• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DTWN SACRAMENTO
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish
  2. Hindi
  3. Punjabi

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:130
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking equipped with 24 security cameras.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:81
  • Total number of suites:24
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:32
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:49
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:81
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Enjoy Sunny Sacramento at our Hotel's Location

Nestled in the heart of the Central Valley, Sacramento, CA serves as the lively and vibrant cultural center; the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo places visitors just a few miles from this dazzling area's prominent businesses and most popular attractions.

If you're looking for hotels in Sacramento, CA near area businesses, like SureWest and HP, look no further. Sacramento State University (CSUS), Mercy
View More

Enjoy Sunny Sacramento at our Hotel's Location

Nestled in the heart of the Central Valley, Sacramento, CA serves as the lively and vibrant cultural center; the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo places visitors just a few miles from this dazzling area's prominent businesses and most popular attractions.

If you're looking for hotels in Sacramento, CA near area businesses, like SureWest and HP, look no further. Sacramento State University (CSUS), Mercy General Hospital and the US Coast Guard are also nearby. Our professional amenities include more than 3,000 square feet of event space and an on-site business center.

Sacramento boasts activities that the entire family can enjoy. You can go shopping at Arden Fair Mall or test the rides at Raging Waters. As you soak up the California sun, you can hone your golf game at Cherry Island or Haggin Oaks golf courses. While you're in the area, remember to check the schedule at Cal Expo, or visit Casino Royale to enjoy a fabulous night of dining and gaming. Sacramento's energetic downtown is just a few miles away, as well.

We provide great amenities and free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout our hotel's accommodations. While in Sacramento, CA, start your day with our complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar and spend the afternoon at the outdoor pool. We also provide a shuttle to Sacramento International Airport (SMF) by appointment.

