be replace ASAP. We woke up every morning feeling like 100 yrs old. After you spend 10hrs a day walking around the city you look forward to a relaxing sleep. That wasn't the case at this hotel. And lastly, the walls are paper thin. The noise from our next door neighbors and the noise coming from the floor above kept us from a having a decent sleep. December 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Stay Family of 5, we requested and received interconnecting rooms. Comfortable enough though the rooms are in need of a refresh. Hotel was good & staff were excellent. We walked into the local town centre (1.5km) and found excellent gelati and helpful friendly locals. Would certainly return to this hotel. Gracie :) December 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good room facilities . There is nothing negative about my stay at this hotel . Rooms are big, with comfortable bed , extra pillows and coffee /tea maker. The breakfast spread is also very generous . For travelers who want a good comfortable stay in a hotel, this is highly recommended . The location of the hotel is a little way out from the city centre . Although there is a shuttle bus service (eur 1.5 one way) the morning shuttle goes only to the Vatican City while the afternoon shuttle goes to the city centre. For those looking for a convenient hotel with access to good shopping this may not be the right one. Otherwise , all other aspects are great ! December 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff and great buffet breakfast Shuttle early, friendly staff wth swift check-in. Clean and modern room, excellent breakfast buffet with plenty of choices. The turkish bath and sauna really was a bonus at the end of a long day of walking thru Rome. Dinner was pricey but good in the resteraunt. We had a bottle of champange waiting for us in the room for our 17 yr anniversary- it was a nice surpirse! the hotel was just the right distance from the center of Rome, quiet and taxis available within seconds every time. Really recommend it and would stay here again. December 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by enjoyable experience The rooms were clean, however, the toilettes were not flushing well, and the bathtub drains were backing up. other than that the room were clean and nights were restful. December 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay and relax Hotel has good facilities and friendly staff. Sauna and swimming pool is a nice extra. Location is easy to be reached on Sundays. December 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Service, Could be better Horrible first night. I listened to the piano music all the time. I asked to change and then I got a better room for the follwoing days. Pillows were old and horrible. Room fashion is old and the toilet is old as well. It an ok hotel, but it could be better for the "brand" and publicited status . December 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, but uninspiring restaurant The Crowne Plaza is a pleasant place to stay, if not particularly well placed either for the centre or for the airport - expect to pay around €45 from Fiumicino by taxi. Surroundings are wooded, and much of the area is owned by the Church. My room was clean, spacious and had a balcony. In season, there is a good pool. My only reservation would be the restaurant which I found pretty uninspiring. Although there is an a la carte menu, much of the food is on a hot plate which looked pretty unappetising by the time we got there, albeit that this was quite late. This made the fact that there were only a few other restaurants close by a little aggravating December 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel This remarkable staff deserve a better looking hotel. Management should consider to invest in the renovation of common areas. November 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor hotel and staff As a Platinum member I received an upgrade at check in to a Superior room. Eventually found out that I was just given a standard room. The room did not have working Air Conditioning and the bathroom was very dated and the bathtub was disgusting. The WiFi did not work and was disconnected many times. When it worked, the speeds were so low that Google did not even load. There is no WiFi in the restaurant. The shuttle bus is full when needed, late departure and unfriendly bus driver. Breakfast was terrible, unprofessional staff and disgustingly cold 'hot food' like eggs or bacon. No eggs made to order. They even forgot to order hot drinks at our table. The location is in the middle of nowhere but there is a taxi station BUT at the time we needed to go to the airport no single taxi was at the stand and we had to wait 20 minutes. The porters are lazy and had to carry our bags our self. The concierge send us to a restaurant which was closed. Reception promised to call me back on a question but never did. No scale available in the entire hotel. Overall extremely weak hotel November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by it was avery relaxing to be there it was one of the relaxing hotels i have been to. i highly recommend it to others, its large and guest can have lots to do there November 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by indoor pool stayed at this hotel as it was one that had an indoor pool as outdoor was closed in November although it looked a fantastic pool, not allowed in indoor pool area without flip-flops or slippers, except you have to pay for them if you don't have your own, 4 euros per person, should be provided for hotel guests free of charge. Had to change rooms twice on arrival, first room had intercommunicating doors which are ok for families and the second room stank of smoke, final room was very nice but no help to move luggage. breakfast was very good pity about the head waiter on two mornings, was quite rude to a few people in his manner. hotel a bit far out from centre but that was our choice because of the pool. very nice Italian restaurant that caters for families 5 minute walk from hotel recommended by reception staff, food very good and reasonable. very good public buses into town outside hotel. if you go to Vatican museums book tickets online first Cheaper!!! overall very nice stay. November 23, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Lobby
Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Hotel Lobby Entrance Entrance Reception Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Reception Hotel Lobby Reception Atrium Scenery/Landscape Entrance
Select to close.
Book the Holiday Inn Express Baytown to stay at one of our new Holiday Inn Express hotels.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading