• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-15-2014)
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DTWN SACRAMENTO
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish
  2. Hindi
  3. Punjabi

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:130
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking equipped with 24 security cameras.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:81
  • Total number of suites:24
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:32
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:49
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:81
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Enjoy Sunny Sacramento at our Hotel's Location

Nestled in the heart of the Central Valley, Sacramento, CA serves as the lively and vibrant cultural center; the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo places visitors just a few miles from this dazzling area's prominent businesses and most popular attractions.

If you're looking for hotels in Sacramento, CA near area businesses, like SureWest and HP, look no further. Sacramento State University (CSUS), Mercy
View More

Enjoy Sunny Sacramento at our Hotel's Location

Nestled in the heart of the Central Valley, Sacramento, CA serves as the lively and vibrant cultural center; the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo places visitors just a few miles from this dazzling area's prominent businesses and most popular attractions.

If you're looking for hotels in Sacramento, CA near area businesses, like SureWest and HP, look no further. Sacramento State University (CSUS), Mercy General Hospital and the US Coast Guard are also nearby. Our professional amenities include more than 3,000 square feet of event space and an on-site business center.

Sacramento boasts activities that the entire family can enjoy. You can go shopping at Arden Fair Mall or test the rides at Raging Waters. As you soak up the California sun, you can hone your golf game at Cherry Island or Haggin Oaks golf courses. While you're in the area, remember to check the schedule at Cal Expo, or visit Casino Royale to enjoy a fabulous night of dining and gaming. Sacramento's energetic downtown is just a few miles away, as well.

We provide great amenities and free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout our hotel's accommodations. While in Sacramento, CA, start your day with our complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar and spend the afternoon at the outdoor pool. We also provide a shuttle to Sacramento International Airport (SMF) by appointment.