View Less
Features
Sacramento loves our hotel's modern event facilities, which boasts two meeting rooms, totaling over 3,000 sq ft that can accommodate up to 280 people. Free Wi-Fi access and A/V equipment are available.
Announcements
Summer packages available! Fun in the Sun Pkg, group code: FNS, offers 2 tkts to Raging Waters, brkfst for two & comp shuttle, goodie bag. Check Raging Waters on line to see dates they are
View More
Announcements
Summer packages available! Fun in the Sun Pkg, group code: FNS, offers 2 tkts to Raging Waters, brkfst for two & comp shuttle, goodie bag. Check Raging Waters on line to see dates they are open.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 275 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff and comfortable room Very accomodating staff at the front desk, readily upgraded us to a quiet room. The parking guys were wonderful, made sure we had disabled parking which I needed this year. The room was, indeed, quiet and very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff In my opinion, the staff of this hotel are the best feature. I attended a BKS convention event, and had not informed the hotel in advance of my gluten free diet restrictions. In the middle of the event dinners, the staff scrambled to get me food and apologized repeatedly for something that was not their fault, delivering delicious meals to me with smiles and kindness on two separate occasions. This will not go unforgotten. The room was nicely appointed, although I spent little time there, it was always clean and spacious. Traffic noise at night from the nearby highway was a constant drone, but if you run the heat or AC it will not be noticed. My home is extremely quiet so I am spoiled. Old Sacramento is a very short traffic-free walk, and I enjoyed several nice lunches there as well. Dining room staff were very friendly and informed me that although they did not have a gluten free menu, they would accommodate me in whatever way possible. They were knowledgeable about what contained gluten. Parking staff was very helpful in helping me find nearby businesses. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Capital Plaza Best staff and experience of all Holiday Inns I have stayed at, and I have stayed at hundreds. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location Great hotel for business meetings; Clean, comfortable and great location within walking distance of many sites and attractions. June 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very Average When we arrived in our room there was no soap, shampoo, and water glasses. We called and someone delivered the items. Later, we went to use the TV and it did not work off of the remote. The lights on the remote worked, but did nothing. We had to call and the brought us a new remote. The onsite restaurant was expensive and very average. We went to the adjoining mall for our other meals. Overall, our experience was very average and somewhat disappointing. We have had good experiences with Holiday Inn's in the past. We feel we get more for our money at the Holiday Inn Express chain. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Linda at registration was exceptional. Customer service was very good by everyone we encountered. Great location easy walking distance to Old Town, shopping and eating. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfort and location excellent location , friendly staff, clean..felt safe...a nice quiet rest each night.... May 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Sacramento Overall good hotel. Close to the Old Town restaurants. Some areas near the hotel did not feel safe due to homeless and vagabonds wandering about late at night. Inside the hotel, there were no safety issues. Hotel rooms were ok. Overall good value. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and Service My daughter had a volleyball tournament at the Sacramento Convention Center so we stayed at this Holiday Inn. It was clean, well maintained and close enough to walk to the convention center. We had a very good experience here. The staff was excellent. They were very polite and very helpful. I would stay here again. May 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poor service room smelled like cigarettes poor room air quality no refridgerator poor tv service bed uncomfortable May 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Old Hotel Perfect Location We stayed here which is right next to old town and was perfect to spend the day and come back to the room. Plus it's next to K street mall which is filled with stores and places to eat. Old Hotel, but it's nice a clean and a good bar too. May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Some great people working there, a few maintenance issues Most of the staff were so lovely and friendly, I had great little chats with some and overall everyone was quite happy to help in any way. My shower wouldn't stop dripping and maintenance had gone home so they had security come to take a look. He couldn't do anything and didn't seem to care, offered another room but I wanted to get to sleep and was leaving the next morning. He just kinda shrugged. The coffee maker had bits of white flakes coming out of it and the water compartment looked really gross, so I called for a replacement. The operator was great about it and a brand new one was sent up in 10 minutes. The bed was dangerously comfortable and the sheets were surprisingly luxe. I would be happy to stay there again but would check faucets and coffee maker upon first entering the room next time. May 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed bag First, to those who complain about the parking: There are numerous signs and indicators that the parking charges are extra. Look around, the charges are clear. If you don't want to pay those charges, park in other available lots and walk. That said, all was not perfect. No refrigerator in the room? Seriously? The noise from the outside hallway was pretty loud from people going about their normal business. From the outside, on the 14th floor wasn't too bad, but noticeable. Housekeeping was really good. The room average. The "turndown service with sweet treat" was only present weekdays but that wasn't clear in the literature in the room. I've also experienced friendlier staff, from the front desk to staff I'd randomly encounter...not unfriendly but not friendly. One exception...the woman who ran the Executive floor Hospitality Room. Very helpful and friendly. The price was reasonable for a downtown location. All in all, adequate but not special. May 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Older, but still nice My Queen bed room was adequate for myself. If I would have had another person along, it would have been a little cramped. The first day, there were dented mini fridges lining the hallway. However, there wasn't a mini fridge in my room. There was a cabinet with a coffee maker and water and glasses on it, but the doors underneath did not open. Perfect place for a mini fridge. Upon opening up the ironing board, a hinge bolt fell out and I had to wrestle with it so I could use it. The shower had adequate pressure which is a huge pet-peeve of mine, along with how low the shower heads usually are. They've added an extension and the height was good. The tv worked fine minus the slowest remote ever. It is next to the freeway and you can hear some noise, but I had no trouble sleeping. Food in the restaurant was ok, but not great. All of the staff I encountered were very helpful. I would stay there again. May 16, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Still to noisey I would think with all the complains about traffic noise you folks would have done something about this. My third time staying there only for the convenience of doing business in the area or I would be someplace else. It desperately needs double pane windows. They are cheap, cheap, cheap, for not remedying this problem. The last of me and the people I will bring there. May 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just Right We stayed at the Holiday in Old Town Sacramento for one night. The room was clean and modern and we think it was a great value. Will definitely stay again and recommend to our friends. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff The staff was awesome. My check-in was fast and easy, and the valet and bell service was fabulous. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable beds The beds great. I had a good nights rest the 2 days I was in town. I waa greeted as a gold elite member and was given some choices for my membership. I yook the bottle water and cookies, great choice!! Holiday inn express rocks!! May 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good experience we were there 2 nights and had an excellent time. the rooms are comfortable and clean. the only downside is the air conditioner is a wall unit but luckily we were not traveling when it was really super hot. we ended up cracking the window open at night and were able to sleep much more comfortable the 2nd night with better air conditions. The managers were awesome and every time we ate at the restaurant we had great service and managers came to greet us. I want to say the valet guys were above and beyond nice and helpful and some of the best valet guys I have ever experienced. I think you will be sure to enjoy your stay at this hotel and feel like you got more than you paid for! May 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Second Stay This is my second stay here at the Holiday and it was pleasant. The only problem was the vending equipment as before is always hit and miss and you have to visit several floors to find one working. No refrigerator in the room so makes it tough if the restaurant is closed and the vending equipment is out or not working. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Had a nice stay, very friendly & helpful staff. Just wish parking was cheaper & that the bottled water ur room was free or just not in there. At $3 dollars a bottle, that's too much! May 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay I had an excellent experience all around. The only problem I experienced was there were way too many people with reservations and had to wait for a room. Other than that this is an excellent place to hold events as there are many shops and restaurants within walking distance. May 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Poor Experience To whom this may concern, I was recently at your hotel for a conference from April 27th to April 30th, 2014 The Low Lights - A female bartender was rude and unhelpful... I came up to the banquet bar just before dinner service and about 5 minutes after she stop serving and I asked for an Arnold Palmer - (half Ice tea - half lemonade) She said in a condescending rude voice that she could NOT serve me and could NOT help me anyways because she did not have ice tea behind the bar. She instructed me to go find a banquet server and get my drink. She could not be bothered with me. Had to negotiate with a banquet server to bring me a salad... I arrived late to lunch, I approached a female banquet server and asked if she could serve me a salad because I had arrived late. She asked me " if I really wanted a salad? We already served the salads and I am just about to serve lunch" I said "yes I would like a salad" I stated that she could bring them both together. She looked at me again and said "Are you sure? I have to go all the way across the banquet room..." She stopped in mid sentence and with a huff of bother and kinda stormed off in search of a salad for me. I watched her pull it from another table and did not give me the choice of which dressing I wanted and there were two choices of dressing. Just gave me a dressing of her choice. The same server at dinner that evening when I asked for more bread, gave me the same attitude. She was doing me a favor because your hotel ran out of bread and she had to go make a special trip to the restaurant to get a different type of bread. Made me feel that I should not have asked for any service. All I was asking her to do was her job and service the guests. Horrible Service from the female bartender and banquet server. Hi-Lites This is in stark contrast to the Front Desk employees. Accommodating, courteous, pleasant and helpful. The Food and Beverage department could take some training from the Front Desk employees. More Low-Lites... WiFi - Could not access the WiFi, internet or email in the banquet rooms. For a conference, this is completely unacceptable. Last but not least. The three false alarms that interrupted the conference within a day of each other. I could not get out if this hotel fast enough. Not So Relaxing.... May 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very satisfied We booked this hotel at the very last minute -- 9 p.m. on a Saturday night -- because it was the only thing available. Very pleasant experience. Check-in was quick, valet was extremely helpful as we needed handicap- parking and assistance. The room was clean, roomy and very quiet. We actually slept until 10 a.m. on Sunday morning and barely made it to the outstanding breakfast which was included in our room rate. I would stay there again and recommend. Check out was speedy and very efficient. April 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Holiday Inn Hotel stay ever We were recent guests at the Holiday Inn during a gamer convention, but you wouldn't have guessed that by the way we were treated. The adjoining rooms were spacious and inviting. There was no noise from the hallway. We used valet parking and our car was immediately brought to the curb, we never had to wait a minute. We were asked every time they brought the car if we needed directions. We ordered room service for breakfast all three days and the food was delivered in about 15 minutes, warm and good and quite reasonably priced. Wi-fi worked well and downloads were speedy. The checking in and out process was efficient. Can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay and we will be back. April 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, great service, ok location. My room was spacious, my linens were soft and clean and the bed was very comfortable. Room lighting was more than sufficient but was not overly harsh. I wasn't in my room too often during the weekend, as I was attending an event in the ballrooms on the first floor, but I got excellent sleep both nights that I stayed. The front desk was a pleasure to do business with. They were willing to promptly bring me toiletries that I forgot to pack with me. On the last day, even though I could not push back my checkout time ( because I waited too long to ask), there was a storage room where staff could check my bags in so that I could enjoy my event for a few more hours before I had to leave. The hotel is located between Old Town Sacramento and Downtown Sacramento, so there is lots to see right around you. However, many of the eateries that my friends recommended I visit were a good 30-40 minute walk in either direction from the hotel. On my last day, I took a walk downtown to see the Capitol building and it was close enough that I could go and return to the hotel for a few hours before I had to leave. April 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Get A Way While the staff were extremely tentative. The Guests staying with the Convention were rude and inconsiderate. Talking until 12 midnight in the hallways keeping guests awake. We called FD to notify them. Security finally had them disperse at 12.45am. April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always great I get to stay at Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza twice a year and always enjoy it. Hopefully, they won't adversely affected by the arena construction that will begin soon. April 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Non-smoking room had been smoked in I was on the freeway side of the hotel which was quite noisy even late at night. But the real problem was that the room had been smoked in. The bathroom shower curtains especially were very bad. Perhaps the person had closed themselves in the bathroom. But it was noticeable in the room as well. The hotel was full and they couldn't give me another room. They didn't offer to discount the room or otherwise accommodate me. A very bad night. April 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Executive plus I have now stayed at the Holiday Inn downtown for the third week in a row. I changed from my usual location on a whim for something new. Jeremy the front desk manager is outstanding and eager to help guests. The 16th floor has a great happy hour and nice view of the town. The hotel is within walking distance of many good restaurants. I stumbled across a great restaurant the Foundation just adjacent from the hotel lobby. Happy hour food was better than most restaurants main dishes. I will be staying again this week due to the great staff. April 13, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Entrance
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn Express ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading