• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SACRAMENTO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

50.00 NON REFUNDABLE PET FEE PER HOTEL STAY. WEIGHT LIMIT TO 25 POUNDS. NO PIT BULLS OR AGGRESSIVE DOGS ALLOWED. CANNNOT BE LEFT UNATTENDED LEASH LAWS APPLY.
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:140
  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample Complimentary parking surrounding hotel, small parking garage, 6 Handicap parking spaces, and overflow parking lot accrossed the street from hotel.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:132
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:43
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:92
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:132
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Experience the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Sacramento, a favorite of both Business and Leisure Travelers, Tour and Convention Groups and considered by many as Sacramento’s “Best Value”. We are centrally located across from the historic Governors Mansion and walking distance to the Sacramento Convention Center, Civic Auditorium, State Capitol, Government Offices, Wells Fargo Pavilion, Music Circus, Restaurants, Shopping, Movie Theaters and Starbucks. Convenient to historic "Old Town Sacramento,
View More
Experience the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Sacramento, a favorite of both Business and Leisure Travelers, Tour and Convention Groups and considered by many as Sacramento’s “Best Value”. We are centrally located across from the historic Governors Mansion and walking distance to the Sacramento Convention Center, Civic Auditorium, State Capitol, Government Offices, Wells Fargo Pavilion, Music Circus, Restaurants, Shopping, Movie Theaters and Starbucks. Convenient to historic "Old Town Sacramento, Sacramento Jazz Festival, Arden Mall, Cal Expo, Raley Fields, Cal State University, UC Davis, UC Davis Medical Center, Sacramento Zoo, California State Parks, Thunder Valley and Black Oaks casinos. Enjoy our Complimentary Breakfast Bar with a wide variety of hot and cold items while catching up with the news reading your complimentary USA Today. Rooms are beautifully decorated and feature in-room coffee service, hair dryer, irons and ironing boards, free HBO and free wireless Internet access. We also have a business center, fitness facility and free parking. Pets are welcome for a fee and we’re a non-smoking and AAA approved hotel.
View Less
Features
Located in the heart of downtown, we offer free parking for all of our hotel guests. Up-scale hot buffet breakfast each morning. Easy access to all major attractions in Sacramento.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 271 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fun time in Sacramento Took the train from the SF Bay area to Sacramento to celebrate my husband's birthday. Having done a lot of research for just the right place, I chose the Holiday Inn Sacto-Capitol Plaza because of location mostly. Were we pleasantly surprised to find this a most attractive and welcoming hotel. Next time we visit Sacramento, we'll be sure to stay here again. Be sure to ask for a quiet room if you value that. It was during the 4th of July and we're glad we did. July 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and friendly staff This hotel was perfectly located for our first night in California. We woke early and took a swim in the outdoor pool before breakfast, and then had a shopping trip to Macy's across the street. It was easy to walk to the historic district and the late check out permitted us to really utilise the time before leaving. The staff were lovely and helpful and the rooms were clean and welcoming. July 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location & Value We frequently stay at this property when visitng Sacramento. Location is excellent: right off the freeway, downtown next to Old Town, within walking distance of the Amtrak station & state capitol. Valet Parking is very reasonable & all staff is friendly & efficient. July 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very comfortable bed and good pillows the check-in was fast and friendly. I appreciated we did not have to wait until 3:00 P.M. because we arrived at 2:00 P.M. Right away we ate lunch in the bar area because the restaurant was closed, but at least there was a place to eat, so that was convenient. The was no pool or work-out place but that was alright because I didn't have time. I'm glad there was a coffee pot in room, that was helpful. Also, I am elderly, so it was helpful to have help in the morning when needing my car. Also, the newspaper was nice. July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to Old Sac Easy walk under the tunnel to/from old sac. No continental breakfast- could could sit down any pay, not cheap though. One of the better Holiday Inns Ive stayed at. July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service The staff were very friendly, accomodating and very nice people especially the staff in the valet service......they are fast and trusting people. The people in the frontdesk easily granted all my requests and didn't have to wait that long to deliver it. My overall experienced was excellent. Highly recommended. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location The hotel is just steps away from Old Town Sacramento & the mall. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean, and the bed was comfy! We had a great view of the Sacramento River. We will be sure to stay there again! July 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service We have stayed at this property many times while attending the Conventions of Jehovah's Witnesses and we have always had a wonderful stay. The staff always friendly and helpful. July 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A little noisy, no refrigerator but a decent place to stay. Negatives: Noisy on the highway side. No refrigerator. Some joker pulled the fire alarm. Positives: Clean. Big room. Big bathroom. Nice Lobby. Walking distance to Old Sac, train museum, Sac river. Good fire alarm. Don't worry about sleeping through that alarm. Good fire dept response time. Nice discount for fire alarm problem. If you want close to Old Sac / Capitol good place to stay. A little more expensive than other motels but location, location, location. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Great place to stay as usual . Excellent service. I stay here several times a year and I am very happy with this hotel June 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk, reservations, computer tech, luggage carriers and Managers Linda at the front desk is very attentive and perfect for that position. Dan, Manager took care of a problem in a professional and timely manner. He is all about Customer services and make it right, I appreciate it. The computer Tech, was persistant, patient and attentive with my needs to get my AMTRACK ticket ready. The young men (Jordan and Shane) went and extra mile to help and provide an excellent service. They were quick, pleasant and organized. Reservations was a disaster. The 2 agents I dealt with (Josh) were not clear in the phone. It seems like they were reading an script and the line was not clear. Josh transferred me to another agent (no name-girl) I asked number of times but she didn't. She offered me a traveling package (I was selected out of 10 people). When I refused to have my cc charge for it, she angrily hanged on me. I want to make sure I WONT have that charge in my card. NOT good experience. As a IHG member I don't appreciate it. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at Holiday Inn The location, price, and comfort was very good. I like the fact that it was close/next to the mall and old town Sacramento, so I was able to enjoy a nice walk visiting these areas. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Aweswome stay in Sacramento Enjoyed staying at this hotel. Staff was great from the valets, servers in the resturant, and the front desk staff. Room was clean and neat, and was well serviced during my stay. Highly recommended. June 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by More Than Irritated We have stayed at this location a lot, off & on at a total of about 10 months or more. Usually we are pleased with the overall above average quality. The downtown dries up in the evening & weekends, but there's still a lot of nice places to go & see & eat & ... etc. This last time, the shower drained really slow. I was offended when I checked out. I waited in line and when it was my turn, the desk instead served a pilot that was walking up the hallway. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Loyalist This hotel has probably one of the best locations in California. Lots of stuff to do in the surrounding area! June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay Comfortable, secure, with an enthusiastic staff. I was well taken care of during my stay. My only question would be why the bar closes at 11 pm on a Friday night. I returned from an event and it would have been nice to have an additional hour to sit and unwind, but the 11 pm closing put an end to that. For me, that's a very minor quibble though; I had an excellent stay. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming Staff and Comfortable Rooms Comfortable, clean rooms. Friendly staff. Valet parking easy. Check-in and out easy and seamless. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic location. Beautiful, clean & comfortable. Excellent staff. Fantastic location a short walk to Old Sacramento, Starbucks, movie theatre, Macy;s & Johnny Angels.. Beautiful, clean & comfortable lobby and room. Excellent staff- front desk, bar, valets, room service & housekeeping. Easy access from airport and I-5. Sacramento airport was easy to navigate and day trips to Tahoe, Napa Valley and San Francisco were very doable. We could not have been more pleased. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Al from Milpitas This is one of my favorite places to stay while in Sacramento. It is clean and comfortable, secure, convent to where I need to go and easy access to freeway. The staff is friendly and efficient. I like the bar area and the restaurant is great for breakfast. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Stay ... We stayed at the Holiday Inn Capital Plaza while attending the Sacramento Pride. We arrived very early ... around 11am. The staff were courteous and friendly, and managed to get us into the room without delay. We self parked in the garage next door and it was very convenient. The hotel was an easy walk to the pride festivities and right next to both a shopping mall and the Old Town Sacramento area. We enjoyed being able to walk to everything - not even having to move our car during our stay. Plus we were able to leave our car parked the next day until 4pm with no extra charge ... which made it very convenient for checking out Old Sacrament. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that needs to be in the downtown Sacramento area. I'm confident you'll enjoy your stay! June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, respectful staff, excellent services I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza hotel many times. My stay was mostly for business meetings. When I requested any services, guest services always responded with respect and fulfilled my request quickly. Rooms are clean. Food has been quite tasty. Waiters and all other support staff have always been very cordial. If there was anything that I did not like, I would certainly alert the hotel and let them know my opinion. Frankly speaking, I have not had any problem with this hotel. Good job to everyone at the hotel for doing their job properly. Thank you for treating me and other customers with respect and giving the value we deserve. June 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Government employees treated differently? We booked here as we have stayed there multiple times in the past, however not recently. We were not greeted as Rewards members, so not sure if we got points for our stay. We didn't receive the complimentary drink/coffee coupons that we used to receive. When we asked about the complimentary breakfast (that is in most other HIExpress hotels), we were told that we didn't qualify as we received the government rate. Many of us travel to Sacramento regularly, and just because we use the government rate, we aren't treated differently. Next time, different hotel. June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great customer service. The staff from the valet to the check-in counter, everyone was very friendly. The only complaint is the lumpy beds. If the hotel upgrades their beds, this hotel would be great to stay at. Also if the gym provided a water cooler that would be good as well. June 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convientent Site is close to shopping, restaurants and train museum. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff I was in charge of a convention and found the staff always helpful and pleasent to work with on any request. Thank you June 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Over All Stay Usually my stay at this location is above average, but one this stay I was not satisfied. First on Monday when I checked into my room my bed was not made and I had to call the front desk to have my bed made. On Tuesday when I came back from my day of training both keys I was issued would not work and I had to go to the front desk for new keys. Then on Tuesday night around 9:30pm when I have just gotten to sleep, the fire alarm went off. Apparently some in the longue burnt popcorn and set off the fire alarm. When I was told I could go back to my room and I could use the elevator to go up, when I reached my floor I was unable to get into the hallway because the fire doors the lock off the hallway. Needless to say I did not have a pleasant stay this time around. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff and comfortable room Very accomodating staff at the front desk, readily upgraded us to a quiet room. The parking guys were wonderful, made sure we had disabled parking which I needed this year. The room was, indeed, quiet and very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff In my opinion, the staff of this hotel are the best feature. I attended a BKS convention event, and had not informed the hotel in advance of my gluten free diet restrictions. In the middle of the event dinners, the staff scrambled to get me food and apologized repeatedly for something that was not their fault, delivering delicious meals to me with smiles and kindness on two separate occasions. This will not go unforgotten. The room was nicely appointed, although I spent little time there, it was always clean and spacious. Traffic noise at night from the nearby highway was a constant drone, but if you run the heat or AC it will not be noticed. My home is extremely quiet so I am spoiled. Old Sacramento is a very short traffic-free walk, and I enjoyed several nice lunches there as well. Dining room staff were very friendly and informed me that although they did not have a gluten free menu, they would accommodate me in whatever way possible. They were knowledgeable about what contained gluten. Parking staff was very helpful in helping me find nearby businesses. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Capital Plaza Best staff and experience of all Holiday Inns I have stayed at, and I have stayed at hundreds. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location Great hotel for business meetings; Clean, comfortable and great location within walking distance of many sites and attractions. June 3, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Sacramento Tower Bridge Raley Field - Home of the Sacramento River Cats California State Capital here in Sacramento Historic Governor Mansion Sacramento Sleep Train Arena Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Detail Old Town Sacramento Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading