• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-17-2014)
(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DTWN SACRAMENTO
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish
  2. Hindi
  3. Punjabi

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:130
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking equipped with 24 security cameras.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:81
  • Total number of suites:24
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:32
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:49
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:81
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Enjoy Sunny Sacramento at our Hotel's Location

Nestled in the heart of the Central Valley, Sacramento, CA serves as the lively and vibrant cultural center; the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo places visitors just a few miles from this dazzling area's prominent businesses and most popular attractions.

If you're looking for hotels in Sacramento, CA near area businesses, like SureWest and HP, look no further. Sacramento State University (CSUS), Mercy
View More

Enjoy Sunny Sacramento at our Hotel's Location

Nestled in the heart of the Central Valley, Sacramento, CA serves as the lively and vibrant cultural center; the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Sacramento NE Cal Expo places visitors just a few miles from this dazzling area's prominent businesses and most popular attractions.

If you're looking for hotels in Sacramento, CA near area businesses, like SureWest and HP, look no further. Sacramento State University (CSUS), Mercy General Hospital and the US Coast Guard are also nearby. Our professional amenities include more than 3,000 square feet of event space and an on-site business center.

Sacramento boasts activities that the entire family can enjoy. You can go shopping at Arden Fair Mall or test the rides at Raging Waters. As you soak up the California sun, you can hone your golf game at Cherry Island or Haggin Oaks golf courses. While you're in the area, remember to check the schedule at Cal Expo, or visit Casino Royale to enjoy a fabulous night of dining and gaming. Sacramento's energetic downtown is just a few miles away, as well.

We provide great amenities and free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout our hotel's accommodations. While in Sacramento, CA, start your day with our complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar and spend the afternoon at the outdoor pool. We also provide a shuttle to Sacramento International Airport (SMF) by appointment.

View Less
Features
Sacramento loves our hotel's modern event facilities, which boasts two meeting rooms, totaling over 3,000 sq ft that can accommodate up to 280 people. Free Wi-Fi access and A/V equipment are available.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 162 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Conference at Capital Plaza Our health care organization held the annual conference here at Capital Plaza. We were extremely pleased with the service and the responsive staff. The meeting rooms were perfectly set up and the food was most excellent. Only small surprise was during the pre-conference meeting, the staff only supplied ice water during the organizational discussion. We a as we had travelled a distance and were a bit hypoglycemic. All in all a fabulous experienc and we will be back! Thank you H.I. Capital Plaza. N Perrin State Pres CSPR May 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Updated Stayed on the Consierge Floor and the Hostess was awesome, very professional, friendly and helpful. Room was nice, clean and updated. Bed was comfortable. Lobby was clean and busy. Valet/bellman, Armando, was very courtiuos, helpful, pleasant and friendly with great sense of humor. Front desk did not program our room keys correctly and the second night when we tried to get into room we had to carry all our personal items to lobby to get correctly programmed keys. This was very frustrating. Would of had a five rating overall if not for this debacle. thanks May 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Quiet I was in Sacramento on business, and stayed here my last day in downtown. Room was clean, and quiet, staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the area,and overall a pleasant experience. May 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Check in person rude I recently stayed at the property and not what i expected. When I checked in the person at the desk was rude, i asked if she saw that i was a Gold member her response "yeah". When i went to my room the TV didn't work, after looking behind the set i found it was un- plugged, so i took care of that, but still it didn't work. I found the connection from the outlet directly to the TV was also unplugged. The TV was actually disconnected from the wall outlet. Sometimes it the little things that you remember, but i'll remember. May 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Choice for visitors to Old Sacramento or downtown I’ve stayed at this HI before a little over a decade ago and when I recently decided to visit Old Sacramento, which is nearly at the foot of its entrance, it was an easy choice. Shoppers will love the a-joining mall. The staff was great, my room great with one caveat. The hotel restaurant serves an excellent breakfast as well as proving a very equipped breakfast bar including omelets made to order. My one complaint: Why oh why does this excellent room come with cheap coffee? May 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mini vacation Our family was able to get away for the weekend. We stayed at two of your properties in the Sacramento area. We were quite happy the location, the comfort of the room and the friendly staff. We would go back and stay there again. April 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We had all the comforts we could have ask for. This was an outstanding Hotel and the perfect spot for our reunion. We enjoyed every minute of it. The Hotel resterant food was great to say the least. The staff was the most helpful of any Hotel Ive stayed in. Thank you for everything. April 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Atmosphere Have stayed at this location in the past business travels and trust me nothing compared to the experience that was had while there at this visit. Being young once before in life, I found it very difficult to understand why a hotel would allow such behavior of its patrons, such as a college fraternity/sorority to be so disruptive in behavior that caused a loud musical orientation as to not be concern with the entire facility. This went on all night on just about all the top floors. Even after calling the front desk, this matter continued. I can't say if it was staffing or the patrons not giving a care about others. But when this is a business trip and I'm trying to get work done that was not my idea of business as usual. Then only to overhear the staff and other patrons discussing this matter the following morning at breakfast and surrounding places. Not booking these people again is not a viable solution. Can we control our consumer, NO. However, it doesn't make for good business when an individual has to pay for a service and entire the hardship that was had while at this location. Therefore, If you are going to this facility, understand that is may happen to you and buyer be aware. I won't even justify it being because it was the weekend, but it could happen during the week. My experienced just happened to occurred on Friday night/Saturday night.. All I can say is WOW!!!!! Not in a big hurry to return. However, should I do return there will be great hesitation. April 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location for Fun & Relaxation Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capital Plaza is ideally sited for access to Old Sacramento, Sacramento Downtown Plaza, State Capitol and "Kay" Street Alley. For those up to the walk, the Convention Center is a walkable distance that will contribute to heart health. Hotel and Restaurant staff is helpful and friendly with accommodations that are comfortable and well equipped. Rooms that feature great beds, plenty of room space and free wi-fi connections. I was very pleased with my stay. April 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay, terrible place to eat We enjoy staying here, mainly because of the location. It is easy to walk to most places we enjoy, and a short drive to other places. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel is showing its age in spots and could use a good review the rooms, curtains, etc. but still pretty good. I find it hard to believe that the hotel tolerates a one-star restaurant. The ratings for the Cyprus Grill are low, and I think that is too positive. We had breakfast there a few stays ago. We ordered from the menu, and were served cold food from the breakfast buffet--look up good breakfast spots in Sacramento, because you don't want to eat here. Dinner is worse, but it is a short walk to Fats in Old Sacramento-try their specials! We'll stay here again, we just won't eat here or drink the Folgers "coffee". A little work could make this place great. April 18, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Customer Service When i first checked in I told the person helping me that I had two seperate reservations for April 12th and April 13th. I then ask them if I would have to check in the following day and they assured me that I would not. Come to find out the next day that they had booked someone in my room and moved me to another room. This is extremely unprofessional and I would not recommend this hotel. My overall experience was not great. April 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Credit card practices I enjoy the service and the room at the Holiday Inn Plaza. What I don't like nor appreciate the practice of putting a hold on my credit card way over the amount of the actual charge on the credit card upon "checking out". For folks that use "debit cards" this practice could make their card invalid if they don't have the extra funds that is used for the hold. Why this practice? Doesn't make sense from a customer service perspective. Thank you, Lara April 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Need more staff at the desk This is a very nice hotel. I got a special rate for my two day stay for an ACLU Lobby Day conference. My one complaint is that Holiday Inn seems to be trying to cut corners with insufficient help as you check in or out. I'd ask Holiday Inn to make sure it has enough people to insure there is not an excessive wait for service. April 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location & value. I have stayed at this hotel twice in the past year & wouldn't hesitate to do so again. The location is excellent whether arriving by car or Amtrak. Great spot for a quick trip to Sacramento to visit Old Town, take in a baseball game, or visit the state Capitol. April 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable accomodation and accomodating staff The usual good accomodation and attentive service from hotel staff. The only con is minor due to hotel being a little older. Very good value and I would recommend it to anyone. April 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Our favorite hotel in Sacto, but... We stay overnight in Sacramento several times a year, particularly when attending the ballet, opera or Sacramento Philharmonic. The location is idea for walking ti Il Fornaio (where we like to eat) and to the theater, not to mention the Starbucks 100 feet away where we can get our morning paper. The rooms are generally very nice. This past trip saw us put into a handicap-access room, and it was less than ideal. Moreover, the little gift shop in the lobby was closed more than it was open. April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Model of Customer Service From the valet staff to Front Desk Staff--Linda, Sunita, Marisol, Roman, Georgia, Denisia, Lauren, and Mary. Catering manager, JB; Sales Manager, Natalie--All great people!!! The food is reasonable and they serve popcorn regularly to patrons in the bar. The Mall is right outside and Old Sacramento. You come here often enough and the staff know you by name among your many other compatriates that attend meetings at this Hotel. Pillows are not the best but I love coming here for the wonderful appreciation shown by staff of your patronage and how they try their best to ensure you have the best stay possible. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel if you are going to Sacramento for business or pleasure. I stay here for business and it's like a home away from home!!! April 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Rooms, Comfortable beds Our room was clean and comfortable but on the freeway side of the property and very noisy. On checkin, we were given a folder for our room keys, however, the front desk personnel never mentioned the free drink or free coffee voucher located inside. We were not asked if we valet parked our car which required returning to the front desk to pay for parking after checking out the following morning. I did complain to the delightful woman at the front desk who promptly took care of the parking, and apologized for the poor check in service. In short, I would stay at this hotel again, however I would request accommodations AWAY from the noise of the freeway. April 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by I think they can do it better I stayed with my family but there are 3 things I think could be better: 1) The beds are double instead of queen 2) The air conditioning makes a lot of noise and also you can hear a lot of noise from the street 3) They didn´t recognise my Priority CLub Platinum status So I think they can do better..... April 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Stay away from room 1501! Room 1501 seems like an after thought. It's on the corner and seems like a remodeled closet. The ironing board fits in the closet area such that you cannot hang your clothes in there with it. There is a noise that comes in from the grate in the bathroom. It's loud. Like someone left the fan on but there is no fan. Can't have a relaxing tub or keep the door open at night. Talked to the front desk (Marisol) and was told it would stop soon. Two hours later when it hadn't, I called the front desk again. They sent maintenance who told me right away that it was like that all the time and couldn't be helped. I asked why it didn't make the noise the first four nights of my stay. They said it must have been out of order. I asked why Marisol told me it would stop. They didn't know. I guess I got the blow off from her. Some staff were very friendly but overall the room was bizarre and the service was a little sloppy. Would of rather had an honest, "I don't know." or "I'm sorry about that" when I called Marisol back rather than getting the sense that she just really didn't care. April 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, nicely kept hotel, easy access to great restaurants, shopping and leasure The hotel was great! Beds comfy, well kept, helpful staff. Housekeeping and I had a game challenge going with the shampoo, conditioner and lotion. I stayed 5 consecutive nights in this hotel, 4 of the nights. The first night I had to ask for towels and I had 2 conditioners no shampoo. The next 2 nights I had either too many conditioners or lotion and no shampoo, the next night 2 shampoos and 3 conditioners. I laughed out loud on the last night, it was all correct, I had exactly 1 shampoo, conditioner and lotion!!! Vivian in concierge is AMAZING, she went out of her way every single day to make everyone in Priority Club room feel like her personal guests! I would hire her away from you in a second if she would move! The valet was a bit aggressive when you arrive asking to help (which was good) but telling you to move your car as soon as you arrive for check in - when you are trying to get acclaimated. A few days later when I had a co-worker return me to the hotel after our meeting, the valet approached the car asking to have us move the car as I was exiting the car. Allowing folks a few minutes to get situated would be more welcoming. April 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by staff and service were excellent Stayed here 2 nights for a conference. The staff were especially helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. March 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by workation comfortable and updated rooms. Love the courtyard to people watch and ease of literally stepping out the hotel doors to shop at outdoor Downtown Mall and comfort walk under freeway through colorful muraled tunnel to get to dowtown Old Sacramento. Joe's Crab Shack is a great place to eat and reminds me of Monterey's Bubba Gump's. March 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay This stay was very nice. The only problem was the highway noise at night. We were surprised at how much we could hear. We were on the 9th floor. The staff was excellent. We stayed here in lieu of the business meeting at another hotel because the rates and parking charge were better. The walk each day was refreshing, not far at all. We will stay here again if the price is right. It would also be nice to have hair conditioner to go with the shampoo. We ate at the restaurant and it was great but the service was fantastic. March 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Surprise I have not stayed at a Holiday Inn in years and my last stay was horrid (South Dakota if I remember correctly) so was a little hesitant to stay here, but the other hotels were booked. Next time I visit Sacramento I will make this my one and only stop to book. March 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good place for business stays or vacations. I always appreciate the good service of most of the staff. I also usually plan to eat at least one dinner in the restaurant because Monica is such a great server. She makes being there a pleasure and treats us like we are royalty. She is very attentive without being in the way. The food is always hot and exactly what I ordered. Unfortunately the morning service is far from that. Letitia doesn't write down the order and two out of two mornings brought out the wrong food. She also must of forgot to put the order in one morning because it took 25 minutes. The other morning servers are great. March 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love This Hotel! Rooms are comfortable and very reasonable for conference attendees. Food was terrific. Very convenient with the Mall right next door and within short walking distance. I notice the airlines use this venue. They know good value! March 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs a remodel Service is good but, the facility needs an update. Elevators need to be remodel. March 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location, location, location. Great location for whatever you wish to do in Sacramento. Walk to Old Sacramento, walk to downtown. Will absolutely stay again. March 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Business Stay! I am always so very "WORK" busy during my stays, however, the incredible staff always make me feel so very "at home!!" Thank you so very much! I have NO desire to stay anywhere else!! February 28, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Front Desk
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.