Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 170 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A really good, clean, new and well run Hotel We were very impressed with the Holiday inn at Barnsley. Great staff who seemed very organised, clean rooms which were very quiet. then Breakfast was very easy, no fuss with plenty to choose from. The Hot selection was being checked by the chief regularly and even the WiFi worked well. Also I was even offered a free newspaper in the morning, not bad! Lifes good up North. October 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable and great value We have stayed in many hotels across Europe, many far more expensive than this one but very few are as good as this one. Exceptionally large room and big, well equiped bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The facilities both in the room and in the hotel in general were second to none.. The quality and large choice of food for breakfast was superb. All of the staff were polite, friendly and helpful. The standard set by this hotel is exceptionally high and a standard that most other hotels will never achieve. No recomendation is high enough for this hotel. October 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very happy We had a one night stay in oct ,a very bright modern hotel,very clean. All the staff we dealt with we're brilliant,very helpful ,polite,and professional A nice bonus was having hot food with the continental breakfast. Would highly recommend! October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good A very clean spacious comfortable hotel. We ate next door at the pub, very good. Altogether excellent and would stay there again. October 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room but poor service. The hotel was nice and the room was clean. However on arrival there was a strong stench smell coming from either the shower or toilet In my room. I was a bit disappointed there was no hair dryer in the room as I have stayed in many hotels where I have paid less and this is standard in most hotels. The room was very spacious and the general hotel was clean and tidy. I was let down at dinner when I waited over 45 minutes for my food and then when it arrived was cold and burnt. I returned the chips and refused to pay for them and by this point I'd lost my appetite. I was never offered a desert menu and was annoyed that because I had said the chips were cold I was then ignored. Whilst in the restaurant there was a very drunk, very rude and loud man who continually swore and was rude to the blonde waitress who was working that evening. If I had bought my children here I would have been horrified! I asked the waiter if he had been drinking all evening to which he replied "yes he's been over the road drinking and he's had quite a lot in here." I am not the sort of person to usually complain but this man should have at least been warned of his behaviour. October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well recommended Our second stay at this hotel. Overall we are happy with everything it has to offer. The staff are personable, welcoming and have a ready smile, the rooms are immaculately maintained and the bar and dining area attractive and reasonable priced. The situation close to both Barnsley and Rotherham but offering parking is a bonus as is the availability of an 'eating' pub next door makes this a really good venue. We have a couple of negative observations, the soap dispenser in the bathroom is difficult to squeeze if you have arthritic hands and when we arrived despite offering it, our card wasn't pre authorised so we had to be contacted to return from our room after eating. Despite these observations, we would not hesitate to return aware of the fact that this soap dispenser has been used for many years and is unlikely to be changed and the omission of pre authorising appeared to be a training issue from a junior member of staff. October 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend break We travelled up from South Wales, after a long journey we we're found the hotel easy to find and in a good location. We we're greeted by friendly staff, who made our long journey even more bareable. Our room was ready for us, it was clean and well presented. We had ample bath and hand towels, also tea and coffee facilities, there was tags on the pillows showing soft or firmness, there was information available about what goes on in the hotel. In the foyer there was plenty of other information for tourist to look through. We didn't eat our evening meal at the hotel, but the facilities looked good and the menu gave a variety of foods on offer. We found breakfast offered a good variety of foods and beverages both hot and cold, there was plenty of room the dining tables were not on top of each other and you didn't feel like you we're encroaching in on someone else's conversation. Also we didn't feel like we we're being rushed, all in all we would stay again and recommend the hotel to familt and friends October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Impressed with the hotel My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Rotherham on our way to visit North Yorkshire. We found the hotel excellent. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Our evening meal and breakfast were served promptly and were to a good standard. We will certainly use this hotel again. September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Time We had a lovely time, one of my long time friends got married in the hotel. The whole experience was fantastic. We had a family room which was very clean and tidy. Lovely and quiet. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Evening food and breakfast very nice. Plenty of parking for a very fussy husband. Great experience. Will definitely stay again. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming staff We stayed as a result of a booking error at another hotel; by the end of our stay we were glad that our intended hotel had messed our booking up! September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good experience Room spotless and bed very comfortable (although the duvet was VERY thick. Too much for the current temperature.) Staff at reception could not be faulted. September 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Be prepared for plenty of noise This has to be the noisiest hotel you will ever stay in - clearly something is wrong here. Rather than deaden the noise in corridors the rooms simply seem to amplify any external noise. Families are put in rooms directly above function rooms, and the noise from the not particularly loud disco keeps you awake even if you are 2 floors above it. Add to that the double glazing doesn't seem to cut out any external noise so be prepared to listen in to smokers conversations or be disturbed by people getting in or out of taxis. Adding to the problem of noise seems to be the hotel managements total lack of control allowing children at functions to run wild through the communal areas until late at night. Now this would not be an issue if the hotel had been built with any sort of sound proofing approaching normal standards but quite simply it would seem it hasn't been. Not good enough. On the plus side breakfast is good. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel New hotel and clean rooms Great reception. I recommend it. September 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No Sleep At All I booked a week in advance and asked for a quiet room. They gave me a room above the smoking area and all I could hear was smokers chatting until 0130. This added to the loudest banging doors made for a completely sleepless night. Complained at 0130, but by then it was all too late. Plus they take an extra £20 'authorization' for services you have not used. Apparently it's normal practice, but it seemed dodgy to me, and the first time I've ever heard of it. In a nutshell.. I'll never ever stay here again, and would like my money back September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent The hotel was immaculately clean and tidy and the staff were attentive, welcoming and efficient. The room was well appointed, comfortable and spotless. Breakfast was more than sufficient with a range of choices of hot and cold options. The staff were on hand to keep the area clean and tidy during breakfast. Great value and no hesitation in recommending this hotel. September 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business Class Service with personal attention from staff First impressions were a clean, professional and impersonal hotel - much the same as any other business based hotel. This impression changed quickly - this is not a nameless, faceless monolith, but rather a reasonable sized hotel, providing a personal service by enthusiastic staff. Check-in: Seamless check-in, staff not quite sure where or why they were recording personal details, and unable to identify data usage when asked Room amenities: Double bed - with a big gap in the middle as the mattress had not been correctly placed and therefore unable to be zipped together. Not quite enough hangers for a week's worth of shirts, but that's ok, as I couldn't get hold of an Iron / ironing board for the first 2 days! Plenty of sockets Plenty of desk space Kettle, hairdryer, TV with freeview (and an awful remote and no channel guide) Aircon. (as windows don't open) Bathroom: Shower (no bath) which leaked on to the floor every time it was used. Good shower. Good pressure. Good temperature control. Dinner: "buffet" style dinner each night - although there is a menu also available. Buffet is a possible misnomer: This simply allows the chef to put plates of canteen style food out on to a hot plate. Italian buffet - 2 x choices and a vegetarian option, along with salad. Indian buffet - 2 x choices and a vegetarian option, along with salad. Pie buffet?!! - 2 x choices and a vegetarian option, with salad Fish buffet - the same. All left under a heat lamp for too long every night, but if you watch out for the chef coming out to replace the food then you can get some decent food. Breakfast: Cereals, pastries, coffees, fruit teas, fruit juices, fruit, yoghurts. Scrambled egg, Lincolnshire Sausages, Beans. Toast. Just as you would expect - with the exception of one dodgy serving of scrambled egg. All of the above is a fairly average review. What made this a memorable experience for me was the staff: If I could remember anyone else's name apart from Jordan and Amy then I would also mention them here: From the individual who was dealing with the whole front desk process when staff hadn't shown up and had already went out of their way to buy extra irons so that I would stop moaning, to the chef who made sure that I had a fresh sauce to go with my fish. Duty Manager's wild shirt / plain waistcoat combination was an interesting talking point, and was admirably worn 2 days in a row with different patterns. The staff took the time to speak to me like a human being, and their conversation seemed genuine and their assistance went beyond the "Hospitality Handbook" I would happily recommend the premises to others staying in the area. There is an Aldi about 27 seconds from the front door on foot. There is a Marstons Pub about 42 seconds away. Clean. Reasonable priced rooms. reasonable priced food, check with your bank manager before buying a drink, but most importantly, take the time to talk to the staff. They are fabulous. All of them. September 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by If it can go wrong it does Stayed here with my girlfriend. We stay here a lot and love that the staff recognise us and sort out problems. Therefore if something isn't right, say something so they can sort it out This time the bathroom flooded because the shower was blocked, there was no shower mat and therefore getting out of the flooded bathroom was dangerous. We were moved to another floor where the airconditioning was broken on a hot night, the windows wouldn't open because of a building design fault. The shower screen was loose and we were worried that it might have broken away. We did get apologies from the management, but it does sort of disappoint you a bit when you are away for a weekend September 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not as good as usual Shame to see that the standards were not as good as usual at this Hotel. I regularly stay with work, and find the staff extremely happy and efficient, Kirsty being one of the best at the hotel! On this occasion I was a little dissappointed that the staff lacked any personality, and the service was a little shabby and in-efficient.. Such a shame, and I hope it gets better! September 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by friendly helpful staff Very helpful staff, we arrived late but they managed to find very acceptable food and wine. August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent breakfast Friendly staff Great Room We checked in very late but staff was extremely helpful, big comfortable room, excellent breakfast choice, real fresh fruit mix and dry fruit too, excellent value for money. We forgot tooth paste and brush but we were immediately provided by hotel. August 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Surprisingly Great The hotel was suggested by a friend as it was close to a wedding I was attending plus we got it at a really good price. Very surprised by the high standard of the hotel and room was A* with a great shower! :) Breakfast was also really good the next morning and lots of choice.... fantastic for the price! August 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay and very comfortable Would recommend and will definitely use again :) highly comfortable August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very satisfied Lovely modern and clean hotel. The rooms were wonderful,very tastefully decorated and the beds were extremely comfortable.Only complaint was only having liquid soap.Trivial I know! Breakfast was perfect,I really enjoyed my visit.I shall certainly return. August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful value and supreme service from everyone We were made to feel welcome from the start. The food served was excellent, but above all the staff worked as a team and made their hotel service shine like a star August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Carlsberg of Holiday Inn Expresses Probably the best HI Express you will ever stay at. August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for money I stayed in this hotel for a weekend while I attended a wedding. I booked 3 rooms all with different requirements including a family room with travel cot. On arrival all rooms were ready and met all our requirements. Staff were friendly and breakfast was great considering how cheap our stay was. Would recommend to others. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room, great dinner Great selection of food in the evening, tried the Italian Buffet - not bad at all. Usual poor quality scrambled egg at breakfast but what appeared to be locally sourced sausages made up for it. Service was excellent, staff friendly and helpful August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable room Was concerned when drew up in car and checked in as there was a wedding reception in bar/restaurant area and it was very noisy, but fortunately room was on other side of hotel. Room was spotlessly clean but the soap dispenser was broken away from the wall and was a bit messy to use. The shower was lovely and was very welcome after a long drive. Good night sleep once the air conditioner was turned off as it was very noisy. Very disappointed with breakfast, items kept running out and had to wait to be replaced, some weren't! Limited choice of preserves and juice out of machine wasn't very tasty. Reception staff very helpful and printed off several routes for me which were ready at check-out. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience This is a good comfortable hotel, the staff are nice and bedrooms are clean and spacious August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Breakfast isn't breakfast without bacon! No bacon served :-S I looked forward to breakfast and was very disappointed August 16, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>