• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SACRAMENTO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

50.00 NON REFUNDABLE PET FEE PER HOTEL STAY. WEIGHT LIMIT TO 25 POUNDS. NO PIT BULLS OR AGGRESSIVE DOGS ALLOWED. CANNNOT BE LEFT UNATTENDED LEASH LAWS APPLY.
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:140
  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample Complimentary parking surrounding hotel, small parking garage, 6 Handicap parking spaces, and overflow parking lot accrossed the street from hotel.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:132
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:43
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:92
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:132
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Experience the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Sacramento, a favorite of both Business and Leisure Travelers, Tour and Convention Groups and considered by many as Sacramento’s “Best Value”. We are centrally located across from the historic Governors Mansion and walking distance to the Sacramento Convention Center, Civic Auditorium, State Capitol, Government Offices, Wells Fargo Pavilion, Music Circus, Restaurants, Shopping, Movie Theaters and Starbucks. Convenient to historic "Old Town Sacramento,
View More
Experience the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Sacramento, a favorite of both Business and Leisure Travelers, Tour and Convention Groups and considered by many as Sacramento’s “Best Value”. We are centrally located across from the historic Governors Mansion and walking distance to the Sacramento Convention Center, Civic Auditorium, State Capitol, Government Offices, Wells Fargo Pavilion, Music Circus, Restaurants, Shopping, Movie Theaters and Starbucks. Convenient to historic "Old Town Sacramento, Sacramento Jazz Festival, Arden Mall, Cal Expo, Raley Fields, Cal State University, UC Davis, UC Davis Medical Center, Sacramento Zoo, California State Parks, Thunder Valley and Black Oaks casinos. Enjoy our Complimentary Breakfast Bar with a wide variety of hot and cold items while catching up with the news reading your complimentary USA Today. Rooms are beautifully decorated and feature in-room coffee service, hair dryer, irons and ironing boards, free HBO and free wireless Internet access. We also have a business center, fitness facility and free parking. Pets are welcome for a fee and we’re a non-smoking and AAA approved hotel.
View Less
Features
Located in the heart of downtown, we offer free parking for all of our hotel guests. Up-scale hot buffet breakfast each morning. Easy access to all major attractions in Sacramento.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 243 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Decaf in a long time This HI has good central location, standard HI comfort, all good. But I had breakfast in the restaurant and the Decaf was either the cheapest you can buy or diluted with too much water. A good cup of coffee in the AM makes for a good start of the day, this one made the most memorable lousy Decaf! January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Stay Last minute we decided to stay at a hotel to avoid family conflict. This property was perfect. Check-in was pleasant. Front desk and valet service were very pleasant. Location was exactly what we were looking. Many things in walking distance. Rate was great which included a fabulous breakfast for two. Room was well maintained and very clean. Up to date decor and very spacious. I have paid triple for lesser kept rooms The Christmas decorations made it fun. We participated in voting for best staff Christmas gingerbread village display. I wonder who won? I highly recommend. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Exceptional staff The staff makes this hotel. Yes it's convenient location but it's the caring, smiling staff that makes the difference. Thank you Armando, Erandi, Jodie, Stephanie, Brittney and Jordan for making our stay a memory we will never forget! December 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay...once again! For the last several years the company I work with holds our annual Christmas party and company training at the Holiday Inn on Capitol Plaza. Seems like each year just gets better and better. The room was very comfortable and the food supplied throughout the entire function was perfect. I could not have been more pleased and am looking forward to my next trip to Sacramento and staying with you! December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sacramento-Capitol Plaza Very happy with my stay recently. Staff were excellent, very atentative and knowledgeable. This is my second time staying here and highly recommend this hotel. December 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great property overall From check in to check out we really enjoyed our stay. Location was great since our event was walking distance to the Railroad Museum. Staff was knowledgable and helpful which is nice. Many times employees are not aware of the surrounding areas of their hotels. Our valet person even cleaned off our windows before we drove away. This is definitely a place we will return to. December 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Holiday Inn I Have Stayed As you can tell from my member status I stay at Holiday Inns almost on a weekly basis. I have stayed in some outstanding properties with world class service and I have stayed in some average properties. This property I would have to add a different category and tops the list at the worst Holiday Inn that i have ever stayed at. Here is a list of issues that i see woith this holiday inn. 1. My room was fairly clean, how ever, I just got in from a long trip 8 hrs approximately. Wanted to sit in the tub (though extremely shallow) and just relax. I turned the water on and at the same time the shower came on and could not turn it off completely. Had a constant trickiling stream the whole time I was in tub. While I was relaxing in the hot tub, and enjoying the almost a steady streak of cold water at the foot of the tub, I could not help notice the back of the toilet. It looked as though it had not been cleaned and there were runs of dried urine on the porcelain fixture where it went into the wall. I notified desk but i doubt it was taken care of. When I sat down at work desk located in the room, the chair at that placve was practiclly on the ground. When i called they sent someone up told me how to raise it (insulting my intelligence). So I told him to raise it; the chair would not raise so he promptly removed the chair from my room and replaced it with the next rooms chair then placed the defective chair into the room he took out of my room with. 2. I eat dinner that night at the lounge. I ordered the vesgetable wram and the calamari. The calimari was so greasy, I had to remove the breading and eat the meat alone. 3. I called for a wake up call but did not receive the call the next morning 4. I went to the breakfast buffet. It lloked to be a nice selection. Every flip pan (2 or 4 of them) was broken and would not stay up. There was one that stayed up but while I was dipping the eggs out, it slammed on my hand and bruised the back of my hand, I informed the lady at the checkout register of this issue. I told her that it appears that these pans need to be adjusted.. She told me that they had tried to adjust them but they are just worn out and cannot be adjusted. When I checked out, I informed the person at the desk of my experience. She listened and before I finished, I informed her that i did not want my room free as my company pays for it anyway and would be of no benefit to me personally so I paid full price for my room. As i said before this is the worse Hoilday Inn that i have ever stayed at. It is such a shame also because it is a beautiful building in a prime location with lots of potential. December 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't care attitude.... I had an issue with the housekeeping re-stocking my room with the same towels from the night before, when I went to tell the front desk that housekeeping had not changed my towels, the young man at the desk responded with...we willl make sure it gets done tomorrow. I then waited for him to ask me for my room number and he didnt, how are you gonna make sure to change them when you don't even know what room I'm in? There was also no apology !!!! I walked a way from the desk in amazement as to the lack of concern for their guest issue! December 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Convenient Our family took a Thanksgiving trip on the train to Old Sacramento. Overall it was a great experience and the hotel was very quiet and comfortable. We were traveling with 2 grandchildren and they wanted to swim if possible. I was aware that the pool might be closed due to the time of year but decided to ask. One of the front desk clerks said no it's closed, and we didn't question it. This clerk was not friendly, and her appearance was not professional. Coming from a customer service background I pay close attention to the details and she did not present a positive first impression. Later in the day we went to look for the gym, and the pool was right next to it. Totally full of water, & in no way looked closed. My grandchildren swam in the evening for over 2 hours, and the next afternoon for an hour. One staff member brought them out extra towels. The front desk clerk never volunteered any information about the pool, that possibly it wasn't as warm as usual, etc. Her attitude, and lack of professionalism was disappointing. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location and luxury Absolutely loved our visit! What could be better than a clean, comfortable, quiet room just steps away from Macy's and Starbucks! Also, a shout out to the wonderful omelet chef and wait staff at the morning buffet, just topped off the stay perfectly! Thank you so much for a wonderful place for my family! November 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Better than the average Holiday Inn Only two questions need to be answered: Would you stay there again? - Yes Would you recommend the hotel based on your experience? - Yes Only one night but definitely a better than average Holiday Inn in every respect November 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just ok. Bedside lamps and tables need to have accessible outlets for electronic devices. The wifi in the room was terrible. In-room coffee and tea selection was sparse and the room decor and furniture were pretty worn. I guess I would recommend if nothing else comparable was available. Not a terrible stay but I would look for other locations first before staying here. November 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Strategic Location in The California State Capitol..!!!! Anytime I travel to Sacramento on Business.......The Capitol Plaza Holiday Inn is a first choice. The location is incredibly close to the State Capitol and various State Agencies downtown. November 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Operator was very rude I stayed here one night 11/18-11/19 for business. The front desk did not give me a receipt when checking out, and once I realized this, I called the hotel and spoke with the operator about what I needed. She was extremely unhelpful and rude, forwarding my call to someone who could "help" but I was only forwarded to an answering machine. When my call was redirected to the operator, she rudely insisted that there was someone there to help me. Funny. I still have yet to speak with anyone who can provide me with a copy of my receipt. She refused to forward my call to a live person. Too bad, she ruined my experience with Holiday Inn. A little bit of kindness goes a long way. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, comfortable beds and great service We loved every thing about this hotel except for the food at night in the bar and dining room. This needs much improvement. The food at breakfast was exceptional so I know they can do it. Unless they change things as of Nov. 2013 , don't eat there at night. We got the railroad package and it was a very good value and saved us money. The room was large and excellent appointed with nice comfortable beds and pillows. Our room location was quiet with a view of the walk way to Old Town and the Mall. . November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place This was a great place to stay, very close to Old Town and the Mall. Location was safe, parking was right next to the Hotel. We were able to walk to all the various things to do around the area. Enjoyed our stay and will return to this location. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Place I chose this hotel because of the location and price. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The lobby, elevators, hallways, and room were spotless. I felt safe and welcomed during my stay. The only thing I thought that could be improved is the signage from the road. The hotel was difficult to find when exiting the freeway. A sign on the building or better written directions/pictures on the website would help a lot. November 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by trip to Sacramento Thank you for the great time in Sacramento. Good living conditions, great service and delicious food. November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from Home Far and away the friendliest spot, the staff are like family and treat their guests the same! November 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by overall good but spotty service About half the staff I encountered acted like they couldn't care lessI Front desk and maintence man acted like I was asking for the moon. Gee, I just wanted to watch TV which wasn't working and order breakfast- no menu. Exceptional service from Manuel (room service#, the daytime Aisian waitress and young evening waiter in the resterant #10/24# . I stayed for three nights the first was great. The second evening I didn't have door handle breakfast menu but Manuel helped me by repeating the previous days continental breakfast and delivered it himself BEFORE the kitchen officially opened. The third evening still no replacement breakfast menu and no info book with room service menu in the room. So I called the front desk and explained my issue. The frount desk promised to deliver one shortly, no one showed up in a half hour so I called again- same promise- still no one brought either a book with the menu. The good news is in search of breakfast I met the delightful waitress in the resturant on my last AM. It was quite noisy between rooms. I heard every word. throught the conecting door...from the family next door #including unhappy yooung children). The goodnews was they were pretty good kids and got up after I did since I was up at 530 each day! October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Great Experience Just spent 3 nights at the Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, and had a great experience. From the first greeting at the front desk, to the final goodbye, the employees were warm and helpful at every turn. The rooms are freshly refurbished, clean and nicely decorated; the beds VERY comfortable (and I'm fussy about hotel room beds); maid service good; I enjoyed every aspect of my stay. Ate in the Cypress Grill twice, and had catered hors d'oeuvre one evening -- all were wonderful, with thoughtful service. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay near the Capitol, or Old Town Sac. As a brand new IHG rewards Club member, I enjoyed the perks, and will definitely plan on future stays at IHG hotels. (Some colleagues reported freeway noise in their rooms at night, but I've found so many hotels to be noisy that I always travel with ear plugs -- no problem here!) October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awsome Staff The hotel staff were helpful and made a stressfull trip enjoyable!! They all went above and beyond and I will choose the Sacramento-Capitol Plaza Holiday Inn every time I return to the Sacramento area! Bed was really comfortable too! October 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and staff The hotel is a short walk or cab ride to most state agencies but I also recommend this hotel to friends for leisure travel. Easy freeway access, and being only a block or so from shopping and Old Sacramento is outstanding. I found the staff very friendly and responsive any questions or concerns. On my last stay, the front desk immediately sent a service man to fix a non-functional outlet and adjust my computer table. Not enough coffee in your room? Just ask and you get more right away. The lobby is large and well appointed; the bar and restaurant are friendly and welcoming to weary travellers. The only drawback is a muffled "white noise" from the freeway since it is fairly close by. October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and guest specials. Food was terrific. It was easy to see the staff enjoyed working at this hotel. Always smiling and friendly with both guests and each other. The food at our banquettes was outstanding, not something I expected. October 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location... Great location...cant beat where this hotel is located in proximity to lots of things to do, close to highway and airport, and it's a great bargain... October 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel, a bit dated nice hotel, a bit dated. Food great, service too, especially front desk and restaurant October 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value and Location. Staying at this hotel is alwasy enjoyable. The location is perfect. The staff is very polite and helpful. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SERVICE AND VERY CLEAN I HAD A WONDEFFUL STAY AT YOUR HOTEL. THE STAFF WAS EXTREMELY POLITE AND HELPFUL. October 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place for work and play The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant was good, you could also walk to the Old Town and try variety of restaurants. There are more restaurants within few blocks of the hotel, if you feel like walking or take your car. The room was very clean and quiet. The overall experience was great and will go back to this place again. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location & great service Great room on Concierge floor, free high speed wi-fi & within easy walking distance of places of interest. Recognised as a Platinum member at check-in. October 6, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Sacramento Tower Bridge Raley Field - Home of the Sacramento River Cats California State Capital here in Sacramento Historic Governor Mansion Sacramento Sleep Train Arena Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Detail Old Town Sacramento Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading