• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SACRAMENTO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

50.00 NON REFUNDABLE PET FEE PER HOTEL STAY. WEIGHT LIMIT TO 25 POUNDS. NO PIT BULLS OR AGGRESSIVE DOGS ALLOWED. CANNNOT BE LEFT UNATTENDED LEASH LAWS APPLY.
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:140
  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample Complimentary parking surrounding hotel, small parking garage, 6 Handicap parking spaces, and overflow parking lot accrossed the street from hotel.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:132
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:43
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:92
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:132
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Experience the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Sacramento, a favorite of both Business and Leisure Travelers, Tour and Convention Groups and considered by many as Sacramento’s “Best Value”. We are centrally located across from the historic Governors Mansion and walking distance to the Sacramento Convention Center, Civic Auditorium, State Capitol, Government Offices, Wells Fargo Pavilion, Music Circus, Restaurants, Shopping, Movie Theaters and Starbucks. Convenient to historic "Old Town Sacramento,
View More
Experience the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Sacramento, a favorite of both Business and Leisure Travelers, Tour and Convention Groups and considered by many as Sacramento’s “Best Value”. We are centrally located across from the historic Governors Mansion and walking distance to the Sacramento Convention Center, Civic Auditorium, State Capitol, Government Offices, Wells Fargo Pavilion, Music Circus, Restaurants, Shopping, Movie Theaters and Starbucks. Convenient to historic "Old Town Sacramento, Sacramento Jazz Festival, Arden Mall, Cal Expo, Raley Fields, Cal State University, UC Davis, UC Davis Medical Center, Sacramento Zoo, California State Parks, Thunder Valley and Black Oaks casinos. Enjoy our Complimentary Breakfast Bar with a wide variety of hot and cold items while catching up with the news reading your complimentary USA Today. Rooms are beautifully decorated and feature in-room coffee service, hair dryer, irons and ironing boards, free HBO and free wireless Internet access. We also have a business center, fitness facility and free parking. Pets are welcome for a fee and we’re a non-smoking and AAA approved hotel.
View Less
Features
Located in the heart of downtown, we offer free parking for all of our hotel guests. Up-scale hot buffet breakfast each morning. Easy access to all major attractions in Sacramento.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 324 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Some great people working there, a few maintenance issues Most of the staff were so lovely and friendly, I had great little chats with some and overall everyone was quite happy to help in any way. My shower wouldn't stop dripping and maintenance had gone home so they had security come to take a look. He couldn't do anything and didn't seem to care, offered another room but I wanted to get to sleep and was leaving the next morning. He just kinda shrugged. The coffee maker had bits of white flakes coming out of it and the water compartment looked really gross, so I called for a replacement. The operator was great about it and a brand new one was sent up in 10 minutes. The bed was dangerously comfortable and the sheets were surprisingly luxe. I would be happy to stay there again but would check faucets and coffee maker upon first entering the room next time. May 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed bag First, to those who complain about the parking: There are numerous signs and indicators that the parking charges are extra. Look around, the charges are clear. If you don't want to pay those charges, park in other available lots and walk. That said, all was not perfect. No refrigerator in the room? Seriously? The noise from the outside hallway was pretty loud from people going about their normal business. From the outside, on the 14th floor wasn't too bad, but noticeable. Housekeeping was really good. The room average. The "turndown service with sweet treat" was only present weekdays but that wasn't clear in the literature in the room. I've also experienced friendlier staff, from the front desk to staff I'd randomly encounter...not unfriendly but not friendly. One exception...the woman who ran the Executive floor Hospitality Room. Very helpful and friendly. The price was reasonable for a downtown location. All in all, adequate but not special. May 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Older, but still nice My Queen bed room was adequate for myself. If I would have had another person along, it would have been a little cramped. The first day, there were dented mini fridges lining the hallway. However, there wasn't a mini fridge in my room. There was a cabinet with a coffee maker and water and glasses on it, but the doors underneath did not open. Perfect place for a mini fridge. Upon opening up the ironing board, a hinge bolt fell out and I had to wrestle with it so I could use it. The shower had adequate pressure which is a huge pet-peeve of mine, along with how low the shower heads usually are. They've added an extension and the height was good. The tv worked fine minus the slowest remote ever. It is next to the freeway and you can hear some noise, but I had no trouble sleeping. Food in the restaurant was ok, but not great. All of the staff I encountered were very helpful. I would stay there again. May 16, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Still to noisey I would think with all the complains about traffic noise you folks would have done something about this. My third time staying there only for the convenience of doing business in the area or I would be someplace else. It desperately needs double pane windows. They are cheap, cheap, cheap, for not remedying this problem. The last of me and the people I will bring there. May 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just Right We stayed at the Holiday in Old Town Sacramento for one night. The room was clean and modern and we think it was a great value. Will definitely stay again and recommend to our friends. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff The staff was awesome. My check-in was fast and easy, and the valet and bell service was fabulous. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable beds The beds great. I had a good nights rest the 2 days I was in town. I waa greeted as a gold elite member and was given some choices for my membership. I yook the bottle water and cookies, great choice!! Holiday inn express rocks!! May 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good experience we were there 2 nights and had an excellent time. the rooms are comfortable and clean. the only downside is the air conditioner is a wall unit but luckily we were not traveling when it was really super hot. we ended up cracking the window open at night and were able to sleep much more comfortable the 2nd night with better air conditions. The managers were awesome and every time we ate at the restaurant we had great service and managers came to greet us. I want to say the valet guys were above and beyond nice and helpful and some of the best valet guys I have ever experienced. I think you will be sure to enjoy your stay at this hotel and feel like you got more than you paid for! May 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Second Stay This is my second stay here at the Holiday and it was pleasant. The only problem was the vending equipment as before is always hit and miss and you have to visit several floors to find one working. No refrigerator in the room so makes it tough if the restaurant is closed and the vending equipment is out or not working. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Had a nice stay, very friendly & helpful staff. Just wish parking was cheaper & that the bottled water ur room was free or just not in there. At $3 dollars a bottle, that's too much! May 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay I had an excellent experience all around. The only problem I experienced was there were way too many people with reservations and had to wait for a room. Other than that this is an excellent place to hold events as there are many shops and restaurants within walking distance. May 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Poor Experience To whom this may concern, I was recently at your hotel for a conference from April 27th to April 30th, 2014 The Low Lights - A female bartender was rude and unhelpful... I came up to the banquet bar just before dinner service and about 5 minutes after she stop serving and I asked for an Arnold Palmer - (half Ice tea - half lemonade) She said in a condescending rude voice that she could NOT serve me and could NOT help me anyways because she did not have ice tea behind the bar. She instructed me to go find a banquet server and get my drink. She could not be bothered with me. Had to negotiate with a banquet server to bring me a salad... I arrived late to lunch, I approached a female banquet server and asked if she could serve me a salad because I had arrived late. She asked me " if I really wanted a salad? We already served the salads and I am just about to serve lunch" I said "yes I would like a salad" I stated that she could bring them both together. She looked at me again and said "Are you sure? I have to go all the way across the banquet room..." She stopped in mid sentence and with a huff of bother and kinda stormed off in search of a salad for me. I watched her pull it from another table and did not give me the choice of which dressing I wanted and there were two choices of dressing. Just gave me a dressing of her choice. The same server at dinner that evening when I asked for more bread, gave me the same attitude. She was doing me a favor because your hotel ran out of bread and she had to go make a special trip to the restaurant to get a different type of bread. Made me feel that I should not have asked for any service. All I was asking her to do was her job and service the guests. Horrible Service from the female bartender and banquet server. Hi-Lites This is in stark contrast to the Front Desk employees. Accommodating, courteous, pleasant and helpful. The Food and Beverage department could take some training from the Front Desk employees. More Low-Lites... WiFi - Could not access the WiFi, internet or email in the banquet rooms. For a conference, this is completely unacceptable. Last but not least. The three false alarms that interrupted the conference within a day of each other. I could not get out if this hotel fast enough. Not So Relaxing.... May 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very satisfied We booked this hotel at the very last minute -- 9 p.m. on a Saturday night -- because it was the only thing available. Very pleasant experience. Check-in was quick, valet was extremely helpful as we needed handicap- parking and assistance. The room was clean, roomy and very quiet. We actually slept until 10 a.m. on Sunday morning and barely made it to the outstanding breakfast which was included in our room rate. I would stay there again and recommend. Check out was speedy and very efficient. April 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Holiday Inn Hotel stay ever We were recent guests at the Holiday Inn during a gamer convention, but you wouldn't have guessed that by the way we were treated. The adjoining rooms were spacious and inviting. There was no noise from the hallway. We used valet parking and our car was immediately brought to the curb, we never had to wait a minute. We were asked every time they brought the car if we needed directions. We ordered room service for breakfast all three days and the food was delivered in about 15 minutes, warm and good and quite reasonably priced. Wi-fi worked well and downloads were speedy. The checking in and out process was efficient. Can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay and we will be back. April 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, great service, ok location. My room was spacious, my linens were soft and clean and the bed was very comfortable. Room lighting was more than sufficient but was not overly harsh. I wasn't in my room too often during the weekend, as I was attending an event in the ballrooms on the first floor, but I got excellent sleep both nights that I stayed. The front desk was a pleasure to do business with. They were willing to promptly bring me toiletries that I forgot to pack with me. On the last day, even though I could not push back my checkout time ( because I waited too long to ask), there was a storage room where staff could check my bags in so that I could enjoy my event for a few more hours before I had to leave. The hotel is located between Old Town Sacramento and Downtown Sacramento, so there is lots to see right around you. However, many of the eateries that my friends recommended I visit were a good 30-40 minute walk in either direction from the hotel. On my last day, I took a walk downtown to see the Capitol building and it was close enough that I could go and return to the hotel for a few hours before I had to leave. April 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Get A Way While the staff were extremely tentative. The Guests staying with the Convention were rude and inconsiderate. Talking until 12 midnight in the hallways keeping guests awake. We called FD to notify them. Security finally had them disperse at 12.45am. April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always great I get to stay at Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza twice a year and always enjoy it. Hopefully, they won't adversely affected by the arena construction that will begin soon. April 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Non-smoking room had been smoked in I was on the freeway side of the hotel which was quite noisy even late at night. But the real problem was that the room had been smoked in. The bathroom shower curtains especially were very bad. Perhaps the person had closed themselves in the bathroom. But it was noticeable in the room as well. The hotel was full and they couldn't give me another room. They didn't offer to discount the room or otherwise accommodate me. A very bad night. April 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Executive plus I have now stayed at the Holiday Inn downtown for the third week in a row. I changed from my usual location on a whim for something new. Jeremy the front desk manager is outstanding and eager to help guests. The 16th floor has a great happy hour and nice view of the town. The hotel is within walking distance of many good restaurants. I stumbled across a great restaurant the Foundation just adjacent from the hotel lobby. Happy hour food was better than most restaurants main dishes. I will be staying again this week due to the great staff. April 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great service but noisy and uncomfortable The folks at this Holiday Inn were wonderful but I had a very difficult time sleeping. The sheets were scratchy and the room was very stuffy without the fan/AC on. Unfortunately the fan and the A/C were VERY noisy. This hotel looks nice but needs an investment in room quality. April 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by One night stay; great location The location was great for walking around in downtown Sacramento. Parking seemed a bit expensive and many other IHG properties offer some sort of voucher for their elite members towards breakfast if it is not included. There wasn't a fridge in the room but upon request they did bring me one, albeit a pretty dirty one. The fitness center had a decent amount of equipment; it was just overrun by unattended children. I didn't use the pool on the second floor but it looked nice. The main perk about this property is the location, to be able to walk to places around downtown Sacramento. April 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reservation snafus This was my third visit to this property and the second time there has been a problem with my reservation. I made my reservation online - reserving a room with a single queen sized bed. When I checked in, my reservation had been changed to a room with two beds - not satisfactory considering the fact I'd been planning a romantic getaway. After a bit of a tense discussion, we were upgraded to a room with a king sized bed. Not exactly how I'd planned on starting the weekend but it worked out in the end. Also worth mentioning - parking can be an issue. April 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cannot fault it We had a great stay here although it was only one night. We were visiting from Australia and heading for the California coast! There were a lot of people checking in but the staff handled it extremely well, Vincent and his manager were very helpful to us. The room was great although the highway is a little noisy. We were lucky to be placed on the executive floor and really enjoyed the snacks and wine in the evening and the nice breakfast in the morning. Thanks!! the staff on both occasions were very friendly and so were the parking staff out the front of the hotel when we left. The hotel has a great location next to the mall and our favourite store, Macy's! There is also 'old Sacramento" right next door adjacent to the river and it is easy for tourists to access the highway to continue their journey. This is a great place to stay in Sacramento April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recommend a stay. The hotel is very clean and the staff was friendly. In comparison, for a downtown location with this quality, you can't beat the price or parking. April 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by State workers BEWARE!!!!! Now when you use your state worker discount, they take it right back from you by charging an additional fee for your spouse....RIDICULOUS!!!!!! We have stayed here many times & never had this problem. We will think twice about staying here in the future. March 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable bed Overall stay was good. Was surprised how loud the highway noise was, interrupted my sleep. Note to housekeeping..vent in bathroom could use a good cleaning. Wished room would have had a small refg, otherwise everything was fine. March 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room Noise Overall my stay was good. The room had to much noise at night due to the orientation of it. The windows allowed to much noise to come through thus making it difficult to sleep. Thanks. March 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Thank you for making our visit to sacramento a pleasant one. Your staff was friendly and courteous. The valet was so nice and friendly. Thanks! March 17, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Bad Experiences This was my third time staying at this hotel and to candid it clearly was my third mistake choosing this location. I booked this hotel via the reservations phone number provided on line. I was clear that I would be staying over night with my entire family and needed to have a connecting room for supervision purposes. When checking in to my room, they were not connecting. This was the second stay I have requested connecting rooms and the second stay Holiday Inn did not get it right. I asked to speak to the supervisor on duty and the guest services associate, Roman, had poor body language toward my response. The supervisor whose name I do not recall attempted to ease the confusion by making my family and I go to a different floor with connecting rooms. He asked me why I was staying to strike convo and progressed to asking me if a breakfast voucher will suffice for their mistake. That was settled untill we went down stairs to eat the breakfast the next morning and was told that they were no longer serving breakfast and that the vouchers were no longer valid. 1st stay at this Holiday-Inn was for my bacholors weekend, resulted in them messing up on my rooms. 2nd stay at this Holiday-Inn was for my Honey Moon and it took over 30 minutes to be checked in, they upgraded me to executive but on a day where being on that floor had zero perks of just having me stay in my original room. 3rd stay at this Holiday-Inn was this experience and it was my Birthday. I will no longer stay with Holiday Inn any longer. I am an Assistant Vice President for the Bank of America Corporation and will be sharing this with my peers and executives. March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fridge & microwave in room I think it would be Great if these rooms had a fridge & microwave in the rooms. March 8, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 12 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Sacramento Tower Bridge Raley Field - Home of the Sacramento River Cats California State Capital here in Sacramento Historic Governor Mansion Sacramento Sleep Train Arena Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Detail Old Town Sacramento Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Seniors over 62, enyoy our discounted rate
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading