• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DTWN SACRAMENTO
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish
  2. Hindi
  3. Punjabi

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:130
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking equipped with 24 security cameras.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:81
  • Total number of suites:24
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:32
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:49
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:81
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Enjoy Sunny Sacramento at our Hotel's Location

Nestled in the heart of the Central Valley, Sacramento, CA serves as the lively and vibrant cultural center; the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo places visitors just a few miles from this dazzling area's prominent businesses and most popular attractions.

If you're looking for hotels in Sacramento, CA near area businesses, like SureWest and HP, look no further. Sacramento State University (CSUS), Mercy
View More

Enjoy Sunny Sacramento at our Hotel's Location

Nestled in the heart of the Central Valley, Sacramento, CA serves as the lively and vibrant cultural center; the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo places visitors just a few miles from this dazzling area's prominent businesses and most popular attractions.

If you're looking for hotels in Sacramento, CA near area businesses, like SureWest and HP, look no further. Sacramento State University (CSUS), Mercy General Hospital and the US Coast Guard are also nearby. Our professional amenities include more than 3,000 square feet of event space and an on-site business center.

Sacramento boasts activities that the entire family can enjoy. You can go shopping at Arden Fair Mall or test the rides at Raging Waters. As you soak up the California sun, you can hone your golf game at Cherry Island or Haggin Oaks golf courses. While you're in the area, remember to check the schedule at Cal Expo, or visit Casino Royale to enjoy a fabulous night of dining and gaming. Sacramento's energetic downtown is just a few miles away, as well.

We provide great amenities and free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout our hotel's accommodations. While in Sacramento, CA, start your day with our complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar and spend the afternoon at the outdoor pool. We also provide a shuttle to Sacramento International Airport (SMF) by appointment.

View Less
Features
Sacramento loves our hotel's modern event facilities, which boasts two meeting rooms, totaling over 3,000 sq ft that can accommodate up to 280 people. Free Wi-Fi access and A/V equipment are available.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 127 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location. Good Value. No Pool. We have stayed at this location multiple times because of it's central location and great value. Good weekend getaway due to lower rates for weekend stays. One drawback is that there is no pool for the youngsters. August 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown Sacramento Affordable, easy check in and check out, and right in the heart of downtown. Was able to get around easily. Noise travels through rooms sometimes. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming stay with very courteous service! This was the first time we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, Sacramento Convention Center. Upon arrival, the front desk staff was extremely welcoming and most concerned that our stay was a fantastic experience, and it was! The room was spotless and very comfortable. The maintenance department responded promptly, when we had a minor problem with the shower handle. The housekeeping staff was always cheerful and the breakfast buffet had very fine quality foods. We highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express, Sacramento Convention Center, whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Great restaurants are within walking distance as well as points of interest. Cheers! August 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, staff Super friendly and helpful staff. Room was good overall, and above-average for this type of hotel. Very convenient location, just close enough to convention center and food, amenities to walk, far enough away to be out of traffic and congestion (and high prices). August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good value Good place to stay while in Sacramento. Clean, reasonable price, nice staff. August 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by GOOD LOCATION, ROOM NEEDS WORK The location of the hotel is perfect. Right in downtown a couple of blocks from the State Capitol. The hotel is very nice inside, spacious, modern and the gated parking is a plus. In regards to the room, they need to improve 3 things: 1) the bed's mattress needs to be replaced (totally outdated#, 2) bathroom's fixtures #i.e. toilet paper holders, they were in really bas shape and were probably the original from when the hotel was built0, and 3) the CARPET NEEDS A DEEP CLEANING!!!. My kids were waking barefoot in the room and they ended up with black feet, really, BLACK feet in only 10 minutes of walking without their shoes. August 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient for a stay in Sacramento We spent the majority of our time at Raging Waters. We found the hotel convenient for our stay. We liked that we could walk to many restaurants so that we could enjoy a drink or didn't need to worry about parking the car. We were disappointed that they didn't have a swimming pool or offer peanut butter for breakfast - next time, we will bring our own. August 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff, but...... Staff at this hotel were exceptionally friendly and helpful, but it appears they are working with limited resources. Not shuttle service (airport or local area) but willing to summon cab. Hotel rooms maintained clean, but has feeling of older hotel. Air conditioning cycles on and off a lot, and when it shuts off it does so with a loud "clunk" - even at 2:00 am. Breakfast choices were average. Would recommend this property if you are a Holiday Inn person and the Holiday Inn next to Old Sacrmento is unavailable. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and comfort. Our stay at this hotel was a great one! The rooms was clean and comfortable. The breakfast served was great and quick so I could get on with my day. The staff was accommodating and wanted to know if there was anything they could do to make our stay better. I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing to stay close to downtown Sacramento. The hotel was within walking distance of most of the thing we wanted to do. August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional employees The employees were very friendly and helpful, especially a maintenance worker named Johnny. The room was exceptionally clean. The breakfast was good. The only complaints I have is that people were outside very late and were fairly loud, talking and laughing. I enjoy swimming but there isn't a pool. I also think the price is a little high. I would recommend this hotel. August 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room; sketchy neighborhood While inside, I felt safe; once you walk out the door, beware, the neighborhood is sketchy at best. When the front door to the hotel is locked at 4pm in the afternoon and you have to be buzzed in, you know there is a problem. The room was clean, spacious but the halls smelled odd - not bad - some chemical that was unpleasant. August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable bed I should have asked for a queen bed. The king was uncomfortable and very one-sided. July 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express - Sacramento Convention I liked the room. I would return again! You can walk around downtown. See the State Capitol building. The public library is a couple blocks west. The parking is easy. July 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay We really enjoy staying here close to everything in Sacramento, This is the only place we stay when we come to Sacamento. We have stayed in different Hotels but don't match up to this place. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff service the staff was excellent I used to stay at the plaza religiously but now that I have tried the Express and met the staff I am truly impressed July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Food Don't care for the eggs and cheese in the morning breakfast July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location Location is great and walkable to Midtown and Downtown Sacramento, but is quiet enough to get a decent night's sleep. The primary complaint I have is that the Internet is way too slow, especially wireless (the wired Internet seemed fine). Breakfast is the usual carb-heavy assortment but I always love the trademark Holiday Inn Express cinnamon rolls. The desk agent on check-in also suggestd some restaurants in the area to get dinner so that was a nice touch. Overall I would stay here again. July 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Basic Necessities Not in Room 1st Night: No bath, hand towels or wash cloths. No ice bucket. No cups. No coffee maker. TV unplugged. Appeared to be "spackle" drippings on carpet. Worn dingy sheets with no decorative foot "comforter" at foot of bed as in hotel pictures on website. I called front desk for towels, and was told that he was the only one there and that I would need to come down and pick them up. He was very friendly and apologetic. I didn't ask for anything else. I picked up a cup from the complimentary drinks in the lobby. Replacement refrigerator was in front of window looked ancient and ugly. Better than nothing I suppose. 