View Less
Features
Sacramento loves our hotel's modern event facilities, which boasts two meeting rooms, totaling over 3,000 sq ft that can accommodate up to 280 people. Free Wi-Fi access and A/V equipment are available.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 284 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay I had an excellent experience all around. The only problem I experienced was there were way too many people with reservations and had to wait for a room. Other than that this is an excellent place to hold events as there are many shops and restaurants within walking distance. May 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Poor Experience To whom this may concern, I was recently at your hotel for a conference from April 27th to April 30th, 2014 The Low Lights - A female bartender was rude and unhelpful... I came up to the banquet bar just before dinner service and about 5 minutes after she stop serving and I asked for an Arnold Palmer - (half Ice tea - half lemonade) She said in a condescending rude voice that she could NOT serve me and could NOT help me anyways because she did not have ice tea behind the bar. She instructed me to go find a banquet server and get my drink. She could not be bothered with me. Had to negotiate with a banquet server to bring me a salad... I arrived late to lunch, I approached a female banquet server and asked if she could serve me a salad because I had arrived late. She asked me " if I really wanted a salad? We already served the salads and I am just about to serve lunch" I said "yes I would like a salad" I stated that she could bring them both together. She looked at me again and said "Are you sure? I have to go all the way across the banquet room..." She stopped in mid sentence and with a huff of bother and kinda stormed off in search of a salad for me. I watched her pull it from another table and did not give me the choice of which dressing I wanted and there were two choices of dressing. Just gave me a dressing of her choice. The same server at dinner that evening when I asked for more bread, gave me the same attitude. She was doing me a favor because your hotel ran out of bread and she had to go make a special trip to the restaurant to get a different type of bread. Made me feel that I should not have asked for any service. All I was asking her to do was her job and service the guests. Horrible Service from the female bartender and banquet server. Hi-Lites This is in stark contrast to the Front Desk employees. Accommodating, courteous, pleasant and helpful. The Food and Beverage department could take some training from the Front Desk employees. More Low-Lites... WiFi - Could not access the WiFi, internet or email in the banquet rooms. For a conference, this is completely unacceptable. Last but not least. The three false alarms that interrupted the conference within a day of each other. I could not get out if this hotel fast enough. Not So Relaxing.... May 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very satisfied We booked this hotel at the very last minute -- 9 p.m. on a Saturday night -- because it was the only thing available. Very pleasant experience. Check-in was quick, valet was extremely helpful as we needed handicap- parking and assistance. The room was clean, roomy and very quiet. We actually slept until 10 a.m. on Sunday morning and barely made it to the outstanding breakfast which was included in our room rate. I would stay there again and recommend. Check out was speedy and very efficient. April 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Holiday Inn Hotel stay ever We were recent guests at the Holiday Inn during a gamer convention, but you wouldn't have guessed that by the way we were treated. The adjoining rooms were spacious and inviting. There was no noise from the hallway. We used valet parking and our car was immediately brought to the curb, we never had to wait a minute. We were asked every time they brought the car if we needed directions. We ordered room service for breakfast all three days and the food was delivered in about 15 minutes, warm and good and quite reasonably priced. Wi-fi worked well and downloads were speedy. The checking in and out process was efficient. Can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay and we will be back. April 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, great service, ok location. My room was spacious, my linens were soft and clean and the bed was very comfortable. Room lighting was more than sufficient but was not overly harsh. I wasn't in my room too often during the weekend, as I was attending an event in the ballrooms on the first floor, but I got excellent sleep both nights that I stayed. The front desk was a pleasure to do business with. They were willing to promptly bring me toiletries that I forgot to pack with me. On the last day, even though I could not push back my checkout time ( because I waited too long to ask), there was a storage room where staff could check my bags in so that I could enjoy my event for a few more hours before I had to leave. The hotel is located between Old Town Sacramento and Downtown Sacramento, so there is lots to see right around you. However, many of the eateries that my friends recommended I visit were a good 30-40 minute walk in either direction from the hotel. On my last day, I took a walk downtown to see the Capitol building and it was close enough that I could go and return to the hotel for a few hours before I had to leave. April 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Get A Way While the staff were extremely tentative. The Guests staying with the Convention were rude and inconsiderate. Talking until 12 midnight in the hallways keeping guests awake. We called FD to notify them. Security finally had them disperse at 12.45am. April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always great I get to stay at Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza twice a year and always enjoy it. Hopefully, they won't adversely affected by the arena construction that will begin soon. April 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Non-smoking room had been smoked in I was on the freeway side of the hotel which was quite noisy even late at night. But the real problem was that the room had been smoked in. The bathroom shower curtains especially were very bad. Perhaps the person had closed themselves in the bathroom. But it was noticeable in the room as well. The hotel was full and they couldn't give me another room. They didn't offer to discount the room or otherwise accommodate me. A very bad night. April 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Executive plus I have now stayed at the Holiday Inn downtown for the third week in a row. I changed from my usual location on a whim for something new. Jeremy the front desk manager is outstanding and eager to help guests. The 16th floor has a great happy hour and nice view of the town. The hotel is within walking distance of many good restaurants. I stumbled across a great restaurant the Foundation just adjacent from the hotel lobby. Happy hour food was better than most restaurants main dishes. I will be staying again this week due to the great staff. April 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great service but noisy and uncomfortable The folks at this Holiday Inn were wonderful but I had a very difficult time sleeping. The sheets were scratchy and the room was very stuffy without the fan/AC on. Unfortunately the fan and the A/C were VERY noisy. This hotel looks nice but needs an investment in room quality. April 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by One night stay; great location The location was great for walking around in downtown Sacramento. Parking seemed a bit expensive and many other IHG properties offer some sort of voucher for their elite members towards breakfast if it is not included. There wasn't a fridge in the room but upon request they did bring me one, albeit a pretty dirty one. The fitness center had a decent amount of equipment; it was just overrun by unattended children. I didn't use the pool on the second floor but it looked nice. The main perk about this property is the location, to be able to walk to places around downtown Sacramento. April 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reservation snafus This was my third visit to this property and the second time there has been a problem with my reservation. I made my reservation online - reserving a room with a single queen sized bed. When I checked in, my reservation had been changed to a room with two beds - not satisfactory considering the fact I'd been planning a romantic getaway. After a bit of a tense discussion, we were upgraded to a room with a king sized bed. Not exactly how I'd planned on starting the weekend but it worked out in the end. Also worth mentioning - parking can be an issue. April 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cannot fault it We had a great stay here although it was only one night. We were visiting from Australia and heading for the California coast! There were a lot of people checking in but the staff handled it extremely well, Vincent and his manager were very helpful to us. The room was great although the highway is a little noisy. We were lucky to be placed on the executive floor and really enjoyed the snacks and wine in the evening and the nice breakfast in the morning. Thanks!! the staff on both occasions were very friendly and so were the parking staff out the front of the hotel when we left. The hotel has a great location next to the mall and our favourite store, Macy's! There is also 'old Sacramento" right next door adjacent to the river and it is easy for tourists to access the highway to continue their journey. This is a great place to stay in Sacramento April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recommend a stay. The hotel is very clean and the staff was friendly. In comparison, for a downtown location with this quality, you can't beat the price or parking. April 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by State workers BEWARE!!!!! Now when you use your state worker discount, they take it right back from you by charging an additional fee for your spouse....RIDICULOUS!!!!!! We have stayed here many times & never had this problem. We will think twice about staying here in the future. March 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable bed Overall stay was good. Was surprised how loud the highway noise was, interrupted my sleep. Note to housekeeping..vent in bathroom could use a good cleaning. Wished room would have had a small refg, otherwise everything was fine. March 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room Noise Overall my stay was good. The room had to much noise at night due to the orientation of it. The windows allowed to much noise to come through thus making it difficult to sleep. Thanks. March 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Thank you for making our visit to sacramento a pleasant one. Your staff was friendly and courteous. The valet was so nice and friendly. Thanks! March 17, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Bad Experiences This was my third time staying at this hotel and to candid it clearly was my third mistake choosing this location. I booked this hotel via the reservations phone number provided on line. I was clear that I would be staying over night with my entire family and needed to have a connecting room for supervision purposes. When checking in to my room, they were not connecting. This was the second stay I have requested connecting rooms and the second stay Holiday Inn did not get it right. I asked to speak to the supervisor on duty and the guest services associate, Roman, had poor body language toward my response. The supervisor whose name I do not recall attempted to ease the confusion by making my family and I go to a different floor with connecting rooms. He asked me why I was staying to strike convo and progressed to asking me if a breakfast voucher will suffice for their mistake. That was settled untill we went down stairs to eat the breakfast the next morning and was told that they were no longer serving breakfast and that the vouchers were no longer valid. 1st stay at this Holiday-Inn was for my bacholors weekend, resulted in them messing up on my rooms. 2nd stay at this Holiday-Inn was for my Honey Moon and it took over 30 minutes to be checked in, they upgraded me to executive but on a day where being on that floor had zero perks of just having me stay in my original room. 3rd stay at this Holiday-Inn was this experience and it was my Birthday. I will no longer stay with Holiday Inn any longer. I am an Assistant Vice President for the Bank of America Corporation and will be sharing this with my peers and executives. March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fridge & microwave in room I think it would be Great if these rooms had a fridge & microwave in the rooms. March 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All amenities on the property were great, only one item in room was not included, a room fridge; which I am acustom to expect from most major hotels I would have appreciated a refrigerator in my room. every thing else was excellent. March 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Renee I have stayed at this Holiday Inn location for nearly five years during my work conferences with the California Dept of Education and had only outstanding experiences with the staff, service, food & beverage, room, and overall comfort. The staff and managers have always been so accommodating and supportive of our needs. The hotel staff works so well together, they are team players, and are like a caring family. Kudos and thanks to manager, Jeremy for his kindness. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience Excellent service from the minute you pull up to valet, staff at check-in and front desk. Very clean, had a great view of the south-side, could see the river and no problems at check out. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Location Good Hotek I've been staying here about 4 times a year for the last 3 years. The location is amazing next to the Capital Plaza and walking distance from Old Town Sacramento is what makes the Holiday Inn amazing. The location is also a bad thing when it comes to night activity but hey its part of the package of staying in an area such as this. The staff is excellent its my favorite thing about this facility, when you stay at a hotel you want clean rooms and a friendly staff and you get both here. March 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Staff What a great staff you have!!! Starting with Jasmine at the front desk to your staff in the restaurant. To the closing checkout and your valet. Everyone to a t was above and beyong expectations!!! Thank you . Jasmine shared her IPhone power cord with me to use to charge my IPad. Way above the call of duty. February 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendliest Staff and Great Value All of the above is true, but I don't want word to get out, because it's already difficult to get a reservation at this popular conveniently located spot. February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great bed, great sleep, awesome customer service At my recent stay at the Holiday Inn Sacramento Capitol Plaza I received excellent customer service. The staff were very professional, courteous and friendly. The mattress was extremely comfortable. Where do you but your mattresses from. I'm serious! I will definitely stay at this hotel on my next trip to Sacramento Mary February 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, solid experience This hotel is very convenient and provides good value compared to other centrally located hotels. I have stayed here many times before but not within the last year or so. It is a good hotel and I recommend it often. My main areas of improvement would be noise - as ever traffic on I-5 starts early, better sound insulation on windows would really help. The second is the bar menu - its is very limited. Not much to choose from except burgers and fried/high calorie appetizers. There are salads but what a bout a simple baked chicken or grilled fish with veggies. Travel is tough enough - more healthy options please that go beyond salads. February 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay For the past 14 years our group used the Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza for our annual youth conference, this says a lot about the facility and staff. Five star service all the way February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly surprised! I had to stay downtown in Sacramento and grudgingly stayed at this property. It had some not so great reviews, so my expectations weren't all that high. However, I have to say, I was very, very surprised at this property. It was clean. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. My room was quiet and comfortable. Wow! I was very pleased with my stay and I will be choosing this as my hotel in Sacramento from now on. I had a very nice burger in the bar (since I was too early for dinner) and later we had a lovely glass of wine in the bar as a nitecap. My room service breakfast arrived within minutes of my phone order. What a surprise! It was tasty and hot. I would only say the potatoes were not great but the Sacramento omelet was yummy! Great value. Great service. Wonderful room! I will definitely be coming back! February 12, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Entrance
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-15-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Check Availability
Loading