Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 136 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Deteriorating Room Found a clean room up to Holiday Inn's great standards. However we found a broken room air conditioner, no plug for the tub, and a broken shower rod. We were too tired to complain, so just put up with it. When we told the front desk on checkout, we were told we should have called the front desk and would have been given a new room. Is the standard at this hotel that the guest needs to check the room? November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff I always stay at this motel when I make my frequent overnight trips to Roanoke/Salem. I have given it many excellent reviews. This time I would like to recognize especially the courtesy and efficiency of the day desk clerk. She adds a lot of cheer to my wonderful stay. Also the motel is always clean and provides me with much needed rest and relaxation. I continue to strongly recommend it. October 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by good location Found a half eaten sandwich in a box in the fridge and a towel was a bit dirty on check in looked like make up on it. When i told the reception staff she was very apologetic. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable We have been staying at Holiday Inn Express lately they haven awesome breakfast and very comfortable rooms, great staff and customer care... October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Always a Pleasure I stay here at least 6 times or more a year, usually just for one night while traveling. Staff always recognizes me as Rewards Members. I usually make online reservations, however, the last time I noticed a coupon in one of those highway books and saved an additional $10 over my already Senior/AAA rate. I have been here when the place was full and I was lucky I made reservations, however, on one occasion they were kind enough to call a HIE the next town over and secured a room for me. I never used the pool or fitness room so I cannot comment on an extended stay. The rooms, bathroom, breakfast area are clean. Nice mountain view outside the breakfast area. October 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beds comfortable The beds at HI Express are always comfortable (either 2 Queens or a King.) The breakfast bar didn't have biscuits; something we have grown to like. Staff was great! October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, Clean, Clean This property looks like it has been updated since my last stay in May 2013. Room looked freshly painted, bathrooms spotlessly clean. Breakfast area constantly cleaned and hot food replenished throughout morning shifts of people. I appreciate being given a bag of goodies for being a Gold Member, however, it would be just as well to just give a bottle of water to each of us, or as many people checking in, save money on fruit, snacks and the bag. Great location, quiet area, pleasant staff. I have stayed here at least a dozen times in the past 3-4 years on my way to and from FL/NJ. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Whenever I visit the Roanoke area on business, I stay at the Salem Holiday Inn. The staff is always friendly and helpful. I actually needed a fax sent on my last visit and they were very helpful. The breakfast is one of my favorites as I love Biscuits & Gravy (at least that's what we call up north.) There is always a nice selection of other things such as eggs, bacon and sausage. My room is always clean and fresh. My only "negative" about ALL hotels is the pillows, which is why I bring my own from home wherever I stay. As a Priority Club member, Holiday Inn is always my FIRST choice when I travel. September 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room Was Clean Mrico Fridge was Broken -(Not Working) only stayed one night -on way back home, Would stay again September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Loved the cleanliness, the bedding, and the breakfast. September 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express - Salem - Poorly Constructed & Poor Business Center I usually do not have any issues with Holiday Inns, but this one unfortunately was not a good experience. It is nice that the building is relatively new, but someone skimped seriously when deciding on not to add some soundproofing to walls, ceilings, and floors. You can hear everything going on above, below, and next door all the time. It is almost as though there is no wall, floor, or ceiling at all and you are physically in the adjacent rooms. Absolutely horrible and one of the most basic things in my mind when constructing a hotel is soundproofing...everybody wants to be able to rest comfortably in their hotel room and this is not possible in this building. I want to make it clear that the people in the adjacent rooms were not yelling, loud, or otherwise misbehaving, the hotel walls, ceilings, and floors are just that bad...terrible. It reminded me of a very cheap hotel way below normal Holiday Inn standards with regards to the poor construction regarding lack of soundproofing. Another thing is the Business Center equipment is way outdated. The printer was out of paper, as well as had the drum replacement light on. The computer only had MS Office 2003 so I could not even open or print work documents that were done and sent to me in MS Office 2010...the breakfast was OK, and the WiFi and TV in the room were good, but overall a bad experience for me at this hotel. September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Found this location is very good the staff was Great September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place to stay I've been to many Holiday inns across the country. this is definitely one of the better ones that I have visited. quiet and close to major interstate roads. My only draw back. is the exercise room is not for the average person only 2 - 3 pieces of equipment. September 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First time at a Holiday Inn Express and it was very nice! I was expecting a mediocre hotel but it was very clean, modern and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The dining area was roomy and the complementary breakfast was good. The staff was attentive and friendly, for the most part. Had one grumpy front desk night person - maybe she was just having a bad day :( Convenient to Roanoke (dropping off daughter) but the hotel has nothing around it so you will need a car. The pool area is rather plain, nothing special. We stayed 4 nights and plan on returning for Parents' Weekend in September. August 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good - what I'd expect at a Holiday Inn Express No real complaints - except that the blackout curtains did not close completely (the tops met at the curtain rod but the curtains gapped about halfway down despite several tries to shift them and close the gap) so we had a bright light streaming into our room all night that was annoying and made it a bit hard to sleep. Tried to find a hair clip or binder clip or something similar to use but didn't have anything. Didn't think maintenance would be able to fix it and we weren't in a position to change rooms so I didn't call the front desk. The English muffin I was going to eat for breakfast was hard as a rock and I had to toss it and settle for a fat laden biscuit or supersoft bread. All staff I encountered or saw in action were friendly, customer oriented and good at what they were doing. No complaints about staff. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Taking Son To VT Have stayed in this hotel multiple times as we visit VT. It is a great value and we save much by not staying in Blacksburg/Christiansburg. We were greeted with a warm smile, room was nice and clean and comfortable (not too cold - like that). Breakfast was very good - coffee a bit weak through. Good value! August 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by clean, comfy, noisy Room was clean & well appointed, bed very comfy, however, 1st floor location proved noisy. Very poor soundproofing; could hear the guy next door snoring & loud talking staffers in the lobby at 4:30am!! Sounded like airport announcements echoing down the hall but turning the AC from auto to on setting proved an effective enough white noise substitute to get back to sleep. Staff efficient & competent with all business demeanor - not a bad thing - but no smiles either. Nice property convenient to interstate & downtown Salem - just request an upper floor when you stay there. And bring your ear plugs in case of noisy neighbors. August 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great room - But get there early for parking I really like this hotel (the inside) and stay here frequently when visiting my son at VA-Tech. The one big issue is the inadequate parking, particularly given the large number of guests with over-sized vehicles and towing trailers. On 3 separate occasions, I have been forced to park off-property on the grass median along the roadside. Despite the nice rooms, I'm probably going to switch to another hotel for my regular visits to the area. August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Warm welcome The Holiday Inn Express in Salem, near Roanoke, is a very good value. The staff is nice and helpful. The hotel was very clean and the rooms are updated and comfortable, with large bathrooms. Each room has a small refrigerator, flat screen TV, a desk, and coffee pot with coffee in room. The beds are new and comfortable also. The room comes with free breakfast and the breakfast area is clean and well stocked with many options, hot and cold. You'll leave well rested and satisfied. August 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and friendly service We believe you can't really stay in a Holiday Inn and not have good service and clean rooms. That is why we choose our destination to stay over where a Holiday Inn is in route. We stopped here on the way to the New England area and on our return trip back to Alabama. The staff is very helpful and present themselves very professionally. Looking forward to a longer stay and explore the Virginia attractions locally. Bama2Seniors August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recent Stay - Fantastic Check in staff was fantastic. She was extremely helpful. Room was clean and well organized. Overall stay was very highly rated. Thank you to your staff. Job WELL DONE> August 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Rude front desk This is a decent place to pull off the road and sleep. Breakfast is free and is worth every cent. I would not want to spend any additional time at this hotel. The front desk clerk was too busy reading to check us in properly, requiring an additional trip downstairs to get things right. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Unplanned stop While on a college tour, we stopped in Salem. We had no reservations and were only planning to stay one night. it was a Sunday night - Katelyn checked us in effieciently and without a fuss. The rate was less than posted on line - the room was huge, bed very comfortable, bathroom more than adequate. The facility was impecably clean. We had a hard time finding dinner on a Sunday evening fairly late so it was great to return to the hotel, hop in the pool and hot tub and find warm chocolate chip cookies just baked by Katelyn and still warm. My only 'ding' would be that breakfast was mediocre. In the middle of August no fruit, not even a banana and some of the baked goods looked pretty tired. If we pick this town for the college the Holiday Inn Express will be our hotel. August 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No entry light Had to hold our door open for enough light to enter the room. No directory of services in the room - got one from front desk on second try. Room was clean and comfortable. Morning clerk was quite helpful... Night clerk not so much. August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel for our family of 5! Best hotel in a long time My family of 5 used this hotel for one night on our trip to Georgia. The staff was wonderful. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The beds were comfortable. The decor in the lobby is really nice. A+ stay for us! We will be staying there again on our ride home for sure. August 13, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Needs changes I stay at Holiday Inn Express all over the country. This one is probably the worst one I have stayed at. The room was dark with only 40 watt or smaller light bulbs. In the bathroom, the light was so poor I used a flashlight to assist the lights just to shave. The breakfast was terrible due to the preparation of the food. The scrambled eggs were so overcooked they were "egg balls". When they served the egg and cheese omelet, it was so overcooked that the edges of the omelet were brown. The coffee was not hot nor kept fresh. August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, clean & confortable On travel to OBX location is spot on with much available activities. The facilities are very clean and we were able to get a very restful sleep. Second time we've stayed and will do so again. August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Stay We were very pleased with our stay. Everyone was very accommodating. We would definitely stay at this location again. July 31, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Quality has gone down Stayed in this hotel 2 years ago and the quality was much better than it is now. The room was not as clean as it could be (hairs on the floor, soap chips in the tub etc). The front desk personnel was not as friendly as she could have been. The breakfast didn't have as much variety has before ( no fruit, no variety of yogurt , coffee was not replaced and hot at the bar). It just seemed the quality was lacking vs. many of the other Holiday Inn Express hotels I've stayed at. Since there are others along this stretch of interstate, I will by pass this one and stay at a different one. July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Very easy to get to off the interstate, staff all very friendly and helpful. Did not have a reservation and they seemed very appreciative that we selected them for our stay. July 27, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>