2nd Night: I had towels. Still no ice chest or cups or coffee maker. Spackle (which I could scrape off with my shoes) still on carpet. Would indicate to me that the room wasn’t vacuumed before my stay or during. I didn’t request different sheets, so same worn dingy sheets the entire stay. I went to front desk to ask for ice bucket and cups since I thought that I would have to go there anyway. The gentleman was very friendly, apologetic and brought them up to my room. Ice maker on my floor was out of order. Had to go to different floor for ice. 3rd night: Housekeeping left the used bag in ice bucket and leave a new one. Left dirty cup on counter and didn’t leave any clean cups. No receipt delivered to room. Breakfast was good each morning, but cooked offerings were cold, except cinnamon rolls. I know that staff would have provided deficiencies if asked, but a guest should never have to ask for any very basic necessities. Wi-fi Internet is horrible. Could hardly load Gmail even though I had full signal strength to hotel access point. July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great night I promise you wont be disappointed when you choose to stay here. The rooms are large and in pristine condition. The hotel staff is so accommodating making sure that you will have the best rest and every detail is attended to. I highly recommend this hotel. July 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Too loud and lousy internet The building set-up at this Holiday Inn Express is not your typical set-up. The building is long and narrow. Our first room was right above the smoking table in the parking area and it was extremely loud - people talking and smoking after midnight, noise from the garbage man at 6am, people talking loudly into cell phones and smoking at 7am. We had to request a different room. Second room was better. The hotel in general isn't as nice looking as the usual Holiday Inn Express. Looks like a hotel that Holiday Inn Express just took over and put their name to. But it doesn't live up to the Holiday Inn Express standards that I am used to. Internet connection was very slow and spotty. Often got dropped while watching videos (which never seems to happen at other Holiday Inn Expresses). July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location and friendly service I have stayed in this particular Hotel before, but this time, it was for business and pleasure. When I made my reservation, I expressed an interest in getting a room upgrade due to the fact that it was my partners Birthday. Not only did they furnish a very nice room for the occasion, but the staff and maids all signed a Birthday card. It may sound corny, but I thought it was great! I have spent a great deal more for room and received far less! If ever in Sacramento, I would definitely stay at this location again. Plus, it's very close to the Bars in the "alternative lifestyle" area! Thank you for going the extra to make my stay more special! July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Value for your money You get value for your money at this hotel. Breakfast, parking, and internet are all included, not extra charge. Breakfast is quite delicious. Internet is a littel slow but it did not affect what I was doing. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Not your typical H I Express, I was shocked not to be greeted as a Rewards Club member, this is the only HI I have stayed at that this has happened. This hotel's rooms need to be upgraded, ok stay, but probably will not stay here again. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One night business stay Really nice staff!! Location is good to walk to at least a few great restaurants and bars, including Monsoon which was fabulous. Rooms here are clean, bed was great, bathroom spotless and the toiletries provided are good, and not cheap smelling. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service. We very much enjoyed our stay as the Holiday Inn Express was in walking distance of downtown Sacramento and Old Town. We took advantage of walking four miles every day of our three day stay to get exercise while touring the Capitol and Old Town areas. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and made us feel very much at home. Liked the fruit flavored water in the lobby. The room and bathroom were nicely decorated and clean. We had all the amenities we needed while in our room, i.e., free internet connection, working air condition, television, and comfortable mattress. We would definitely stay at the Holiday Inn again in Sacramento and any other city we visit either on business or pleasure. June 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nette Mitarbeiter, sauberes Hotel Das Hotel bietet Zimmer und Bad in schöner Größe. Das Frühstück ist vielfältig so dass man jeden Tag von jedem etwas oder jeden Tag etwas anderes essen kann. Das Personal ist supernett. Die Klimaanlage hat an einem tag nicht recht funktioniert aber da waren es 45°C, was vermutlich zu viel war. Das Hotelpersonal löste dieses Problem mit einem Notfallbesuch des Technikers schnell. Das W-Lan war zeitweise kaum zu nutzen, da zu viele Gäste gleichzeitig online gehen wollten (große Konferenz in der Stadt). Das Hotelpersonal konnte da leider nicht helfen. Vom Hotel kann man in 5-10 Minuten zu Fuß das Convention Center erreichen, wo auch eine Bushaltestelle ist. Wer einen Fußmarsch nicht scheut, kann auch Old Sacramento oder das Sutter Fort erreichen. Das Capitol ist auch einen Besuch wert. June 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Old hotel and Terrible Wifi The hotel room is old. The bath tub is scratched and the toilet sat is loose. Do not smell good. You can easily hear your upstairs people walking. What's worse, the wifi sucks!!! I almost had no wifi through the whole week because the hotel is full. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vorbildliches Holiday Inn Express in Sacramento Alles perfekt, super Service, hervorragende Zimmerausstattung, insbesondere das Bett war himmlisch. Auf jeden Fall zu empfehlen. Supernettes Personal waehrend des gesamten Aufenthalts. June 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by front desk staff and room very good there are a large amount of homeless in the area, although they do well keeping them off the property...disappointed that it was evident there is one employee on the cleaning staff that has a history of being inconsiderate to guests and that she still has a job when the other cleaning staff we encountered when checking in were working very hard and were courteous. The room was standard, was clean. The bed was not completely worn out but also was clearly not new. The room was a bit overpriced for the quality and amenities compared to other hotels in the area. June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Time In Sacramento The folks at the Sacramento Convention Center Holiday Inn Express made our yearly visit to the Music Festival memorable! June 5, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Entrance
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Availability
Loading